Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Guide Sling Pack

Carry everything you'll need and keep it out of your way. Built just like our best-selling original, only larger, the fly fishing sling-pack style allows you to wear it over one shoulder, completely out of the way, but still have quick-and-easy access to all your gear. Store large capacity fly boxes, accessories, or packable rain jackets in the roomy main compartment and keep track of flies with the fly-drying foam patch. Forceps sheath and zinger attachment point feature magnetic anchors to keep tools in place. Constructed with an integrated water bottle holder. Adjustable shoulder strap and sternum strap included. 20"H x 12"W x 7"D; 900 cu. in. Weighs 1.6 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
115 of 125(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Guide Sling Pack
Review 1 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good all day pack,
January 21, 2015
By: riverman1968
from South Wales
"I bought this pack as an all day alternative to a vest . I can store all my boxes and tippet etc and still have room for a descent lunch and a rain coat even a micro fleece goes in !!! Comfortable and unhindered fishing first class"
Review 2 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great flyfishing sling pack,
January 19, 2015
By: mannybee
from Newcastle upon Tyne
"I was lucky to have received this sling pack as a gift from my wife. Knowing I owned several fishing bags and packs I could never find a bag that was comfortable to carry all day, and also have the capacity to hold all I need for a full days flyfishing, including my flask and sandwiches. With The Orvis Guide Sling Pack I can carry everything I need in comfort and all day with plenty of room left so it's not all jammed in,making it easier to get what you need without taking everything out to find things, the way it is designed to swing under your arm to the front and end up in the perfect position to access the zipped compartments is great. I do also own a sling pack made by another company which is probably less than half the capacity of the guide sling,and I always had to carry another pack with the other sling bag.
There are also some really good features built into the guide sling, tippet holder good size foam fly patch,a place for a water bottle with an elastic retainer and the hidden magnets that hold your forceps and clippers in place to stop them swinging are a great idea.
All in all I am extremely happy with this bag and would/will be recommending to my friends.
Only thing I could suggest that would maybe make this sling pack better is some sort of strapping system on the back of the pack to strap your rods/wading stick to and a pocket incorporated into the main carry strap. Still as it is I'd give it a 5/5 star rating.
"
Review 3 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guide Sling Pack,
January 12, 2015
By: sidargyll
from Glasgow
"I had already bought the smaller version of the Sling pack and was very impressed by it, although I felt I needed a slightly larger version to hold all that was needed to be self-sufficient for the day whilst out on my own and the Guide Sling Pack ticks all the boxes I can get all my Fishing gear fly boxes reels tippet and spares plus there is room for my camera a snack and water bottle holder on the side plus fly patch provided and tippet holder placed handily outside also pouch for forceps/scissors on the outside with magnetic holder and the design means you can comfortably Fly fish with the pack snugly worn across your back out of the way... without reservation I would recommend this superb Pack to all Fishermen who like to disappear for the day and like to have all their gear at hand without having to lug about a large bag or backpack...try it you wont look back I,m converted."
Review 4 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect all purpose bag!,
January 5, 2015
By: Bassfreak
from Wingate, NC
"This bag has a place for everything! It has a place for flies, a roll to store line and tippet. It fits comfortably and is easy to access."
Review 5 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice, but larger than expected,
January 5, 2015
By: mrfaloo
from Santa Rosa, CA
"I like the overall design, with lots of internal pockets and compartments. I returned the item because I wanted a smaller format. Great if you want to pack lots of stuff in with you!"
Review 6 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product from Orvis,
December 30, 2014
By: Kerm
from Atlanta, GA
"Very pleased with the variety of pockets to store gear and equipment. The tippet holder works great and the sewn in magnet holds the nippers secure until I need them. Give it a try and you'll be glad you did."
Review 7 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all-around solution on/off the water,
December 27, 2014
By: 2tall4most
from Wilsonville, OR
"I don't like trekking around with a lot of gear when I fish, nor do appreciate the 100+ year old technology of the fishing vest nor wearing everything around my neck. This comfortable to ware bag keeps all of the necessary gear easily accessible whether fishing from the banks or wading into the streams. The water bottle pocket is a great feature and bonus, it also has a great style/design. Great product Orvis."
