Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Surfwashed Cotton Tank

Our signature Surfwashed Cotton tee collection gets a cool refresher with the addition of this essential tank top. Feminine shirring at the shoulders. Rounded neck. Our gently shaped, slightly more contemporary Favorite Fit. Supersoft Surfwashed Cotton jersey tank top in a summery palette. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Sizes XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.56 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
16 of 25(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Review 1 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lovely color BUT…,
May 28, 2014
By: LabDogLuvr
from San Diego, CA
"Not up to Orvis standards. I’m average/medium size. Choose this tank specifically for its high neckline, however neckline was 2” lower than pictured. Additionally, arm holes huge – at least 2 inches longer than wearable. Raspberry color true and attractive, tank soft and comfortable, however very revealing of underarms and back. Tank to be returned."
Review 2 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Straps that Cover!,
April 4, 2014
By: spishrm
from Downingtown, PA
"Very good design for us large-breasted gals who always have to wear a bra and can't get away with flimsy built-in bras. Sent it back for a larger size, but could tell I would still like the fit."
Review 3 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile and comfy,
February 3, 2014
By: MAMIED
from High Point, NC
"These tanks are very soft and not too thick...just right, a good cotton weight. I wear them under heavier sweaters or big shirts. I bought them in 3 colors. Medium is true to size...they wash well. No shrinkage. Colors are heathered or "washed" look. Really versatile item to have in your wardrobe."
Review 4 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
November 13, 2013
By: chilidog
from Columbus, GA
"This tee was the right color but the material was thin and the armholes were cut too big showing underwear."
Review 5 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TANK WITH A DIFFERENCE,
October 23, 2013
By: Lightbulb
from Cameron, MO
"Pleased with this tank. Nice colors and unique shoulder treatment."
Review 6 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely, unique styling,
October 15, 2013
By: horsesandhounds
from Central Montana
"I love this tank's styling at the shoulders and the gently curved hemline. (The color I ordered wasn't quite right, but the tank was otherwise perfect.)"
Review 7 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best quality tanks ever.,
September 19, 2013
By: reading
from Seattle, Wa.
"Love this tank. In fact this is the second one I have ordered.
The fabric is better than most tanks, the fit is good, so are the colors. What more can I say.
"
Review 8 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Accurately described,
September 4, 2013
By: Ambien0
from Northern IL
"I wear these sorts of tops all the time and was please when I saw this one on sale. Color, texture, sizing was well described -- very nice for hot weather or to wear under a jacket or blouse. I've become quite a fan of Orvis this past year or so. The tanks give you good coverage especially at the armholes. When you are my age -- over 60 -- this gets to be an issue. Can't beat the quality of Orvis. Very pleased."
Review 9 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
comfortable tank,
August 31, 2013
By: mkt1965
from peachtree city ga.
"The softness of these tanks makes them ideal for layering. My only complaint is the colors are not true to what the pictures show. the fit is perfect."
Review 10 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great top to wear under a loose jacket,
August 31, 2013
By: mkt1965
from peachtree city ga.
"This tank is just the right thickness to wear under a light jacket for the office place. It is soft, yet solid. i have it in another color but do not like that color as much as I like the sunwashed red."
Review 11 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good summer tee.,
August 29, 2013
By: nancySK
from Utah
"The fabric of this tee is not as substantial as I expected...a bit thin.
It will be a good "next summer" under tee.
"
Review 12 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Horrible quality control,
August 27, 2013
By: Thinkpink
"Loved this tank....style and color. I ordered the raspberry color and when I tried it on, one armhole fit fine but the other one was huge and my bra was showing because the armhole was so big. Ordered another raspberry color thinking this was a fluke and when it arrived and I tried it, the same thing. Not the usual Orvis standard! Both will be returned. Too bad because I loved the tank!!! I should mention that I have ordered these in other colors and I didn't have this problem."
Review 13 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes and No,
August 27, 2013
By: Thinkpink
"I ordered this top in multiple colors. I loved the gathered material over the shoulder. Cute addition to a tank. Yes, I loved some of my tanks that fit correctly! No,I was not happy about the fact that several of them were not cut correctly! One armhole was bigger than the other one. One side fit perfectly and on the other side my bra was showing. Not very good quality control. Too bad because I would say that only one color fit well, a couple others were "iffy" and I ordered two different tops in the dusty pink color and they are the worse cuts of all of them. They are going back. So, yes, I love the style of the top but no to the consistency of quality."
Review 14 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
August 20, 2013
By: Montalicious
from Winston-Salem, NC
"I love the navy blue color and the comfort of this shirt. It fits very well and I am already wearing it often."
Review 15 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
On the thin side,
July 8, 2013
By: meandthree
from Alexandria, VA
"The fabric was thin so it did not accentuate the gathers at the shoulders as much as I thought it would. Additionally, there was a large pucker at the armpit/bosom juncture. I returned the item."
Review 16 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not worth the money,
July 4, 2013
By: Downtoearth
from Cambridgeshire, UK
"Shirt looked okay with unusual styling at shoulders. The fabric was not particularly thick and the whole thing was overpriced for what it was, even though I purchased it at a reduced price. I returned it."
Review 17 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for me,
May 23, 2013
By: Bow29
from Swampscott, MA
"I ordered this along with the high-neck inter-lock top and liked the latter so much better that I exchanged this product for the inter-lock top. I liked the unique shoulder detail and I'm sure others would enjoy this surfwashed tank, it just wasn't my style. I"
Review 18 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cute Shell!,
May 22, 2013
By: er18
from Los Alamos NM
"I ordered this in white and was pleased with the fabric. It is light enough for layering without being like a worn out rag (like most of the stuff out there). The coverage was great & well represented in the picture.The slight gather on the shoulders is a unique & cute touch.
I wish it was a little bigger- but i like it.
"
Review 19 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
May 20, 2013
By: Thelly
from Nashville, TN
"I have returned the shirts because they were not as pictured in the catalog. I wanted a high-necked knit shirt and the neckline was MUCH lower than photographed. Also, I was disappointed in the knit itself. Surprised because this was not up the quality I've always expected from an Orvis product."
Review 20 for Surfwashed Cotton Tank
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
May 3, 2013
By: Blue55
"Ordered 2 of these tops in different colors. On one top, the RIGHT armhole was too big, leaving a gap that revealed my bra, while the left side fit well. On the other top, it was the LEFT armhole with the gap, while the right side fit. A quality control problem, not a fitting problem."