Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt

Named for the former Indian city of Madras (today known as Chennai), madras fabric is synonymous with summer, as its lightweight construction keeps the wearer effortlessly comfortable throughout the hottest season of the year. Our button-down shirts take on a cool, sophisticated look with the use of deeper tones of blues and greens, pairing well with khakis or a broken-in pair of Nantucket Reds. Button-through patch pocket. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Review 1 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Real Deal...,
August 25, 2014
By: DeanOwen
from Laguna Woods, CA
"It seems like I have been looking for an authentic madras shirt forever. Everyone offers linen wannabes even in subdued plaids but they are not even close to the real thing. I was thrilled to find this and even more thilled after I got it. It's everything I hoped for and more. From the soft hand and light weight to the rich colors and refined tailoring, it is perfect. How about offering more of the genre? Thanks."
Review 2 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madras Long Sleeve shirt,
August 19, 2014
By: Mick2871
from Winston-Salem, NC
"Again , the shirt is exactly as advertised. It is light weight and very comfortable."
Review 3 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
June 25, 2014
By: Gaffman43
"Great Madras shirt that breathes. Fit perfectly. High quality"
Review 4 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madras Long Sleeve Shirt,
June 4, 2014
By: Footh
"This is a classy shirt, it is light weight so perfect for summer evenings out."
Review 5 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Buy,
May 7, 2014
By: NDPapa
"This shirt will be the perfect lightweight and cool cotton shirt to wear during the warm summer months. Colors and pattern are great. The button down collar is perfect to wear under a casual sport coat."
Review 6 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Light Long sleeve,
February 4, 2014
By: BINGS57
from Rochester,NY
"Well made and very nicely tailored for fit and design of the fabric. It is hard to find good long sleve Madras shirts.
This is a winner.
Highly recommend and would buy more of different colors."
Review 7 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Madras Shirt,
June 23, 2013
By: Tigertug
"Love the shirt. It is hard to find a
real madras shirt with long sleeves.
It fits well, quality material, attractive
colors. I bought both colors offered.
"
Review 8 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Madras is classic,
May 2, 2013
By: Nancie
from Davenport, IA
"Purchased this shirt for my husband. It is not easy to find a long sleeved madras shirt and he was delighted to get it. Nice colors, nice quality."
Review 9 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
March 25, 2013
By: tdroregon
from Oregon
"Ordered one in blue. The shirt is soft and pattern looks great. This does not stand up to the normal quality I expect from ORVIS. It has many small flaws in the fabric. The sewing around the arms is not even - some puckers. I wanted this design for my husband and it is hard to find - otherwise I would return it."
Review 10 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too bold, too gold,
March 15, 2013
By: Lawdocjoe
from Austin, Texas
"I ordered the shirt for the olive tone. It actually has a lot of gold tones in it. It would be better if it were muted colors. I will be returning it. Still love Orvis though."
Review 11 for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
March 13, 2013
By: timc
"Loved the cotton but the shirt was at least a size too big. May be two. Orvis should QC their products better so that I don't have to order and return and reorder. Very frustrating."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Madras Button-Down Long-Sleeved Shirt
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2