Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sportear XP3 Plugz

You'll enjoy unparalleled comfort in a shooting earplug with our soft medical-grade silicone and multi-flange design. And they are virtually impossible to lose, even without an intrusive, tethering lanyard, due to our unique Stay Put silicone ring, ergonomically designed to maintain position and comfort in your ear. Your hearing remains protected without interfering with your ability to hear what's going on around you in the field. SportEAR XP3 Plugz revolutionary design secret is a patented sound valve through the core of the silicone shell. Safe sound levels are allowed to pass through while potentially harmful noise levels above 85dB are reduced. The XP3 Plugz have a Noise Reduction Rating (NRR) of 19 dB with the valve open and a NRR of 25 with the valve closed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
 out of 
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Review 1 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 30, 2015
By: VirginiaBrits
"Very comfortable. It certainly does not amplify soft sounds like voice but it is a little easier to hear them compared to foamies."
Review 2 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value Product for Hearing Protection,
May 20, 2015
from Dallas, Tx
"This low cost hearing protection is a great addition to my Orvis Shooting Bag. Especially for friends who show up at the range without ear protection"
Review 3 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great!,
April 24, 2015
By: Sturt
"I've been using those squishy foam earplugs but they never seem to do the job. These plugs are great though! Very comfy and block any noise that could damage the ears. Oh! And it was cheaper on Orvis than anywhere else! Great deal, great buy!!"
Review 4 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 21, 2015
By: JMac01
from Magnolia, Tx
"These are great. Very comfortable and work well. Would be nice if they had a carry case."
Review 5 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ear plugs!,
November 3, 2014
By: Krackel
from Central Arkansas
"I've tried lots of ear plugs through the years and am really pleased with these! Comfortable, good protection, and easy to use. Great ear plugs!"
Review 6 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
June 10, 2014
By: Croc
from Pensacola, Fl.
"I have these to be good hearing protection for shotgun sports -- sporting clays, skeet & trap. Easy to use."
Review 7 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great on the range,
December 9, 2013
By: CTOutdoorsman
"These were superior to my much more expensive ear muff-style hearing protection and have the added benefit of not knocking into your stock when you come to a firing position. I wish they came with a carrying case. For now a ziplock will do, but I'm sure I will lose one or both in a pocket at some point."
Review 8 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good alternative,
October 21, 2013
By: HunterDW
from Fenton, MI
"These hearing protectors are a great alternative to the pricier electronic jobs."
Review 9 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
August 29, 2012
By: ster
from Wayzata, MN
"The ear piece broke when I took it out of the plastic container. It was only 19 dollars so I won't even go to the trouble of sending it back."
Review 10 for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Secure fit & easy to wear,
August 10, 2012
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This plugz set fits well in my outer ear but poorly inserts into the canal. I find after a few jolts or just wear time it slides out and has to be re-inserted. Alot depends on your ear anatomy. When fit well the noise reduction is excellent. When used at the indoor range, I place regular ear muffs over these."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sportear XP3 Plugz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1