Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat

Easily keep your personal items organized and accessible when traveling. Our lightweight Munitions Waistcoat for men is crafted in a cotton/nylon blend, lined with power mesh for comfort, and features ample storage throughout. Two-way zipper with wind flap, stand collar. Two exterior cargo pockets, convenient upper and lower handwarmer pockets, one inside pocket. Munitions Waistcoat in olive. 70% cotton/30% nylon shell. 82% nylon/18% elastane lining. Washable. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Review 1 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great consitent Quality,
May 29, 2014
By: Suki0123
from Alaska
"This is the third Orvis Vest I have purchased for my husband. All with the same cut and style just different materials. He loves them all. The fit is consistent for him, he is 6'2 about 230 and I get him an XL. This is the first time he has worn one of his vest with out a jacket so he has "stuff" in the pockets and you have to be careful and distribute the weight or the shoulder on one side gets off center. Other than that it looks great!"
Review 2 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
May 28, 2014
By: Yurko
from New York, N.Y.
"Great purchase, great vest, great pockets. Fabric is quite light, so this is defintely a summer garment."
Review 3 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not enough attention for the price,
May 16, 2014
By: Nicr
from Los Angeles, CA (World Traveler)
"This vest needs another inside pocket, preferably with a zipper for secure travel. Also another small, zipped pocket on the outside large enough for a cell phone. This pocket soulld be situated on the upper chest so that the cell phone can be heard on noisy city streets. I know you call this a munitions vest, but you should assume that it will be used for other things."
Review 4 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sturdy vest,
May 9, 2014
By: WAWobbly05
from Bremerton WA
"Ripstopo munitions vest is as advertised: tough, good looking, and fits my newly larger frame. I wish it had one more inside pocket, but the garment is worth it."
Review 5 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
multipurpose garment,
April 17, 2014
By: westieman
from millwood, VA
"I bought this because I thought it looked great ! Then I discovered that it was a great shooting vest -hugh pockets for shells and well fitted ..Because it's lined with mesh it's both cool AND wind proof. The color goes with anything and I wear it everywhere. It weighs almost nothing !"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True fit but long cut,
March 28, 2014
By: Thedean
from MS
"Satisfied with purchase but probably more suitable for in the field."
Review 7 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
March 17, 2014
By: sfgeo1112
from San Francisco, CA
"This is an excellent Orvis product. High quality material with mesh lining, lot of attention to detail with enough pockets for my needs. It's just right for San Francisco's moderate climate and chilly evenings when you need casualness and simplicity to frequent a neighborhood restaurant. It looks especially sharp when paired with a button-down shirt or the Orvis U.S. Navy sweater."
Review 8 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tough and looks good,
August 26, 2013
By: Lakerdog
from Petoskey, Mi
"excellent fit; great attention to detail; looks great"
Review 9 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this vest! Perfect for the NW...,
August 11, 2013
By: Osopolar
from Portland, Oregon
"This is the best vest I own... and I have plenty of vests in my wardrobe!
It's perfect for the unpredictable weather we have in the Pacific Northwest.... where being ready for just about anything, particularly layering is a must! Plenty of pockets to put things in, and still have somewhere to put your hands when you don't want to glove up. Nice neutral color and the leather trim dresses it up nicely and ages well. My son gifted my first one to me, but I will happily buy another when I need one.
"
Review 10 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classy,
May 9, 2013
By: Vest
from Lafayette, CA
"This vest is stylish, elegant and well made with a casual look that can be worn anywhere!!!"
Review 11 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works Well,
May 7, 2013
By: Turfman
from NYC
"Smart pockets vest. Filled the bill on the Churchill Downs backstretch with a pocket for iphone, another for info sheets, one for microphone and cable, etc. Handled the rain well and was comfortably warm with the early morning chill."
Review 12 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Right,
April 12, 2013
By: Blueliner
from Irvine, CA.
"This vest is just right for an outdoor look for casual wear, and very functional for storage when hiking or traveling. The light weight design gives it a quality others don't have."
Review 13 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bad fit,
April 8, 2013
By: vestwearer2
from Westerville, OH
"This vest has great materials and quality. However, the shoulders are too wide and looks like someone took a jacket and just removed the sleeves. The vest shoulders should be cut back by at least 2 inches. Also, the arm holes need to be enlarged. I followed the instructions for sizing, but found that you still need to upsize for good fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Spring vest,
April 4, 2013
By: Cid73
from Charleston, SC
"Well-constructed, this vest offers numerous pockets while keeping a slim look. Because it hits below the waist, the main zipper works both from the top and the bottom, the latter making sitting easier."
Review 15 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ripstop Vest,
April 2, 2013
By: dfw123
from Jacksonville, Florida
"I preferred the Filson Travel Vest over Orvis in this case because I needed all of the Security Pockets for an upcoming trip to Europe, even though the Filson was much more expensive. I live in Orvis pants and shirts."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many pockets,
March 27, 2013
By: Way18
from Western Pa.
"I purchased this item for the large number of pockets . I carry many items when fishing and walking my dogs. The pockets hold the items I need ie: treats,water, water container for dogs. For me water, snacks,camera, etc . Great cut and fit."
Review 17 for Ripstop Munitions Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
March 26, 2013
By: Sparviero
"This 'vest' is very long and has too much material in the body. It just isn't made correctly. And, it has an offensive odor to boot! Entirely too much money for a garment that is substandard."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.