Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater

The robust yet simple Shaker stitch adds substantial warmth without excess weight, making this pure cotton turtleneck sweater an ideal layer under a vest or sport coat. It also looks great when worn with jeans or khakis. Rib-trim finish at neck, cuffs, and hem. Pure cotton. Washable. Made in USA. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Review 1 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MOST REASONABLE PRICE FOR A SWEATER,
January 29, 2015
By: JUSTOKNOWU
"I FIND REALLY FIND THE TURTLENECK SWEATER WHICH SUITS MY NEED. THE MATERIAL IS ALSO VERY GOOD INDEED.
MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL , THE PRICING IS REASONABLE WITHIN MYBUDGET .
"
Review 2 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My latest Orvis purchase,
January 27, 2015
By: Ozone
from Hazard, KY
"This shaker-stitch cotton turtleneck sweater fits and looks as advertised. Looks great. I have received many compliments."
Review 3 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
an excellent sweater; I couldn't be morore pleased,
January 24, 2015
By: J4abook
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"Excellent in every way: in quality, fit,
style, and workmanship.
I plan to wear it for a long time, because it is ideal weight for the South for almost every season except August--and then may be in the evening too!
It is a gem of an all purpose "jacket"
down here.
"
Review 4 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweater,
January 20, 2015
By: MsSweet
"This sweater had a great knit and was well constructed. I gave it as a gift and it fit perfectly."
Review 5 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater but...,
January 9, 2015
By: Samphire
from Long Island NY
"The blurb says this sweater looks good under a vest or sportcoat -- but I'm inclined to disagree on that. It's somewhat bulky and while saying it's oversized is subjective, I really think these sleeves could fit a professional wrestler. Even if I tried a smaller size, the thick knit seems to preclude those uses.
On the other hand, it's comfortable for either indoor or outdoor wear, and makes an excellent mid-layer under a parka or heavy coat (looks good with a duffel coat or pea coat or the sort of puffy black coats that are still popular in New York City.) The construction is good and the colors hold up in the wash. It's a very comfortable all-purpose winter sweater."
Review 6 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Comfort in the Right Style,
January 6, 2015
By: GregGoulin
from Windsor, Ontario, Canada
"I had been searching for a long time to find this sweater in the color as well mas the style desired. I should have clicked on Orvis first. Exactly what I wanted in style, design, quality and fit"
Review 7 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
European quality,
December 25, 2014
By: 2010
from Sevierville Tn
"90 percent of my clouthing purchases are orvis apparel I have always been satisfied with quality and style"
Review 8 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NOT an underlayer,
February 16, 2014
By: PondHouse
from Ranger, GA
"This turtleneck sweater was a bit of a surprise. I had assumed it would be a thin sweater to wear layered under shirts. Instead, this is a very thick, bulky cotton knit, though not heavy because it is cotton. It is very much a stand alone piece. While it does not serve the intended purpose, it did fill in a sweater "need" in my husband's closet. It looks great over jeans! Just know this is a REAL sweater!"
Review 9 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
February 4, 2014
By: ncradio
"The quality and the fit are great. Wears and travels well...very easy to care for..."
Review 10 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recent purchase,
January 23, 2014
By: Vincem36
from Catalogue
"Was given gift certificate by my son and had to select item. I choose the sweater based on its looks from catelogue. Upon receipt I was quite pleased. It not only looked great it fit perfectly and felt great as well. Couldn't be more pleased"
Review 11 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too Big.,
January 18, 2014
By: Texanman
"The turtleneck is a nice color I got the green one and the shaker stitch is bulky but very breathable. It is not so bulky that you can not wear it indoors comfortably which is nice but unfortunately the sweater is extremely large like about a size or two. I ordered the medium which is the size I normally get, followed the guidelines posted on the website and I can not even keep the sleeves up when I roll them up and it just sags a lot. I washed it in hot water and stuck it in the dryer to see if I could get and shrinkage but nothing! Unfortunately they for some odd reason they do not have a small size so too all people on the fence I would recommend against purchasing it if you are a medium or of course a small. I will be contacting Orvis shortly about my refund since I cannot exchange it for the non-exsistant small which is an extreme frustration. If you can find a retailer also I would strongly urge you to try it one. The one closest to me did not carry it which only further added to my agitation when I realized the medium was much too large."
Review 12 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Turtleneck,
January 6, 2014
By: BobWviaCapeCod
from Cape Cod MA
"Excellent quality garment - terrific fit and very smart looking too. Whether for casual or dress-up with a sportcoat this turtleneck sweater really fits the bill. FYI - this is the second turtleneck I've purchased from ORVIS in the past 2 weeks so please keep offering them because I can see myself ordering more of them in future."
Review 13 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good Looking But. . .,
December 30, 2013
By: thmnyc
from NY, NY
"While I really like the look of this turtleneck, it began to lose its shape during the first wearing and became very baggy. The neck became quite wide and floppy, the sleeves elongated and I had to roll them up. Finally the body of the sweater sagged so much it was practically down to my knees. I wouldn't recommend this item."
Review 14 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality but color is not quite as promised,
December 27, 2013
By: LGP66
"My husband has a navy blue Orvis turtle neck that has lasted years. He asked for a yellow one and I was excited to find this one on the website. However, the yellow color is more of a soft gold or a honey color than yellow.
Returning it for green.
"
Review 15 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool!,
December 26, 2013
By: Barnhill
from Chatham, Ma
"Feels good on and different than ordinary turtlenecks"
Review 16 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Substantial Wardrobe Staple,
December 23, 2013
By: MrChris
from Gallupville, NY
"Nicely made, chunky sweater. Not so heavy that it is too much indoors, not so light that it needs a significant layer underneath during the really cold days.
Turtlenecks are simply not in the stores this year and I don't get that...but Orvis came through. Again.
I have high hopes for this over time and over many washings. I buy what lasts and what survives all trendiness. I often buy Orvis."
Review 17 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very disappointing,
December 22, 2013
By: evantaylor
"Upon receipt of the Turtleneck Sweater my expectations were high. ORVIS looks like a high-end type of clothing company.
I always, comfortably wear a size Medium for all sweaters, shirts, T's, etc... sometimes I also get into a "Small", depending on the manufacturer. I like the material and the design of the "Shaker-Stitch"; however, after one washing, the sweater has stretched out to a very large size. It almost looks like a "tent" on me now...waaaay too big. I realize I should have gotten a Small, but the small size was not offered in the catalog. I have no choice but to give this item away to one of my "larger" guy-friends. I am very disappointed.
"
Review 18 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
December 18, 2013
By: Westtexgal
from Midland, Tx
"The pictures do not do this sweater justice. It is much more luxurious. I bought it in burgundy and the color is so rich. Everything I have ever bought from Orvis has been superior quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old fashion quality,
December 16, 2013
By: Matemwe
"This shaker turtleneck is both handsome and comfortable. It is well designed and well made. Hard to find these qualities of good looks, craftsmanship and design together in one shirt."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Men's Shaker Sweater,
December 9, 2013
By: perfectionist
from Ashland, WI
"Outstanding quality, color true to that shown in catalogue, very nice addition to husband's wardrobe. Perfect for winter in Midwest. If I wore same size as he, I would be borrowing it from time to time. Priced comparable to other high quality clothing stores. Very pleased with product."