Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Reel

Simple design and flawless construction make this the perfect click-and-pawl fly reel for nearly any freshwater fishing situation. A minimalist's dream, the all-new Battenkill features a classically styled, yet technically enhanced, four-position click-and-pawl drag system that is adjusted internally and is designed to work in tandem with the palm of your hand on those sizzling, screaming runs. Constructed with a narrow spool for less line stacking on retrieve and a larger spool diameter for higher line retrieval rates. The ultra-lightweight fly reel design balances perfectly on shorter rods. Machined from heavy-duty bar-stock aluminium for added durability. Easily adjustable left- or right-hand retrieve. Highlighted by laser-engraved logos. In black nickel. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
66 of 71(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Reel
Review 1 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill I "minimalist" perfection,
April 13, 2014
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"This is an extremely attractive and functional little reel for the price. The gun-metal type finish on this reel is attractive and traditional. A 3-position drag pawl eliminates the need for an adjustment knob protruding from the clean lines of the reel frame. The Battenkill’s tapered spool helps prevent uneven line recovery.
Fiddling around with a drag adjustment on a reel designed for 2 – 3 wt. lines is counter-productive; enjoy the clean lines and the minimalist approach!
"
Review 2 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice,
April 9, 2014
By: Herb44
from Atlanta Ga
"This reel is one of if not the best values I have seen in a fly reel in over 50 years of fly fishing. There may be better reels but not better value"
Review 3 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed,
April 6, 2014
By: zuluhumba23
"I have been the happy owner of a Frequent flyer rod,and a Battenkill 11 reel,for two years.
I volunteered to buy for a colleges retirement present,from his staff,what I thought would be the perfect present,i.e. a Frequent flyer rod and Reel.
The new replacements,i.e. Battenkill 111,reel and Frequent flyer rod where purchased ,On the reels first outing we discovered the ratchet cog was freewheeling,i.e. not working.The reel just overran when used.I am not convinced this product matches the profile described in the Orvis webb page ,Reels.This situation should not have passéd quality control.We will monitor the replacement reel,sent by post very carefully.
"
Review 4 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
April 4, 2014
By: Dahyer
from Baton Rouge, LA
"I have had 100 dollar fly reels before from several other manufactures. Whatever the case because of its simple design or because of Orvis manufacturing process, this reel has the best construction of any real that I have ever had. Its construction is flawless and it is such a pleasure to hear. Thank you Orvis for putting everything I wanted in a quality inexpensive reel."
Review 5 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good!,
March 31, 2014
By: Jackattk
"Light weight reel for the money, follows the battenkill tradition. Sleeker than the bbs series.
Gave 4 stars because the spring doesn't seem like it will last too long, however I hope to be pleasantly suprised by the usual Orvis quality. I'm sure it is worthy of the Battenkill name.
"
Review 6 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations,
March 23, 2014
By: Mackadoo
from Albuquerque, NM
"Just got my new Battenkill I and put it on my 761 Trout Bum rod...they were made for each other! This lightweight outfit is perfect for fishing the small streams in the Jemez Mountains of New Mexico."
Review 7 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill 2 Reel,
March 20, 2014
By: Rodder1492
"Reel is so small and lightweight, I actually thought Orvis mailed me the wrong reel.
A good update on an excellent original reel
"
Review 8 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Classic,
March 11, 2014
By: StuS
from Seattle
"A classic real that is really simple but high quality. The light weight is great as I use the reel for lots of various rods. I wish the reel was made in the USA not China and that spools were interchangeable with the BBS series but other than that I am very happy with my purchase."
Review 9 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awsome,
March 11, 2014
By: nb2001
"Very nice real got several nice comments on it. Like the size."
Review 10 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
March 11, 2014
By: lappy1
from Wisconsin
"very simple reel that is a pleasure to use . Smooth easy to care for and durable."
Review 11 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Orvis Reel for the price,
March 2, 2014
By: Mikee
from St. Louis , MO
"I have the Orvis Battenkill I and the Battenkill II for my Superfine rods. I love the look and feel of the new reels and the price is very affordable. Thanks Orvis for make a high quality reel at an affordable price. Keep up the good work!"
Review 12 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill,
February 28, 2014
By: DoubleD7413
from SC
"Wow...what a reel. I've been looking for a new reel for quite a while and after all of my research I decided on the battenkill. I found it to be very light and highly functional. I had it preloaded with the Access line, so when I recieved the shipment I was ready to hit the water. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 13 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent!,
February 26, 2014
By: daliz
from sweden
"The Perfect reel! And im very pleased by The good support from orvis staff!im from sweden and order The battenkill III reel from orvis.uk and it Was never any problem with The Whole ordering or shipping progress.fast shipping to sweden! 5 of 5 stars! Strongly recommended! / Mattias"
Review 14 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
February 17, 2014
By: Elros
from Tulsa, OK
"This reel is amazing, it casts like a dream! I would recommend this to everyone, it was a great price and one of the best purchases I have ever made!"
Review 15 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Reel,
February 12, 2014
By: Craze
from Connectic
"The Battenkill I reel is well constructed and light weight. It balance my 6', No.2 weight rod perfectly."
Review 16 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 12, 2014
By: grafkevi21
"Just bought a new battenkill cuz the old one I used to have was great, classic reel."
Review 17 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great reel,
February 11, 2014
By: NCFisher
from Burlington, NC
"Matched up w 3wt TFO rod. Fishing small streams in NC & TN. Excellent combination."
Review 18 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little reel,
February 10, 2014
By: Bazil84
from Martinsville Indiana, USA
"Purchased on a recommendation of friend. Glad I did. I was looking for a nice 2 wt reel to go along with a custom built rod of the same weight. Fit and balanced perfect. In the market for a small 2 wt, you won't be disappointed."
Review 19 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 17, 2014
By: CallumG
from New Hampshire
"I now have the II & III size Battenkill Reels (with 2nd spool) and used them all last season with 4 & 6 wt line. Simple, classic style & sound and a joy to use. Beautiful reels for the price."
Review 20 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not the BBS1,
January 15, 2014
By: flyfishinflyingelkhunter
from Denver, CO
"Was looking for the lightest reel to go with another 3 wt outfit. Purchased two of these, one for me and my son. I have a couple of the BBS1's and just like the feature of tightening the drag to keep the line tight to the rod when hiking in or in between holes. This is just a click reel and so drag is no issue for this outfit as I just wanted the light weight. It is well made and sharp looking. Even though spool is narrower than the BBS1, I do not notice any difference in fly line performance - I use high quality lines that are not prone to memory, so I cannot say that the narrow spool really makes a difference. Only 4 stars just because I want super light weight with a decent drag and really liked the BBS series - I own 6 of the BBS reels in 1-4 sizes and 7 spare spools. It was the best value in a machined reel with a decent drag from any manufacturer, ever. I do not know why Orvis would be so riduculous to discontinue it. I know it out sold their top end reels."