Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gibson's Dragon Fly

If you ever see damsel flies or dragon flies anywhere near the water you're fishing, make sure to fish a damselfly or dragonfly pattern. This is a big meal; the fish know they are around and they can get a lot of calories in one take when they eat a big damsel or dragonfly. Browns and rainbows will attack these with tremendous aggressiveness because of the caloric risk reward. Don't ever go fishing in summer without these Damsel fly patterns in the box. Color, Damsel Blue. Sizes: 6, 8, 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Review 1 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dragonfly gets thier attention.,
September 25, 2014
By: bradleyabram
from NM near TX boarder
"I took this fly to a pond near my home in El Paso, TX and even though I did not catch fish, I certainly had thier attention. I mainly got slapped at nibbled.I figure it was a bit too large for these little blue Gill. I'm still waiting for three rest of my order to try the other sizes, see if it makes a difference."
Review 2 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floats Great!,
July 9, 2014
By: YooperInChicago
"Floats high on the water even though its a big one!"
Review 3 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pretty decent bass/panfish fly,
May 6, 2014
By: JasonJ
from Tacoma, WA
"They got the color and size pretty good. Quality of construction on the fly was kind of mediocre though."
Review 4 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durable fly,
July 14, 2013
By: DblRedRider
from California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I recently used this fly on a freestone stream along the California coast with great results. Caught a 14" bow in some skinny water after accidentally spooking it while hiking past a large pool where he was resting. Once he spotted the fly there was no hesitation. I will be purchasing more."
Review 5 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good but...,
March 14, 2013
By: doesthisnamework
"I have yet to try these but bought them after witnessing an absolute frenzy with trout leaping out of the water going for dragon flies.
I bought all three sizes-6,8 and 10. The product looks good but the size 6 is shorter than the size 8. This is lame and I did keep the two smaller flies (hook sizes) but poor qulaity control or something."
Review 6 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly for lake fishing.,
March 14, 2013
By: Jellymon
from Marin County, CA
"Very beautiful terrestrial on the water or the mantel piece. Works great in the Lake & reservoir areas of Northern California. Many times I've been to the lakes & seen dragonflies nearby. It's no surprise these get lots of hits."
Review 7 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'd bite that,
December 10, 2012
By: sagoodlife
from Cleveland, TN
"Really does look like it could pass for a dragonfly. I'm looking forward to getting this thing out on the water and seeing what takes hold of it."
Review 8 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No joke,
August 2, 2012
By: Ridley260
from Alexandria, Va
"I purchased this fly to imitate the blue dragon flies I was seeing being taken off the surface in a local river. Poppers weren't working. The blue gills and small mouth are crushing this fly. I ordered more of them so I will always have one. Definitely a must have."
Review 9 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice fly,
July 30, 2012
By: clintp
from Royal Oak, Michigan
"Bluegill love this one (especially the size 10). It looks just like the dragonflies buzzing around the lake, and perhaps even a bit more blue.
It's not weedless and pricey, so I'm nervous about using it too close into the lily pads."
Review 10 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dragon fly ever,
May 11, 2012
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
"Have used it a couple of times fishing bigger rivers had a brown jump out of the water going after it ."
Review 11 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 3, 2012
By: Scoutingtrout
"With this pattern and I had hits from big bass and panfish"
Review 12 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
December 7, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"I use this in a local reservoir for largemouth bass. Amazing, resembles the real thing so well sometimes I get confused!"
Review 13 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
October 12, 2011
By: twinfish93
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I tied up a few of this pattern and I hit the Jackpot! Everything from big bass and panfish to brook, brown and rainbow trout. These fish don't just sip at it; they are full aerial attack!"
Review 14 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly,
October 11, 2011
By: ensmith
from Bunn, NC
"The fly is just what you would expect but then you see one in the pond you are fishing and know you hit the right fly."
Review 15 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent fly,
July 14, 2011
By: herbie212ro
from Brooklyn, ny
"I used this blue dragon fly in Lake George @ Floating Battery; off the dock. I am extremely please with the success of this fly, bass fish could not resist this fly."
Review 16 for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dragon Fly pattern,
November 7, 2007
By: ChileDog
from Victor, Id
"Many dragon fly patterns are hard to cast and tangle up your line.Not the Gibson Dragon.This fly is a must have in Patagonia Chile. Big Browns and Rainbows dont sip this Fly, they come full bore with awsome airial takes. The smaller Dragons( Size 12) work great for Damsel patterns also."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gibson's Dragon Fly
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4