Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Reel

Simple design and flawless construction make this the perfect click-and-pawl fly reel for nearly any freshwater fishing situation. A minimalist's dream, the all-new Battenkill features a classically styled, yet technically enhanced, four-position click-and-pawl drag system that is adjusted internally and is designed to work in tandem with the palm of your hand on those sizzling, screaming runs. Constructed with a narrow spool for less line stacking on retrieve and a larger spool diameter for higher line retrieval rates. The ultra-lightweight fly reel design balances perfectly on shorter rods. Machined from heavy-duty bar-stock aluminium for added durability. Easily adjustable left- or right-hand retrieve. Highlighted by laser-engraved logos. In black nickel. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.677 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
94 of 99(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Reel
Review 1 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
November 16, 2014
By: BadBobIV
"Perfect fit for my Superfine Touch, 7 1/2 foot, 3 weight. Simple, small and balanced with the rod."
Review 2 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product,
November 3, 2014
By: Wildshooter
from Arkansas
"I've only had this a couple of weeks, but so far seems to work well with my new Orvis 5 weight."
Review 3 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best buy in a lightweight fly reel,
October 31, 2014
By: flyfisher227
from Western New York
"The Battenkill 1 fly reel is the perfect match for my new Superfine Touch 3 wt. rod. I know it will be the perfect outfit for brook trout fishing in Potter County Pennsylvania."
Review 4 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good reel good price,
October 31, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"Added this to arsenal as a backup to my access reel for trout. Not had to use it too many times, but has performed great so far. I would highly recommend this to someone who fishes small streams, smaller fish. This is my go to reel for Smokey Mountain streams."
Review 5 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT REEL,
October 13, 2014
By: thebuck
from Las Vegas, NV
"My Battenkill is a great reel.
Even though it is not a CFO, which is a greater reel, it's a good size and weight and has a nice sound when line is being ripped off it.
i still love my CFO reels , but they cost substantially more.
"
Review 6 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect small reel,
October 7, 2014
By: John9299
"Came ready to use with excellent winding. This reel has been smooth and perfect so far. Easy retrieval for a lefty."
Review 7 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Simple reel,
August 29, 2014
By: FinnyTribe
"I've used a Battenkill II reel for several years, so I bought another one for my new 5 weight rod. I like the simplicity and classic design. Nothing more is needed in a fly reel."
Review 8 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Elegance & Simplicity,
August 26, 2014
By: TAILINGLOOPTOO
from Southport, CT
"The new Battenkill Reels are one of the best recent fly fishing offerings from Orvis.
A classic click/pawl reel, with the added performance of a fully machined aluminum bar stock frame and spool, with a simple and ingenious internal drag adjustment (set it on Max, and forget it).
The III's capacity is most versatile, and the III is plenty light. The I and II would match well with 3 and 4 weight lines and shorter rods.
The new Battenkill III an excellent value, and all one needs in a fly reel for all but the largest trout. Keep it simple, and enjoy palming the spool if you are so fortunate.
A new Classic, and a great trip back to the future. Well done Orvis."
Review 9 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
August 24, 2014
By: Killerbug0311
from Kellogg, ID
"I bought this reel for my wife because she really hated the clearwater she had been using. This is a fantastic reel, very smooth operation, a huge improvement over the old Battenkill design. Would definitely recommend."
Review 10 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellence in simplicity,
July 28, 2014
By: MTJack
"Very nice classic design and well
built. The reel sounds great with a
running trout taking line. This reel
adds good balance to my rod making all day casting a joy, just
the right weight.
"
Review 11 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battonkill 111,
July 15, 2014
By: BarreMike
from MA.
"Great reel. Perfect for my Clearwater 765. Should last me a lifetime."
Review 12 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
July 5, 2014
By: Bigcabezon
from Santa Cruz, CA
"I purchased the Battenkill I reel and a 2 wt. Superfine Trout line for use with my 2 weight small creek rod. The reel came handed for left hand and backed and loaded with line. This setup is perfect for my little 2 wt rod, casts for distance and touch and is a great color for clear water situations and floats high.
I am completely satisfied with my purchase.
"
Review 13 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time fly fishing,
June 23, 2014
By: Tulehunter
"Netted two 5 lb. rainbows today. I'm a rookie and this reel made it easy."
Review 14 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good purchase,
June 3, 2014
By: pietrob
from italy
"I bought two Battenkill reel (II - III) for the excellent value for money. no problem for the products received. but some delay in the second shipment."
Review 15 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
June 2, 2014
By: paddlejunkie
"I have two of these, nice minimalist reels. Good value for the price and has held up well."
Review 16 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great minimalist reel,
May 27, 2014
By: Nicholas757
from Suffolk, VA
"This is a great lightweight reel, the simplistic four position drag system creates almost no potential for failure. The finish is very durable and the clicker has a great sound to it. The reel has an solid feel to it and is sure to last for years to come. Great reel for the price, you will not be disappointed."
Review 17 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
May 22, 2014
By: Luvbass
from Kansas City, MO
"Put a BK 3 on a 5wt and it is awesome, I have handled some nice bass and 1lb gills with no problem."
Review 18 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill I Reel,
May 19, 2014
By: Michi
"I was surprised by this little reel. Got it for a 3 wt line (part of the superfine combo) and found it very elegant, simple but effective. Works great with a light rod."
Review 19 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good basic reel,
May 15, 2014
By: WVWCBOBCAT
from Salem, VA
"Great reel that brings back memories of my Dad & when we fished together."
Review 20 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent reel,
May 13, 2014
By: ironwoodcountybooks
from Midwest
"I was looking for a simple click and pawl reel and this one has worked very well. (I never need a bigger drag because I can simply palm the reel on the spring creeks I fish.) The only thing I don't like is that to change the drag setting (such as it is) I have to do it by taking the reel apart. Right now I just keep it on the lowest setting and it's working fine."