Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Reel

Now available in well-balanced sizes IV and V for Spey rods. Simple design and flawless construction make this the perfect click-and-pawl fly reel for nearly any freshwater fishing situation. A minimalist's dream, the all-new Battenkill features a classically styled, yet technically enhanced, four-position click-and-pawl drag system that is adjusted internally and is designed to work in tandem with the palm of your hand on those sizzling, screaming runs. Constructed with a narrow spool for less line stacking on retrieve and a larger spool diameter for higher line retrieval rates. The ultra-lightweight fly reel design balances perfectly on shorter rods. Machined from heavy-duty bar-stock aluminium for added durability. Easily adjustable left- or right-hand retrieve. Highlighted by laser-engraved logos. In black nickel. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
109
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
1
132 of 138(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Reel
Review 1 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why did I wait so long,
July 23, 2015
By: EddieaO
from Sherman CT
"Been looking at this reel for a while. Finally decided to purchase. Exactly as advertised, great value for money and extremely well made.
I've used it on 10' #4 and 7' #4 rods, well balanced on both.
I might just buy another:)
"
Review 2 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill reel,
July 17, 2015
By: GKauffman
from NC
"I purchased the Battenkill I reel for a 7 1/2 ft 3-weight TFO rod and it balances perfectly. The fit/finish of the machined Battenkill is superb."
Review 3 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SWEEEET,
July 15, 2015
By: Cuthroat4
from Durango, Colorado
"This is a sweet little real mounted on my Superfine 1 wt!!!"
Review 4 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatly Satisfied,
June 21, 2015
By: TroutTracker
from Virginia
"First, I want to say that this reel feels great in my hands. It's sturdy, doesn't rattle and the drag sounds very well engineered. It pairs perfectly with my Superfine Glass and would be great on any of todays lightweight rods."
Review 5 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
June 20, 2015
By: JB08
from Virginia
"Wanted a classic looking reel, that still offered function and reliability for my 4 weight. This is it! Already getting comments on the looks and the smoothness of the reel. Great job on a classic by Orvis."
Review 6 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second one I purchased!,
June 19, 2015
By: ironwoodcountybooks
from Midwest
"I liked the other one so well that when I needed another reel, I picked up another. It's a classic click and pawl, very light-weight, and narrow. I have some disc drag models, but those are overkill on spring creeks."
Review 7 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Come in to the Light (weight),
June 13, 2015
By: JayXP
from Leixlip, Ireland
"I fish with light setups 3wt & 4wt rods 6ft in length, as these rods are so light I find it almost impossible to find a reel which will balance the rod. The Battenkill 1-3 do the job very well.
They are as the add says a minimalist dream there is nothing inside this reel which will wear out far quicker than you would have expected which has happened to me with other reels in the past e.g. gears and the tip of the pawl. This is achieved do to the lack of plastic parts or gears or anything other than a click and pawl inside. Well done Orvis as you are the only manufacturer making a quality reel weighing less than 3oz please keep it up. If you need a light reel to balance a light rod don't waste your time as I did searching the web for for one this is it. Highly recommended.
"
Review 8 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
battenkill V,
June 12, 2015
By: Dano519
from Ontario
"This reel balances my 7 weight and 7 weight spey very nicely. Nice looking and sounding reel and solid construction. The pawl on the lowest setting is pretty strong but will likely work its way in after more use. Make sure to re-lube your reel after it has been dunked in water as it in not sealed."
Review 9 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
June 11, 2015
By: relong
"Having owned and used Orvis reels over the years, this could be the best reel they have ever put on the shelves for the trout fisherman. Perfect size and well made. The drag is just as it should be. I use the II & III. Love them both."
Review 10 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill II Reel,
June 11, 2015
By: Edhm
from Springboro, Oh
"Bought this reel for my new Hardy Marksman 2 8ft 5wt. Have only had it out twice but I am very impressive. This is a beautiful reel, light, and simple. The workmanship and finish are excellent."
Review 11 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Reel,
June 10, 2015
By: 2CAST
from Pittsburgh PA
"I liked the reel so much I bought one for my 15 year old son."
Review 12 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Out of specs,
May 28, 2015
By: Frodo2
from Georgia
"The first Battenkill II I received would just barely fit on my Superfine 4 wt. It would not fit on my other 4 wt at all. I chatted with a rep saying I thought the reel food was too thick, but was told no problems with the foot had been reported. I finally took it by my Orvis store for a comparison. My reel was way out of specs. The store happily replaced the reel. One thing I did notice was that my original reel was made in Korea; the second reel was made in China. The clicker on the reel is too loud for me, but not so much that I won't continue to use it."
Review 13 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traditionalists dream,
May 27, 2015
By: Cuttslam
from Wyoming
"Having fly fished for 35+ years, im learning that im a tad old fashioned, ok, maybe a lot old fashioned. This reel takes me back to my youth and balanced perfectly on my recon 5wt. The click is music to my ears. Both stripping line, and reeling it in. Im not fond of drag reels or large arbor, and this reel suits me right down to my soul. The simple, sturdy construction is true Orvis quality, and will keep me happy for years to come I have no doubt."
Review 14 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Unbalanced spool,
May 23, 2015
By: flyrev
"+
Very light.
Click-and-pawl drag system.
Classically styled.
-
Unbalanced spool which vibrates when I take my line down
Disappointed. Returned.
"
Review 15 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Minimalist reel!,
May 1, 2015
By: ReelAdventurer
from Rockwall, TX
"Super little minimalist reel for the small stream fishing I do in Colorado! Light in weight, it pairs nicely with my TFO FSG 3/4 rod! I highly recommend!"
Review 16 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High-quality reel,
April 30, 2015
By: KeokukTed
from Colorado
"I bought the Battenkill V to use on a 7 weight spey rod. I have just rigged the reel and am very happy with the quality of the construction, fit and finish of this reel. It has a nice loud outgoing clicker. I just wish Orvis would offer extra spools for these reels in the larger sizes."
Review 17 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks good,
April 28, 2015
By: OleJimbob
"Looks good, feels right, and I can't wait to take it for a spin!"
Review 18 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steel,
April 19, 2015
By: nickoliak
from michigan
"I've never owned an orvis product in my life. Never. But sitting on the table when I got home was a brand new battenkill IV loaded for steel. I humored the woman and threw it on a 9'6 8wt and said when I got back we can send the pieces back together. I fished it. I caught some really nice steelhead. A few big ones. The reel preformed and I'm sitting here with egg on my face. It went through the paces and came out the other side none to worse for the wear. I'm actually pretty impressed."
Review 19 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Reel,
April 1, 2015
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"I have two of these reels. A Battenkill II and a III. I love the classic look, and how it performs. It's a simple reel that does its job very well. This is certainly the reel I would recommend."
Review 20 for Battenkill Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High quality construction,
April 1, 2015
By: Sicard
from Michigan
"High quality construction, however the Battenkill 2 does not have 75 yard capacity of 20 lb backing with a DT4 Rio line, more like 25 or 30 yards. Great reel other wise, woul d not recommend for anything larger that a 4 weight."