Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt

Summer travel calls for a white poplin shirt like this. Made from a lightweight cotton poplin, it features double-needle stitching throughout, two pleated chest pockets with button-through flap pockets, and a handy reverse-pleated pocket on the wearer's left sleeve. Convenient sleeve tabs for when the temperatures rise. Spread collar. Poplin shirt in white. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.207 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
23 of 29(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just about what I expected,
August 19, 2014
By: WolfiefromHarlem
"I have been looking for a long sleeve, 2 flap pocket light weight white bush shirt for some time. I think this shirt is about all you could ask for. I found the XL sizing to be consistent with other shirts. You MUST wash this shirt before wearing. I can't imagine anyone not doing that but I thought I would mention that for those that think the shirt is too stiff. It appears to be high quality cotton from India. It feels great and should get softer with every washing and wearing.I wash everything in COLD and dry everything on HOT but cotton will shrink so I suggest you make sure you try the shirt on before washing. I also ALWAYS wear this type of shirt with the sleeves rolled up one or two flips so I don't care if the sleeve length shrinks a bit as long as the rest of the shirt fits fine."
Review 2 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Travel Shirt Ever,
August 19, 2014
By: MleC
from New York, NY
"As a long-time fan the Bush Poplin shirt in color, I didn't take much convincing to order this in white. Very glad I did: it makes for a great beach shirt over shorts/swimsuit , transitioning perfectly to dockside drinks. Plus it has all those great pockets, which I've made good use of for several pairs of glasses, etc. Highly recommend."
Review 3 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
August 18, 2014
By: timreviewsky
"Great white shirt. Nice weight for under a sweater."
Review 4 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super summer shirt,
August 18, 2014
By: Showhost
from Winston-Salem, NC
"Class casual long sleeve. Great with jeans to dress them up a bit. I usually wear XLbut this shirt is full cut and a Large was perfect."
Review 5 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit after a wash,
August 18, 2014
By: brodir
from Niles, Michigan
"This shirt is very sturdy and a bit stiff out of the package but after a wash it gets better and I only expect that to improve. It fit fine out of the bag although it is a medium and I have a 44 chest and a 32 waist. After a wash it fits even better, so remember that Orvis seems to cut their shirts big, as better quality makers generally do. I have called them about sizing before and they were quite accurate with their size recommendations. Consider doing that to avoid a lot of returns."
Review 6 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Shirt for a Lifetime,
August 14, 2014
By: wlwjr
from Ohio
"Looking for a sun-reflective, cool, rugged shirt I could use on a Death Valley photo shoot, I chose Orvis's cotton poplin bush shirt. It's perfect for my purposes and also includes thoughtful tailoring touches, like articulated sleeves that allow for a full range of motion. Everything on the shirt is over-engineered. It'd destined to become a good friend."
Review 7 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traditional,
August 12, 2014
By: FieldFriend
from Corrales, NM
"Orvis is the place to go for traditional clothing in the US. This shirt brings back memories. It is not up to the quality and usefullness of 5.11 clothing and is priced much higher. Button down collars or stays would have been helpful. But is very suitable for the after hunt evening visit to the bar."
Review 8 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt-A real field shirt,
August 8, 2014
By: SanFrancsicko
from San Francisco
"This shirt is stiff, yes. However, it is a field shirt and I bought it to actually work in the field. The material is sturdy, but it keeps the body cool. The buttons of white and the collar is perfect for having on a light jacket.
If you want a real field shirt that will last and keep you warm in hot weather, this is it. I'm six foot one inch, broad shoulders, thin waist and the medium is perfect size."
Review 9 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cotton Poplin shirt,
July 30, 2014
By: Charlie66
from NYC, NY
"very sharp looking shirt and very comfortable to wear. I liked the 3
pocket style. unique looking shirt
especially in white. Outstanding
"
Review 10 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice potential but too stiff,
May 27, 2014
By: Nanra
"We thought this shirt was the answer to my husband's desire to have a nice looking white travel shirt with cargo pockets. Sadly, the fabric is so darn stiff it was uncomfortable and would not drape. Did not feel good on, so we returned.
If Orvis would offer this shirt in a Foxcroft-type wrinkle free soft cotton, rather than in poplin, it could be a gem.
"
Review 11 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shirting,
May 7, 2014
By: fifehut
from San Francisco, CA
"An excellent shirt with quality stitching, fine buttons and high quality fabric. Very professional customer service and exchange options. Orvis is a standard many other mail order sites should attempt to emulate."
Review 12 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks Great. Feels Bad.,
April 16, 2014
By: arjaypee
"Over the years most if not all of my Orvis products have been excellent in quality, fit, looks, etc., and most of the times match the photo and description very well.
This shirt, however, is not up to usual Orvis standards in any respect.
First, the fabric: Feels like stiff cardboard right out of the bag. It can't fold or mold to the body.
Second: the fit: Medium looks and feels like a large. Very unflattering and uncomfortable for a medium size."
Review 13 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A perfect shirt,
April 2, 2014
By: MrToad
from Nottinghamshire UK
"I bought one of these shirts for summer use after buying the excellent but heavier khaki bush shirt. It's a superb shirt and one I've been trying to find for years to replace an old favourite that I wore until it fell apart. I have ordered two more!"
Review 14 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
March 24, 2014
By: hillwalker21C
"The shirt fabric was very stiff and very creased on arrival. Far too stiff and creased to wear. It could virtually stand up on its own! I didn't want to wash it to see if it improved as I didn't want to invalidate my ability to return it. Awful."
Review 15 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cotton Poplin Shirt,
March 11, 2014
By: TerenceP
from Chicago
"Only worn this once but love the styling and detail. Had laundry apply light starch and it came back pretty stiff. Common in Poplin? No starch next time."
Review 16 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been looking for this shirt.,
March 10, 2014
By: magg
from Toronto, Ontario
"Thank You Orvis. For the past while I have been looking for casual white shirt to wear with cords or jeans. All that I found were a little to dressy. When I received my order containing this shirt it was even better than your catalogue described .Great fabric, double front pockets and epaulets.
Perfect shirt....I have just ordered another.
"
Review 17 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy, classic shirt,
July 19, 2013
By: StoneMama
from Idaho Falls, ID
"Bought a couple of these shirts for my husband. They have excellent detailing - a little stiff in the beginning, but after a few washes they wear like an old friend."
Review 18 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking shirt,
July 16, 2013
By: Brik
"This is a very good looking shirt - everything I expected in that respect. Described as a lightweight shirt, it certainly is. Except for the pockets it is as light as a normal white dress shirt. The only real issue I have is the big, stiff collar which I think should be smaller and softer. I like the shirt and will be wearing it a lot with the heat in Arizona."
Review 19 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
White Nights,
June 3, 2013
By: Pocketpope
from Syracuse, NY
"White shirts can be dull. Not this one. If you're looking for rugged sophistication, this is it. The cotton poplin material feels great on the skin and the functional epaulets give this garment a certain manly feel. Whether worn under a suit coat or reliving the charge of the Light Brigade, this is the white shirt for you."
Review 20 for Long-Sleeved Cotton Poplin Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST dress shirt,
May 30, 2013
By: EasternMedCruiser
from Turkey
"Heavy enough for a breezy day, light enough for a balmy evening, smart tucked in or not, and dressy even without a tie. Retains a few wrinkles between thundershowers but repels dust and most odors magnificently. A couple of these versatile shirts will complement almost any itinerary. You can even stow your hoquoy under an epaulette and get away with it."