Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set

We named it “pointless” for a reason: This compact, Orvis-exclusive travel manicure set will pass through TSA screening and can be safely carried onto a commercial aircraft. Neatly housed in a magnetized, American leather case is a blunt-edged nail file, nail clipper, and non-pointy tweezers. Travel manicure set in tan. 4" x 2". Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
1.917 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
3 of 12(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Review 1 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely Little Item,
November 20, 2013
By: JustJules
from Powys
"Glad I didn't pay any attention to the other reviews ... apart from the nail file (which is rather odd) the other items are great (as long as you read the instructions on the clippers) and the leather pouch is really lovely quality. Bought it as a gift, but liked it so much I decided to keep it myself."
Review 2 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for travel,
August 29, 2013
By: glgg
"The pointless manicure set is perfect for travel. N o longer will my set be confiscated when I go thru check points"
Review 3 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
July 15, 2013
By: wilco
"Other than the case, this product does not meet Orvis high standards.The cutter is too flimsy to cut nails. The file and tweezers are worthless at any price.Not recommended. Zero stars."
Review 4 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst purchase ever,
July 9, 2013
By: Zuhair
from Batavia,Illinois
"By far this is the worst quality purchase I have ever made from Orvis. The clipper does not cut properly and the quality is very poor."
Review 5 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth $2,
June 11, 2013
By: Tystick
from Houston, Tx
"Do not waste any money on this. The fingernail clippers don't work and the file is worthless. Surprised Orvis is even trying to unload these.
Very disappointed.
"
Review 6 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usless. Returned to Store,
May 8, 2013
By: PlainBrown
from Michigan
"I should have heeded the reviews. The nail clippers only bend but do not cut your nails, the round-haeded tweezers are useless, and the "nail file" is an absurdly shaped do-hickey that took me a while to figure out."
Review 7 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor quality,
April 29, 2013
By: ssssnake
"The nail clippers fell apart the first time I used it. Really cheaply made. On the plus side, the leather pouch is nice."
Review 8 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Dissapointed,
March 11, 2013
By: madguru
"I thought this would be a great travel replacement for my decrepit 40+ year old manicure set. The clippers are completely useless - they won't cut my finger nails and the bar that is supposed to keep them open doesn't hold. The nail file did a very poor job. This is not close to Orvis quality. I immediately returned the set."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 28, 2013
We have contacted our customer to offer thanks for this review. We respect and welcome our customers’ comments, and we continually strive to improve the quality of everything we sell.

This issue has been reviewed by our Quality Assurance Department, and we are pleased to note that we did not encounter the reported problem. We did find the roller bar needs to be in the forward position in the clippers. This will provide proper tension for trimming nails. You can shop with confidence at Orvis—we will happily refund or exchange any purchase that isn’t 100% satisfactory.
Review 9 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
waste of money,
February 24, 2013
By: alxw
from San Jose ca
"I'm 55 years old. clipping nails the whole time and have never used a more worthless nail clipper. I don't really care about the weirdly large nail file that is not that useful and the tweezers that I have never used. This is a mess. Don't buy. I will give it away to someone I don't like."
Review 10 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not very good,
February 9, 2013
By: MichaelJ12681
"The nail clippers don't clip, they merely bend. I don't recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
January 21, 2013
By: Satisfiedshopper
from Albany, NY
"Fits in my ditty bag and no problem getting them through airport security!"
Review 12 for Carry-On “Pointless” Manicure Set
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Impractical Glitz,
November 9, 2012
By: mtmt
from Houston TX
"Was drawn to this item by the TSA friendly referene. In actuality, this is an impractical totally overpriced item. The nail file, while glitzy, has very limited use and the user still needs a nail file after using this item. The clippers and tweezers are simply clippers and tweezers. The emphasis should have been placed on the practically of the items, not the glitzy case which is too big and bulky for the contents. Disappointed."