Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Panama Fedora

As authentic as they come. Our Panama hat is constructed from plaited leaves of the toquilla straw plant, woven by hand in Ecuador, and blocked and finished in Fall River, MA. Teflon? coated for water resistance, it features a moisture-wicking polyester sweatband and a foam size adjuster for a perfect fit. An insert in the crown protects against cracking from regular wear. Detailed with a navy grosgrain ribbon and an antiqued-brass Orvis pin. Panama hat in ivory. Made in USA. Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞). 2½" brim; 4" crown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Panama Fedora
Review 1 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Panama !,
October 6, 2014
By: MCGuy
from New Hampshire
"- A terrific classic Panama hat.
- The ivory color and navy grosgrain band are just right for a nice understated look.
- The construcion quality is superb and the special crown insert is a nice feature to maintain shape.
- Sizing is right on in large for a 7 3/8" head.
- ... and it's great that it's made in the USA.
"
Review 2 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and well made fits perfect,
September 17, 2014
By: Rickyandlucky7
from Long Island. New York
"I got to give the best review on this item, as well the service on the store was great, and fast delivery"
Review 3 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised!,
August 14, 2014
By: SlimFitFan
from Indiana
"I can see why this hat is so highly rated by other reviewers. It's really nice looking and well made! Orvis' hat descriptions are very helpful in providing accurate specs on crown height and brim width. Also their sizing specs are right on target. My true hat size is 7 1/8 and the size Medium fits perfectly (plus the included foam spacers could have helped if it had been a little too roomy)."
Review 4 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real man's straw hat,
August 11, 2014
By: Bossdog
from Newport Beach, CA
"A classic straw love the fit and the comfort.
Many looks and compliments from the ladies.
A perfect summer hat for a man.
"
Review 5 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
made for shade,
August 1, 2014
By: onthegreens
from Scottsdale, AZ
"This Panama keeps you cool while you are being cool"
Review 6 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best ever summer hat,
July 15, 2014
By: lounel
from New Jersey
"just the one I was looking for, it really tops my stack. Thank You."
Review 7 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have Seven of these hats. That says it all.,
July 15, 2014
By: Jim45
from Boca Raton FL
"I live in FLA so I need these hats. I tried changing Hat bands at first and then elected to bite the bullet and buy more hats so that I am not changing hat bands all of the time.
I like to look neat so this is the hat for me. Well made and stylish in a sort of understated way.
"
Review 8 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best and Coolist Fedora ever.,
June 25, 2014
By: popeye1947
from Northwood, Ohio
"This is a cool ,fabulous and
good looking hat. I have received
many compliments on it. just on the
first time a wore it. Great for keeping
the hot sun off your face and back.
"
Review 9 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fedora,
June 25, 2014
By: JeryBGA5
from Atlanta, GA
"Very pleased with hat. Looks well made and I appreciated the ability to adjust the size."
Review 10 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elegant Style for Summer,
June 20, 2014
By: ElegantJim
from New York City
"There's a touch of class in this Pnama hat, one of my summer favorites. Best value for the money with reinforced crown so that the front of the pinch at the top won't fray to spoil the good looks. Brim is rakish. Adds style to almost any summer oufit and makes me feel like a star when I get admiring looks from lovely ladies. Can't be beat ."
Review 11 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly a classic,
June 17, 2014
By: WesternColoradoTraveler
from Grand Junction, CO
"This is a great classic panama. It looks good and is very well constructed. Orvis hats, and I own several, run a little large but the included foam inserts work well to resolve that issue. While some panamas have a more casual style, this hat works well with a suit or sport coat as well as casual wear. If you like hats, I'd highly recommend this one."
Review 12 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Proud,
June 5, 2014
By: Larrytcb
from Tulsa, OK
"A very nice hat. Light weight and stylish. Proud to be seen wearing this hat."
Review 13 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Look,
June 4, 2014
By: leeladd
"Always wanted a real Panama.This is the "look" I wanted. Thank you"
Review 14 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MAYBE,
May 6, 2014
By: MONCHO
from Norfolk, VA
"Well, no doubt the hat is excellent quality, and, I have always wanted to a Panamá.
But, my problem w it is that when I used it on a hot day, my head was wet w sweat fairly quickly, especially since I am bald.
I am sure it would have been a different situation if there had been ventilation openings in the weave.
So, I had to return it since it did not suit me, even when I wore it while riding w the top down.
That's another thing. I was fearful of having it blow away due to the wind while I drove. A tuck away strap would have been a +."
Review 15 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Panama---CooL,
April 7, 2014
By: Jim45
from Boca Raton FL
"I have purchaced no fewer than 4 of these Panama Hats from Orvis I have them set up with different Hat Bands. Its more convenient that way and much easier than changingHat bands. I love these hats and find the Quality to be at least equal to Panamas that I own that cost twice as much.The weak part of Panama hats is the peak (they crack after a while) but not these as thay have an insert that adds strength prevents cracking. JC"
Review 16 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top (Quality) Hat,
March 18, 2014
By: sawgrass
from New Smyrna Beach, FL
"I don't wear hats too often, being in a fairly windy area, but do enjoy them for the sun protection and shade. So when I do wear one I like for it to fit well and look nice and snappy, and this hat fits the bill quite well. Seems to be of top quality and well made. Looking to see how it holds up over time but believe it will just fine. However, (has to be one) I wish the crown was higher. I got the XXL to fit my big head, which it does just fine, but with the bigger head the crown needs to be raised about from 1/4" to probably 1/2" then it would have been absolutely perfect."
Review 17 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good summer hat,
March 28, 2013
By: smanticor
from Zenica, Bosnia
"very good summer hat. Uncrushable and fine. Prompt delivery."
Review 18 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous fedora,
March 26, 2013
By: Gamecocks
from South Carolina
"One of the nicest hats in my collection. Great style and quality."
Review 19 for Classic Panama Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality hat to keep you cool,
March 11, 2013
By: PrairieGuy
from Iowa
"This is a classic "Panama hat" up to a point. The straw is woven in Ecuador, where the best Panamas come from, though the hat is assembled in the U.S. It is very well made, and the reinforcement in the crown will keep it looking good for a longer time than normal. The straw is very stiff, rather than the soft straw of some Panamas, which could have been noted in the description."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Classic Panama Fedora
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4