Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Reading Trout Streams

Reading Trout Streams is the second volume in Tom Rosenbauer's definitive series of guides about the sport of fly fishing. Following The Orvis Guide to Fly Fishing, Reading Trout Streams takes the angler to the next level looking at the structure of rivers and streams, where trout prefer to live and why. This guide to fly fishing for trout waters teaches the angler to look through the water, to see the currents and understand what is happening underneath. Trout find specific places to lie in the river to conserve energy, to easily access the food supply, and to avoid predators. This book is considered the best ever written on how to look at a river, read the water, and find those secret lies that hold big trout. 160 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reading Trout Streams
Review 1 for Reading Trout Streams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential Trout Fishing Guidebook,
September 21, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"The Orvis Guide to Reading Trout Streams explains one of the most important skills in trout fishing – being able to read the water and understand where trout lie. This is an essential skill for all fly anglers."
Review 2 for Reading Trout Streams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must read for novice fishermen,
June 23, 2013
By: robdemo
from Highlands Ranch, CO
"I now look at trout streams in a totally new way. "Reading Trout Streams" is excellant. Well written and easy to understand with outstanding graphics. I think every fisherman will learn something new of benefit to finding fish. A must read for every novice fisherman."
Review 3 for Reading Trout Streams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great book!,
March 9, 2013
By: flyfishermanmpn
"The information is too notch. Wish the pictures were in color to make it easier to see what Tom is explaining but overall excellent read. Got some trout already by read the river with the first time I went out after reading this!"
Review 4 for Reading Trout Streams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best book I've seen on the subject !!,
December 10, 2012
By: BLT1
from Clifford, Pa.
"Straightforward writing; very clear and easy to understand illustrations. The author makes a pretty dry subject very interesting, good insights from a real trout addict !!"
Review 5 for Reading Trout Streams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Book,
September 11, 2012
By: racertom
"I am about halfway through the book and can't wait to get out on a stream."
Review 6 for Reading Trout Streams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great book,
May 15, 2012
By: Novoselac
from Newcastle, Australia
"This book deserves special mention – it’s a treat. At a juicy 162 pages, it’s packed with diagrams and pictures and goes into great depth. Enough depth to help the reader figure out why in certain situations, for example, fish won’t be found on the outside of a bend, despite the presence of a promising looking undercut bank.
Experienced fly fishermen like Rosenbauer know that trout prefer to lie in water that runs about one-quarter to one-half foot per second and feed in water that runs about two feet per second. Accordingly, in one situation presented in the book, the water below the undercut is moving too fast.
Great read. I wish I was even a tenth as talented and practiced as Rosenbauer."
Review 7 for Reading Trout Streams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great read,
June 21, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"Simply a must read. Such a wealth of information and explanation. I've read it three times and still pick up a great deal each read through. I can't imagine any trout fisherman not benefiting from this guide. It's eminently satisfying to find a resource where you can spend a few hours reading and immediately take that knowledge applying it fruitfully at your local trout stream. I highly recommend it.
* I do concur regarding an update to color pictures. It would be more visually stimulating."
Review 8 for Reading Trout Streams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must-Have Book,
July 11, 2008
By: RafT
from Los Angeles, CA
"We have all caught fish where we least expected them to be, however, we can be so much more productive when we know exactly where to focus our attention. This book teaches us just that and is definitely a must-have for any trout fisherman. In fact, this book along with the Orvis Guide and the Casting DVD can be considered a DIY class on fly fishing. My only criticism is that I feel this book is due for an update with color pictures etc, but the information contained within is timeless."