Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tenkara Outfit

A subdued and traditional iteration of fly fishing, tenkara originated several hundred years ago in the high-gradient streams flowing through the mountains of Japan. Appreciated for its simple elegance and lightweight approach, tenkara utilizes only the essential elements of fly fishing—a rod, a line, and a fly—and completely bypasses the need for a reel. This Tenkara rod and line outfit, manufactured by Tenkara USA, provides everything an angler needs to begin learning about this ancient form of fishing. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.745 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
50 of 51(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Tenkara Outfit
Review 1 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Tenkara starters,
November 14, 2014
By: Ralfino
from Sheffield , UK
"I bought this outift in order to try out Tenkara fishing for the first time. I am very satisfied with the quality of the rod, and the two supplied lines and line holder are similarly of high quality, as you would expect from Orvis. One reason for choosing Orvis instead of other Tenkara suppliers was a) the outfit has all you need to get fishing and b) I trust Orvis and their guarantees if anything did go wrong.
I won't say that I'm an expert (or perhaps even an inexpert!) Tenkara fisher yet but I am beginning to learn how to use the equipment properly, and learning the 'Tenkara style' of fishing in contrast to my normal river fly fishing.
Very satisfied
"
Review 2 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just love it!!!,
September 16, 2014
By: Finfeather
from Macomb, MI
"I purchased this rod for backpacking. With the love of fishing and hiking, I always found it difficult to carry my fly fishing gear. I decided to give it a try. I have been practicing with my tenkara rod and found that it's the best thing since slice bread. It's very light weight and compact. It's fits in my pack and I don't need all that extra gear. It handles 15-17" smallmouth bass very easily so I'm sure it will handle the trout. No worries when I want to change locations since it telescopes down to a 20" baton. I am already think of buying more of these tenkara outfits to give as gifts to my son and friends"
Review 3 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for stroke patient,
September 12, 2014
By: Bill1174
from Troy, Ohio
"Project Healing Waters recommended the tenkara flyrod for me since I am a stroke patient with left side impairment. It has been fantastic! The rod allows me to return to one of my favorite hobbies -- flyfishing! I would highly recommend it to anyone with my handicap."
Review 4 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great at both ends of the skill spectrum,
August 18, 2014
By: MTFisher
from Montana
"Way too many reviews focus on Tenkara VERSUS Western fly rods. That's like comparing your 2 wt ultralight to 7 wt streamer rod and arguing which one is better. The answer is neither. Both have their applications, and that is the heart of the matter with Tenkara.
I have fished western for many years, and still love to do so. I consider myself to be very proficient with a standard rod/reel, but I also find certain places and circumstances are best fished Tenkara.
By way of example, I have a small stream behind my house. I tried to fish it a few times with my western rod, and just couldn't. It was too small and too hard to get the fly where it needed to be without hanging in brush or bank. My Tenkara rod opened up that stream to me. I could dapple a fly across the full width of the stream with a 12' rod, or bow and arrow much more accurately than with my traditional rod. It's hard to explain but the light line and long rod length really open up some new techniques. I caught numerous fish (up to 12") in a stream I couldn't previously fish at all.
On a separate occasion, I took my daughter on a float of a nearby river. Previously, when I handed her a fly rod I knew that my patience was going to be pushed to the max, I was going to lose some nice leaders to knots, and probably end up with a lot of flies lost with few or no fish. I handed her the Tenkara rod this trip and it was a much different experience for both of us. Without worrying about a reel and a heavy line, she could place the fly naturally and well. We didn't have a bunch of line management disasters and best of all-- she caught fish! It got her pumped about fishing, and allowed me to relax a little. Anyone who has tried to teach a child or spouse how to fish knows the value of this!
So, I say Tenkara offers something to both an expert and a beginner. It's not about being a gear guy, it's about recognizing that there is no one perfect fly rod and that it's always good to have the right tools for the situation.
P.S. A Tenkara rod makes a wonderful backcountry rod, especially for streams or shore accessible lakes."
Review 5 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the beginner!,
July 26, 2014
By: TWSL
"High quality outfit for anyone interested in tenkara or looking to make a first foray into fly fishing."
Review 6 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Stepping Ston,
July 15, 2014
By: shelix
"Great package to start off with. Good stepping stone for those who are new to fly fishing."
Review 7 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple Perfection,
June 10, 2014
By: Rwmurray
"Orvis does it again! My Tenkara rod has become my go to fly rod. First trip out I caught some very nice brook trout."
Review 8 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenkara USA,
May 28, 2014
By: dppdds1
"Received the package without delay.
Took it out the next day. I watched the online videos on knots and assembly which are VERY helpful and was all set. I had a fun time and took it to the suburban and in untying (eventhough I thought I did as the video said), broke about a 1/4 inch section. Saddened, i went home and contacted Tenkara to see if I could get more Lillian and replacement tip. They were fantastic to work with me and decided they had a faulty part and would not charge me for the replacement and I requested express delivery and in a couple of days was again able to assemble easily and fish!! What a great partnership -- Orvis and Tenkara. I could not be happier and would highly recommend to beginners to learn to cast, use flies and for the advanced to really learn to get in "touch" with their line. It certainly helped me the next trip with my tradition rod and reel--higher catch rate!!
