Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dog Safety Jacket

Make sure people can see your dog. Whether hunting in the field or out for a stroll, this reflective dog jacket gives maximum visibility to your best friend. Premium quality materials and workmanship, field proven by hunters and outdoor enthusiasts. Double hook and loop closure ensures perfect fit and won't come off in the thickest cover. Reflective stripe glows so you and others can see your dog in low light situations. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dog Safety Jacket
Review 1 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dogs are safe,
August 12, 2014
By: Lisazax384
"Got a second dog.... Got a second vest... I wouldn't have done either if I wasn't happy with my choices.... We do a lot of hiking in deep woods. Streams, brambles, rocks, nothing seems to damage this vest. The original one looks as good as the new one. And most important I feel my dogs are safe with the bright orange color and reflective tape"
Review 2 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
July 16, 2014
By: Cheriebaby
from Montana
"We love this safety vest and our Rottweiler doesn't mind wearing it. We are presently in a construction/logging zone. Our dog is quite visible by everyone. The fit is snug and perfect! Thank you for another outstanding product!"
Review 3 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vest ever,
March 6, 2014
By: Digby007
from Bozeman Mt
"I was thrilled with the excellent quality of this vest it fits my chessy like a glove, .this is the first time any product purchased for him has fit. Well made durable and he moves naturally. 5stars"
Review 4 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safety Vest,
February 5, 2014
By: Maya316
from White plains, NY
"Excellent product! I tried so many and my dog wasn't comfortable in any of them except this one. I can see her a mile away now! Fits close to the body so not to worry about getting caught on anything. Love this vest recommend to all. My dog is a shep/lab mix, shes 70lbs, i got the 34 as she measures 31" behind her legs, fit perfect. I also bought the next size up just to see, but it was too big. Order according the the measurement of your dog as they run true to size."
Review 5 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High visability,
January 21, 2014
By: Maya316
from White plains, NY
"This safety vest is not only a great fit but is the brightest i have seen! My shep/lab mix and i go hiking in the woods and i wanted something that people would see her quickly and wouldn't mistake her for a coyote! This vest does the trick. It is a great fit too , not worried about her getting caught on something or falling off. She is a 31" chest however the medium is a bit snug around her chest so i will try the large and see which one fits best."
Review 6 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally, a dog vest that fits !,
January 14, 2014
By: 0nickname
from Northern Virginia
"My Lab/Boxer has a HUGE chest, and this vest fits so well ! We bought it in a 42--it fits a little loosely--so we could add a polarfleece layer underneath for winter hikes. His chest is about 38 inches.
So easy to put on, too !"
Review 7 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good safety vest,
January 2, 2014
By: morris5150
from Mendham, NJ
"A no-thrills but effective safety vest that is also easy-to-put.
Orvis Product Development Team: You can make this vest even better by adding more reflective tape to the sides of the vest. You may also want to consider offering the vest in a heavier, rain proof material for hunting / cold weather purposes."
Review 8 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good security jacket,
December 30, 2013
By: Hilltownhistorian
from Hilltowns, Western Massachusetts
"My fox hound wears his security jacket every day as he romps through the woods.This one is not ripping, it fits very well, and it stays on. But perhaps the best thing about it is the design: it doesn't bind him behind his legs, and it is very easy to put on and take off. I give it four stars because I reserve the fifth star for something that last very long, and I haven't had it long enough to judge that. It seems very well made."
Review 9 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
December 27, 2013
By: squashmom
"My local Orivs store ordered this vest for me from their online site. The vest came quickly and fit perfectly."
Review 10 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
December 21, 2013
By: Superpositioncollapse
from New England
"This is the safety vest to order. I've looked at a number of others, none matching this quality. Choose by chest measurement, not breed type. Fit is excellent on all three of our dogs."
Review 11 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine coat with good fit,
November 24, 2013
By: spacecadet
"We have a 55lb. coonhound/lab mix. She loves romping in the woods on our hikes and during hunting season we have to have her in orange. We've tried a few other types of vests in the past, but they were of poor quality and wouldn't hold up. This Orvis vest is far and above superior to any other type we've tried. It is made well and fits her nicely. It gives her freedom of movement and covers enough of her so that she is easy to spot."
Review 12 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peace of Mind,
October 28, 2013
By: baxter
from Seattle
"We are glad to have these safety jackets for our two dogs so we can hike during hunting season. We only wish they were a bit longer to cover more of our large dogs' bodies."
Review 13 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality Vest,
September 17, 2013
By: Alpal12
from Chicago, Il
"Very nice quality fabric that can withstand being scraped by brushy areas, and doesnt hinder the dog's movement."
Review 14 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
superb product,
September 1, 2013
By: lecoste
from Todi, Italy
"necessity for my retrievers here in rural woodlands in Italy where hunting season lasts 6 mos. Keeps dogs safe and easy to see in low light and bad weather, or dense brush. Must have gear for each dog."
Review 15 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A lifesaver,
December 31, 2012
By: Lester163
"I really love this vest. My Bernese Mountain Dog, who is 120-pounds and really could resemble a bear, wore this. And may be alive because of it. It was easy to put on, easy to remove and surely made him visible during hunting season. And it's sorta stylish on him."
Review 16 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orange Safety Vest,
December 19, 2012
By: SantaGirl
from Dallas,TX
"My dog has a haircoat that is mostly black. We go camping frequently and I bought this to put on him so he is seen more easily when we are outdoors and he has free reign. It is a relief to know that not only can we see him but other campers can see him too. I love my dog and will do anything to keep him as safe as possible. I highly recommend it."
Review 17 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied,
December 13, 2012
By: DogsWalker
from Buffalo, NY
"Purchased two of these dog safety jackets for our night walks with our dogs. They are high quality and have a great fit. Not restrictive to dogs at all and very reflective to oncoming cars. Great purchase."
Review 18 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 7, 2012
By: WoodlandGus
from Phoenicia, NY
"This is a really good product. It fits my dog very well without restricting his movement or ability to run."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Value for Vests,
December 4, 2012
By: TAAM
from Arlington, VA
"I'm not sure why Orvis doesn't tell us more about te vests - I was QUITE pleasantly surprised when they arrived. made of a sturdy cotton - not plastic or vinyl! = so the vest is washable. it encloses under the dog with a HEAVY velcro closure, that is also covered over with orange fabric, so the Velcro doesn't pick up dog hair and such. this is a very well made vest, and the write up didn't say anything about that! buy on the larger side of the range, for your dog's comfort. really happy with this purchase, and my dogs are QUITE visable in hunting season now - way better than a kerchief, or the much smaller lighter orange vests."
Review 20 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Walking,
November 9, 2012
By: Maid1
"We walk our dog in the forest during hunting season. Everyone wears orange, even Wyatt! Best jacket ever."