Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Guide Sling Pack

Carry everything you'll need and keep it out of your way. Built just like our best-selling original, only larger, the fly-fishing sling-pack style allows you to wear it over one shoulder, completely out of the way, but still have quick-and-easy access to all your gear. Store large capacity fly boxes, accessories, or packable rain jackets in the roomy main compartment and keep track of flies with the fly-drying foam patch. Forceps sheath and zinger attachment point feature magnetic anchors to keep tools in place. Constructed with an integrated water bottle holder. Adjustable shoulder strap, sternum strap, and tippet spool holder included. 20"H x 12"W x 7"D; 900 cu. in. Weighs 1.6 lbs. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
106 of 116(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Guide Sling Pack
Review 1 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
December 13, 2014
By: Kbutt2014
from Syracuse,NY
"The Guide Sling Pack is the perfect size for everything and it comes with the tippet holder already attached."
Review 2 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and comfortable!,
December 13, 2014
By: Lagoonman
"First sling pack for me as I'm a vest guy. Wasn't sure what to expect but this pack is good quality, comfortable very roomy and easy-to-use!"
Review 3 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome sling pack,
December 6, 2014
By: Jdubyat2
from Scottsdale AZ
"This pack is awesome. Easily accessible and holds a ton."
Review 4 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Sling-Pak!,
October 30, 2014
By: GaiaKSK
from Ontario, Canada
"I ordered this sling-oak for myself as my XMAS gift. I tried to keep it in the box until December 25th but I just couldn't wait to use it. I must say, it has more storage than I need! It's large enough to bring along a few snack for my river trips. Compartments fit my gear perfectly with room to spare. No complaints here, happy to be an Orvis customer."
Review 5 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flats Fishing Essential,
October 30, 2014
By: spanishbones1
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
"I have the older model (Green/Olive), and loved fishing with it.That model was best for chasing trout in my drift boat. It was a bit too small for stalking Spanish Bones though. I get dropped on a secluded flat, stay there all day, and hope the fisherman remembers to come and get me before dark! I need to take food, and especially water with me. Not to mention an overwhelming array of subtle flies for guarded Spanish bonefish. I swing the sling around to my back and cast all day; confident I will survive even if I am forgotten."
Review 6 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handy, all in one,
October 29, 2014
By: bitmap317
"Nice pack. Comfortable strap and stays out of the way while fishing. My only complaint is the position of the 'tool holder' moves over your shoulder when you swing the pack around to get at your flies. I have to slide it back and forth to get a new fly, tie on, store the replaced fly, etc.
BUT, it has plenty of storage to carry everything I need so overall it's a winner."
Review 7 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid pack,
October 29, 2014
By: flyfishfans
"Well built and sturday with lots of pockets. I only wish it had more outside zip pockets for fly boxes. Large inside pocket area. Great for a hike-in trip."
Review 8 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for!,
October 28, 2014
By: Bluedog9
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I love the sling pack, very well designed. I have a couple of chest/hip packs from fishpond and umpqua. I wear the neck strap over my shoulder and leave the pack on my hip with the waist strap around my waist obviously. Problem I have is when I attach my net via the magnetic net release, the weight of the net pulls the neck pad down to the pack and the net then hangs in the water or gets hung up easily when going through brush. The sling pack is the answer. The d-ring attachment keeps the net up near my shoulder no sliding and the safety cord easily attached to the strap on the other side of pack. Works perfect. The pack has more than enough room for gear for entire day of fishing. Enough pockets, dividers etc. It stays out of the way, no tangling your fly line. If I were to nit pick, I was disappointed that it didn't come with a horizontal tippet spool holder. It just has built in attachments for one. But that's a small purchase ill have to make. Overall great product will be fishing with mine for years to come I'm sure."
Review 9 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sling Bag,
October 28, 2014
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"This is a great bag with lots of room, and plenty of extras that make fishing a pleasure. I hate getting out on the water, and fumbling to find something. This bag helps to keep everything organized and accessible."
Review 10 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis guide pack,
October 27, 2014
By: Gitmo1974
from MA
"I haven't put the pack to the test yet but from what I see it's going to be very handy for steelhead in November ."
