Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tenkara Outfit

A subdued and traditional iteration of fly fishing, tenkara originated several hundred years ago in the high-gradient streams flowing through the mountains of Japan. Appreciated for its simple elegance and lightweight approach, tenkara utilizes only the essential elements of fly fishing—a rod, a line, and a fly—and completely bypasses the need for a reel. This Tenkara rod and line outfit, manufactured by Tenkara USA, provides everything an angler needs to begin learning about this ancient form of fishing. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.683 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 of 41(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Tenkara Outfit
Review 1 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great introduction to Tenkara,
December 26, 2013
By: AgilePenguin
from Athens GA
"I've been looking for a different approach to fly fishing suited for the small streams and ponds near my home. Tenkara fits the bill perfectly, and this package is a great way to start.
Everything you need is included, and the instructions provided are easy to understand and quite helpful. I opened the package, attached the line, tied on one of the included flies and was catching fish in minutes.
The rod is very lightweight and responsive. The sections extend smoothly, fit tightly and release easily.
Tenkara technique is intuitive. If you keep the handful of helpful pointers in mind, by the end of your first outing you can make delicate, accurate presentations that would take hours of practice to master with conventional Western fly casting.
I'm looking forward to lots of fun using this equipment on small streams and ponds."
Review 2 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great rod,
December 18, 2013
By: BobbyB
from PA
"Great rod. Just as described. Fished like a dream."
Review 3 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rekindle your love of fishing,
November 10, 2013
By: GWS243
from Penn.
"This is a great way to get into tenkara fishing. It's extremely productive in higher-gradient streams and will teach you how to become a better tight-quarters caster and nymph angler. The booklet included in this set is excellent."
Review 4 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Trendy but not much else,
November 6, 2013
By: riverdog
from SLC, UT
"Trendy but not very versatile. If you want to stand out in the crowd buy it. Also good in very select conditions for very young children before they can get basic casting with fly rod down. If your child is already 4 or 5 years old and reasonable coordinated skip it. If you aren't into the fashion show with what you wear fishing then this attention grabber probable isn't for you either. Doesn't outperform a descent fly rod in any situation other than the toddler age group."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tenkara outfit,
August 19, 2013
By: JodyH
from S.E. PA
"Nice assortment of needed tackle! Quite different type of casting from traditional flyfishing! Easy to assemble and use. A lot of fun for a small price. Very portable. Tenkara flies provided are adequate and very easy to tye at the fly bench."
Review 6 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good but bad cork,
June 5, 2013
By: bmacm
from Louisiana
"Overall, I am quite pleased with the products. It is really fun to use. However, I have to say I was disappointed with the cork handle. A couple of inches of the base was a different shade from the rest of the handle. And there was some minor pitting, especially at the distal end. It is not a deal-killer, but I have several very inexpensive spinning rods (under $40) with much better cork. I treated it with rod builders' cork sealer. Better quality control is suggested."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenkara Rods,
May 22, 2013
By: ScottOSull
from Denver Colorado
"Tenkara rods are a perfect compliment to your fly fishing arsenal. I bought two rods from Orvis so that my two sons 8 and 10 can use them on the river with me. Tenkara rods are very simple and intuitive to use. My oldest has chosen to use a tenkara rod over his traditional fly rod and has caught dozens of brookies with it. I think it is a great way to introduce kids and beginner adults to fly fishing and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another."
Review 8 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cool idea,
May 15, 2013
By: GRSJR
from Anderson SC
"Took the set up to Wisconsin for a family get together on a clear springfed lake. Casted fairly good, but didn't have the range to get far and it was way to cold to wade without waders. Can't wait to try it on a small stream in Pennsyulvania and some small ponds here in South Carolina, it should be a blast."
Review 9 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Purchase,
May 14, 2013
By: pmdmayfly22
from salt lake city Utah
"product arrived in timely manner as always the case with Orvis. Love the Tenkara concept. Rod works well, easy to cast. great product!"
