Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dog Safety Jacket

Make sure people can see your dog. Whether hunting in the field or out for a stroll, this reflective dog jacket gives maximum visibility to your best friend. Premium quality materials and workmanship, field proven by hunters and outdoor enthusiasts. Double hook and loop closure ensures perfect fit and won't come off in the thickest cover. Reflective stripe glows so you and others can see your dog in low light situations. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dog Safety Jacket
Review 1 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest!,
June 2, 2015
By: DanaC
from Minneapolis, MN
"Very sturdy vest. Another wonderful product from Orvis."
Review 2 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs Large,
February 4, 2015
By: mlibby
from Connecticut
"I was very happy with the quality of the vest. I do wish I had ordered a smaller size. They run big. Would definitely order this product again!"
Review 3 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit but don't use dog/size guidelines!,
January 10, 2015
By: wouldrathershoponline
from Wisconsin
"I was hesitant to purchase yet another field vest online as they tend to never be what I expect, but I'm glad I took the chance with this one. It has a nice fit for my 70 lb. female lab, and is easy to put on, and it stays on, and she cannot get it off (she is very playful that way). A nice surprise is the material the vest is made of - a tough yet workable material that will also provide some warmth on a cold day. Make sure you measure your dog and then go one size up though. For example, my lab measured 30-31" chest, but I bought the 32-35" chest size (a #36 in their size guidelines, which was not even a lab size according to their guidelines). Their sizes state a lab size is either a 38 or 42 for a large lab. Both of those would have been way too big for my 70 lb. lab, and she is by no means a small lab....just be careful with the sizing."
Review 4 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Safety Jacket,
January 9, 2015
By: Lablovermom
from Bay Area, CA
"Bought one before for my other dog and had to get another for my 2nd dog.
Perfect to use at dawn and dusk, actually anytime that you want your dog to be seen.
It also hangs on the dog nicely without restricting their movement and it doesn't slide all over the place like others I've purchased. It stays put on the dog while they're moving.
Product is made very well, not cheap, and washes well.
It has my highest rating."
Review 5 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orange Safety Jacket,
January 1, 2015
By: Dije
from Chester,VA
"I feel much safer now when I am walking my dog. I feel like now he is much more visible. He gets very excited when he sees me picking it up because he knows it's time for a walk."
Review 6 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Serves the Purpose,
December 1, 2014
By: FlyboyII
from Kansas City, MO
"I enjoy running my almost two year old and very large chocolate lab in rural Missouri and needed a Blaze Orange Vest for her to wear during our long deer hunting season. i am pleased to say that she has been wearing it since deer season started and hasn't been shot, so know it works! It goes over her head with ease and the Velcro girth strap stays on even in heavy brush. I add the Blaze Orange Chest Protector for a full Blaze Orange effect; good visibly even at great distances. I recommend this product."
Review 7 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great safety device for dogs,
November 5, 2014
By: Sundogmt
from Georgetown Lake, Montana
"We spend the summer and fall in Montana, and our Rottweiler looks a lot like a black bear. He never goes out without his vest, especially during hunting season. He even seems to like it, putting his head through the vest to get it put on. The only problem is that he outgrew large, but isn't quite big enough for an extra large."
Review 8 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice light weight jacket,
October 17, 2014
By: mtredwind
"I purchased this for my Blue Heeler. It fits fairly well but is a little loose around the barrel. It does allow for good freedom of movement but I would not leave her unsupervised with it on for a very long time. I would recommend it as a good safety jacket."
Review 9 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dogs are safe,
August 12, 2014
By: Lisazax384
"Got a second dog.... Got a second vest... I wouldn't have done either if I wasn't happy with my choices.... We do a lot of hiking in deep woods. Streams, brambles, rocks, nothing seems to damage this vest. The original one looks as good as the new one. And most important I feel my dogs are safe with the bright orange color and reflective tape"
Review 10 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
July 16, 2014
By: Cheriebaby
from Montana
"We love this safety vest and our Rottweiler doesn't mind wearing it. We are presently in a construction/logging zone. Our dog is quite visible by everyone. The fit is snug and perfect! Thank you for another outstanding product!"
Review 11 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vest ever,
March 6, 2014
By: Digby007
from Bozeman Mt
"I was thrilled with the excellent quality of this vest it fits my chessy like a glove, .this is the first time any product purchased for him has fit. Well made durable and he moves naturally. 5stars"
Review 12 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safety Vest,
February 5, 2014
By: Maya316
from White plains, NY
"Excellent product! I tried so many and my dog wasn't comfortable in any of them except this one. I can see her a mile away now! Fits close to the body so not to worry about getting caught on anything. Love this vest recommend to all. My dog is a shep/lab mix, shes 70lbs, i got the 34 as she measures 31" behind her legs, fit perfect. I also bought the next size up just to see, but it was too big. Order according the the measurement of your dog as they run true to size."
Review 13 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High visability,
January 21, 2014
By: Maya316
from White plains, NY
"This safety vest is not only a great fit but is the brightest i have seen! My shep/lab mix and i go hiking in the woods and i wanted something that people would see her quickly and wouldn't mistake her for a coyote! This vest does the trick. It is a great fit too , not worried about her getting caught on something or falling off. She is a 31" chest however the medium is a bit snug around her chest so i will try the large and see which one fits best."
Review 14 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally, a dog vest that fits !,
January 14, 2014
By: 0nickname
from Northern Virginia
"My Lab/Boxer has a HUGE chest, and this vest fits so well ! We bought it in a 42--it fits a little loosely--so we could add a polarfleece layer underneath for winter hikes. His chest is about 38 inches.
So easy to put on, too !"
Review 15 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good safety vest,
January 2, 2014
By: morris5150
from Mendham, NJ
"A no-thrills but effective safety vest that is also easy-to-put.
Orvis Product Development Team: You can make this vest even better by adding more reflective tape to the sides of the vest. You may also want to consider offering the vest in a heavier, rain proof material for hunting / cold weather purposes."
Review 16 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good security jacket,
December 30, 2013
By: Hilltownhistorian
from Hilltowns, Western Massachusetts
"My fox hound wears his security jacket every day as he romps through the woods.This one is not ripping, it fits very well, and it stays on. But perhaps the best thing about it is the design: it doesn't bind him behind his legs, and it is very easy to put on and take off. I give it four stars because I reserve the fifth star for something that last very long, and I haven't had it long enough to judge that. It seems very well made."
Review 17 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
December 27, 2013
By: squashmom
"My local Orivs store ordered this vest for me from their online site. The vest came quickly and fit perfectly."
Review 18 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
December 21, 2013
By: Superpositioncollapse
from New England
"This is the safety vest to order. I've looked at a number of others, none matching this quality. Choose by chest measurement, not breed type. Fit is excellent on all three of our dogs."
Review 19 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine coat with good fit,
November 24, 2013
By: spacecadet
"We have a 55lb. coonhound/lab mix. She loves romping in the woods on our hikes and during hunting season we have to have her in orange. We've tried a few other types of vests in the past, but they were of poor quality and wouldn't hold up. This Orvis vest is far and above superior to any other type we've tried. It is made well and fits her nicely. It gives her freedom of movement and covers enough of her so that she is easy to spot."
Review 20 for Dog Safety Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peace of Mind,
October 28, 2013
By: baxter
from Seattle
"We are glad to have these safety jackets for our two dogs so we can hike during hunting season. We only wish they were a bit longer to cover more of our large dogs' bodies."