Review 8 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
storage plus,
December 24, 2014
By: redfile
from upper peninsula michigan
"holds everything you need, well made, comfortable to hike with, will never go back to the old style vest"
Review 9 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant,
December 21, 2014
By: ScottyMcDougal
from Sydney, Australia
"Solid construction. Perfect size. It's very easy to cast with this pack. I particularly love the extra tags on the zips - I can grab them without looking every time."
Review 10 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
December 13, 2014
By: Kbutt2014
from Syracuse,NY
"The Guide Sling Pack is the perfect size for everything and it comes with the tippet holder already attached."
Review 11 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and comfortable!,
December 13, 2014
By: Lagoonman
"First sling pack for me as I'm a vest guy. Wasn't sure what to expect but this pack is good quality, comfortable very roomy and easy-to-use!"
Review 12 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome sling pack,
December 6, 2014
By: Jdubyat2
from Scottsdale AZ
"This pack is awesome. Easily accessible and holds a ton."
Review 13 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Sling-Pak!,
October 30, 2014
By: GaiaKSK
from Ontario, Canada
"I ordered this sling-oak for myself as my XMAS gift. I tried to keep it in the box until December 25th but I just couldn't wait to use it. I must say, it has more storage than I need! It's large enough to bring along a few snack for my river trips. Compartments fit my gear perfectly with room to spare. No complaints here, happy to be an Orvis customer."
Review 14 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flats Fishing Essential,
October 30, 2014
By: spanishbones1
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
"I have the older model (Green/Olive), and loved fishing with it.That model was best for chasing trout in my drift boat. It was a bit too small for stalking Spanish Bones though. I get dropped on a secluded flat, stay there all day, and hope the fisherman remembers to come and get me before dark! I need to take food, and especially water with me. Not to mention an overwhelming array of subtle flies for guarded Spanish bonefish. I swing the sling around to my back and cast all day; confident I will survive even if I am forgotten."
Review 15 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handy, all in one,
October 29, 2014
By: bitmap317
"Nice pack. Comfortable strap and stays out of the way while fishing. My only complaint is the position of the 'tool holder' moves over your shoulder when you swing the pack around to get at your flies. I have to slide it back and forth to get a new fly, tie on, store the replaced fly, etc.
BUT, it has plenty of storage to carry everything I need so overall it's a winner."
Review 16 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid pack,
October 29, 2014
By: flyfishfans
"Well built and sturday with lots of pockets. I only wish it had more outside zip pockets for fly boxes. Large inside pocket area. Great for a hike-in trip."
Review 17 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for!,
October 28, 2014
By: Bluedog9
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I love the sling pack, very well designed. I have a couple of chest/hip packs from fishpond and umpqua. I wear the neck strap over my shoulder and leave the pack on my hip with the waist strap around my waist obviously. Problem I have is when I attach my net via the magnetic net release, the weight of the net pulls the neck pad down to the pack and the net then hangs in the water or gets hung up easily when going through brush. The sling pack is the answer. The d-ring attachment keeps the net up near my shoulder no sliding and the safety cord easily attached to the strap on the other side of pack. Works perfect. The pack has more than enough room for gear for entire day of fishing. Enough pockets, dividers etc. It stays out of the way, no tangling your fly line. If I were to nit pick, I was disappointed that it didn't come with a horizontal tippet spool holder. It just has built in attachments for one. But that's a small purchase ill have to make. Overall great product will be fishing with mine for years to come I'm sure."
Review 18 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sling Bag,
October 28, 2014
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"This is a great bag with lots of room, and plenty of extras that make fishing a pleasure. I hate getting out on the water, and fumbling to find something. This bag helps to keep everything organized and accessible."
Review 19 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis guide pack,
October 27, 2014
By: Gitmo1974
from MA
"I haven't put the pack to the test yet but from what I see it's going to be very handy for steelhead in November ."
Review 20 for Guide Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good Sling Pak,
October 15, 2014
By: redwulf1
"I have been waiting for someone to make a larger sling pak. And leave it to Orvis to do so. I just returned from a Salmon trip and not once did I need to go to the truck for anything. This pak has plenty of room for all your gear including a pack lunch. Only needs to shift the tippet holder to opposite side as the spools always end up under my armpit. Other then that this pak is highly recommended."