Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

American Bison Gentleman's Boot

Wear a men's leather boot that's been engineered from the ground up for workers who spend long days on their feet. Handsewn with a genuine bison leather upper, they sit on a tough leather outsole with a Vibram® heel for added durability and long life. Rugged details abound, including four rows of lock stitching, a reinforced toe box, and a built-in leather arch shank. Four pair of eyelets, two pair of speed hooks ensure a snug fit. Designed for a lifetime of use, they're also fully rebuildable, ensuring they'll be with you every step of the way. Men's leather boots in brown. Spokane, WA, USA.Whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Review 1 for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Quality shoes,
February 10, 2015
By: jimbo51
from NH
"I am extremely happy with my recent purchase of American bison leather boots.After reading about the manufacturer and their other products;I was expecting a very high quality boot.They were comfortable when first put on and the break in period seems small.I have purchased Wolverine 1000 boots and shoes from before and even though they are great footware the quality details of my latest purchase are better.Thank you Orvis for the sale price it was worth the cost."
Review 2 for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great boots,
February 9, 2015
By: cnh1983
from Fayette, AL
"These boots display a very beautiful craftsmanship. The color of the leather is a rich oxblood unlike the brown of the images shown on the website. However, I read one review that said they would be this way and I was hoping that that review would prove true. They have a very comfortable footbed and wonderful arch support. They are a little tight around the ankles before breaking in but I compensate by not hitting the top speed hooks with the laces. They look splendid with nice jeans or khakis, oxford shirt and tweed jacket. Its a very gentlemanly look. Since these are White's brand boots, they can be shipped back to White's for a complete rebuild if the durable leather soles ever wear out. The inside of the boot is all leather so you wont have to worry about material tearing at the heels or pvc splitting in the heel area to become a sock/heel devouring monster. Great boot overall."
Review 3 for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best boot I've seen for sure,
January 24, 2015
By: Jumbo
from Morgantown, WV
"This will be a lifetime purchase for me. The boot is rebuildable and I'll take advantage of that. First, it is very comfortable, sturdy & supportive...no athletic shoe feel here. If I rode a motorcycle, this is what I would wear. because the sole is leather, it would not be smart to wear this boot in wet weather. I'll get a different sole when I have it rebuilt."
Review 4 for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
superior working boot,
November 26, 2014
By: jonilbq
"These boots by famed boot maker White's are favored by smoke jumpers and now we know why. The attention to detail, superior quality of the bison leather and overall structure of each boot makes us wonder why we even hesitated to buy them.
Our only quandary is why Whites' name is not on them?
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Quality,
October 23, 2014
By: Danoindenver
from Denver, CO
"Probably the best boots I have ever owned. In the box they looked like they would take forever to break in. But I was proven wrong after two days of wearing they fit like a glove. The one thing I want to bring to the readers attention is the size of the toe box is huge. Personally I find that as a good thing but others may not. The only problem for me is the design of the heel. I have two hip replacements and one knee replacement and I have a difficult time walking in them. My balance is off and it seems like the heel hits hard and somewhat painful for me? I am going to see if I can wear them say in the house on carpet to see if that solves my problem.
The best way to describe these boots is they are very similar ti the Thousand Mile boot from Wolverine with $125 more quality. Hope this helps...
"
Review 6 for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Round Toe - Utility Looking,
October 3, 2014
By: Lawdocjoe
from Austin, Texas
"First let me say that these are tremendously made boots - fully lined with beautiful leather, amazing support. I wanted more of a casual, go out to dinner on weekends looking boot. These have a really round toe and look more like work boots. I will be returning them. They also have a reddish or oxblood hue as opposed to chestnut."
Review 7 for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Boots,
February 14, 2014
By: NYCScott
"I believe it is makes sense to spend a bit more and buy a quality boot (especially a quality boot made in the US). Of all the boots I own this is by far my favorite! Rugged, beautiful made, great style. I would definitely recommend this boot!"
Review 8 for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth money,
October 14, 2012
By: BDDB
from Nashville Tn
"I had wanted a pair of White's boots for a long time. The price was the blocking point. I can say these boots, out of the box, are the most comfortable I have ever worn (no break in required). With the made in the USA source and a very appealing throw back, unique appearance profile, I have only regretted waiting so long."
Review 9 for American Bison Gentleman's Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stunning Looking Boots,
October 12, 2012
By: Bulbmogul
from Toledo, Ohio
"I am totally blowed away by the looks and style of these awesome boots. Just got them in today so i can wear them over the weekend. They will need some break in but well worth it. The color and texture is great. Spoil yourself with these boots you wont be dissapointed."