Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wilson's Brim Reaper

Created by Terry Wison the author of Bluegill Fly Fishing and Flies, Crappie Fly Fishing: A Seasonal Approach, Largemouth Bass Fly Fishing: Beyond the Basics, and Smallmouth Bass Fly Fishng: A Practical Guide, the Brim Reaper is designed to sink head first and has a buggy silhouette that makes it versatile and capable of being fished in a variety of different ways. Strip and retrieve or let it sit under an indicator over weed beds. Just get it to the fish and it will do the work. Size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Review 1 for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what the name says,
March 13, 2014
By: BRNC25
"After trying multiple poppers, dry flies and streamers I had no bites at a local pond. I thought the fish weren't active due to the cold weather but another fishing buddy was having luck at another fishing hole.
On my third trip to the pond I tied on the brim reaper and game on! First cast I got a small bass and the action just kept coming.
Great fly I would recommend to any one."
Review 2 for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brim reaper,
February 21, 2014
By: nattybumppo
from Fairchild, wi
"Used the orange version. Very effective on bluegills. Also caught a small walleye with it. Very durable--not damaged at all after many hits."
Review 3 for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a great stinger!,
January 13, 2014
By: debblarr
from Louisville, ky
"a way cool bluegill lure... lotsf fun... as a stinger behind a popper.... double strikes a definite possibility!"
Review 4 for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Pattern. Terrible Quality.,
June 26, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Monre, La
"Just bought this fly for panfish with my 3wt. The fly looks great and I caught a nice sized bluegill in my first 10 casts. Wasn't hooked deep so I could remove the hook by hand. After the first fish I missed 3 more in a row and knew something had to be wrong. I looked at the fly and the entire shank of the hook had broken at the bend. No wonder I couldn't get a hook set, there was no hook. Pretty disappointed in this quality seeing as how I only caught one fish on it before it broke. This was my first time trying out Orvis because I figured with the higher prices they had to be a better quality, but somehow it ended up being worse. Overall great pattern, just wish it was more durable."
Review 5 for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reaper,
June 22, 2013
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
"Have not had a chance to throw this guy but I can not wait fly is tied excellent !!!!"
Review 6 for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 21, 2013
By: litefoot
from Naperville IL.
"Tied the olive color as a trailer to a popper on a bass/panfish pond
First cast hit a large bluegill,
caught numerous bluegills and 3 smallies 1lb.-11/2lb.
Not one hit on the popper that is usually an attractive fly.Need to buy some more after a couple hours the one I started with was pretty beaten up
"
Review 7 for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Kids -Young and Old,
April 24, 2013
By: HighCountryHomesteader
from Boone NC
"We took our 2.5 year old to Price Lake on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Dad was after a few trout and to keep the wee one occupied I tied a Brim Reaper on her pole and tossed it out. Dad was out fished that day and I could not have been happier. I strongly recommend this lure!"
Review 8 for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 19, 2013
By: CBone
"Fished this on my 8-wt bass rod in the shallows, just along the weed-line, with short jig-type strips. On my second cast, the biggest blue-gill I've ever caught at that pond hammered it and ran; he was about 12 inches or so, and thick. Shortly after, I was fishing around a boat launch with this thing, using the same retrieve, and caught a couple smaller bass (around a pound, maybe a pound and a half) and a half dozen (or so, I don't keep count) crappies.
This is a fun fly to fish in the shallows, I'm sure it'll cast well on lighter rods, and it catches fish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wilson's Brim Reaper
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1