Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Indicator Beetle

What a great idea. Why waste an indicator? Use this foam fly pattern as an indicator and drop a small nymph off the bottom or fish a small dry fly behind it. Either way, you double your chances as the fish is going to be just as apt to take this beetle as the fly. This fly pattern is a great way to keep track of a midge pattern or a smaller foam pattern fished behind it. Color, Orange. Sizes: 12, 14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Indicator Beetle
Review 1 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Indicator,
July 27, 2015
By: Irishlover
from St. Louis, MO
"Used as indicater with nymph below, productive combination."
Review 2 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not durable,
July 19, 2015
By: Feys13
"These beetles have caught me a lot of blue Gil and small bass, attract fish with ease but after about 20 fish each the completely fall apart, after about 4 fish the legs lose all color"
Review 3 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Prospecting Fly,
July 7, 2015
By: Willtx
from Fort Worth, TX
"I used some of these on the Pecos in NM when the fishing reports were calling for large orange stimulators. The fish were smaller in general so I switched to this orange beetle and caught fish immediately. It floats well and is very visible and the legs give a life like action."
Review 4 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effective period,
April 14, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
"Was introduced to this in 2011 in Montana by the designer, Matt Long. Great guide, awesome angler.
I can't seem to find the same exact color foam to tie my own not that it makes a difference and with so many flies to tie for the summer, the price was right on a sale. Noticed that some came through though with different leg colors. I believe that the pumpkin barred work a tad better for some reason. Some came through with a beige standard leg for some reason last year. Since then they seem to be back to the pumpkin barred. Either way, simple, effective, no brainer terrestrial. Easy for my clients and myself to see, that's key."
Review 5 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hopper for the Dropper,
October 17, 2014
By: bigstrikemike
from Bozeman, Mt
"Stick a scud under this terrestrial and you will be getting fish both on top and under the water."
Review 6 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
solid bug,
September 29, 2014
By: karam11291
"I have have a couple using this beetle for pan fish, and small bass, overall its a very well built fly, iv caught plenty of fish on it and its still going strong. only down side is the legs get bit of but thats no biggie."
Review 7 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't say enough good about this gem!,
July 15, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"Guide Matthew Long's gem! Time after time this beetle has taken trout for me in the heat of the summer on the yellowstone river and here on my home waters in New England. Simple design and deadly alone or better yet with a small dropper. One of my go to terrestrials as a guide here in New England in the summer months. Can't go wrong with it!"
Review 8 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and effective,
March 24, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"I can't tie enough of these with the time I have so when they went on sale, I stocked up. I know the designer personally and he's a top gun guide. Great idea, simple and deadly."
Review 9 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No brainer!,
January 1, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"The guide who designed this was my guide this summer in Montana, Matthew Long, top of his field! This simple little beetle has taken trout for me consistently. With a dropper like a PT flashback, it's deadly. A proven winner time after time.
Great job Matt !!!! You're the man!!"
Review 10 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't Leave Home Without It.,
September 11, 2013
By: DW4weight
"This bug is killer for pond fishing.Base, bluegill etc. love this thing.Can take many fish and still hold up .Also makes a very good indicator fly.High floating,very visable.Get yourself some,you won't be sorry!"
Review 11 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great indicator,
April 18, 2013
By: Pierreford
from Grover, UT
"Easy to see in any condition and great to use with a dropper. Love it."
Review 12 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
And indicator that catches fish!,
August 27, 2012
By: PAFlyfishing
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Need I give a more positive review?
This indicator is as highly visible to the person fishing, as it is appetizing to the fish!
"
Review 13 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top water fun,
August 7, 2012
By: Eglicky
from Ashland, Massachusetts
"I've been using the "Indicator Beetle" since 08/05/07 when I caught a 15 3/4" smallmouth bass on Lake Sunapee. I've also caught largemouth and a ton of blue gills on the "Beetle", it is my go to fly when I want to pick up the action. The fun bonus is that it all happens on the surface. Won't go on the water without it."
Review 14 for Indicator Beetle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works for me,
April 27, 2012
By: Fishingdvm
from San Tan Valley, AZ
"I use this ORANGE Beetle in low light conditions or heavy glare. I've had Bow's crush it after bouncing it off the shore. Many times hitting the bug the moment it touches the water. I use it on small streams with a 3wt with a lot of overgrowth...the reason I'm buying more. Works great running a dropper off it too."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Indicator Beetle
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1