Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Guide Sling Pack

Carry everything you'll need and keep it out of your way. Built just like our best-selling original, only larger, the fly-fishing sling-pack style allows you to wear it over one shoulder, completely out of the way, but still have quick-and-easy access to all your gear. Store large capacity fly boxes, accessories, or packable rain jackets in the roomy main compartment and keep track of flies with the fly-drying foam patch. Forceps sheath and zinger attachment point feature magnetic anchors to keep tools in place. Constructed with an integrated water bottle holder. Adjustable shoulder strap, sternum strap, and tippet spool holder included. 20"H x 12"W x 7"D; 900 cu. in. Weighs 1.6 lbs. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
90 of 100(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Guide Sling Pack
Review 1 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pack,
July 15, 2014
By: Paul1959
from Massachusetts
"great pack, Hold everything I need and very easy to access my gear. Pack fits over my should very comfortably and allows me to cast freely. I would highly recommend this pack to others"
Review 2 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
really nice,
July 8, 2014
By: 904medic
"I used this pack for a week of fishing every day.. overall the pack is well though out plenty of room for a lunch and a light weight jacket, water bottle and most supplies you will need for a day on the river. The only I do not like is the location of the tippet and tool location.."
Review 3 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not great for wading,
June 6, 2014
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I used it for the first time this week. I was wading for landlocked salmon in Maine. The tippet spool location and spot for the tools make it difficult to access them easily. I have the original sling pack and love it, so I thought this would be a nice upgrade. It functioned more like a fishing backpack than a pack that can be used while standing in a river. Positive - the forceps sleeve is very convenient and It holds lots of stuff, including a packable rain jacket, which came in handy."
Review 4 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
just what you need,
May 23, 2014
By: southturner
from London UK, Livingston Manor USA
"I've been through a whole series of bags, two Pata***ia's, a Si**s and this Orvis is, by a mile, the best.
Large enough for a rain coat, sandwich and water, there's still room for all your stuff. Well made, balances well, and when on, is virtually un-noticable.
The fittings are great: zippers are large, the material thick, plus it has all the little bells and whistles you'd expect. Extra pockets everywhere, foam fly patch etc, etc.
and it has taken a beating and still looks brand new
I'm pretty critical with my reviews, but with this bag, Orvis has hit a home run."
Review 5 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 20, 2014
By: sharpehooks
from Tacoma, Wa
"I've been looking for the right product
for about a year now and I think I found it. I got my Orvis package in and the next day spent 10 hours waist deep in the sound fishing. The comfort was great, the room is great. While I didn't have one of our rainy days I think that my only suggestion is to make the next model more water resistant.
"
Review 6 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bigger was better,
April 30, 2014
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"I upgraded to the guide size after using the regular size for a season or two and I'm glad I did. Same ergonomics I liked in the smaller version, but holds enough to walk the flats all afternoon and not need to load up my pants pockets with fly boxes."
Review 7 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Pack!!!,
April 29, 2014
By: BKGuide
from Northern California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Overall Great Pack !! I am hard on equipment and this pack stood up to the test. Fished a full season last year with no complaints. I carry more than enough gear besides typical fishing gear : 1st aid, small video camera, lenses, knife(2) , radio, rain jacket, extra water, etc... Plus my fishing buddy approves..."
Review 8 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack!,
April 18, 2014
By: FourStringAxe
from White River VT
"This is a great pack, nice alternative to the vest. Stays in place, very easy to use. A little hard to get to the leader/tippet being how I'm right handed, also a little challenging to use clippers with right hand, but I'm starting to use my left. I like the water bottle holder! Over all I think I will be very happy with this pack on those hot and humid days. Thanks"
Review 9 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
April 11, 2014
By: Burkitt
from Brookyn - i fish all over the US.
"the size is perfect.
this is going to be with me for a long time because i carry 8 - 10
boxes 95 percent of the time and this will carry easily with room
to spare.
two things going forward:
a place on the outside for float gel and dryfloat.
a divider panel inside in the large compartment - i think there's
more functionality with two open spaces than the zippered
pockets that are there now.
that being said, this is a really nice sling.
