Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora

Named for Howard Hughes's private Boeing 307, the Stratoliner takes you back to the days when air travel was glamorous and every man owned a fedora. True to the hats of the day, this vintage reproduction is crafted from genuine rabbit-fur felt and sports all the proper trimmings, including a grosgrain ribbon band and a grosgrain-bound brim. The authenticity is visible inside as well, with a silky satin lining and a genuine leather sweatband. A reproduction Stratoliner pin puts a finishing touch on this 1940s icon. Men's fedora hat in lovat. Garland, TX.Sizes: 7, 7⅛, 7¼, 7⅜, 7½, 7⅝. 4"H crown, 2½W brim.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora
Review 1 for Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style and Sophistication,
May 25, 2014
By: Dixiecityjam
from Springfield, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Gorgeous fur felt hat by Stetson. Deep rich grey color, soft to the touch and light enough on the head to wear comfortably all day all year round. Reminiscent of a time when every man wore a hat, this hat will illicit compliments wherever you wear it. If you are contemplating adding this Stetson replica of the original to your collection or buying your first high quality hat, stop thinking about it and buy it now!"
Review 2 for Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat,
May 14, 2014
By: Tuscan1
from Aberdeen, SD
"Nice hat, great fit and good look. Stetson has a winner in this one. I have a few fedoras and this one is quickly moving to the top of my favorite's list. Thank you, Orvis."
Review 3 for Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic Retro,
May 13, 2014
By: degree2014sfq
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The problem with being a lover of quality hats is that you never think you have too many! If this is problem you have or share a similar feeling then, Stetson's remake of the Stratoliner is the one for you! A soft hand and lighter feel of rabbit fur makes this a great choice to add to or start your fedora collection! Although it's not like to original created in the 40s, it's close enough to make you feel you have a quality hat! Be advised; once you purchase and wear the compliments and looks you get will let you know resistance to quality hat wearing is futile!"
Review 4 for Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great but hat band is tragic,
January 4, 2014
By: Parkerhale
"Before Harrison Ford came along I've been fly fishing in a fedora. T bought a Three Forks hat. I cut the band off in front of my daughter. She thought I'd lost my mind. I went to Handcock's and purchased an inch grosgrain ribbon. I copied the band and bow from one of my old hats. Now it is a real Fedora. The quality is great, and I'm going to order a stratus model and add a navy grosgrain ribbon. Now we're talkin' a classic Fedora used astream and with a suit."
Review 5 for Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wearing a part of American history!,
January 1, 2014
By: JazzGuitarist
from San Francisco CA
"This is a beautiful hat! I receive many compliments. Feels so light I can wear wear this your around!
I can always rely on Orvis to deliver a quality product with dependable service!
Thank you!
"
Review 6 for Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous, True-to-Size Fedora,
September 7, 2013
By: dthom02
from La Mesa, CA
"I love this hat so much that I bought it in three colors. Currently, Orvis sells this hat only in the beautiful grey color which Stetson calls "Caribou". The Orvis description says the color is lovat, but it is grey, not greenish grey. This hat is stylish, extremely comfortable, and true-to-size. It is a reproduction of the famous Stratoliner fedora from the 1940's. It includes a reproduction of the original Stratoliner hat pin. Only ten Stratoliner aircraft were ever made and were the first commercial aircraft to offer passengers a pressurized cabin. Only one of these aircraft still exists and is on display at the Smithsonian's Air and Space Museum at the Udvar-Hazy Center in Chantilly, Virginia. Buy and enjoy a stylish piece of history!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a beauty,
December 28, 2012
By: Macsx3
from Richmond Virginia
"the hat is beautiful, got for my brother and he looks sharp. Great item,super super fast delivery, I am getting one for myself."
Review 8 for Stetson® Stratoliner Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful construction,
November 24, 2012
By: BJT51
"I love hats and have been purchasing one a year for about 6 years and I love the orvis selection and this hat is great. I love the look and it fits well. Very comfortable.
The hat is very well constructed so it should last a lifetime.
"