Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Indicator Beetle

What a great idea. Why waste an indicator? Use this foam fly pattern as an indicator and drop a small nymph off the bottom or fish a small dry fly behind it. Either way, you double your chances as the fish is going to be just as apt to take this beetle as the fly. This fly pattern is a great way to keep track of a midge pattern or a smaller foam pattern fished behind it. Color, Orange. Sizes: 12, 14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Indicator Beetle
Review 1 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hopper for the Dropper,
October 17, 2014
By: bigstrikemike
from Bozeman, Mt
"Stick a scud under this terrestrial and you will be getting fish both on top and under the water."
Review 2 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
solid bug,
September 29, 2014
By: karam11291
"I have have a couple using this beetle for pan fish, and small bass, overall its a very well built fly, iv caught plenty of fish on it and its still going strong. only down side is the legs get bit of but thats no biggie."
Review 3 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't say enough good about this gem!,
July 15, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"Guide Matthew Long's gem! Time after time this beetle has taken trout for me in the heat of the summer on the yellowstone river and here on my home waters in New England. Simple design and deadly alone or better yet with a small dropper. One of my go to terrestrials as a guide here in New England in the summer months. Can't go wrong with it!"
Review 4 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and effective,
March 24, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"I can't tie enough of these with the time I have so when they went on sale, I stocked up. I know the designer personally and he's a top gun guide. Great idea, simple and deadly."
Review 5 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No brainer!,
January 1, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"The guide who designed this was my guide this summer in Montana, Matthew Long, top of his field! This simple little beetle has taken trout for me consistently. With a dropper like a PT flashback, it's deadly. A proven winner time after time.
Great job Matt !!!! You're the man!!"
Review 6 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't Leave Home Without It.,
September 11, 2013
By: DW4weight
"This bug is killer for pond fishing.Base, bluegill etc. love this thing.Can take many fish and still hold up .Also makes a very good indicator fly.High floating,very visable.Get yourself some,you won't be sorry!"
Review 7 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great indicator,
April 18, 2013
By: Pierreford
from Grover, UT
"Easy to see in any condition and great to use with a dropper. Love it."
Review 8 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
And indicator that catches fish!,
August 27, 2012
By: PAFlyfishing
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Need I give a more positive review?
This indicator is as highly visible to the person fishing, as it is appetizing to the fish!
"
Review 9 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top water fun,
August 7, 2012
By: Eglicky
from Ashland, Massachusetts
"I've been using the "Indicator Beetle" since 08/05/07 when I caught a 15 3/4" smallmouth bass on Lake Sunapee. I've also caught largemouth and a ton of blue gills on the "Beetle", it is my go to fly when I want to pick up the action. The fun bonus is that it all happens on the surface. Won't go on the water without it."
Review 10 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works for me,
April 27, 2012
By: Fishingdvm
from San Tan Valley, AZ
"I use this ORANGE Beetle in low light conditions or heavy glare. I've had Bow's crush it after bouncing it off the shore. Many times hitting the bug the moment it touches the water. I use it on small streams with a 3wt with a lot of overgrowth...the reason I'm buying more. Works great running a dropper off it too."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Indicator Beetle
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1