Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt

Our men's cardigan sweatshirt combines classic safari looks with the warmth and comfort of our signature fleece fabric, which is vintage washed for a soft hand and a well-worn appearance. Tailored in a notch-collar style, it features a zip closure concealed behind a traditional button front and four pockets with button-flap closures on the front, plus a smaller pocket on the wearer's left arm. Detailed with leather elbow patches and shoulder epaulets. Button cuffs. Men's cardigan sweatshirt in olive. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44), XL(46-48),
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not quite there,
October 15, 2014
By: timreviewsky
"Great look but foamy poly blend would be better as a wool cotton or silk blend. Needs a good lining. Color is a little too bland. A darker brown might work better."
Review 2 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket,
October 10, 2014
By: beefprop
from Denver, Co
"A great fleece jacket with plenty of pocket room. It looks nice enough to use for work."
Review 3 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for travel,
October 8, 2014
By: SacTownGirl
from Sacramento, CA
"My husband loves this sweatshirt. It gives him the warmth and comfort of a regular sweatshirt but is so much nicer looking. It will be great for our land/cruise trip to Alaska. He is 6'4" and the XL fit him perfectly."
Review 4 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy Cozy,
September 29, 2014
By: Quinta42
from NY, NY.
"Luxuriously soft & warm; love the pockets; great on a date or for casual day at work. The elbow patches really dress it up!!"
Review 5 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jungle jim,
September 19, 2014
By: mardygras2
from Tamworth staffs.
"as always with orvis quality and comfort are 1st class. This product offers a stylish look,warm and very comfortable to wear. I am sure this sweatshirt will serve me well for years to come maintaining a high quality appearance and fashion. Thank you ORVIS once again i am very pleased with the product and service."
Review 6 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice for travel,
August 25, 2014
By: tracygenes
from VA
"I used this to go to Alaska, nice for travel and around the lodge. Lots of pockets. Long, goes below belt...I like that."
Review 7 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique, quality - hoody without the hood,
July 22, 2014
By: damcdono
from Baltimore, MD
"I really like this. It is built like an outerwear shirt, but the material is the same as a traditional hoody. Soft inside and stylish. I bought this in anticipation of a trip to Argentina in a few weeks where the weather will be much chillier than the 90 degree heat here in the mid-Atlantic. This jacket/cardigan will be the perfect compliment for the chilly days and chillier nights in the Southern Hemisphere."
Review 8 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater...!,
July 15, 2014
By: joeindc
from Washington DC area
"The sweater not only looks good, but fits perfectly. I have been looking for a sweater that did not have the traditional look of sweaters, and this sweater although very comfortable and worm, does not look like any traditional sweater. I was also looking for a sweater that did not have any elastic on the sleeves or the bottom to eventually wear out and loose shape, and this sweater does not have any elastic to wear out. I plan on using this sweater for many years to come. Great sweater at a great price."
Review 9 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun style but expensive,
May 23, 2014
By: Canyonann
from Oregon
"Fun style, appears well made and comfortable but a little short and boxy. It is more a sweatshirt than a jacket, and for that is relatively expensive."
Review 10 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt.,
May 21, 2014
By: Marty47
from Colorado
"Great for 'layering' during changing weather conditions."
Review 11 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
April 23, 2014
By: JosephV
from Seattle,WA
"Excellent quality garment. Warm & comfortable. Leather on sleeves offers a nice touch."
Review 12 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical Orvis style and quality,
April 16, 2014
By: Donerail
from Connecticut
"Exactly what I wanted. Unique style and distinctive design combined with exceptional comfort. Great idea to combine the comfort of a sweatshirt with the classic safari jacket. Very typical of Orvis, I might add."
Review 13 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy!,
April 11, 2014
By: 47Caddy
from Ohio
"Very comfortable. Looks nice.
I will wear it a lot.
"
Review 14 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great as a sweater!,
November 16, 2013
By: RedScion
from Portland metro area, OR
"This isn't great for wearing in the rain but for dry weather or for indoors against the chill this is a great alternative for the traditional sweater. Overall nice quality, but the only complaint was that it came with a button or two loose. Small inconvenience considering the great deal I got for it on the Tent Sale!"
Review 15 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweatshirt,
September 18, 2013
By: anoutdoorsman
from Carlisle, PA
"This is a great sweatshirt that feels like a fleece. I love the feel, the comfort, the color, and the sytling. It has a zippered front but it would be even better if it also had three or four large buttons for partial closing, but it is still very good. A little pricey, but a super outer garment."
Review 16 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweatshirt!!,
June 5, 2013
By: Briank
"One of the most comfortable pieces of clothing i've ever purchased. Liked so much i ordered one for my 80 year old dad!"
Review 17 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Baggy Sweat Shirt,
March 29, 2013
By: dvgl
"Ill fitting sweat shirt. (is that possible?)
Grossly overpriced.
For this amount I will be buying American made products in the future.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as expected,
March 28, 2013
By: Romantic
from Fairfax, VA
"Great photo of the product in the catalog, but was very disappointed with the quality when I received it. I returned it with no questions asked and received a full refund, which I appreciate very much."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safari Cardigan Sweatshirt
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3.3 / 5
3.3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3