Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Reel

Now available in well-balanced sizes IV and V for Spey rods. Simple design and flawless construction make this the perfect click-and-pawl fly reel for nearly any freshwater fishing situation. A minimalist's dream, the all-new Battenkill features a classically styled, yet technically enhanced, four-position click-and-pawl drag system that is adjusted internally and is designed to work in tandem with the palm of your hand on those sizzling, screaming runs. Constructed with a narrow spool for less line stacking on retrieve and a larger spool diameter for higher line retrieval rates. The ultra-lightweight fly reel design balances perfectly on shorter rods. Machined from heavy-duty bar-stock aluminium for added durability. Easily adjustable left- or right-hand retrieve. Highlighted by laser-engraved logos. In black nickel. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
113 of 118(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Reel
Review 1 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steel,
April 19, 2015
By: nickoliak
from michigan
"I've never owned an orvis product in my life. Never. But sitting on the table when I got home was a brand new battenkill IV loaded for steel. I humored the woman and threw it on a 9'6 8wt and said when I got back we can send the pieces back together. I fished it. I caught some really nice steelhead. A few big ones. The reel preformed and I'm sitting here with egg on my face. It went through the paces and came out the other side none to worse for the wear. I'm actually pretty impressed."
Review 2 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Reel,
April 1, 2015
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"I have two of these reels. A Battenkill II and a III. I love the classic look, and how it performs. It's a simple reel that does its job very well. This is certainly the reel I would recommend."
Review 3 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High quality construction,
April 1, 2015
By: Sicard
from Michigan
"High quality construction, however the Battenkill 2 does not have 75 yard capacity of 20 lb backing with a DT4 Rio line, more like 25 or 30 yards. Great reel other wise, woul d not recommend for anything larger that a 4 weight."
Review 4 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little reel,
March 26, 2015
By: flyguy139
from nwpa
"I recently bought a new, lighter 5wt 8.6ft rod for Trout and pan fish when I'm in my float tube. I wanted a smaller,simple reel and the Battenkill lll was exactly what I was looking for. It's the simplest reel out there I think but that's what I wanted. It looks great on the rod and feels very well made being all metal construction. I haven't had it out on the waters yet but can't wait. I spooled it with some Orvis 5wt Trout line and should be an awesome set up."
Review 5 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good starter reel,
March 23, 2015
By: tpot
"I recommend this reel to others, especially those just starting out in fly fishing."
Review 6 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheap but not cheapo,
March 11, 2015
By: Woodturtle
from Warwick, MA
"Having just bought a sweet little Thomas & Thomas 3 wt, I needed a small reel. I don't believe in spending a ton on reels for little trout, but I didn't want to uglify my beautiful high-end rod with a cheesy reel. The Battenkill I was right--cheap, light, simple, looks good, feels good....and it gives me a place to put the line, which is all it needs to do."
Review 7 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gem of a reel,
March 10, 2015
By: grunters
from Colorado
"This little Battenkill II fly reel is a perfect match for my 7'6" rod. A real pleasure to fish. The classic old school style looks just right to my eye.
The click pawl just has to be heard to be appreciated- it is just that sweet. The internally adjusted ONLY 4 position click pawl drag mechanism is tough and simple. I really like it. I prefer the light drag setting.
You guys balances your short light sticks. The reel foot is small and fits light rod seats, where a Battenkill disc will not.
Be aware the Battenkill II click pawl reel is 3" in diameter and narrow. As such take notice that if you fish DT lines as I do, a DT4 will completely fill the spool. That hasn't been a problem for me. If you fish a WF line the chart is probably accurate about backing capacity. I don't fish WF lines so that is only a guess.
This reel is fun to use. I highly recommend buying one. You won't be disappointed."
Review 8 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best, Simplest Fly Reel,
February 3, 2015
By: Todd32311
from Tallahassee, FL
"I like my fly fishing to be simple and clean. The Battenkill reel fits this style. I have used Battenkill reels for over eight years now and have been very impressed with their performance, reliability and function. Not to mention their price. A great fly fishing reel!"
Review 9 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
January 22, 2015
By: GrahamJ
"I bought the Battenkill II for my 3wt and I absolutely love it. It is super light, almost too light, which is why I opted for the BKII over the BKI. the click drag is perfect for small streams and even up to good sized bass. My only complaint is how loud the click is, but that really is just a personal quirk. I would definitely recommend this reel to anyone."
Review 10 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple & perfect..,
January 18, 2015
By: Jamesv58
"I purchased the I &II for both my 3wt and 4wt rods. I loaded the I reel with 12lb backing and 2wt fly line for those light flies and small streams, much to my surprise I hooked into about a 15 inch brown and found once on the reel, it handle the fish flawlessly. Fly fishing at it's simplest."
Review 11 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice design and engineering,
January 11, 2015
By: CMTrunick
from Western PA and Colorado
"My first larger arbor reel. Nice engineering and mechanical precision. Can't wait to experience its performance with a trout on the line. I purchased at the same time an extra spool for quick change out for changing wind and fishing conditions."
Review 12 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light as it gets,
January 8, 2015
By: Happyfisherman6
from N Ireland
"This reel is just so light that when it arrived in the post I thought I had ordered the wrong reel.Well happily I had not.It's a perfect little reel that looks great and works really well.I love the simplicity of how the drag system works and on the lowest setting a 3/4lb trout feels like a monster.Top marks ORVIS."
Review 13 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic reel,
January 6, 2015
By: Ralph6
from east coaast
"Just recieved my Batternkill II reel with 4 wieght line pre-installed. Looks and feels great for a reasonable priced reel. Will be perfect for my 7" bamboo."
Review 14 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple, elegant, affordable,
January 5, 2015
By: DWin1
from Boston -> White Mountains
"This reel is the perfect size for my new 4 wt Superfine, and is an attractive small arbor reel for it's price. For those of us who can't afford a CFO but want a decent click and pawl, I'd recommend this to anyone"
Review 15 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All You Need for Northeast Trout,
December 28, 2014
By: datongdave
from Exeter, NH
"Let's face it, when you fish for trout in the northeast, how often do you really need a drag? With this Battenkill Reel, you get what you need with a solidly machined piece of equipment whose simplicity is its genius. Tight tolerances and very, very light, it pairs perfectly with my various set ups on the Hydros, Helios and H2. I own one in each size. Tremendous value for the beginner and expert alike."
Review 16 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
December 24, 2014
By: RWHfish
from Russellville. AR
"I've got 4 of these and they do everything I need them to do perfectly and it's the best reel at the best price"
Review 17 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than expected,
December 24, 2014
By: 30West
from Concord, NH
"Received the battenkill 1 reel, has the look, feel, and performance of reels more than double the price. Company response and delivery was better than expected. You can't go wrong with Orvis fly fishing gear."
Review 18 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
November 16, 2014
By: BadBobIV
"Perfect fit for my Superfine Touch, 7 1/2 foot, 3 weight. Simple, small and balanced with the rod."
Review 19 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product,
November 3, 2014
By: Wildshooter
from Arkansas
"I've only had this a couple of weeks, but so far seems to work well with my new Orvis 5 weight."
Review 20 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best buy in a lightweight fly reel,
October 31, 2014
By: flyfisher227
from Western New York
"The Battenkill 1 fly reel is the perfect match for my new Superfine Touch 3 wt. rod. I know it will be the perfect outfit for brook trout fishing in Potter County Pennsylvania."