Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket

Worlds away from the one you wore back in the day, but still every bit as cool. Handsomely tailored from melton wool, a wool known for its substantial heft and durability, it sports thick, genuine leather sleeves and pocket welts, and features a quilted lining for added warmth and comfort. Classic snap front styling with a rolled rib collar and worsted wool trim. Men's varsity jacket in navy/brown. Dry clean. Portland, OR.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Review 1 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice jacket,
October 15, 2014
By: Markw94404
from Portland OR
"be prepared to take it off indoors, as it is very warm. Also the sleeves are a bit tight and it is a bit short for me, but I am 6'3". All in all it is a very nice jacket.
Funny thing, I found out that the company is local to where I live
"
Review 2 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket,
September 26, 2014
By: Spanky2
from Dexter , Michigan
"Very nice jacket. However, size definitely runs smaller than normal orvis sizing."
Review 3 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice jacket,
June 11, 2014
By: nekvic
"nice quality jacket. I am glad I took seriously the other reviews regarding the suggestion to order one size larger than my regular size. I am 5' 9" and 180lbs. I ordered the x-large and it fits well."
Review 4 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice, esp with sale and discount,
May 27, 2014
By: Buickeight
from Raleigh North carolina.
"Very well made and the Medium fits well for my 40 inch chest. Sleeves are always a bit long on me. Cecil on Chat was very helpful with sizing. Leather is very soft. Unlike most varsity jackets, the only unusual thing is the "FOLD OVER" collar. Not a deal breaker, esp for the price. Just different. Let's see if I can get used too it. Love the color combo. DARK."
Review 5 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bison Varsity Jacket,
March 15, 2014
By: Gandalf
from Oakland, CA
"Very well made and nice looking jacket. I like it very much. I only have one criticism and this is of Orvis, not the jacket. Orvis said it is the standard generous Orvis fit. They lied. An normal Orvis size large fits me just a bit loose. I wear a size 44 jacket. I ordered this in a size large and it was pretty snug. I thought about shipping it back and getting an XL, but decided that the XL might be too large, If I find it in an Orvis store, I will try it on and see. Bottom line, if you are at the upper edge of a size in Orvis normal sizing, get the next size up."
Review 6 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bison Varsity Jacket,
February 26, 2014
By: Gandalf
from Oakland, CA
"Good quality materials. Well made. First rate jacket in every respect. I really like it; and I have only one comment that could be construed as a negative. Although the description refers to the jacket as a standard generous Orvis cut, it is not. The standard Orvis size large fits me perfectly as does a size 44 jacket. This jacket, in a large was a bit tight. It did not fit like a standard Orvis Large. I thought about exchanging it for an d XL, but decided the XL would likely be a bit too big on my and I kept the Large."
Review 7 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE PERFECT BIRTHDAY PRESENT,
February 24, 2014
By: Stillarahrah
from Wyckoff, New Jersey
"My husband has been looking for a long time for a varsity jacket. He was so so impressed by the fact that it was made in the great USA. Well when we received it the leather on the sleeves was beyond our expectations. He loved the softness of the wool on the jacket. It is really hard to buy for him and this jacket was a true, true winner. He put it on when it came and has worn it every day since!"
Review 8 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific,
February 3, 2014
By: Turney
"I read the other reviews and ordered one size larger than I would normally. I'm 6'2" and 185 and ordered an XL. The fit is perfect as is the cut, the materials and the whole enchilada. This is a very nice garment, made with a combination of excellent materials throughout."
Review 9 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase - hard to find anywhere else,
January 16, 2014
By: Spiffy50
"The appearance and quality of this product far exceeds any I have found anywhere."
Review 10 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very High Quality,
December 14, 2013
By: Sting34
from Las Vegas, NV
"This jacket is very high quality, and I've been very happy with it. I haven't had any issues with it being short as described in some of the other reviews. I'm 6'0" 180lbs and ordered a large and the length is adequate. However, I would say that the fit is more of a slim fit."
Review 11 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bummer!!!,
December 3, 2013
By: Dogen
from West Branch, IA
"Yes, the jacket is high quality, no doubt about that. I ordered a medium and the proportions look right. However, I would say that it has a trim cut. I'm 5' 11 at 144 lbs., trim myself but the jacket is yet too trim. With a heavy shirt or sweater the fit is definitely tight. It looks best open. Also movement is constricted, not comfortable. Going up a size might do the trick. The problem is that the leather is not brown, more like dark smoke. Therefore the jacket is not as attractive, not striking like the picture. If it was I'd try a large. The dark leather ruins the effect so disappointed."
Review 12 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
varsity jacket,
November 21, 2013
By: basildog
from shropshire UK
"This jacket is a bomber style jacket. It is very well made with a good warm lining. Normally I take a large size in Orvis jackets but in this case I need the XL size."
Review 13 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Alas.,
October 15, 2013
By: OldCoat
"Overall quality very high, nice soft leather, heavy melton wool, quilted lining, superb workmanship.
However... size "Large" turned out to be maybe a 38S, and the body was far too short relative to the sleeve length, not designed for standard human proportions. I sent it back, regretfully. If the proportions had been closer to normal I might have gone for a larger size.
"
Review 14 for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gorgeous BUT......,
November 29, 2012
By: MAlanNYC
from NYC
"The jacket is absolutely gorgeous in every possible way so I can't give it only one stat, but beware (and a big but) it was way too short. It just barely covered my belt line but sleeves were perfect so sizing up will not work. In short, pardon the pun, the jacket is very oddly proportioned. A true shame and quite unfortunate as I truly love(d) it."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 30, 2013
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the length of our Varsity style jacket didn't fit as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wool/Leather Varsity Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1