Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Reel

Now available in well-balanced sizes IV and V for Spey rods. Simple design and flawless construction make this the perfect click-and-pawl fly reel for nearly any freshwater fishing situation. A minimalist's dream, the all-new Battenkill features a classically styled, yet technically enhanced, four-position click-and-pawl drag system that is adjusted internally and is designed to work in tandem with the palm of your hand on those sizzling, screaming runs. Constructed with a narrow spool for less line stacking on retrieve and a larger spool diameter for higher line retrieval rates. The ultra-lightweight fly reel design balances perfectly on shorter rods. Machined from heavy-duty bar-stock aluminium for added durability. Easily adjustable left- or right-hand retrieve. Highlighted by laser-engraved logos. In black nickel. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.691 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
88
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
105 of 110(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Reel
Review 1 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best, Simplest Fly Reel,
February 3, 2015
By: Todd32311
from Tallahassee, FL
"I like my fly fishing to be simple and clean. The Battenkill reel fits this style. I have used Battenkill reels for over eight years now and have been very impressed with their performance, reliability and function. Not to mention their price. A great fly fishing reel!"
Review 2 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
January 22, 2015
By: GrahamJ
"I bought the Battenkill II for my 3wt and I absolutely love it. It is super light, almost too light, which is why I opted for the BKII over the BKI. the click drag is perfect for small streams and even up to good sized bass. My only complaint is how loud the click is, but that really is just a personal quirk. I would definitely recommend this reel to anyone."
Review 3 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple & perfect..,
January 18, 2015
By: Jamesv58
"I purchased the I &II for both my 3wt and 4wt rods. I loaded the I reel with 12lb backing and 2wt fly line for those light flies and small streams, much to my surprise I hooked into about a 15 inch brown and found once on the reel, it handle the fish flawlessly. Fly fishing at it's simplest."
Review 4 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice design and engineering,
January 11, 2015
By: CMTrunick
from Western PA and Colorado
"My first larger arbor reel. Nice engineering and mechanical precision. Can't wait to experience its performance with a trout on the line. I purchased at the same time an extra spool for quick change out for changing wind and fishing conditions."
Review 5 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light as it gets,
January 8, 2015
By: Happyfisherman6
from N Ireland
"This reel is just so light that when it arrived in the post I thought I had ordered the wrong reel.Well happily I had not.It's a perfect little reel that looks great and works really well.I love the simplicity of how the drag system works and on the lowest setting a 3/4lb trout feels like a monster.Top marks ORVIS."
Review 6 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic reel,
January 6, 2015
By: Ralph6
from east coaast
"Just recieved my Batternkill II reel with 4 wieght line pre-installed. Looks and feels great for a reasonable priced reel. Will be perfect for my 7" bamboo."
Review 7 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple, elegant, affordable,
January 5, 2015
By: DWin1
from Boston -> White Mountains
"This reel is the perfect size for my new 4 wt Superfine, and is an attractive small arbor reel for it's price. For those of us who can't afford a CFO but want a decent click and pawl, I'd recommend this to anyone"
Review 8 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All You Need for Northeast Trout,
December 28, 2014
By: datongdave
from Exeter, NH
"Let's face it, when you fish for trout in the northeast, how often do you really need a drag? With this Battenkill Reel, you get what you need with a solidly machined piece of equipment whose simplicity is its genius. Tight tolerances and very, very light, it pairs perfectly with my various set ups on the Hydros, Helios and H2. I own one in each size. Tremendous value for the beginner and expert alike."
Review 9 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
December 24, 2014
By: RWHfish
from Russellville. AR
"I've got 4 of these and they do everything I need them to do perfectly and it's the best reel at the best price"
Review 10 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than expected,
December 24, 2014
By: 30West
from Concord, NH
"Received the battenkill 1 reel, has the look, feel, and performance of reels more than double the price. Company response and delivery was better than expected. You can't go wrong with Orvis fly fishing gear."
Review 11 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
November 16, 2014
By: BadBobIV
"Perfect fit for my Superfine Touch, 7 1/2 foot, 3 weight. Simple, small and balanced with the rod."
Review 12 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product,
November 3, 2014
By: Wildshooter
from Arkansas
"I've only had this a couple of weeks, but so far seems to work well with my new Orvis 5 weight."
Review 13 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best buy in a lightweight fly reel,
October 31, 2014
By: flyfisher227
from Western New York
"The Battenkill 1 fly reel is the perfect match for my new Superfine Touch 3 wt. rod. I know it will be the perfect outfit for brook trout fishing in Potter County Pennsylvania."
Review 14 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good reel good price,
October 31, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"Added this to arsenal as a backup to my access reel for trout. Not had to use it too many times, but has performed great so far. I would highly recommend this to someone who fishes small streams, smaller fish. This is my go to reel for Smokey Mountain streams."
Review 15 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT REEL,
October 13, 2014
By: thebuck
from Las Vegas, NV
"My Battenkill is a great reel.
Even though it is not a CFO, which is a greater reel, it's a good size and weight and has a nice sound when line is being ripped off it.
i still love my CFO reels , but they cost substantially more.
"
Review 16 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect small reel,
October 7, 2014
By: John9299
"Came ready to use with excellent winding. This reel has been smooth and perfect so far. Easy retrieval for a lefty."
Review 17 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Simple reel,
August 29, 2014
By: FinnyTribe
"I've used a Battenkill II reel for several years, so I bought another one for my new 5 weight rod. I like the simplicity and classic design. Nothing more is needed in a fly reel."
Review 18 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Elegance & Simplicity,
August 26, 2014
By: TAILINGLOOPTOO
from Southport, CT
"The new Battenkill Reels are one of the best recent fly fishing offerings from Orvis.
A classic click/pawl reel, with the added performance of a fully machined aluminum bar stock frame and spool, with a simple and ingenious internal drag adjustment (set it on Max, and forget it).
The III's capacity is most versatile, and the III is plenty light. The I and II would match well with 3 and 4 weight lines and shorter rods.
The new Battenkill III an excellent value, and all one needs in a fly reel for all but the largest trout. Keep it simple, and enjoy palming the spool if you are so fortunate.
A new Classic, and a great trip back to the future. Well done Orvis."
Review 19 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
August 24, 2014
By: Killerbug0311
from Kellogg, ID
"I bought this reel for my wife because she really hated the clearwater she had been using. This is a fantastic reel, very smooth operation, a huge improvement over the old Battenkill design. Would definitely recommend."
Review 20 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellence in simplicity,
July 28, 2014
By: MTJack
"Very nice classic design and well
built. The reel sounds great with a
running trout taking line. This reel
adds good balance to my rod making all day casting a joy, just
the right weight.
"