Review 10 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Better Choices Out There,
April 22, 2013
By: Balanced
"First let me say that the Iwana is a good T rod and the package is an excellent value - particularly the warranty. TUSA stuff makes for easy and risk free shopping. Buying from Orvis - even better. That being said, there are nicer options available - including some very fine rods that are actually made in Japan. A few in this price range and a bit higher. Most are up to an ounce lighter in their respective lengths and well-balanced. To be fair, it is understandable that most US consumers have only been exposed to one manufacturer's Tenkara products and are not aware of alternative choices. Perhaps Orvis can offer a bigger variety as the popularity of fixed-line angling grows in this country."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenkara purchase,
April 10, 2013
By: Allbee
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I recently heard about Tenkara fishing in article on Denver Post. I looked online for more information, and came across the Orvis product. The description was clear, concise, and the package had all I needed to get me started. It is so easy, my friend did the same - we are both very happy with the product and the ease with which we received it. Matt B."
Review 12 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first catch...,
April 6, 2013
By: hootcher
"As a newbie fly guy, this is the rig that produced my first trout.
I love the simplicity of Tenkara..."
Review 13 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simplicity & Serenity!,
March 22, 2013
By: Poconoeagle
from Pocono Mtns. PA
"This is truly a zen combination thats needed and enjoyed in todays gadget tech world. This combo extends your finger tip feel right to the fish and automatically focuses your mind in a way thats so relaxing. I fully enjoy all my reels and rods but the basic art of fishing is thrust into your soul with this technique and complete kit! Thank you Orvis for extending Daniel G's vision to America's fisherman ..."
Review 14 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Takara Outfit,
March 19, 2013
By: sadasae
from Blacksburg VA
"Orvis' Tenkara outfit is definitely the way to go, with rod, both traditional woven and level line, and flies all in the same package. I had tied on the woven line and four feet of tippet, but a friend insisted that I start out with the level line. He tied on about eleven feet of bright red line and some tippet, gave the rod a trial cast or two, and put me to work on a nice fifteen-foot wide stretch of water. The rod was easy to use, no learning curve whatsoever. I side-armed the line, lobbing it back and forth, for three hours without getting tired and never once hanging it up. Simplify, simplify! Tankara is a change of pace that we can live with."
Review 15 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks like a quality Product,
March 12, 2013
By: docnicksh
from Monterey CA
"I will need to wait for a few more months before I go fishing. Its still cold where I want to go."
Review 16 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great beginning,
March 6, 2013
By: TCS1
from Pennsylvania
"If you are interested in exploring this ancient Japanese form of fly fishing, this is a great starter kit. It includes what we need to make a beginning in an alternative approach to fly fishing. A general purpose rod and both types of line as well as even some flies make this a good choice to begin the exploration. It all seems very well made and thought out."
Review 17 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenkara Rod,
March 6, 2013
By: bkmoorenm
from New Mexico
"The order arrived as expected, and exactly what I ordered. The rod is beautiful, the accessories are perfect ... can't wait for better weather to try it on the water."
Review 18 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Full convert,
February 1, 2013
By: Bbxlnc
from Michigan
"If you actually enjoy catching fish, you will be hooked on tenkara. You can be surgical with your fly placement and presentation and can fish all day with just a few flies. I caught four fish the first morning I tried it. On another morning, I caught more than 20 trout on pressured stretch of river....an epic day. I have never even approached that success with a rod'n'reel. Tenkarausa has great customer service...you won't be sorry with the product or vendor."
Review 19 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can't wait to use,
January 9, 2013
By: Flyfish4life
from Indianapolis, IN
"I was very excited to see Orvis start selling this tenkara outfit. Although I haven't had a chance to use it yet (reason for only 4 stars) I am very impressed with my purchase and cannot wait to get out and use it."
Review 20 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Reel-free" Tenkara fly fishing,
November 14, 2012
By: TroutWalker
from Southern Colorado
"This compact 12' telescoping fly rod (with 2 lines and 2 Japanese dry flies) arrived in a few days. Quality and instructions are very good.
With little or no backcast, I could accurately place the fly over willows or large rocks and stay concealed. The Tenkara method is fast and fun and catches trout. Only shortcoming: the line doesn't store easily in the rod case.
This outfit works very well for ultralight fly fishing on a small to medium size mountain stream.
"