Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket

The sleekest waterproof breathable men's jacket going, designed to wear comfortably over or under your fishing vest. Advanced 2-way stretch fabric wears and fits like a soft shell to give you greater comfort and mobility than any other rain jacket. Yet its stylish fit will have you wearing it anywhere, rain or shine, as your favorite shell. Innovative, incredibly breathable lining wicks moisture from your body and reduces condensation. Specially taped seams keep out moisture where other jackets fail. Underarm zip pocket allows for air circulation and lets you get at your vest pockets. Zipped outer pockets. Hem shock cord gives a snug fit and keeps out wind. Orvis Dry-Cuff® system. Roll-away hood. Chest pocket. Men's waterproof jacket in sage. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36). Back is 29½" long in size L.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
9 of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Review 1 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good compromise,
September 11, 2013
By: Safran
from Europe
"This is NOT a technical waterproof breathable garment. It is a sleek, soft, stretchy, fairly breathable jacket that can withstand light rain and will dry fast. A good compromise between comfort, style, performance, weight and cost."
Review 2 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not waterproof,
February 20, 2013
By: Imago
from North Yorkshire, UK
"Bought this for my wife, but first trip it rained all day and there is no way it is waterproof. It wasn't just damp inside, but wet. In fact you could wring water out of the fleece shirt she was wearing underneath. Ruined our day. Not what i've come to expect from Orvis. Stylish, but useless."
Review 3 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
versatile and comfortable,
September 15, 2011
By: joeflytyer
"This jacket is ideal for wet weather and really looks great just as a windbreaker. Sizing was perfect for providing room to wear over wading vest. Most comfortable wet weather jacket I have ever purchased."
Review 4 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket---no question.,
July 5, 2011
By: NeverReviewedBefore
from West Virginia
"Bought this jacket new a few weeks ago in preparation for a trip to the Maine coast and to Nova Scotia. Knew I would be camping, and expected the weather to be cool and rainy---and how right I was. Through much rain and wind---during general sight-seeing and picture taking, but also during some considerable hiking (Acadia National Park, Cape Breton National Park, etc) I stayed perfectly dry and perfectly warm. I LOVE the jacket. You should know I ordered three water-proof jackets from three different companies with plans to keep whichever fit and looked the best. This one was the winner---and it proved to be not only stylish but very, very functional. I can't say enough good things. And--by the way---this is the first time I've ever written a review on a product. I'll use it as a jacket for work (I'm a college professor) but also for outdoor trips including hiking and fishing."
Review 5 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing Jacket,
June 15, 2011
By: BreckBear
from Denver, Co.
"This is a wonderful light weight fishing jacket that you can keep in your vest for when the rain or cold rolls in. The water sealing wrist "dolphin" cuffs are great."
Review 6 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Waterproof,
May 20, 2011
By: c40young
"This is a nice jacket but it is most definitely NOT waterproof. Maybe water repellant for a while at best."
Review 7 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
U Get What U Pay For,
April 30, 2011
By: Kilo
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a nice jacket but it's not water proof. The first rain and this thing soaked through in some areas. I really like the fit, comfort and weight but was disappointed in getting wet. Not sure what I'm going to do with it now. Maybe spray it with scotch guard and see if that improves it."
Review 8 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
zipper failed,
March 16, 2011
By: jbub
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"bought this jacket for use as a backup wading jacket . it is very nice looking for wearing around town but the first time i wore it the zipper teeth seperated midway up after the jacket was zipped up. back it went and as usual orvis customer service was good in accepting the return."
Review 9 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cuffs WAY Too Tight!,
March 2, 2011
By: stevebirder
from Houston, TX
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I live in Houston, TX, so I need a rain jacket that is very lightweight, since our precipitation often comes when the temperatures are in the 80s and 90s.
I also need it to be comfortable. I ordered this item because it was on clearance, so it was sight unseen. When it arrived, I immediately noticed the weight, which almost guaranteed that I would return it.
When I tried the jacket on, I liked the stretch feature, but was very disappointed at the tightness of the cuffs - simply put, I REALLY had to work to get my arms out of the sleeves. I've owned other raingear with water-resistant cuffs, and they've had a variety of closures. The arrangement on this item, however, was just plain unworkable.
I am usually a big fan of Orvis merchandise, having bought multiple pairs of wet wading pants, fly fishing vests, and CFO reels. The jacket in question, did not meet those standards for quality and ease of use."
Review 10 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grand Canyon 14 Day Trip,
May 16, 2010
By: Lodeday
"Bought jacket specifically for this trip and was very pleased with the product. The water temperatue Colorado this time of year is in the 50's and and air temperature ran from 58-the high 80's. I never got water up the cuffs or down the back in any rapids or rainy weather. Zippers worked well in the sandy environment and the jacket is comforable with the hood rooled up or deployed. Great product for the money"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 13, 2009
By: DaveZap
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"very comfortable and usable. Fits well and stretches. The side pockets are large and the small breast pocket is useful. Longer that most wading jackets. Only con I found was the hood design. I used the jacket on a recent trip to ID where the weather was very bad, snow and heavy winds. The hood does not come around the sides of your face enough to protect you. The cinch cord is also poorly designed. It pulls from the top of your head instead of the sides. I had trouble keeping the hood on in strong winds."
Review 12 for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All-purpose rain jacket,
November 5, 2009
By: Yooper
from Marquette, MI
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I purchased this jacket from the Orvis store in San Francisco. I decided to go with a jacket that is versatile in all conditions, not just fishing. I wear this in temperatures from 35-65. It works great with a decent base layer at lower temps, but I plan to wear it during summer rains with a light layer under it.
The jacket does a good job stopping wind, and I like the dark matte finish for both blending in to fishing environments and overall looks. It doesn't stand out. I have worn this jacket in light to extremely heavy rain. It does a great job repelling water in light rain, but in a storm it is effective for about an hour or so. After that the inner elbows and shoulders start to get wet. The hood is great and not too bulky. I usually leave the hood out because when tucked into the collar, the collar becomes too stiff. The hood is great when wearing a hat, because you can still see to the left and right.
I will wear this again in heavy rain, but I will plan on getting slightly damp, which is expected for a breathable jacket like this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Waterproof Stretch Over/Under Jacket
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2