Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses

We turned the concept of magnifiers on its head. Orvis Vice Chairman Dave Perkins had the idea to create a pair of magnified bifocal fishing sunglasses that doesn't obscure your vision when looking down when wading or walking a stream bank. By placing the magnifier inset at the top of the glasses, your view of the water remains unobstructed. High-quality polarized optics for optimal light transmission on the water. In black, tortoise. Choose 2X or 2.5X (go up from normal power when viewing through tinted lenses). Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Review 1 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good concept,
June 16, 2015
By: BMerrill
"I really like the top focal lenses - makes wading, hiking to the river... much easier to do. I do wish the ear pieces bent down past the ear - some hats/caps hit the end of the ear piece."
Review 2 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well done!,
June 12, 2015
By: Alaskagirl
from North Pole, AK
"Finally a pair of glasses that I can wade and see into the water, and still tie on a leader and fly! Very well done!"
Review 3 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product design,
June 10, 2015
By: LewD
from Northern New Jersey
"These polarized sunglasses with top mounted magnifiers work great for fishing. Having the magnifiers located at the tops of the lens means your view of the water is not compromised."
Review 4 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good idea,
June 10, 2015
By: MisplacedAlaskan
from Durham, NC
"I love the idea, the main reason it is not 5 stars is I would like to see more magnification choices. 2.50, especially in a sunglass lens, is not quite strong enough. Takes a little getting used to (I keep seeing trees that aren't there when casting), but really handy while on the water."
Review 5 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Different Concept,
April 7, 2015
By: PotterCountyFishRman
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Bought these glasses strictly for fishing. Have not had a chance to use them on the stream yet though. Wearing them around the house to get used to the magnifier on top - a little different adjusting to this concept but so far so good. Well made product."
Review 6 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
April 7, 2015
By: MoMen
from Central PA
"Top mag took some getting used to, but much better than bottom mag for fly fishing small streams. Works well with baseball style cap to block otherwise disconcerting distortions of upper views. Would have liked a 3X for threading small hooks."
Review 7 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality and functional,
February 20, 2015
By: JeffBamboo4wt
from Birmingham, Alabama
"I have not yet had the opportunity to use the glasses fishing, but have used them in a variety of situations. I have driven long distances and it is east to look down at the dash without the magnifiers causing problems. When I need to read, text, or send email they are very functional. It took only a short period of time getting use to holding things a little higher when needing to use the magnifiers. Very good glare control. The only disadvantage I have encountered is that due to the magnifiers being in the upper part of the lens I have to change out glasses when shooting, but since these are primarily fishing glasses they are well suited. You can walk around with unhindered vision when you have to watch where you are stepping. Overall, excellent product."
Review 8 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clear Vision,
February 18, 2015
By: MOflyfishing
from Tualatin, OR
"I have worn these glasses both on big river and small stream adventures. The magnifiers up top work best on the bigger river, ability to wade is unimpeded. In the small stream environment, where one is looking up to see tree branches and bushes, it gets a bit more complicated. On the whole having polarized glasses with the readers up top has been a plus for my fishing experiences."
Review 9 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great idea!,
July 21, 2014
By: Mickyfinnnn
from NH
"Saw these and had to have them. They seem well made and are a good fit for me. Highly recommend!"
Review 10 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Magnifier not as Strong.,
March 4, 2014
By: Breadbaker
from Buffalo, NY
"Nice glasses, but a bit too small for my round face. Large face people take heed!
The magnifier on top was a great idea but I was disappointed with the strength. My 2.5 magnifier clip on were twice as strong.
I decided to return the glasses and ended up purchasing the the Orvis Fire Hole sunglasses.
I will continue to use theOrvis clip on magnifiers, as stated they are "stronger".
I would recommend to a friend (with a smaller face) to try the Top Focal to see if he/she would like them. Just not a "fit" for me.
"
Review 11 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality but good idea,
February 20, 2014
By: 1Mike
from Omaha, NE
"I liked the idea of the Rx on top. I visualized wading without distortion and still being able to tie on a fly without changing glasses.
Glasses arrived with a broken right side bow. Examined and they are two piece bows with a very flimsy tab inserted between them and that's where it broke. I never got to try them on. Not up to Orvis quality.
"
Review 12 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Safety is TOP priority!,
January 15, 2014
By: Dwyguy123
"These are not a novelty item. Safety in the water is a top priority and these do the job. Great eye protection and allows fishermen to wade w/o depth issues. I got 2.5x and after a few minutes had no problems with the features. Love them and hope to keep them for years."
Review 13 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great new glasses,
October 22, 2013
By: silverdr2
from Coudersport,PA
"I had my old bifocal Orvis polarized sunglasses for over 25 years and loved them. The frame got shattered on a good-by hug from my guide on the Bighorn in Sep't. I ordered the new glasses to replace them. I really like the bifocal on the top part of the lens...it makes wading much easier and safer. I fished the Erie tribs last week for steelhead and really liked the new glasses."
Review 14 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great idea,
July 15, 2013
By: matlui55
from Stamford Ct.
"I think is a great idea to have the bifocals on the upper part of the lense"
Review 15 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Top Focals,
June 20, 2013
By: Cheeseburger
from Deschutes Country
"This is one of those products that makes you question whether teenagers designed all the fishing glasses that came before it. The magnifier on top of the lens just makes sense: the ONLY reason you would ever want the magnifier on the bottom is when you are reading. Who reads in the sun?! Sunglasses with the magnifier on the bottom are useless. And dangerous. These have no line obstructing your vision, keeping those ledges and boulders and rattlesnakes in the grass in focus. I'm buying a second pair...as soon as the price comes down. They're not THAT good!"
Review 16 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great improvement,
May 28, 2013
By: perk
"over magnifier sunglasses with magnifier at bottom of lens.Obscures vision less especially when wading. Works great for threading flies."
Review 17 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant idea,
May 28, 2013
By: perk
"much better than having the magnifier at bottom of lens. Makes sense - why obscure vision on the lower part of lens when you need to look down for wading. I usually hold fly up anyway to thread it as i want more light.
Took no time to adjust to.
"
Review 18 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Eyes !,
March 27, 2013
By: CocoMo
"These are the best eyes for river fishing ever !
Makes perfect sense to put the bifocal lens at the top of the eye, so that visibility is not impaired while wading.
Good job Orvis!"
Review 19 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
limb savers,
February 24, 2013
By: BwanaRip
from Palm Beach, FL & Big Sky, MT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Walking the round, rocky river banks of sourtern Chile with the top-focal-fly-threader sunglasses takes the guesswork out of foot placement in areas where a slip can easily mean a bruised if not broken limb. Way to go Orvis. Leading the pack again."