Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle

Keep your gear safe anywhere you go and transport it conveniently in this wheeled fishing gear bag. The newly redesigned Safe Passage Rolling Vented Duffle features inline skate wheels for easy carry and smooth rolling, with handles on both outside ends for loading ease. The roomy main compartment features two mesh pockets and compression straps, with enough room to store fishing shirts, reels, and everything else you'll need. Sturdy and durable, it's built with a support bar and reinforced bottom so the bag stays upright and won't tip backward when rolled. The drop bottom will hold 9-foot 4-piece rod cases with separate, vented compartments for wet waders. In willow green. Bottom compartment: 31"L x 16.5"W x 5"D; 2,557.5 cu. in. Overall: 31"L x 16.5"W x 14"D; 7,161 cu. in. Weighs 10.4 lbs. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 9, 2014
By: Trout4953
"Bought this for my son's 40th birthday and he loves it. Plans on taking it on a fly fishing trip to Montana. I still have one of the original Orvis duffle bags that I purchased back in 1980."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best rolling duffel I've ever seen or used,
August 30, 2014
By: Highdesertfly
from Walker River, Nevada
"I've been looking for a rolling duffel that is strong, durable, has large wheels and can accommodate my rods and waders along with my other traveling essentials all in one and this is the ticket. Even loaded it still meets the max size requirements for airline baggage restrictions. The specs state max rod case as nine foot but I put my H2 nine foot six in the bottom with no problem. This is the rolling duffel of all rolling ruffles."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Service,
August 12, 2014
By: Cycling
from Bellevue
"Bought two for trip to Europe. One wheel on one unit developed a wobble. Brought back and got an exchange -- gracious assistance and no hassle."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good enough for light duty, but…,
July 24, 2014
By: AceRanchero
from Denver, CO
"I'm submitting this review on the advise of the Orvis retailer where I returned this bag with the hopes of replacing it with the newer version. However, and curiously, the four points of failure on the current bag appear unchanged from the original version. They are…
1) The hard plastic grip-lip on the bottom near the handle protrudes just enough to get dinged. It was broken on my very first trip with the bag.
2) On my third trip using the bag one of the bumper knobs on the bottom of the bag disappeared, rendering the bag unstable when left upright.
3) The wheel mounts inside the case, behind the zippered fabric, are flimsy and unprotected. One wheel failed on my most recent trip, making me the noisiest bag-dragger in Brussels.
4) Beware of handles that overextend, as touted my another reviewer. This puts extra 'tongue' weight on the handle such that, on this bag, I was no longer able to pull the handle out. On a Battenkill rolling suit bag last December I had the same problem but was not able to push the handle back into the bag. A baggage handler throated to hack-saw off the handle in order to stow the bag. I managed to talk him out of the drastic measure.
While the size and weight of the bag are great for fishing as well as non-fishing travel—the slim width is great for rolling quickly through NYC Subway or London Tube turnstiles, and for negotiating crowded sidewalks—I really wish these weak points would have been addressed in the redesign in lieu of beefing up the fabric which, on my original, shows absolutely no sigh of wear."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Bag,
June 7, 2014
By: Flyfisherva
from Northern VA
"The hard bottom compartment works great for rod tubes and boots. Keeps clothes and gear separate. The bag is light yet rugged. Holds almost too much and I have to be careful about overloading exceeding the airlines 50lb limit. Just a great total fly fishing gear travel bag/luggage."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it so much, I bought another!,
May 11, 2014
By: bighornrivermt
from Bighorn River, Hardin, MT
"We've been traveling with one duffel for years and would also bring along my old TravelPro luggage. We love this luggage so much we bought another last year and ditched my old stuff. Our luggage is well traveled and it still looks perfectly new! For wet waders and shoes the bottom is fantastic. There is plenty of room and pretty light so we can pack in the gear. I would highly recommend!"
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag holds rods safely,
January 28, 2014
By: KeokukTed
from Colorado
"I have been frustrated with other travel luggage that either would not hold a 4-piece rod or was oversized per airline regulations. This bag will hold a 4 inch PVC tube in the bottom where I can put 4-5 rods. It also holds boots and other fishing gear and reels in this semi-rigid compartment for safe transport. My clothes fit easily in the top compartment. The bag is a bit heavy, but I can still get all I need for a week-long trip to a tropical destination and stay under 50 pounds."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go to bag for wherever!!,
January 24, 2014
By: jponikvar
from Craig, Colorado
"My wife purchased this for me 6 years ago, it is my favorite for any trip.
This bag had been around the world with no problems until I ran it over and dragged it under the truck. I tried to replace it by purchasing most pieces of the Battenkill line, just not the same! After going back to this bag bent zippers, scuffed body and all, it survived two more trips to Europe and one to New Zealand before giving out. I sent the bag in for repair and to my delight was sent the new improved version at a reduced price.
I should be good for the next 10 years or car mishap!
This should really be included in the luggage section of Orvis instead of only the fishing department."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as advertised,
January 3, 2014
By: RAJR
from Charleston, SC
"I bought this bag for my son. I was unsure about ordering something like this without seeing it. When it arrived I was thrilled to see the quality and style were exactly what I was looking for. You even got it here on Christmas Eve. Thanks for saving the day!"
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 12, 2013
By: Dapper40
"2nd Purchase of this Bag. holds a gret deal of Luggage... Pretty durable.."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great bag,
November 4, 2013
By: krehfish
from northern wisconsin
"I had one for 6+ years. Lost it in a fire but I'm in the process of replacing it. It's been on 2 week trips to Belize, week long trips to Montana and 2 week trips Alaska(where the fire got it). Plenty of space for rods waders clothes etc. My only criticism is that it's a bit heavy at 10#"
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for hard fishers...,
October 15, 2013
By: Mouching
from Paris, France
"This bag is fantastic...if you are a casual fisherman...it is a great bag for a week end.... butit won't allow you to take your gear for much longer. Once you've put 2 rods, a few fly boxes, waders+boots, a vest...and a few accessories every fly fisher takes along. There is but very little space for your clothes... unless you don't change. Too small."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag,
February 18, 2013
By: CandM
"This bag is great because it can be used for so many different trips. It's great for the plane because it's rugged and stiff, so easy to pull and the handle is long, making it much simpler to pull. The bottom of the bag is flat, so perfect for your suits or folded items. The top is like a duffle and can hold LOTS of stuff. It's great! Exactly what I needed!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1