Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Signature Madras Shirt

Sourced directly from Chennai, India (formerly Madras), the rich tonal plaids of our short-sleeve shirt are the real deal. Lightweight and cool, madras is known the world over for its ability to keep you cool when the temperatures soar. Button-down collar, patch pocket. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.804 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
55 of 56(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Review 1 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine,
January 27, 2015
By: Ponce
from Ponce, P.R.
"Fine colors.its really looks great on my husband.I order it M because they run a little large.perfect fit now!"
Review 2 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fitting shirt,
January 21, 2015
By: dgrow
from Rome, NY
"shirt has great color and fits just as you would expect."
Review 3 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
January 1, 2015
By: Susanhowell
from Galesburg IL
"Exactly what I'd hoped for: color true to photo, material quality very high, sizing accurate. Typical of Orvis products. A+"
Review 4 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
December 31, 2014
By: Cyncone
from Hobe Sound, FL
"The color was true to catalog picture. My husband loved it and that made it the best!"
Review 5 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GREAT BRIGHT COLORS,
December 30, 2014
By: sweets22
from Hendersonville, NC
"This is a great buy and it's bright colors will be wonderful when we have our next Spring here in NC!"
Review 6 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
December 26, 2014
By: ScepticInKailue
"I love this shirt. It's soft, like a thin, high quality flannel. Highly recommended."
Review 7 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
November 8, 2014
By: big10red
from Madison, WI
"I bought this shirt on sale and it was a steal! The colors are wonderful. Some shirts claim to be "madras" shirts, but this is the real deal. Another wonderful Orvis offering."
Review 8 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good shirt,
October 28, 2014
By: gkassis
from RI
"would have been perfect if the material was less stiff, otherwise great fit and cut"
Review 9 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool and comfortable,
October 7, 2014
By: Granpa
from Palm Springs, CA
"I live in Palm Springs where the temperature is often over 100 degrees. This shirt is always cool and comfortable and still looks good at the end of the day. I am glad to recommend it to you."
Review 10 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ivy League Look,
October 3, 2014
By: OldGreek
from Atlanta, GA
"I didn't think I'd ever find another classic button down Madras shirt with a loop like the ones I wore in college with cut off high rise khakis, Penny Loafers without socks and an alligator belt. Everybody says "Great shirt!""
Review 11 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks Great, Fits Well,
September 8, 2014
By: Olivasayana
from Rice, Virginia
"Here is another quality and attractive article of clothing from Orvis. The fit and tailoring are very good, and the colors and patterns are vivid and tasteful. The shirt smelled a little weird out of the package, but that may have come from the dyes. It is fine now."
Review 12 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
August 25, 2014
By: BRshopper
from Hampton, NJ
"I've been searching for a new madras shirt for my husband for a while now. He loves this one. The fit is great. He likes it so much that he asked me to get another one in a different madras."
Review 13 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seriously nice shirt,
August 25, 2014
By: TheAdmiral
"These madras shirts are light and comfortable in the heat. As a bonus they come in nice colors and look great with khakis and jeans."
Review 14 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect summer shirt,
August 20, 2014
By: sararuby
from New England
"An ideal choice for warm summer days. Can go from backyard picnics to outdoor band concerts to casual church services."
Review 15 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
August 15, 2014
By: Cash
from Austin, TX
"I've purchased every color of this shirt - outstanding quality and look. The L fits me great and I'm usually in an XL. Love the shirt."
Review 16 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and cool,
August 11, 2014
By: Frederick3
from West Hartford, CT
"Can't beat Madras for the hot summer days. The fabric is soft and makes a hot day pleasant. A shirt you can wear to dinner out or go shopping in town. Buy two so you'll always be prepared!"
Review 17 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt!,
August 4, 2014
By: Gordon1
from Bellevue, WA
"I'm wearing my wonderful Madras shirt as I write this. It is mercifully cool, supremently comfortable and very well made--as well as attractive. I would glady buy another in a different color, and maybe I will if this heat wave continues."
Review 18 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit and Excellent Quality,
August 3, 2014
By: winkshouston
from Houston, TX
"This is a great shirt. My husband is 6'2" and 195 lbs and we were a bit concerned that the shirt may not be long enough for him. But the Large is a perfect fit and as long as Tall from other makers. The colors are somewhat brighter than shown on line but very pleasing. My husband loves them."
Review 19 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Singnature Madras Shirt,
July 22, 2014
By: Sammy408
from Staunton, VA
"Not your everyday run of the mill Madras Shirt. The plaid design is unique with the right blend of colors, so often in other retail stores you'll only fine huge plaid designs that looks more like a table cloth than a shirt. Orvis Madras shirts are known for color fastness and durability."
Review 20 for Orvis Signature Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Signature success this year,
July 18, 2014
By: MidwestTraveler
from the Heartland
"I knew I'd be traveling to New York this summer, so I asked my family for specified gifts from Orvis for my birthday. One of these specifics was the Orvis Signature madras shirt--it's always a knockout, and while I knew I couldn't make it sartorially as an urban sophisticate, I knew the color palette, pattern, fit, and weight would be perfect. This turned out to be true, and this shirt was perfect too for different locales around and about the Five Boroughs."