Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Aberford Tweed Driving Cap

This traditional five-point handmade driving cap is crafted from Scottish wool tweed and sports an extended brim for added glare reduction and weather protection. Satin acetate lining; polypropylene moisture-wicking sweatband. Tweed driving cap in olive check, olive brown. Sizes: 7, 7⅛, 7¼, 7⅜, 7½, 7⅝. Wool/satin/polypropylene. Dry clean. UK.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Review 1 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Cut Well Above,
October 16, 2014
By: Professional44
from Syracuse NY
"This cap well exceeded expectations. It is obviously made from the best material and fits perfectly. This is a definite must- have for fall and winter."
Review 2 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A stylish cap for the discerning gentleman,
October 13, 2014
By: nashvilleguy
from Nashville, TN
"I was most impressed with this cap -- and with the salesperson who helped me to purchase it. The cap was not available in the new Nashville store but it was ordered for me (with shipping included!).
The cap is everything I hoped. The long bill gives it a distinctive look and the tweed fabric is the highest quality. I own many hats and caps but this cap has become my new favorite headwear."
Review 3 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Driving Cap,
October 13, 2014
By: Mc1029
from United States
"I love the fit and feel of these hats during fall and winter. I have several now and love them all"
Review 4 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a cap for the urban professional,
February 19, 2014
By: Alcuinus
from Washington, DC
"The Aberford cap--I have the olive-brown with russet windowpane--has numerous great qualities. First, the colors match well with typical fall/winter attire. Second, it is quite warm and therefore useful on my long walks to and from work in the city. Third, it cuts an attractive profile even on me (on whom most hats tend to look silly). Fourth, the slightly longer bill (as compared to other ivy caps) provides somewhat of the advantages of a ballcap, but with a much more professional appearance. Fifth, while the pricetag is noticeably higher than most other woolen ivy caps on the market, it is nevertheless quite satisfying to enjoy a perfectly fitted cap made with some evident pride in Yorkshire (as opposed to some s-m-l-xl commodity churned out of a soulless factory).
I will say, for the record, that the first hat of this make that I ordered had a slight flaw--the bill was somewhat off center with respect to the longitudinal axis--but the Orvis customer service dept lived up to its legend in promptly delivering a replacement, with which I am thrilled.
A final note: Hats of this general type tend to draw reviews from the golfer-crowd. I am not at all a golfer, but I recommend the Aberford cap as a nice top to an urban, professional's winter wardrobe.
"
Review 5 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift for son in law,
January 31, 2014
By: igiveuponaname
from Austin, TX
"I bought this as a gift for my favorite s-I-l after he bought his new Jaguar. He loves it -- the red thread in the cap matches his car."
Review 6 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
January 16, 2014
By: Stoufy
from Greenwich NY
"I have had enough of the ball caps but I wanted a brim on a driving cap like the ones I saw in England Ireland. This cap was exactly what I was looking for and had the classy appearance that was dressier yet comfortable. Sizing was perfect. I would recommned this hat."
Review 7 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very good driving cap!,
January 7, 2014
By: Laserblue
from Houston, TX
"This cap is handmade with 100% wool, fits like a glove and really provides the warmth on colder days. I also like the extended brim that most driving caps do not have.
I highly recommend this cap.
"
Review 8 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great hat,
December 25, 2013
By: Jayck
from Montclair, nj
"Tired of the run-of-the-mill flat cap? Me too. When I saw this one, however, with the slightly extended bill, I gave it a try and ordered it. It is now a part of my usual wardrobe. Well-made and a perfect fit, this hat is, frankly, a standout. This hat ages nicely, as well, and keeps it's shape.
I love this cap!"
Review 9 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
December 15, 2013
By: MaestroIW
from London England
"This cap I just great
Superb quality, detailing and style.
Just what you'd expect from Orvis.
Exactly what I need for driving in London traffic with low sun at this time of year!
"
Review 10 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winner,
December 6, 2013
By: CHH1
from Buffalo NY
"This hat is a winner! Sizing is accurate. Well made, comfortable and looks good. Nice depth, doesn't just sit on top of your head like some do. You actually wear this hat.
Well done Orvis!
"
Review 11 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ready for the moors!,
November 28, 2013
By: Sheldrake
from Los Angeles, Ca.
"The fabric, the exact tweed, the shape and the fit are all perfect! This cap is of the highest quality. I highly recommend this as a gift to the man in your life. Wish I had one myself now that I think about it."
Review 12 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aberford Tweed Driving Cap,
November 9, 2013
By: nicolton
from Brightons,Scotland
"Just what I was looking for as an alternative to wearing baseball type headwear.It's very comfortable and a good fit,a decent size skip too to shade the eyes from low sun.and will blend nicely with the coat which I bought from Orvis recently"
Review 13 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Cap,
November 4, 2013
By: ColoradoJack
"I like caps and hats, but I like them to fit. No problem with this one: size 7 I take, size 7 it is. And warm, too, for wind and autumn temperatures. But the best feature is the extended bill for shading my eyes from the sun. Especially on the golf course. Where a lot of my compatriots want to know where I got the cool cap. Thank you, Orvis."
Review 14 for Aberford Tweed Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than expected,
September 19, 2013
By: Patrick1947
from Waterloo, Belgium
"Without having to wear a silly baseball cap (silly because I don't play or pretend to play baseball) this cap provides me with the comfort of a longer than usual visor !"