Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Scissors Forceps

Better leverage and more mass beneath the hinge make it easier to debarb hooks. These pliers have half serrated jaws for grip. 5" long with three-position lock. Special jaws crimp split shot. Power Jaw Scissors Forceps include cutters that will trim indicator yarn, mono, line—even light wire. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
77 of 86(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scissors Forceps
Review 1 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost Perfect,
July 30, 2015
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"These are great for anyone trying to cut weight out of their vest/pack. My only complaint is these lack the eye cleaning tool that other pliers incorporate. Still a quality tool to have on the water."
Review 2 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent once they loosen up,
July 20, 2015
By: Mitch77
"Great size overall. The scissor function is really what makes these so great. More often than not you don't need to use nippers unless you are dealing with tiny flies and light tippet. Their only downside is they are pretty tight when new and can be difficult to open. With time they loosen up and are fine. Storing new ones tightly clamped when new seems to help with the process of stretching them out so they loosen up."
Review 3 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent scissor forceps,
June 25, 2015
By: Chris99
from Elk Grove, CA
"Great product, well worth the money for a three in one tool."
Review 4 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid for Salt,
May 20, 2015
By: Rick4477
"Scissors available to trim salt water flies while forceps do their job. 2 in 1 works!"
Review 5 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
May 16, 2015
By: morivff
"This is my second pair, and this pair is much harder to lock/unlock than my first pair. Obviously liked my first pair enough to buy a second, but really hoping this second set loosens up over time."
Review 6 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally!,
May 1, 2015
By: dfmarks
from Winter Park, FL
"...I found a set of forceps that provide a scissor function as well as a clamp. Like these so much, I bought four of 'em - one for each of my different fishing vests (bass, bass fly, fly, and snook/salt). Well-engineered and well-built, just tight enough out of the box to indicate they'll be easy to manipulate with just a bit of breaking in. If you flyfish, this is pretty much the only tool you need to hang on your vest."
Review 7 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multi use,
April 6, 2015
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"Did not find the difficulty in opening/ closing the sissors/forceps. Very happy with the quality."
Review 8 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
superb,
April 6, 2015
By: richfish1
from Bridgnorth, Shropshire, UK
"As always with any Orvis product, these scissor forceps are great quality. Highly recommended."
Review 9 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome tool,
February 26, 2015
By: Luckyjuan
from New Mexico
"This is a great tool for the fisherman of any caliber. Very versatile tool!"
Review 10 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sticky openning,
December 30, 2014
By: Boulderboy
from Los Angeles, CA
"I have fly fished for many years and lost my favorite forceps this summer. I ordered these to replace them. Disappointed in the smoothness and force you need to use to open them up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black Forceps,
November 26, 2014
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"They do the job intended. The black also looks cool against my safe passage sling pack."
Review 12 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
November 14, 2014
By: Thomas65
from Derbyshire, UK
"Feels well made and good to use - functions perfectly."
Review 13 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Average,
September 16, 2014
By: dfishmolar
from Hudson Valley, NY
"Average quality. I am a doctor and this is not a high quality forcep. It is stiff and hard to lock and unlock. If you have arthritis or have weak hands do not buy. I hope it loosens up with time."
Review 14 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works,
August 27, 2014
By: BNAGUY
from Spring Hill, TN
"I don't often write product reviews. In fact, I think this is my first.
In short, if it hadn't been for the Orvis Sissors/Forcepts, I would probably still be wearing that darn Rapala today.
Works as advertised."
Review 15 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High quality!,
July 15, 2014
By: ironfish
from DMV
"I just got these in the mail. They are a little "tight" to operate with one hand, but I imagine that will loosen up a little with time.
The grip seems very strong and the scissors seem very sharp. Can't wait to get out on the water and put them to use!"
Review 16 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Constructed,
July 14, 2014
By: RWM46
from SW Florida
"Haven't had the opportunity to use extensively yet, but my first impression is that they are a little stiff and hard to work. I'm sure with more use they will loosen up. They seem well constructed and I like the fact that they include scissors."
Review 17 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Forcpes with Sissors,
May 29, 2014
By: Hubfly
from Roanoke, VA
"Why have forceps with out scissors makes no sense. A little stiff because of newness but sure they will break in nicely."
Review 18 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multi-purpose tool,
May 20, 2014
By: DolceVita
from San Diego, California
"excellent multifunction tool. I had to file handle teeth down slightly, to allow for easy opening....."
Review 19 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad,
April 15, 2014
By: cmcroy310
"Durable pair of forceps. Having the scissors included is a excellent feature. Grips very well. Requires more strength to open and close than I would expect. I do wish the forceps were longer than what they are."
Review 20 for Scissors Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
March 20, 2014
By: Evilgeologist
from Richmond, VA
"These are a must have for me. It's great to have cutters and hemostats in one nice package."