Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Guide Sling Pack

Carry everything you'll need and keep it out of your way. Built just like our best-selling original, only larger, the fly-fishing sling-pack style allows you to wear it over one shoulder, completely out of the way, but still have quick-and-easy access to all your gear. Store large capacity fly boxes, accessories, or packable rain jackets in the roomy main compartment and keep track of flies with the fly-drying foam patch. Forceps sheath and zinger attachment point feature magnetic anchors to keep tools in place. Constructed with an integrated water bottle holder. Adjustable shoulder strap, sternum strap, and tippet spool holder included. 20"H x 12"W x 7"D; 900 cu. in. Weighs 1.6 lbs. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.418 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
82 of 91(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Guide Sling Pack
Review 1 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack!,
April 18, 2014
By: FourStringAxe
from White River VT
"This is a great pack, nice alternative to the vest. Stays in place, very easy to use. A little hard to get to the leader/tippet being how I'm right handed, also a little challenging to use clippers with right hand, but I'm starting to use my left. I like the water bottle holder! Over all I think I will be very happy with this pack on those hot and humid days. Thanks"
Review 2 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
April 11, 2014
By: Burkitt
from Brookyn - i fish all over the US.
"the size is perfect.
this is going to be with me for a long time because i carry 8 - 10
boxes 95 percent of the time and this will carry easily with room
to spare.
two things going forward:
a place on the outside for float gel and dryfloat.
a divider panel inside in the large compartment - i think there's
more functionality with two open spaces than the zippered
pockets that are there now.
that being said, this is a really nice sling.
"
Review 3 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
April 8, 2014
By: None76
from Western, CO
"Spent four days on the water with this pack and it just doesn't seem that anyone actually guided with this during the design. Obviously the tippet spool is in a bad location. The interior pocket design is lacking in my opinion and hard to organize gear for quick access with just the interior pockets in one compartment. I don't use the net hook but that also looks to be in a place that would awkward at times. I really like Orvis products but this one needs some more time before considering it a "guide" pack."
Review 4 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this pack,
April 4, 2014
By: Steelhead13
from Akron, OH
"I got this for Christmas last year and have used frequently. It holds everything I need and more. This is probably my favorite pack Orvis offers. Thanks, Orvis."
Review 5 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Pack! Needs Mods,
April 4, 2014
By: Spugh
from Wildwood, MO
"I ordered this pack and love it! Right sized and holds a lot! However, there needs to be a version for left handlers, and most importantly, the tippet retainer is inconveniently placed on the pack. When I swing it around, the tippets are at the farthest end and awkward to work with.
Great pack, I'll work with it, but would exchange it for a left handed version or repositioned tippet retainer in a heartbeat!
"
Review 6 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit and size,
March 24, 2014
By: Seano
from Chicago
"Was a bit concerned it would be too big/bulky, but needed to hold a bunch of gear. Seems to have hit a pretty good sweet spot for me so far. Some others were hesitant about having it on your casting arm like the video shows but I haven't had any issues. It doesn't bind up your shoulders/back like a backpack can sometimes. Would def suggest this to anyone else."
Review 7 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally!!,
March 13, 2014
By: Rquill
"I tried vests, chest packs, fanny packs and other name brand sling packs but the Orvis Guide Sling pack is by far the best one of them all. It holds all you need for a full day on the water and best of all its comfortable. Will be using this pack for many years. Great product!!"
Review 8 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect,
March 11, 2014
By: streamside
"Purchased the sling pack for a two week trip to the Acklins. Pack preformed flawlessly. No more sore back as when I used a waist type pack. Plenty of room for everything, super water bottle holder design. One issue is the location of the tippet and nippers. Very awkward to access, need to reach across your body to get at. Should be located close to the fly patch. Really like the magnetic closures."
Review 9 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pack I own,
March 6, 2014
By: Paperfectdrifters
from PA and MT
"I have fished with many packs from many companies and this pack is by far the best! It's carries everything you need, where you need it and organized! I can easily get 6 large doubled sided fly boxes in it and still have room for all the smaller stuff I want or need! Plus I fish many days in a row some weeks and it's very comfortable! My only real complaint is I wish the tippet holder was easier to get to when the pack is swung around."
