Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses

We turned the concept of magnifiers on its head. Orvis Vice Chairman Dave Perkins had the idea to create a pair of magnified bifocal fishing sunglasses that doesn't obscure your vision when looking down when wading or walking a stream bank. By placing the magnifier inset at the top of the glasses, your view of the water remains unobstructed. High-quality polarized optics for optimal light transmission on the water. In black, tortoise. Choose 2X or 2.5X (go up from normal power when viewing through tinted lenses). Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Review 1 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Magnifier not as Strong.,
March 4, 2014
By: Breadbaker
from Buffalo, NY
"Nice glasses, but a bit too small for my round face. Large face people take heed!
The magnifier on top was a great idea but I was disappointed with the strength. My 2.5 magnifier clip on were twice as strong.
I decided to return the glasses and ended up purchasing the the Orvis Fire Hole sunglasses.
I will continue to use theOrvis clip on magnifiers, as stated they are "stronger".
I would recommend to a friend (with a smaller face) to try the Top Focal to see if he/she would like them. Just not a "fit" for me.
"
Review 2 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality but good idea,
February 20, 2014
By: 1Mike
from Omaha, NE
"I liked the idea of the Rx on top. I visualized wading without distortion and still being able to tie on a fly without changing glasses.
Glasses arrived with a broken right side bow. Examined and they are two piece bows with a very flimsy tab inserted between them and that's where it broke. I never got to try them on. Not up to Orvis quality.
"
Review 3 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Safety is TOP priority!,
January 15, 2014
By: Dwyguy123
"These are not a novelty item. Safety in the water is a top priority and these do the job. Great eye protection and allows fishermen to wade w/o depth issues. I got 2.5x and after a few minutes had no problems with the features. Love them and hope to keep them for years."
Review 4 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great new glasses,
October 22, 2013
By: silverdr2
from Coudersport,PA
"I had my old bifocal Orvis polarized sunglasses for over 25 years and loved them. The frame got shattered on a good-by hug from my guide on the Bighorn in Sep't. I ordered the new glasses to replace them. I really like the bifocal on the top part of the lens...it makes wading much easier and safer. I fished the Erie tribs last week for steelhead and really liked the new glasses."
Review 5 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great idea,
July 15, 2013
By: matlui55
from Stamford Ct.
"I think is a great idea to have the bifocals on the upper part of the lense"
Review 6 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Top Focals,
June 20, 2013
By: Cheeseburger
from Deschutes Country
"This is one of those products that makes you question whether teenagers designed all the fishing glasses that came before it. The magnifier on top of the lens just makes sense: the ONLY reason you would ever want the magnifier on the bottom is when you are reading. Who reads in the sun?! Sunglasses with the magnifier on the bottom are useless. And dangerous. These have no line obstructing your vision, keeping those ledges and boulders and rattlesnakes in the grass in focus. I'm buying a second pair...as soon as the price comes down. They're not THAT good!"
Review 7 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great improvement,
May 28, 2013
By: perk
"over magnifier sunglasses with magnifier at bottom of lens.Obscures vision less especially when wading. Works great for threading flies."
Review 8 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant idea,
May 28, 2013
By: perk
"much better than having the magnifier at bottom of lens. Makes sense - why obscure vision on the lower part of lens when you need to look down for wading. I usually hold fly up anyway to thread it as i want more light.
Took no time to adjust to.
"
Review 9 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Eyes !,
March 27, 2013
By: CocoMo
"These are the best eyes for river fishing ever !
Makes perfect sense to put the bifocal lens at the top of the eye, so that visibility is not impaired while wading.
Good job Orvis!"
Review 10 for Top-Focal Fly-Threader Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
limb savers,
February 24, 2013
By: BwanaRip
from Palm Beach, FL & Big Sky, MT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Walking the round, rocky river banks of sourtern Chile with the top-focal-fly-threader sunglasses takes the guesswork out of foot placement in areas where a slip can easily mean a bruised if not broken limb. Way to go Orvis. Leading the pack again."