Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Reel

Simple design and flawless construction make this the perfect click-and-pawl fly reel for nearly any freshwater fishing situation. A minimalist's dream, the all-new Battenkill features a classically styled, yet technically enhanced, four-position click-and-pawl drag system that is adjusted internally and is designed to work in tandem with the palm of your hand on those sizzling, screaming runs. Constructed with a narrow spool for less line stacking on retrieve and a larger spool diameter for higher line retrieval rates. The ultra-lightweight fly reel design balances perfectly on shorter rods. Machined from heavy-duty bar-stock aluminium for added durability. Easily adjustable left- or right-hand retrieve. Highlighted by laser-engraved logos. In black nickel. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.631 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
79 of 84(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Reel
Review 1 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battonkill 111,
July 15, 2014
By: BarreMike
from MA.
"Great reel. Perfect for my Clearwater 765. Should last me a lifetime."
Review 2 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
July 5, 2014
By: Bigcabezon
from Santa Cruz, CA
"I purchased the Battenkill I reel and a 2 wt. Superfine Trout line for use with my 2 weight small creek rod. The reel came handed for left hand and backed and loaded with line. This setup is perfect for my little 2 wt rod, casts for distance and touch and is a great color for clear water situations and floats high.
I am completely satisfied with my purchase.
"
Review 3 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time fly fishing,
June 23, 2014
By: Tulehunter
"Netted two 5 lb. rainbows today. I'm a rookie and this reel made it easy."
Review 4 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good purchase,
June 3, 2014
By: pietrob
from italy
"I bought two Battenkill reel (II - III) for the excellent value for money. no problem for the products received. but some delay in the second shipment."
Review 5 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
June 2, 2014
By: paddlejunkie
"I have two of these, nice minimalist reels. Good value for the price and has held up well."
Review 6 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great minimalist reel,
May 27, 2014
By: Nicholas757
from Suffolk, VA
"This is a great lightweight reel, the simplistic four position drag system creates almost no potential for failure. The finish is very durable and the clicker has a great sound to it. The reel has an solid feel to it and is sure to last for years to come. Great reel for the price, you will not be disappointed."
Review 7 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
May 22, 2014
By: Luvbass
from Kansas City, MO
"Put a BK 3 on a 5wt and it is awesome, I have handled some nice bass and 1lb gills with no problem."
Review 8 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill I Reel,
May 19, 2014
By: Michi
"I was surprised by this little reel. Got it for a 3 wt line (part of the superfine combo) and found it very elegant, simple but effective. Works great with a light rod."
Review 9 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good basic reel,
May 15, 2014
By: WVWCBOBCAT
from Salem, VA
"Great reel that brings back memories of my Dad & when we fished together."
Review 10 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent reel,
May 13, 2014
By: ironwoodcountybooks
from Midwest
"I was looking for a simple click and pawl reel and this one has worked very well. (I never need a bigger drag because I can simply palm the reel on the spring creeks I fish.) The only thing I don't like is that to change the drag setting (such as it is) I have to do it by taking the reel apart. Right now I just keep it on the lowest setting and it's working fine."
Review 11 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite reel,
May 5, 2014
By: MountainRacer
from New hampshire
"I bought this recently to pair up with my Superfine Touch. It looks and feels classy, he size and weight are perfect and really balance well on the rod.
I fish for trout in NH, so the click and pawl is more than adequate."
Review 12 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
May 5, 2014
By: BJFouss
from Yardley, PA
"I have an Orvis Clearwater rod (9', 5 wgt), I wanted to upgrade to a lighter reel for days when I am out fishing for a few hours. This was an nice upgrade over my Clearwater reel, light, very well made and a nice look to it. I would highly recommend."
Review 13 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill I "minimalist" perfection,
April 13, 2014
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"This is an extremely attractive and functional little reel for the price. The gun-metal type finish on this reel is attractive and traditional. A 3-position drag pawl eliminates the need for an adjustment knob protruding from the clean lines of the reel frame. The Battenkill’s tapered spool helps prevent uneven line recovery.
Fiddling around with a drag adjustment on a reel designed for 2 – 3 wt. lines is counter-productive; enjoy the clean lines and the minimalist approach!
"
Review 14 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice,
April 9, 2014
By: Herb44
from Atlanta Ga
"This reel is one of if not the best values I have seen in a fly reel in over 50 years of fly fishing. There may be better reels but not better value"
Review 15 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed,
April 6, 2014
By: zuluhumba23
"I have been the happy owner of a Frequent flyer rod,and a Battenkill 11 reel,for two years.
I volunteered to buy for a colleges retirement present,from his staff,what I thought would be the perfect present,i.e. a Frequent flyer rod and Reel.
The new replacements,i.e. Battenkill 111,reel and Frequent flyer rod where purchased ,On the reels first outing we discovered the ratchet cog was freewheeling,i.e. not working.The reel just overran when used.I am not convinced this product matches the profile described in the Orvis webb page ,Reels.This situation should not have passéd quality control.We will monitor the replacement reel,sent by post very carefully.
"
Review 16 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
April 4, 2014
By: Dahyer
from Baton Rouge, LA
"I have had 100 dollar fly reels before from several other manufactures. Whatever the case because of its simple design or because of Orvis manufacturing process, this reel has the best construction of any real that I have ever had. Its construction is flawless and it is such a pleasure to hear. Thank you Orvis for putting everything I wanted in a quality inexpensive reel."
Review 17 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good!,
March 31, 2014
By: Jackattk
"Light weight reel for the money, follows the battenkill tradition. Sleeker than the bbs series.
Gave 4 stars because the spring doesn't seem like it will last too long, however I hope to be pleasantly suprised by the usual Orvis quality. I'm sure it is worthy of the Battenkill name.
"
Review 18 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations,
March 23, 2014
By: Mackadoo
from Albuquerque, NM
"Just got my new Battenkill I and put it on my 761 Trout Bum rod...they were made for each other! This lightweight outfit is perfect for fishing the small streams in the Jemez Mountains of New Mexico."
Review 19 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill 2 Reel,
March 20, 2014
By: Rodder1492
"Reel is so small and lightweight, I actually thought Orvis mailed me the wrong reel.
A good update on an excellent original reel
"
Review 20 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Classic,
March 11, 2014
By: StuS
from Seattle
"A classic real that is really simple but high quality. The light weight is great as I use the reel for lots of various rods. I wish the reel was made in the USA not China and that spools were interchangeable with the BBS series but other than that I am very happy with my purchase."