Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Montana Morning® Polo

When it comes to comfort, our men's Montana Morning polo shirt scores high marks across the board. Pigment dyed for a well-worn look and feel, it sports rugged details throughout, including a canvas collar and placket lining, Orvis jumping-trout buttons, and herringbone-taped lining along the bottom edge of the neckband. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.356 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
11
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
4
74 of 87(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Montana Morning® Polo
Review 1 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it,
July 29, 2014
By: Harry41
from Ithaca, NY
"the style is a little different in a very good way - and I love the color which was exactly illustrated in the catalog and on line"
Review 2 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Morning Polo,
July 25, 2014
By: dialectic
"An excellent shirt - well made and designed and an unusually good color."
Review 3 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the shirt,
July 16, 2014
By: PCFisherman
"Best polo on the market!!! great summery material. good colors."
Review 4 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Morning,
July 15, 2014
By: tieman
from Portland, OR
"Great shirt, perfect weight and feel. Very versatile, I have worn it with a sport coat and with jeans. Love it."
Review 5 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
everyday use,
July 15, 2014
By: steve29
from philadelphia pa
"Versatile summer shirt which cleans easily and looks great. Comfortable and presentable. A nice buy!"
Review 6 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice rustic shirt,
July 3, 2014
By: John1862
from Wimberley, TX
"This is a very fine rustic shirt. It's cut a little closer under the shoulders ("in the pits") as compared to the Orvis Classis Polo, so just be aware of that. Very satisfied with this purchase."
Review 7 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the collar, really,
June 26, 2014
By: Samskara
from Long Island NY
"Polo shirts are fairly generic -- in the catalogs they can tell you about the fabric and the knit, and these bits of information mean nothing once the parcel arrives -- it's a pull-over. What makes this shirt stand out is the canvas collar, which is better defined and a bit more upright than the collars on more traditional polos. I like it.
Other than that, the shirt has a nice feel (most polos do) and a well worn appearance that goes well with old jeans. It's a comfortable shirt for lazy days."
Review 8 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Color Safe,
June 21, 2014
By: JustSayin
from Laguna Niguel
"Unfortunately, this soft and great looking shirt is a hassle to wash. Even after washing a second time, always in cold water, the color bled onto other clothes in the same load. I forgot that it did the same thing on the first washing! I'm not used to color bleeding with cold water! But, on the plus side, he loves the softness and details, like the stitching and buttons, and it did not shrink in the dryer on low."
Review 9 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
curious stitching,
June 18, 2014
By: JPDouglas
from Bedford, NH
"Overall, I like the shirt. Size, comfort, and fit are exactly what I expected. I have a long back and I thought the shirt had enough length. I bought the brown shirt and the stitching is a different color. Which would be OK if the stitching on the placket was not so sloppy. Note to Orvis: If you are going to use a different color of thread for the stitching, it should be done neatly."
Review 10 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft, comfortable, looks great!,
June 17, 2014
By: RosieH
from Raleigh, NC
"I had purchased two for my son who took them on a cruise to Italy. Saw them in the photos they emailed and they looked great! RosieH"
Review 11 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit Better Me,
June 17, 2014
By: O2do
from Dimondale, Michigan
"This Montana Shirt has plenty of collar and soft color that's gentle on the eye and easy on the skin. It drops on with plenty of room, and the top metal button is low enough to allow both sides of the collar to cross lines below the neck line the way we guys like it. This delivers a nice, relaxed look and feel. No wonder my wife keeps complimenting my choice in this styled garment for guys. I can trust that complete look that an extra well tailored Montana shirt brings to my person. Great fit and excellent styling make the Montana one of the better choices for the day's adventure. Thanks Orvis,
Thrilled in three colors for three different outfits. Did I mention the unique stitching in contrasting threads? Very clever . . . . Very pleased in Dimondale, Michigan, Bill
"
Review 12 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recommended,
June 13, 2014
By: Arbor12
"I was pleasantly surprised by this shirt, really comfortable, and much lighter weight than expected. Looks good, and size is just right."
Review 13 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
June 12, 2014
By: Dannyboy39
from Panama City Beach, Fl
"Very well made & great fitting shirt! I love the color & would recommend this purchase to anybody."
Review 14 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the quality I expected,
June 10, 2014
By: DougGB
from Minneapolis, MN
"The shirts are not cut straight with the weave of the fabric. Both shirts were cut 15 - 20 degrees off of horizonal. Also the fabric is very thin."
Review 15 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy!,
May 28, 2014
By: boblee
from Louisville, KY
"I was looking for a shirt that was not only comfortable but looks great not only with shorts but with slacks and blazer. This shirt fit the bill."
Review 16 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A unique polo shirt,
May 28, 2014
By: DrJHP
from Lansdale, PA
"This is probably my favorite color shirt, it fits perfectly, doesn't wrinkle and faded appearence is something I like a lot. The buttons are also unique."
Review 17 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the fisherman,
May 23, 2014
By: buttonperfect
from Ft. Myers Florida
"These shirts are perfect for the fisherman - with a fish button and elegant cotton."
Review 18 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST SHIRT ON EARTH,
May 19, 2014
By: richie3
from Redding, CT
"THE COMFORT OF THIS SHIRT IS SO GREAT I WISH I OWNED A DOZEN!"
Review 19 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent gift,
May 18, 2014
By: JACKTroutseeker
from Boise, ID
"I had purchased these shirts before and when it appeared in the catalog again, I ordered two for gifts for sons. They have a "nice feel and fit." 100% cotton is a big point with me."
Review 20 for Montana Morning® Polo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NIce Fit and Look T,
May 14, 2014
By: Jgei
from Saratoga Springs, NY
"I liked the looks of this shirt in the catalog and ordered two. Fit and look good."