Review 10 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True Function.,
February 18, 2014
By: Breadbaker
from Buffalo, NY
"Sling pack stays out of the way, does not hinder casting or mending.
Roomy pockets with dependable zippers.
The multiple tipper holder is very convenient.
You don't even know that you are wearing it!
"
Review 11 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazed,
February 18, 2014
By: Manistee
"I never thought I'd ever give up on my good old Filson vest but I have to admit the sling pack is a joy to wear. I am even thinking about another one for salt water."
Review 12 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Comfortable,
January 30, 2014
By: Bizell3rd
from Eastvale, CA
"I love how comfortable the Guide Sling Pack is. Other across the shoulder packs twist around on your chest and become uncomfortable. Eventually, they even start the chaff you neck a bit. However, the Orvis Guide Sling Pack is the most comfortable over the shoulder pack. I have had a couple of fishing days with it so far and have not had any trouble with comfort."
Review 13 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much better than a vest,
January 20, 2014
By: Andrssonevn
from Baltimore, MD
"I've had the sling pack for almost a year. It's very comfortable and holds all my fishing gear--3fly boxes, Tippett, lead, etc.--plus has room for snacks, a camera, first aid kit, sting kit, glasses case, towel, and water bottle. I hike and fish a lot and this bag is perfect for day hikes with fishing. Orvis thought of everything with this one."
Review 14 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis does it again,
January 17, 2014
By: Ipat
"Love it! Works perfectly in Montana's cold rivers and on float trips. Exceptional design and function. Get one!"
Review 15 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for me..,
January 16, 2014
By: troutguy10
from Rio Rancho, NM
"After receiving my Guide Sling Pack, I loaded it up and tried it on...it felt very awkward and really not quite usefull enough for my use. I've tried many different packs and waistbelt types and still haven't found anything better than my Simms Vest...sorry"
Review 16 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice idea,
January 14, 2014
By: lineman
from North Central PA
"Beats the pants off a vest or lanyard. Has plenty of room for everything you would ever need to carry. When loaded up and slung back, you don't notice the weight. Pack is very well built. Only con I can find is I can't seem to find a place that I'm satisfied with to carry my net."
Review 17 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for guides,
January 13, 2014
By: tomSFF
"This is an excellent fly fishing pack especially for guides who need to pack a variety of items for themselves as well as customers.
Some of the unique features I liked was the ease of getting it out of the way and on your back. It easily swings down to where you can get accesses to all the items you packed. Plenty of storage space with great compartments to separate commonly needed items from the backup stuff. I especially liked the water bottle pouch.
Very comfortable and padded straps. Much more convenient than the standard vest I wore for years.
"
Review 18 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Piece!,
January 4, 2014
By: FlyRodGod
from Arkansas
"This thing has been reviewed to death and there's a reason why: it's a great pack! It holds plenty of fishing gear and almost anything else you could reasonably want to have close at hand when you're streamside.
This pack is well built, looks great, and makes getting to your gear nice and easy. Gone are the days of having to walk to the edge of the river, take off your backpack, rummage through it, find a fly/tippet/leader, etc. You can take care of all of that without moving from your spot.
It also makes a great overnight bag when camping or taking a quick trip.
No cognitive dissonance here!"
Review 19 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size,
January 3, 2014
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"After a bit over a year, I finally came to the realization that I regretted buying the smaller sling pack and wanted more space. I bit the bullet and got the guide size sling and couldn't be happier. To top it all off, when I learned my uncle gave his son a ClearWater III set up for Christmas, I mailed him my smaller sling pack as a bonus Christmas gift. He was thrilled and it was the perfect size for his small gear collection. So, this purchase made two happy campers."
Review 20 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guide Sling Pack,
December 30, 2013
By: Brule1
from Wisconsin
"After using a vest for fly fishing for many years, I decided the Guide Sling Pack would be more efficient for carrying my equipment, I wasn't disappointed.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone, as well as working through Orvis."