Review 11 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good Sling Pak,
October 15, 2014
By: redwulf1
"I have been waiting for someone to make a larger sling pak. And leave it to Orvis to do so. I just returned from a Salmon trip and not once did I need to go to the truck for anything. This pak has plenty of room for all your gear including a pack lunch. Only needs to shift the tippet holder to opposite side as the spools always end up under my armpit. Other then that this pak is highly recommended."
Review 12 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ouality, first class design,
September 26, 2014
By: montymontana
from N. Central Ca.
"Like many fly fisherman and women I have been guilty of trying to carry to much "stuff" while on the river. I have tried every style of vest,jackets,and packs all of which turned out to be to big or heavy to wear during actual fishing for very long.So they 'ole drop the gear fish awhile and the back track to retrieve my gear. Finally a design and size that is quality made to meet our demands...very comfortable with adaquit storage for everything you need for a long day on any river. I carry one extra spool,a complete extra reel(fully loaded), two large and one small fly box,water,lunch,pliers,knife,store able rain poncho and water very comfortably while casting Lon's spey rods for the mighty steelhead. Thank you Orvis...my only negative comment is directed at myself,why did I wait so long to try the design?"
Review 13 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great replacement for a bulky vest,
September 9, 2014
By: DJJJ
from Colville, Wa.
"Room for everything a steelheader needs out of the way of your cast. I bought because the design suits a lefty. Everything is with you without having to leave it on the bank and work back and forth."
Review 14 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Guide sling pack....right shoulder,
August 14, 2014
By: go2goal
from Portland, Maine
"The guide sling pack is a great design but it has one overall design flaw. If you are lefty, it is perfect as the sling is designed to hang on your right shoulder. If you are a righty (cast with your right arm), the sling is designed to loop over your right shoulder and that makes for a long day on the river. Orvis should design a left sling and a right sling or make it switchable."
Review 15 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
why did I wait so long,
August 4, 2014
By: tk4510
from Ma.
"On the advise of several of my friends I purchased the guide sling pack . All I can say is why did I wait so long . I can fit several fly boxes , extra spools and my tippet's . Fits comfortably on my back , and dosen't affect my casting ."
Review 16 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A good start,
August 2, 2014
By: mezzfin
from West Linn, OR
"Spent my first extended trip fishing using this pack exclusively, and I have to say I wish I had paid closer attention to the other reviews for this item. The pros: it holds a great deal and is all I needed for a day on the water. When used in place on your back it is completely out of the way and allows for total freedom in casting, releasing fish, scramble-wading, etc. Cons: the thing is designed backwards for right-handed folks. Truly, I scratch my head at how this hasn't gone back to the drawing board to be revised to allow the snips & tippet spools to lay on the right side as you pull the pack around to your front. They're the two items used the most, yet they are on the left side and tucked up under the user's left armpit (almost)! C'mon, Orvis - this can't be that hard! This can be a 5-star item with just those changes!"
Review 17 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pack,
July 15, 2014
By: Paul1959
from Massachusetts
"great pack, Hold everything I need and very easy to access my gear. Pack fits over my should very comfortably and allows me to cast freely. I would highly recommend this pack to others"
Review 18 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
really nice,
July 8, 2014
By: 904medic
"I used this pack for a week of fishing every day.. overall the pack is well though out plenty of room for a lunch and a light weight jacket, water bottle and most supplies you will need for a day on the river. The only I do not like is the location of the tippet and tool location.."
Review 19 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not great for wading,
June 6, 2014
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I used it for the first time this week. I was wading for landlocked salmon in Maine. The tippet spool location and spot for the tools make it difficult to access them easily. I have the original sling pack and love it, so I thought this would be a nice upgrade. It functioned more like a fishing backpack than a pack that can be used while standing in a river. Positive - the forceps sleeve is very convenient and It holds lots of stuff, including a packable rain jacket, which came in handy."
Review 20 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
just what you need,
May 23, 2014
By: southturner
from London UK, Livingston Manor USA
"I've been through a whole series of bags, two Pata***ia's, a Si**s and this Orvis is, by a mile, the best.
Large enough for a rain coat, sandwich and water, there's still room for all your stuff. Well made, balances well, and when on, is virtually un-noticable.
The fittings are great: zippers are large, the material thick, plus it has all the little bells and whistles you'd expect. Extra pockets everywhere, foam fly patch etc, etc.
and it has taken a beating and still looks brand new
I'm pretty critical with my reviews, but with this bag, Orvis has hit a home run."