Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Classic Panama Fedora

As authentic as they come. Our Panama hat is constructed from plaited leaves of the toquilla straw plant, woven by hand in Ecuador, and blocked and finished in Fall River, MA. Teflon® coated for water resistance, it features a moisture-wicking polyester sweatband and a foam size adjuster for a perfect fit. An insert in the crown protects against cracking from regular wear. Detailed with a navy grosgrain ribbon and an antiqued-brass Orvis pin. Panama hat in ivory. Made in USA. Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞). 2½" brim; 4" crown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
32 of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Panama Fedora
Review 1 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NOSTALGIA,
June 5, 2015
By: Stmimo
from Roanoke ,Virginia
"Warm summer nights , Cuban cigars , four fingers of scotch over ice and familar music from time long past .
All that's missing ? A classy straw fedora .
Love the hat. Fit , finish and the price .
Purchased three .
Now back to the " Cubans " and the scotch .
"
Review 2 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money,
May 18, 2015
By: Louie123
from Bakersfield, CA.
"This hat fits good and feels good. Very classy looking. Have had several compliments."
Review 3 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
April 20, 2015
By: WTCJ
"This hat fits and looks even better than I expected! Orvis came through again!"
Review 4 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Topper,
April 8, 2015
By: CaptainGuy
from St. Petersburg, FL
"I wanted a smart looking Panama hat to wear with dress clothing, and this fills the bill. I ordered a large, which fits me snugly but not too tightly. It's perfect for Florida's warm, humid climate. I also like the crush proof lining in the top that should keep the straw from unraveling. Another great Orvis product!"
Review 5 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pure Class,
February 11, 2015
By: BillyH
from Virginia Beach, VA
"I wear a 7-7/8 hat so it's very hard to find one that fits right, let alone looks good. The Panama Ferdora XXL is a perfect fit and looks like a hat that costs double what I paid Orvis."
Review 6 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice hat for sunny days,
February 9, 2015
By: fedora66
from Brainerd MN
"bought this hat for a short trip to Florida. shipping was prompt arriving in 3 days. fits perfect."
Review 7 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
February 5, 2015
By: bellinghamster
"Great looking and excellent fit! Also a great bargain! Even though it's "out of season" (LOL) I'm wearing it daily here in Los Angeles."
Review 8 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish,
December 18, 2014
By: Streamwader
from Central Kentucky
"Just received this Panama and am pleased with the style and fit. I am on the "large" side of a medium and this hat fit perfectly. For those who may find the size a bit large it comes with spacers to insert in the band."
Review 9 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not up to par,
December 9, 2014
By: dreux
"A proper Panama hat is light, soft and tightly woven. The hat Orvis offers is none of the above. It is very poor and they charge the postage if one returns this inferior product"
Review 10 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat!!,
November 26, 2014
By: Maverickbanker
from Superior, Colorado
"The hat came back exactly as described and it fit perfectly. Its now winter here in Colorado so I wore it around the house just to ensure the fit was correct. This is a very nice item!!"
Review 11 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Panama !,
October 6, 2014
By: MCGuy
from New Hampshire
"- A terrific classic Panama hat.
- The ivory color and navy grosgrain band are just right for a nice understated look.
- The construcion quality is superb and the special crown insert is a nice feature to maintain shape.
- Sizing is right on in large for a 7 3/8" head.
- ... and it's great that it's made in the USA.
"
Review 12 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and well made fits perfect,
September 17, 2014
By: Rickyandlucky7
from Long Island. New York
"I got to give the best review on this item, as well the service on the store was great, and fast delivery"
Review 13 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised!,
August 14, 2014
By: SlimFitFan
from Indiana
"I can see why this hat is so highly rated by other reviewers. It's really nice looking and well made! Orvis' hat descriptions are very helpful in providing accurate specs on crown height and brim width. Also their sizing specs are right on target. My true hat size is 7 1/8 and the size Medium fits perfectly (plus the included foam spacers could have helped if it had been a little too roomy)."
Review 14 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real man's straw hat,
August 11, 2014
By: Bossdog
from Newport Beach, CA
"A classic straw love the fit and the comfort.
Many looks and compliments from the ladies.
A perfect summer hat for a man.
"
Review 15 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
made for shade,
August 1, 2014
By: onthegreens
from Scottsdale, AZ
"This Panama keeps you cool while you are being cool"
Review 16 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best ever summer hat,
July 15, 2014
By: lounel
from New Jersey
"just the one I was looking for, it really tops my stack. Thank You."
Review 17 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have Seven of these hats. That says it all.,
July 15, 2014
By: Jim45
from Boca Raton FL
"I live in FLA so I need these hats. I tried changing Hat bands at first and then elected to bite the bullet and buy more hats so that I am not changing hat bands all of the time.
I like to look neat so this is the hat for me. Well made and stylish in a sort of understated way.
"
Review 18 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best and Coolist Fedora ever.,
June 25, 2014
By: popeye1947
from Northwood, Ohio
"This is a cool ,fabulous and
good looking hat. I have received
many compliments on it. just on the
first time a wore it. Great for keeping
the hot sun off your face and back.
"
Review 19 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fedora,
June 25, 2014
By: JeryBGA5
from Atlanta, GA
"Very pleased with hat. Looks well made and I appreciated the ability to adjust the size."
Review 20 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elegant Style for Summer,
June 20, 2014
By: ElegantJim
from New York City
"There's a touch of class in this Pnama hat, one of my summer favorites. Best value for the money with reinforced crown so that the front of the pinch at the top won't fray to spoil the good looks. Brim is rakish. Adds style to almost any summer oufit and makes me feel like a star when I get admiring looks from lovely ladies. Can't be beat ."