"
Review 10 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
April 8, 2014
By: None76
from Western, CO
"Spent four days on the water with this pack and it just doesn't seem that anyone actually guided with this during the design. Obviously the tippet spool is in a bad location. The interior pocket design is lacking in my opinion and hard to organize gear for quick access with just the interior pockets in one compartment. I don't use the net hook but that also looks to be in a place that would awkward at times. I really like Orvis products but this one needs some more time before considering it a "guide" pack."
Review 11 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this pack,
April 4, 2014
By: Steelhead13
from Akron, OH
"I got this for Christmas last year and have used frequently. It holds everything I need and more. This is probably my favorite pack Orvis offers. Thanks, Orvis."
Review 12 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Pack! Needs Mods,
April 4, 2014
By: Spugh
from Wildwood, MO
"I ordered this pack and love it! Right sized and holds a lot! However, there needs to be a version for left handlers, and most importantly, the tippet retainer is inconveniently placed on the pack. When I swing it around, the tippets are at the farthest end and awkward to work with.
Great pack, I'll work with it, but would exchange it for a left handed version or repositioned tippet retainer in a heartbeat!
"
Review 13 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit and size,
March 24, 2014
By: Seano
from Chicago
"Was a bit concerned it would be too big/bulky, but needed to hold a bunch of gear. Seems to have hit a pretty good sweet spot for me so far. Some others were hesitant about having it on your casting arm like the video shows but I haven't had any issues. It doesn't bind up your shoulders/back like a backpack can sometimes. Would def suggest this to anyone else."
Review 14 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally!!,
March 13, 2014
By: Rquill
"I tried vests, chest packs, fanny packs and other name brand sling packs but the Orvis Guide Sling pack is by far the best one of them all. It holds all you need for a full day on the water and best of all its comfortable. Will be using this pack for many years. Great product!!"
Review 15 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect,
March 11, 2014
By: streamside
"Purchased the sling pack for a two week trip to the Acklins. Pack preformed flawlessly. No more sore back as when I used a waist type pack. Plenty of room for everything, super water bottle holder design. One issue is the location of the tippet and nippers. Very awkward to access, need to reach across your body to get at. Should be located close to the fly patch. Really like the magnetic closures."
Review 16 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pack I own,
March 6, 2014
By: Paperfectdrifters
from PA and MT
"I have fished with many packs from many companies and this pack is by far the best! It's carries everything you need, where you need it and organized! I can easily get 6 large doubled sided fly boxes in it and still have room for all the smaller stuff I want or need! Plus I fish many days in a row some weeks and it's very comfortable! My only real complaint is I wish the tippet holder was easier to get to when the pack is swung around."
Review 17 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True Function.,
February 18, 2014
By: Breadbaker
from Buffalo, NY
"Sling pack stays out of the way, does not hinder casting or mending.
Roomy pockets with dependable zippers.
The multiple tipper holder is very convenient.
You don't even know that you are wearing it!
"
Review 18 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazed,
February 18, 2014
By: Manistee
"I never thought I'd ever give up on my good old Filson vest but I have to admit the sling pack is a joy to wear. I am even thinking about another one for salt water."
Review 19 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Comfortable,
January 30, 2014
By: Bizell3rd
from Eastvale, CA
"I love how comfortable the Guide Sling Pack is. Other across the shoulder packs twist around on your chest and become uncomfortable. Eventually, they even start the chaff you neck a bit. However, the Orvis Guide Sling Pack is the most comfortable over the shoulder pack. I have had a couple of fishing days with it so far and have not had any trouble with comfort."
Review 20 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much better than a vest,
January 20, 2014
By: Andrssonevn
from Baltimore, MD
"I've had the sling pack for almost a year. It's very comfortable and holds all my fishing gear--3fly boxes, Tippett, lead, etc.--plus has room for snacks, a camera, first aid kit, sting kit, glasses case, towel, and water bottle. I hike and fish a lot and this bag is perfect for day hikes with fishing. Orvis thought of everything with this one."