Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Rattle-Free Travel Barrier

Your search for the ultimate "rattle-free" auto barrier is over. Easy to install in minutes without tools, this car dog gate incorporates telescoping legs and adjustable side panels that need only finger tightening to stay in place. Rubber feet protect your vehicle's interior. Electro-coated mesh panels; powdercoated metal supports. Fits most wagons, crossovers, minivans, and SUVs. Car dog gate in black. Adjusts from 28"-46"H, 44¾"-58½"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Review 1 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Secure & Great Fit,
April 22, 2014
By: Mgriff
from Athens, NY
"I have a 90 lb "puppy" who likes to be in your lap at all times...even on the thruway. He wouldn't stay in back of my Jeep. I tried another product and this one really is very secure! He tried to get his paws in a few times & pull gate down...but no luck. I love the side sliders that will adjust to your particular cars width. While putting it together, I noticed one part was broken. I called the company directly. I emailed a picture of the part, and within a couple of days, received a new part. Great customer service!!"
Review 2 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best there is,
April 18, 2014
By: Pancaeks
"Took me a little bit to put together but works great. Dog is safe and secure. Gate is solid as a rock with no rattles. Fits my 2013 Ford Edge just fine."
Review 3 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for a Jeep,
April 15, 2014
By: Whippetparent
from Beverly Hills, MI
"This barrier does not work in a Jeep. Wish the description would have stated that. The first barrier I received was missing parts and had to be returned. The second one arrived complete and was relatively easy to assemble. It seemed well made, but the four points of contact wouldn't work with the configuration of my four door Jeep."
Review 4 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it,
April 14, 2014
By: bandit1
"we bought this for our 4 runner Toyota we love it. have a dog that like to be right in front by us .we heard other barriers don't stay in place but we haven't had a problem with that and I really don't notice it is there."
Review 5 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for all SUV's,
April 10, 2014
By: Cskier
"Instructions so small you need a magnifying glass to read. Putting together not bad, although the extra parts are interesting.
Does not fit well in a vehicle with a sunroof or when without perfectly flat floors. Look at the space below the center grate, Lots of room for a dog to enter. Hassle to take apart and mail back. so returning to local store. Keep Looking - This one is not a winner.
"
Review 6 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works! Quietly,
April 8, 2014
By: JamesBailey
from Wisconsin
"Easy to assemble and easy to take out of the vehicle when you need more room. It is, as they claim, quiet - no rattling around at all."
Review 7 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
April 8, 2014
By: tkolove
"The concept of this item is very good, however we drive an extended cab pickup truck with bucket seats so it did not work for us. But we would highly recommend this barrier for anyone with a different type vehicle. We did return it and am now trying a different product we purchased from Orvis. This item is very well made and sturdy."
Review 8 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good so far!,
March 31, 2014
By: BiErDe
"The barrier is to keep two GSDs and one Standard Poodle behind the front seats of my Ford Escape.
It was installed this past Thursday. The rear seats are folded, and the barrier rests on top of the back of the rear seats, and two rubber "feet" touch the head liner, while two others rest on top of the rear seats' backs. The rubber feet do not touch the head liner 100%, but they seem to hold on ok.
Doggy beds on the back of the rear seats complete the dogs' lounging area.
The barrier left a gap between the two front seats, so I used a panel from an Orvis dog gate to close it off. It worked fine.
I've just driven 869 miles; the dogs only traveled 28 of those miles.
During the drive, I heard a little rattling coming from the barrier, but that was whenever I drove over some nasty uneven pavement.
The dogs stayed in their area, and did not try to push or disturb the barrier.
The youngest GSD is no longer able to sneak into the front passenger seat, and I can concentrate on my driving again.
"
Review 9 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
March 28, 2014
By: KendraC
"I love this barrier! Great fit and easy to assemble. Keeps my wild Weimaraner contained in the back of my Honda CR-V. Hasn't budged an inch, and yes, absolutely rattle-free! I would highly recommend this barrier. Shipped quickly and worth every penny!"
Review 10 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No more lap dog!,
March 25, 2014
By: Snowcloud
"This one works! I have used simular products in the past and my dogs have had their way with them. The Rattle Free Travel Barrier stays in place (the rattle free part is a bonus). My current dog ( a Chesapeake Bay retriever) is nervous in the car and attempts to ride in my lap. He has not been able to knock this barrier down. We are both much safer."
Review 11 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Barrier,
March 12, 2014
By: AzWoman
from Arizona
"Once we got the barrier together, it was easy to adjust to the vehicle space. Seems to be of heavy-duty material and worked fine to keep our Corgi & Pit mix confined to the back of our SUV. The printing of the instructions could be LARGER and clearer as it did take us quite a bit of time to assemble."
Review 12 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love my dog-and my SUV,
March 8, 2014
By: MomDof5
from Cincinnati, OH
"It is great - and does not rattle!
My husband was pleased with how it all went together! If you are looking for a new Travel Barrier - this is the one!"
Review 13 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works great,
February 4, 2014
By: alphamom
from concord, nh
"I can finally drive safely without my dog roaming from back to front seat."
Review 14 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Keeps them safe,
January 28, 2014
By: Cabingal
from Northern NY
"So far seems to be a good product. There was some confusion with parts. And one of the main legs screw was stripped. but easy enough to remedy and not bad to piece together. I had to mount mine upside down, it fit better that way, otherwise my Border Collie could squeeze between the gate and the window. Otherwise Nice and it is quiet. Time will tell with durability"
Review 15 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best deal on travel barrier,
January 16, 2014
By: BlondieFM
from Portland, Oregon
"My husband & I recently bought a Subaru Forester for taking on longer trips with our dogs. We wanted a travel barrier, but didn't want to pay as much as the dealer would charge for one. I was so pleased to see that Orvis had a very reasonably-priced one that we can remove as needed."
Review 16 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 15, 2014
By: ACaskey
from Dallas, TX
"Awesome product! We have an SUV and it fits great. It is really stable and does not make any noise. The price is great for the product you get!"
Review 17 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great barrier,
January 4, 2014
By: burnham
"Great item, a bit fiddly to assemble but once done this barrier is not moving. Very pleased"
Review 18 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was able to make it work...,
December 28, 2013
By: Reagan80
from Mpls MN
"After a few tries I was able to make it work out after all. Not a perfect fit but it will certainly do. So I will be keeping it:) It definitely does not rattle so that's a major plus!!"
Review 19 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for a 2014 Rubicon,
December 24, 2013
By: Reagan80
from Mpls MN
"I bought this for my new Jeep but unfortunately it will not work so I have to send it back. The roll bars are in the way for it to not work behind the driver seat and behind the back seat as well, bummer!
I would recommend this product as long as they don't own a 2014 Jeep or maybe other jeeps for that matter!?
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rattle-Free Travel Barrier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hit the jackpot with this purchase,
December 9, 2013
By: Mariella61
from London, Ontario
"I have spent so much money on many travel barriers and this is hands down the absolute best. I was waiting for the rattles as I drove away in my SUV and not a peep could be heard from the rear of my vehicle, other than my dog of course barking at buses going by. Thank you Orvis for making products that actually work the way the name states."