Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip

Our signature Montana Morning sweatshirt fabric—a perfect blend of cotton and polyester—tailored in a handsome and versatile quarter-zip mockneck style. Easy to put on and take off, this pigment-dyed pullover sports canvas binding on either side of the zipper and contrast stitching throughout. Rib trim at hem and cuffs. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.217 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
6
57 of 69(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Review 1 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unreal quarter zip,
April 9, 2014
By: Sails25
from Denver, CO
"The Montana morning quarter-zip is exactly how it sounds. It is unbelievably comfortable and something that you want to throw on in the morning, whenever you are feeling chilled. Instead of just the morning I use it all the time. Not only can it be a casual wear but also looks nice and be careful because if you lend it to someone you may not get it back."
Review 2 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why mess with the best?,
April 9, 2014
By: appreciatorofquality
"This was a great product. I own 3 of them and as they were aging, took advantage of the sale to get a new one. Lo and behold, no pockets...not to mention the fit seems skimpier and the length a little shorter. Now it's just another sweatshirt, so back it will go."
Review 3 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
March 31, 2014
By: Kp007orvis
from Mass
"Orvis has good stuff. This pullover is very soft and comfortable."
Review 4 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
different style,
March 25, 2014
By: zxqq
from Carlisle, PA, USA
"I miss the pockets and dont like the different color stripe."
Review 5 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweatshirt,
March 18, 2014
By: RDub
from Virginia Beach, VA
"I have owned 4 of the older Montana Morning sweatshirts with the pockets. So I ordered two of the present style. The new style is still one of the best sweatshirts for size and fit. The new zipper is a great improvement, and the stripe sets it apart from other plain sweatshirts. I bought two in large and brand new is a little bulky but after washing, the size and feel is perfect. I do miss the pockets but with the quality of the sweatshirt, you just can't go wrong. I will be ordering the the other two colors in the near future."
Review 6 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
old time favorite,
March 13, 2014
By: FJWJ
from New Braunfels, TX
"Worn them for years. This one appears to have improved the way the zipped area lays. Still a little bulky at the waist. Perfect for early morning chill"
Review 7 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did not work for me.,
March 12, 2014
By: hellojoe
from Chicago
"I purchase this in a medium and swam in it, so returned it for a small and the trunk was so tight I had to squirm to get in and out of it. Returned again and now without. But, beyond sizing, I did like the color, look and feel of the material, and the design detailing. What size you should buy, not sure, but they deducted a lot for the return shipping so it became an expensive venture."
Review 8 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter 2013/2014,
March 11, 2014
By: Pudders
from Greater Chicago Area
"Chicago had a BAD winter. I ordered
two Montana Morning Quarter-Zip
sweatshirts and after two weeks, I ordered the other two colors. They are warm and comfortable and helped me get through the "Winter of 2013/2014." The zip neck is a VERY
nice feature vs. buttons.
"
Review 9 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GOOD PRODUCT, BUT...,
March 10, 2014
By: jlturner
from Sulphur Springs, Tx.
"Good looking warm casual Jacket, but Not good looking material. Cheap looking material and Overpriced is what is presented…Should be around $ 50.00. That is what it is..."
Review 10 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks Good Casual or Dress,
March 10, 2014
By: tekanut
from Brasstown,NC
"Very comfortable and warm, but not
bulky in weight.
"
Review 11 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why change a good thing?,
March 9, 2014
By: Dudleythefishingdog
"I really wish they didn't change this sweatshirt. The new one has no pockets. It defeats the purpose of the whole "Montana Morning" concept. Please bring back the pockets. I've owned several of the previous version and now I'm out of luck and have to look elsewhere... Thanks"
Review 12 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not equal to old Montana Morning 1/4 zip,
March 6, 2014
By: Go4sail
from Maine
"Tried the new model in the North Conway Outlet and was quite disappointed in the fit, added side color and the taller collar.
The original Montana Morning 1/4 zip is a classic. Excellent fit, total comfort and quietly relaxed and understated. Please bring back this model.
Kudos to Sue in your North Conway store. She researched and found the last remaining Weathered Navy in the Kittery Outlet ...it is on its way but I hope you will consider returning the original design to your catalogue very soon!"
Review 13 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic shirt!,
March 1, 2014
By: marshawn
from Seattle, WA
"comfortable, fits my big shoulders, no baggy pockets, smooth hard finish, great colors- what more could you ask?"
Review 14 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible changes,
February 24, 2014
By: southernchick
from Georgia
"My husband has 6 Montana Morning shirts, and loves/loved them. They were perfect for chilly days here in the south. However our recent purchase was terrible. The proportion is way off; the chest and arms are very large while the waist is small. It looks and fits terribly! We will not be ordering these again!"
Review 15 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweatshirt,
February 24, 2014
By: flyfisher1972
from Oakdale, NE
"Very comfortable. Excellent fit. Warm and pleasant to wear. I like the washed color. I own both the quarter zip, and the full zip, and am very pleased with both. Would definitely recommend this product."
Review 16 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pity the MM is "tarted up" now,
February 19, 2014
By: Tigimus
from Devon England
"As a long time fan and owner of a number of MM pullovers I am so disappointed at the the recent changes.
The contrast stitching adds no value. Similarly the insertion of stitching either side of the zip.
Whereas removing the pockets takes value away of course. A shame that an excellent product has been ruined
"
Review 17 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orvis is top of the line in quality & style,
February 18, 2014
By: 2156Sher
from Monroe, Connecticut
"I Love, Love, Love orvis mens clothes. The quality is beyond the best, styles are wonderful and fit is amazing. My husband always has trouble when he gets a gift from another store - It NEVER FITS! I have purchased over many years coats, sweaters, shirts, pants everything and they fit perfect!!! There is no other place that can come close to ORVIS. They are the best of the best. My husband loves Orvis clothes and he looks great every day. My dog also is a Orvis lover, a little spoiled, he has a bed on each floor of our home -3- floors, three beds!! Your loved one deserve the best so give the best - ORVIS. Thank you sincerely Sherry"
Review 18 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
February 17, 2014
By: Diddy4
"I was looking for a comfortable sweat shirt for those cool mornings in Africa while on hunting trips. This was just right - nice lining,comfortable fit, great color. I've been wearing it ever since it arrived."
Review 19 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Re-designed Beware,
February 13, 2014
By: MOLB
from Mid-Missouri
"Orvis changed their Signature design but still use the same advertising. They've made the collar stand higher, they eliminated the two hand side-pockets, they eliminated the under-arm flexibility, made the waste-band loose fitting so that the garment hangs and added unnecessary accent side-stitching. I own and like the previous design but mistakenly bought a different color in this new design. Very disappointing."
Review 20 for Montana Morning® Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long Time Favorite,
February 12, 2014
By: Airpirate
"Excelllent fit and feel. Just adding to my long time favorites."