Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Ripstop Munitions Vest

Easily keep your personal items organized and accessible when traveling. Our lightweight Munitions Vest for men is crafted in a cotton/nylon blend, lined with power mesh for comfort, and features ample storage throughout. Two-way zipper with wind flap, stand collar. Two exterior cargo pockets, convenient upper and lower handwarmer pockets, one inside pocket. Munitions Vest in olive. Cotton/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 of 28(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Review 1 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was disappointed,
June 26, 2015
By: Ichebod
"A very nice well made vest with two problems.
The first was sizing. If the Barbour vest I bought a few months ago from Orvis was a "Large" then this one that was supposed to be large was, in reality, a "XXL"
I also assumed that the vest would be lightweight, but I found it heavy for something without insulation.
I returned the vest"
Review 2 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
June 25, 2015
By: Citeog
from Long Island, NY
"I am 6' 2" and weigh 200 lbs. I ordered the large, and it fits perfectly. Light enough to be worn in moderate climates for three seasons, and great for use in a layering scheme. The interior nylon mesh is tightly woven and of better quality than most linings of this sort. The shoulders are cut just right. Yes, I would recommend it!"
Review 3 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
June 10, 2015
By: DCRDave
"Has become one of my favorites. Light weight and well made. The double zipper is well made very useful when driving. Also like all the pockets."
Review 4 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Item,
May 28, 2015
By: JohninIllinois
"This is a nice light-weight vest that is very handy for those pockets that you always seem to need. I have found that the collar can used as a stand-up, or folded down to resemble a lapel."
Review 5 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RIPSTOP MUNITIONS VEST,
May 27, 2015
By: JOHNCLEE
"A good quality garment with a slightly untidy collar."
Review 6 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent vest,
May 18, 2015
By: Dabashi
from New York, NY
"wonderful material and exquisite craftsmanship --best suited for summer and spring --durable under regular use --will highly recommend to friends and acquaintances --by wearing it on almost daily basis I am in fact a walking recommendation of its excellence --"
Review 7 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Vest,
May 16, 2015
By: NAVYCAPTAIN
from St. Charles,IL
"I already have your original lambskin munitions vest. This vest is a great addition to the line for warmer weather and travel. Very light and cool with the mesh lining.The suede accents distinguish it from conventional vests.A great jerkin to add to my collection."
Review 8 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great lightweight shooting vest,
May 6, 2015
By: TexicanOutfitters
from Rio Grande, Texas
"This is a great garment. Just the right weight to wear in summer or in a South Texas winter with layering. Large pockets compliment the very stylish look of this vest allowing the wearer to have plenty of room for small but essentioal gear. I am very please with my purchase."
Review 9 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the vest,
April 20, 2015
By: JTSOhio
from Ohio
"I wear it almost every day for a dressy sport vest look over a starched dress shirt."
Review 10 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mutations Waiscoat,
November 13, 2014
By: RoyC74
from Cambridge. UK.
"Really good waistcoat, I do a lot of dog training and find this waistcoat first class for working in the field. It is wind proof and is ok in light wet weather. The pockets could be a bit larger and a phone pocket would be handy, howevere I think it is a really handy piece of outer ware."
Review 11 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great consitent Quality,
May 29, 2014
By: Suki0123
from Alaska
"This is the third Orvis Vest I have purchased for my husband. All with the same cut and style just different materials. He loves them all. The fit is consistent for him, he is 6'2 about 230 and I get him an XL. This is the first time he has worn one of his vest with out a jacket so he has "stuff" in the pockets and you have to be careful and distribute the weight or the shoulder on one side gets off center. Other than that it looks great!"
Review 12 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
May 28, 2014
By: Yurko
from New York, N.Y.
"Great purchase, great vest, great pockets. Fabric is quite light, so this is defintely a summer garment."
Review 13 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not enough attention for the price,
May 16, 2014
By: Nicr
from Los Angeles, CA (World Traveler)
"This vest needs another inside pocket, preferably with a zipper for secure travel. Also another small, zipped pocket on the outside large enough for a cell phone. This pocket soulld be situated on the upper chest so that the cell phone can be heard on noisy city streets. I know you call this a munitions vest, but you should assume that it will be used for other things."
Review 14 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sturdy vest,
May 9, 2014
By: WAWobbly05
from Bremerton WA
"Ripstopo munitions vest is as advertised: tough, good looking, and fits my newly larger frame. I wish it had one more inside pocket, but the garment is worth it."
Review 15 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
multipurpose garment,
April 17, 2014
By: westieman
from millwood, VA
"I bought this because I thought it looked great ! Then I discovered that it was a great shooting vest -hugh pockets for shells and well fitted ..Because it's lined with mesh it's both cool AND wind proof. The color goes with anything and I wear it everywhere. It weighs almost nothing !"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True fit but long cut,
March 28, 2014
By: Thedean
from MS
"Satisfied with purchase but probably more suitable for in the field."
Review 17 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
March 17, 2014
By: sfgeo1112
from San Francisco, CA
"This is an excellent Orvis product. High quality material with mesh lining, lot of attention to detail with enough pockets for my needs. It's just right for San Francisco's moderate climate and chilly evenings when you need casualness and simplicity to frequent a neighborhood restaurant. It looks especially sharp when paired with a button-down shirt or the Orvis U.S. Navy sweater."
Review 18 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tough and looks good,
August 26, 2013
By: Lakerdog
from Petoskey, Mi
"excellent fit; great attention to detail; looks great"
Review 19 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this vest! Perfect for the NW...,
August 11, 2013
By: Osopolar
from Portland, Oregon
"This is the best vest I own... and I have plenty of vests in my wardrobe!
It's perfect for the unpredictable weather we have in the Pacific Northwest.... where being ready for just about anything, particularly layering is a must! Plenty of pockets to put things in, and still have somewhere to put your hands when you don't want to glove up. Nice neutral color and the leather trim dresses it up nicely and ages well. My son gifted my first one to me, but I will happily buy another when I need one.
"
Review 20 for Ripstop Munitions Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classy,
May 9, 2013
By: Vest
from Lafayette, CA
"This vest is stylish, elegant and well made with a casual look that can be worn anywhere!!!"