Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Camel Hair Jacket

Sumptuously soft and lightweight, genuine camel hair is blended with a smidgen of wool for resiliency and tailored into the most luxurious jacket we offer. The feminine, one-button style is detailed with a classic notched lapel, flap-top besom pockets, and leather buttons on the front and cuffs. Fully lined;polyester lining. Lightweight jacket for women in camel. Camel hair/wool. Dry clean. Imported.Regular sizes: 6-20; about 26" long. Petite sizes: 4-16; about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
17 of 22(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Camel Hair Jacket
Review 1 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
September 16, 2014
By: 50Flamingos
from MD
"Love this classic blazer. Fits great. Fabric is wonderful ."
Review 2 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!,
September 9, 2014
By: patc77714
from Lincoln, IL
"Do not be swayed by a few bad reviews. I have admired this jacket for a while, but was put off by some reviews. I couldn't find anything close to this style, so I took a chance when it went on sale. It arrived today and was exactly what I had hoped for. Soft but substantial fabric in exactly the right cut. Perfect shade of camel! A treasure!"
Review 3 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Softest Warm Camel Hair Coat,
September 3, 2014
By: ChrisX
from Maryland
"This is the softest camel hair jacket, so comfortable to wear. It's classic tailoring with leather covered buttons males it a sporty look for Fall. Should be warm enough to wear in lieu of a bulky winter coat, but will easily fit under winter coats when it's freezing. The color is a beautiful medium shade of tan, not dark khaki."
Review 4 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camel hair blazer,
September 2, 2014
By: HiwasseeDam
from Murphy,NC
"Wonderful blazer,I can wear it with everything this fall.I have boots to match,so when I wear it with a skirt it will look dressy. I ordered a size larger than my blouses,and needed to, because it would have been too tight if I had not. I love it, it's beautiful."
Review 5 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
superb workmanship,
August 13, 2014
By: ndindi
from West Pawlet, Vt
"It is not always the obvious details that make a garment special.
The quality of the goods for instance.
The hand of the goods and how it shows are obvious. The classic styling details are obvious.
The care in making each garment. The fine details that are not obvious, such as the way a lapel rolls, the way A sleeve hangs,tacking pocket closed or tacking a back vent closed. I have to say this jacket has all these features. I would recommend this item for anyone looking for a classic jacket for years of enjoyment
"
Review 6 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best spring blazer,
March 20, 2014
By: mcook
from Sewanee, TN
"I am a camel hair devotee, and was so glad to find your jacket.
It is fairly light-weight, so good for spring, and the soft, SOFT hand is just what I wanted.
Besides that of course, it's got that classic, good-forever style that I require in my wardrobe."
Review 7 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very good,
February 18, 2014
By: natandina
from Palm Desert, Ca
"May have to exchange for larger size but. Very nice product. Happy with with quality. Could reccomend real pockets rather than the imitation but,nice product. Wife had to go into hospital so, really wwon't be able to evaluate size for another couple of weeks during her recuperation. Hope the exchange is okay after 3 or 4 weeks?"
Review 8 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect,
January 24, 2014
By: Cherbaby
from Nashville TN
"This jacket is very well made and very soft. Fits perfectly! My only disappointment is that it lacks "body" and so it wrinkles very easily and does not look as neat as in the photo."
Review 9 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great classic blazer,
January 22, 2014
By: kadylady
"Very high-quality material. Well-made & fits nicely."
Review 10 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Will Return,
December 11, 2013
By: B70EDA04
"Jacket quality is not as expected, especially for the price. Material is thin, jacket is light, and appeared a bit scuffed. My wife requested it. I ordered it and we both agreed it wasn't good value. Surprised, as Orvis quality is usually very good."
Review 11 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Returning this jacket,
October 23, 2013
By: Tora
from Alberta Canada
"The jacket did not fit well and the color was not what I expected. The quality was excellent ."
Review 12 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't like,
October 7, 2013
By: Stuvie
from MN
"I was so disappointed.. I felt the quality was very poor considering the price. The fabric was coarse and "hairy". The blazer was heavy even though it had been advertised as light. I returned it."
Review 13 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Mom,
September 15, 2013
By: Chigi
"We in our family are old school--appreciative of classically cut clothes. My mother is tiny and buying jackets is difficult. I bought this jacket for her several years ago and she hardly takes it off. I ordered another one last year so she has a spare. The weight is nice--not to heavy--and the fabric is soft. Her first jacket is only now beginning to show signs of wear. For a traditional jacket, this is unbeatable."
Review 14 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart jacket for cool weather,
January 24, 2013
By: Bill61
from NM
"This handsome medium weight camel hair jacket is just fine for cool to cold weather, down to about 45 deg. (I live in the western U.S.; to me, 45 deg. is cold.) Well-made and nicely tailored to show that one has a waist, this jacket may be worn for casual or business. I'm very pleased with this purchase."
Review 15 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
December 29, 2012
By: Bethj
from Atlanta,Ga.
"I have looked for the past two years for a quality camel hair or wool blend/camel hair lady's jacket. So I really wanted this one to work. I had read the reviews but wanted to see the quality for myself., thinking others may just be picky! The fabric just wasn't up to standard for me either. This item really needs to be reworked . Customer service was excellent! Easy to get, easy return."
Review 16 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
December 29, 2012
By: Dolly123
from Mendham, NJ
"I had been looking for a camel blazer and had tried many stores...I saw this blazer on Orvis and ordered it...it's absolutely beautiful and fits very well."
Review 17 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality,
October 24, 2012
By: sueten
from southeastern AZ
"This is a beautiful jacket. I took a chance and ordered 12 instead of 10 and was glad. It could have been a bit smaller in the body but the sleeves were just right - not too short when I raised my arms. I'd prefer 3 buttons rather than 1. But the quality of the jacket is perfect. Definitely worth the price."
Review 18 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not like the photo,
October 18, 2012
By: TinkB321
from Ithaca, NY
"I ordered this jacket based on the photo. When I received it, the body was quite short and the arms were considerably longer than shown in the photo. The jacket I received looks quite different in style from the photo.
Quite disappointing, especially considering the price. I'll be returning this item."
Review 19 for Camel Hair Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the quality I expected,
October 15, 2012
By: Good4you
from Minneapolis MN
"I am usually very impressed with the quality of Orvis clothings. However, this garment disappointed me. It is not the weight I expected and appears flimsy. For the price, I expected more."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Camel Hair Jacket
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3