Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Classic Gingham Shirt

Check it out—gingham checks are definitely fresh again, and our pure cotton broadcloth button-front shirt brings them to you in the coolest shades of the season. Our minimally styled shirt silhouette has a point collar, long sleeves, and shirttail hem. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: 4-20; about 26" long.
Average Customer Rating:
2.818 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 of 11(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Gingham Shirt
Review 1 for Classic Gingham Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
November 13, 2014
By: philads
from London, UK
"I should have heeded other reviewers, who said that it creases badly after a wash and that you cannot get away without ironing it."
Review 2 for Classic Gingham Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Classic shirt,
November 10, 2014
By: Anonymous1000
"Great fit but wrinkled a bit when laundering, but still OK to wear with jeans, which I bought it for."
Review 3 for Classic Gingham Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A little disappointing,
October 15, 2014
By: Sweetcaroline
from Sunny California
"The shirt itself is nice. The color is pretty and the fit is good. I'm a little disappointed, though, in the quality. It definitely needs ironing - not the touch up kind, real ironing. Also, none of the buttons were sewn with anything but one thread which didn't hold for the first washing. I had to reinforce every one of them. For the price I could have done better from another company. Disappointing, Orvis."
Review 4 for Classic Gingham Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
classic pattern & cotton texture,
August 27, 2013
By: SCNM
from New Mexico
"I wanted the classic pattern of this shirt. The gingham check is the right size, not overstated, not so small it looks like one color. The shape is boxier than today's fitted shapes, which works for me since I wear it unbuttoned over solid sleeveless or camisole layer. After washing it has a nice cottony crinkle that I like (of course, you could iron it). Fabric is light weight for summer."
Review 5 for Classic Gingham Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Buttons falling off,
August 21, 2013
By: Anonymous
"4 of the buttons were not secure which is annoying because it is not a big enough problem to go thru the hassle of sending it back. I had to sew them on myself. Not the quality I was expecting."
Review 6 for Classic Gingham Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cute but not entirely wrinkle free,
May 22, 2013
By: Cheney
from Deep South
"I bought this shirt in weathered red (which I love) and the green. Fit is perfect for me. Both came out of the dryer a bit wrinkled even at a low temperature. They've shaken out a bit on a hanger, but the collars need a touchup. Recommend for very casual wear and if you love soft red as much as I do."
Review 7 for Classic Gingham Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Bad at All,
May 20, 2013
By: Mar61
"I like gingham checks and found this sweet shirt in two great colors at Orvis. I bought both since they were on sale and priced more realistically, in my opinion. Shirt fabric is a little stiff but of good quality. Ironing is a must for this shirt, though. Can't believe how wrinkled these shirts get after wearing or after drying."
Review 8 for Classic Gingham Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was surprised !,
May 15, 2013
By: Couzz
from New York, NY
"I am a fan of Orvis because they offer 100% cotton products. When I received my order--an all cotton gingham blouse-- I was surprised because the fabric was stiff and not comfortable. I am sorry to say due to the problem fabric, I had to return this blouse."
Review 9 for Classic Gingham Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
March 22, 2013
By: Lulubelle7
"Material wrinkles & needs ironing
even after the no wrinkle cycle in the dryer
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Classic Gingham Shirt
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2