Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip

Our signature Montana Morning sweatshirt fabric—a perfect blend of cotton and polyester—tailored in a handsome and versatile quarter-zip mockneck style. Easy to put on and take off, this pigment-dyed pullover sports canvas binding on either side of the zipper and contrast stitching throughout. Rib trim at hem and cuffs. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
6
66 of 78(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Review 1 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana morning sweatshirt,
November 25, 2014
By: TStick
"This is a very comfortable, well made sweatshirt that fits great and feels terrific."
Review 2 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Something you'll never get rid of,
November 5, 2014
By: Marcus66
from Fort Collins, Colorado
"I live in Colorado and there are certain articles of clothing that are just right for Rocky Mountain living. This pull-over is one of them. Everyone has clothing that just fits right, feels right and looks right. This fulfills all the rightness. .. a wonderful quarter-zip pull over. So nice, I have two. This will always have a place in my closet and on those crisp, autumn COLORADO mornings."
Review 3 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Morning Shirt,
November 1, 2014
By: Dave40004
from Mid-south
"This is most comfortable shirt I own. Warm, roomy and attractive, and at a reasonable sale price."
Review 4 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Quality,
October 21, 2014
By: CSimonds
from Kansas City, MO
"Shipment was received extremely fast and the quality is top notch. I've not purchased from Orvis before but am looking into other products."
Review 5 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Morning Magic,
July 16, 2014
By: OrvisBob
"Great feel. Great fit. Great look. Typical Orvis quality product!!!"
Review 6 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Orvis quality,
May 30, 2014
By: Wilhelm
from Madison, WI
"This is an ideal shirt to throw in your bag for a quick getaway. Provides lightweight comfort on a chilly morning or afternoon."
Review 7 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
May 21, 2014
By: briee
"Has the worn look yet color remains excellent - style is perfect for most events - has a high end appearance"
Review 8 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for fall/spring,
May 12, 2014
By: Midlothian
"Used this on fall trip for Smokey Mtns. and it was perfect for those crisp mornings as an outside layer. Comfortable with plenty of room. May want to get one size larger or jacket size if plan to wear over sweater."
Review 9 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unreal quarter zip,
April 9, 2014
By: Sails25
from Denver, CO
"The Montana morning quarter-zip is exactly how it sounds. It is unbelievably comfortable and something that you want to throw on in the morning, whenever you are feeling chilled. Instead of just the morning I use it all the time. Not only can it be a casual wear but also looks nice and be careful because if you lend it to someone you may not get it back."
Review 10 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why mess with the best?,
April 9, 2014
By: appreciatorofquality
"This was a great product. I own 3 of them and as they were aging, took advantage of the sale to get a new one. Lo and behold, no pockets...not to mention the fit seems skimpier and the length a little shorter. Now it's just another sweatshirt, so back it will go."
Review 11 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
March 31, 2014
By: Kp007orvis
from Mass
"Orvis has good stuff. This pullover is very soft and comfortable."
Review 12 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
different style,
March 25, 2014
By: zxqq
from Carlisle, PA, USA
"I miss the pockets and dont like the different color stripe."
Review 13 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweatshirt,
March 18, 2014
By: RDub
from Virginia Beach, VA
"I have owned 4 of the older Montana Morning sweatshirts with the pockets. So I ordered two of the present style. The new style is still one of the best sweatshirts for size and fit. The new zipper is a great improvement, and the stripe sets it apart from other plain sweatshirts. I bought two in large and brand new is a little bulky but after washing, the size and feel is perfect. I do miss the pockets but with the quality of the sweatshirt, you just can't go wrong. I will be ordering the the other two colors in the near future."
Review 14 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
old time favorite,
March 13, 2014
By: FJWJ
from New Braunfels, TX
"Worn them for years. This one appears to have improved the way the zipped area lays. Still a little bulky at the waist. Perfect for early morning chill"
Review 15 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did not work for me.,
March 12, 2014
By: hellojoe
from Chicago
"I purchase this in a medium and swam in it, so returned it for a small and the trunk was so tight I had to squirm to get in and out of it. Returned again and now without. But, beyond sizing, I did like the color, look and feel of the material, and the design detailing. What size you should buy, not sure, but they deducted a lot for the return shipping so it became an expensive venture."
Review 16 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter 2013/2014,
March 11, 2014
By: Pudders
from Greater Chicago Area
"Chicago had a BAD winter. I ordered
two Montana Morning Quarter-Zip
sweatshirts and after two weeks, I ordered the other two colors. They are warm and comfortable and helped me get through the "Winter of 2013/2014." The zip neck is a VERY
nice feature vs. buttons.
"
Review 17 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GOOD PRODUCT, BUT...,
March 10, 2014
By: jlturner
from Sulphur Springs, Tx.
"Good looking warm casual Jacket, but Not good looking material. Cheap looking material and Overpriced is what is presented…Should be around $ 50.00. That is what it is..."
Review 18 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks Good Casual or Dress,
March 10, 2014
By: tekanut
from Brasstown,NC
"Very comfortable and warm, but not
bulky in weight.
"
Review 19 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why change a good thing?,
March 9, 2014
By: Dudleythefishingdog
"I really wish they didn't change this sweatshirt. The new one has no pockets. It defeats the purpose of the whole "Montana Morning" concept. Please bring back the pockets. I've owned several of the previous version and now I'm out of luck and have to look elsewhere... Thanks"
Review 20 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not equal to old Montana Morning 1/4 zip,
March 6, 2014
By: Go4sail
from Maine
"Tried the new model in the North Conway Outlet and was quite disappointed in the fit, added side color and the taller collar.
The original Montana Morning 1/4 zip is a classic. Excellent fit, total comfort and quietly relaxed and understated. Please bring back this model.
Kudos to Sue in your North Conway store. She researched and found the last remaining Weathered Navy in the Kittery Outlet ...it is on its way but I hope you will consider returning the original design to your catalogue very soon!"