Thanks ORVIS
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Deal!,
May 14, 2014
By: OneFlyatATime
from Ohio
"The outfit includes nearly all the necessities to rig your rod, minus the tippet. Set-up is simple and takes little time (assuming you know the correct knots). Casting shows this rod's accuracy, reach, and stealth. All movements seem to be telegraphed down the line right to your hand. I came from a 10 year background in Western Fly fishing, and now I can say I will use both Western and Tenkara on a regular basis. The simplicity and portability of Tenkara is what draws me to make this purchase, and I am not disappointed."
Review 10 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great introduction to Tenkara,
December 26, 2013
By: AgilePenguin
from Athens GA
"I've been looking for a different approach to fly fishing suited for the small streams and ponds near my home. Tenkara fits the bill perfectly, and this package is a great way to start.
Everything you need is included, and the instructions provided are easy to understand and quite helpful. I opened the package, attached the line, tied on one of the included flies and was catching fish in minutes.
The rod is very lightweight and responsive. The sections extend smoothly, fit tightly and release easily.
Tenkara technique is intuitive. If you keep the handful of helpful pointers in mind, by the end of your first outing you can make delicate, accurate presentations that would take hours of practice to master with conventional Western fly casting.
I'm looking forward to lots of fun using this equipment on small streams and ponds."
Review 11 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great rod,
December 18, 2013
By: BobbyB
from PA
"Great rod. Just as described. Fished like a dream."
Review 12 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rekindle your love of fishing,
November 10, 2013
By: GWS243
from Penn.
"This is a great way to get into tenkara fishing. It's extremely productive in higher-gradient streams and will teach you how to become a better tight-quarters caster and nymph angler. The booklet included in this set is excellent."
Review 13 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Trendy but not much else,
November 6, 2013
By: riverdog
from SLC, UT
"Trendy but not very versatile. If you want to stand out in the crowd buy it. Also good in very select conditions for very young children before they can get basic casting with fly rod down. If your child is already 4 or 5 years old and reasonable coordinated skip it. If you aren't into the fashion show with what you wear fishing then this attention grabber probable isn't for you either. Doesn't outperform a descent fly rod in any situation other than the toddler age group."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tenkara outfit,
August 19, 2013
By: JodyH
from S.E. PA
"Nice assortment of needed tackle! Quite different type of casting from traditional flyfishing! Easy to assemble and use. A lot of fun for a small price. Very portable. Tenkara flies provided are adequate and very easy to tye at the fly bench."
Review 15 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good but bad cork,
June 5, 2013
By: bmacm
from Louisiana
"Overall, I am quite pleased with the products. It is really fun to use. However, I have to say I was disappointed with the cork handle. A couple of inches of the base was a different shade from the rest of the handle. And there was some minor pitting, especially at the distal end. It is not a deal-killer, but I have several very inexpensive spinning rods (under $40) with much better cork. I treated it with rod builders' cork sealer. Better quality control is suggested."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenkara Rods,
May 22, 2013
By: ScottOSull
from Denver Colorado
"Tenkara rods are a perfect compliment to your fly fishing arsenal. I bought two rods from Orvis so that my two sons 8 and 10 can use them on the river with me. Tenkara rods are very simple and intuitive to use. My oldest has chosen to use a tenkara rod over his traditional fly rod and has caught dozens of brookies with it. I think it is a great way to introduce kids and beginner adults to fly fishing and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another."
Review 17 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cool idea,
May 15, 2013
By: GRSJR
from Anderson SC
"Took the set up to Wisconsin for a family get together on a clear springfed lake. Casted fairly good, but didn't have the range to get far and it was way to cold to wade without waders. Can't wait to try it on a small stream in Pennsyulvania and some small ponds here in South Carolina, it should be a blast."
Review 18 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Purchase,
May 14, 2013
By: pmdmayfly22
from salt lake city Utah
"product arrived in timely manner as always the case with Orvis. Love the Tenkara concept. Rod works well, easy to cast. great product!"
Review 19 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Better Choices Out There,
April 22, 2013
By: Balanced
"First let me say that the Iwana is a good T rod and the package is an excellent value - particularly the warranty. TUSA stuff makes for easy and risk free shopping. Buying from Orvis - even better. That being said, there are nicer options available - including some very fine rods that are actually made in Japan. A few in this price range and a bit higher. Most are up to an ounce lighter in their respective lengths and well-balanced. To be fair, it is understandable that most US consumers have only been exposed to one manufacturer's Tenkara products and are not aware of alternative choices. Perhaps Orvis can offer a bigger variety as the popularity of fixed-line angling grows in this country."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tenkara Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenkara purchase,
April 10, 2013
By: Allbee
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I recently heard about Tenkara fishing in article on Denver Post. I looked online for more information, and came across the Orvis product. The description was clear, concise, and the package had all I needed to get me started. It is so easy, my friend did the same - we are both very happy with the product and the ease with which we received it. Matt B."