Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt

Our favorite women's cotton/poly sweatshirt fleece is given a substantial enzyme wash so it feels perfectly broken in and sumptuously soft from the first wearing. Just right for a cool morning or over a swimsuit on a breezy beach day, this full-zip sweatshirt has a slightly longer length, stand collar, full zip front, and welt handwarmer pockets. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes: XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 30" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It,
April 10, 2015
By: Swamplady
from South Carolina
"I just love this sweatshirt..
Boy, is it smart looking and the quality is high. Thanks Orvis!
"
Review 2 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Average Sweatshirt,
March 26, 2015
By: Phaedra
from Minnesota
"This years zip front sweatshirt is sized smaller than in past years. It also is not of the same quality as in the past. This shirt could be purchased in any "box store". It is not the quality that we all have come to depend on from Orvis."
Review 3 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed in color & collar styling.,
March 20, 2015
By: Snowwhite1969
from Savage, MN
"The color looks rose on line but is an odd peach color. The collar falls in an odd way not giving a smart look."
Review 4 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
relaxed sweatshirtjacket,
March 10, 2015
By: mrsb1965
"The material is nice had to stitch here and there pockets showed when not zipped up the inside pockets.It is longer than 30 inches and I wish I had ordered large. Too expensive to order another so
Will make due
"
Review 5 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this product,
February 19, 2015
By: Brubnednarb12
from Washington, Michigan
"I like the length of the sweatshirt. I purchased one two years ago, buying the second one recently.
I like the warmth the sweatshirt provides.
"
Review 6 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smaller than Expected,
January 20, 2015
By: HDRinFairfax
from Fairfax
"I ordered two of these sweatshirts last year in size Small and they were definitely larger. The ones Orvis is selling this year are smaller and bordering a little tight. So if you are a larger size Small, order a Medium. And, unfortunately, one of the sweatshirts I ordered last year developed two small holes in unusual places. I just noticed them, and the zipper pull on the other one broke, so not good news all around. Aside from these problems, they are good quality and comfy to wear."
Review 7 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the length,
April 29, 2014
By: nursiep
from Fair Haven , VT.
"This is a perfect sweatshirt jacket for long wasted women.
very comfortable, and looks great. Would definitely recommend this jacket to a friend .
"
Review 8 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right for summer!,
April 8, 2014
By: jeanjin
from Ohio
"This longer sweatshirt jacket is worth the money but just to note, it does run large. I ordered a large and could have used a medium. It has not shrunk."
Review 9 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OK, but kind of bulky,
March 10, 2014
By: moonpie
from Maryland
"I knew this sweatshirt would be long before I bought it and I liked that, but didn't realize it would be so bulky. Not as attractive as I thought it would be, although some make like the look. Also, I really didn't like that the pockets are barely attached to the inside of the sweatshirt and thus they tend to hang out on the zipper side. Not good styling. On the other hand, I bought the peach and it was a nice color. Anyway, I returned this sweatshirt based upon the styling problems mentioned."
Review 10 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Quality,
March 4, 2014
By: Azulene
from Washington, DC area
"My daughter and I are always among the last to leave the beach after a relaxing day in the sun and surf. Ocean breezes can get a little chilly in late summer days and this is exactly what I have looked for for so long.It seemed a little pricey for a 'sweatshirt' but not after I received this beautifully made article, The fabric weight will provide warmth; the length hits mid-hip as pictured and the peach-blossom color actually brightens my sallow complexion (I am not a 'pink' person, and I am a little bored with blue). I am so pleased with this purchase!"
Review 11 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile Jacket,
February 28, 2014
By: classicfashionlover
"Looking forward to wearing this jacket - great weight for Spring, chilly summer night and Autumn! Fashionable style, stand up collar and great length that covers the hips. Plus subtle side pockets that do not emphasize the hips! Blue color is very easy to co-ordinate with outfits, Order a medium and true to size."
Review 12 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Sweatshirt,
February 24, 2014
By: AWaq123
from Alexandria VA
"I purchased two of these relaxed essential sweatshirts and use one as a bathrobe around the home and the other as a lightweight jacket/coat. The colors are springy/summery and also "house coaty". I had never seen these before in an Orvis catalog and am very happy to have purchased these."
Review 13 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
February 17, 2014
By: Chess
from West Chester PA
"I was looking for a long, mid-thigh sweatshirt, to wear after acquasize. This one is perfect and it is also is stylish enough to wear as a casual, light spring jacket."
Review 14 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific sweatshirt,
January 27, 2014
By: Tinkabella
from Barrington, NH
"I'm only 5' 1" so this sweatshirt can be worn as a dress. It's warm, comfortable and looks great with leggings."
Review 15 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
February 25, 2013
By: Raindrops
from Portland, OR
"I have been looking for a longer length soft sweatshirt type sweater for years. This one is a ten. Would love to see more colors, especially the basic black and navy blue."
Review 16 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Springtime in the Dog Park,
February 21, 2013
By: part1
from Louisville, KY
"I ordered two of your spring cover-ups... 1 in blue and 1 in peach. Since our weather goes from the 30's to the 60's very quickly, I find the sweatshirts to be a very good layering garment to have when it's too warm for a coat, but too cool for just a sweater. And, they have pockets... what a luxury!"
Review 17 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
February 13, 2013
By: Halle
from Calgary, AB (Canada
"I ordered this sweatshirt because I love the longer length. The blue color is exactly as shown, and the size is right on. I wear it when the weather is milder and a parka is too cumbersome.
I love ordering from Orvis because the quality is always great, and I receive it within a week of ordering it.
"
Review 18 for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for California winter,
February 4, 2013
By: Judicata
from southern California
"This is just what I needed for days that start in the 40s and get up to the high 60s. I like the length. Orvis, we need some more colors!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Relaxed Essential Sweatshirt
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3