Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater

The robust yet simple Shaker stitch adds substantial warmth without excess weight, making this pure cotton turtleneck sweater an ideal layer under a vest or sport coat. It also looks great when worn with jeans or khakis. Rib-trim finish at neck, cuffs, and hem. Pure cotton. Washable. Made in USA. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
31 of 35(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Review 1 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sweater,
February 24, 2015
By: wearyeye
from Arkansas
"l really like the shaker stitch. It's tightly woven with a distinctive texture. The turtle neck stands up nicely, is snug without being too tight. My wife loves the yellow color and I feel warm and comfortable."
Review 2 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Material, but...,
February 24, 2015
By: ZWGVT
from Washington, DC
"The sweater is made from a sturdy, thick cotton with a moderately tight weave. Compared to a similar sweater I purchased from a leading men's wear store with a sheep and shear logo, the quality is far superior on the Orvis product. My complaint--and the reason for the three stars--is that this sweater has huge sleeves; far larger then the chest, which fits me quite well. I would hate to meet the man for whom these sleeves were cut; he would rival a silver back gorilla. On a final note, at the sale price this is a good deal; at full price the fit is too far off to recommend it. This will not work underneath any but the most generously cut blazers."
Review 3 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good item but a little big,
February 17, 2015
By: RenatoNY
from Forest Hills, NY
"For this particular item make sure you order a size smaller than usual. I'm 6'3", 210lbs and my size is usually large. For this item, size M was perfect (even the sleeves are good). So if you're up to 6'4" in height I'd suggest getting size medium. The sweater is very comfortable and neck is not exaggeratedly big so you won't feel suffocated by its turtleneck."
Review 4 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater for Skiing,
February 16, 2015
By: CherylAnne
from Utah
"My husband wanted a heavy cotton turtleneck sweater to wear skiing. I searched everywhere and couldn't find what he wanted until I saw this Orvis sweater. It was perfect! He put it on this morning, smiled, and headed out to the slopes."
Review 5 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
February 9, 2015
By: JAG1
from Houston, TX
"Great looks and comfortable to wear. Will keep you warm without the scratchiness of wool."
Review 6 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Turtleneck,
February 2, 2015
By: Padraic317
from western Pa.
"Quick delivery, size was just slightly large but was a good point, I can wear a heavy shirt under sweater if desired. Color was true and quality is quite good. I am well satisfied with this sweater and recommend it."
Review 7 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Basic, but good.,
February 2, 2015
By: quartertwain
from San Francisco, CA
"This sweater has a nice bulk to it. If it came in crew neck, I'd probably buy a couple more."
Review 8 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MOST REASONABLE PRICE FOR A SWEATER,
January 29, 2015
By: JUSTOKNOWU
"I FIND REALLY FIND THE TURTLENECK SWEATER WHICH SUITS MY NEED. THE MATERIAL IS ALSO VERY GOOD INDEED.
MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL , THE PRICING IS REASONABLE WITHIN MYBUDGET .
"
Review 9 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My latest Orvis purchase,
January 27, 2015
By: Ozone
from Hazard, KY
"This shaker-stitch cotton turtleneck sweater fits and looks as advertised. Looks great. I have received many compliments."
Review 10 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
an excellent sweater; I couldn't be morore pleased,
January 24, 2015
By: J4abook
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"Excellent in every way: in quality, fit,
style, and workmanship.
I plan to wear it for a long time, because it is ideal weight for the South for almost every season except August--and then may be in the evening too!
It is a gem of an all purpose "jacket"
down here.
"
Review 11 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweater,
January 20, 2015
By: MsSweet
"This sweater had a great knit and was well constructed. I gave it as a gift and it fit perfectly."
Review 12 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater but...,
January 9, 2015
By: Samphire
from Long Island NY
"The blurb says this sweater looks good under a vest or sportcoat -- but I'm inclined to disagree on that. It's somewhat bulky and while saying it's oversized is subjective, I really think these sleeves could fit a professional wrestler. Even if I tried a smaller size, the thick knit seems to preclude those uses.
On the other hand, it's comfortable for either indoor or outdoor wear, and makes an excellent mid-layer under a parka or heavy coat (looks good with a duffel coat or pea coat or the sort of puffy black coats that are still popular in New York City.) The construction is good and the colors hold up in the wash. It's a very comfortable all-purpose winter sweater."
Review 13 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Comfort in the Right Style,
January 6, 2015
By: GregGoulin
from Windsor, Ontario, Canada
"I had been searching for a long time to find this sweater in the color as well mas the style desired. I should have clicked on Orvis first. Exactly what I wanted in style, design, quality and fit"
Review 14 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
European quality,
December 25, 2014
By: 2010
from Sevierville Tn
"90 percent of my clouthing purchases are orvis apparel I have always been satisfied with quality and style"
Review 15 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NOT an underlayer,
February 16, 2014
By: PondHouse
from Ranger, GA
"This turtleneck sweater was a bit of a surprise. I had assumed it would be a thin sweater to wear layered under shirts. Instead, this is a very thick, bulky cotton knit, though not heavy because it is cotton. It is very much a stand alone piece. While it does not serve the intended purpose, it did fill in a sweater "need" in my husband's closet. It looks great over jeans! Just know this is a REAL sweater!"
Review 16 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
February 4, 2014
By: ncradio
"The quality and the fit are great. Wears and travels well...very easy to care for..."
Review 17 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recent purchase,
January 23, 2014
By: Vincem36
from Catalogue
"Was given gift certificate by my son and had to select item. I choose the sweater based on its looks from catelogue. Upon receipt I was quite pleased. It not only looked great it fit perfectly and felt great as well. Couldn't be more pleased"
Review 18 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too Big.,
January 18, 2014
By: Texanman
"The turtleneck is a nice color I got the green one and the shaker stitch is bulky but very breathable. It is not so bulky that you can not wear it indoors comfortably which is nice but unfortunately the sweater is extremely large like about a size or two. I ordered the medium which is the size I normally get, followed the guidelines posted on the website and I can not even keep the sleeves up when I roll them up and it just sags a lot. I washed it in hot water and stuck it in the dryer to see if I could get and shrinkage but nothing! Unfortunately they for some odd reason they do not have a small size so too all people on the fence I would recommend against purchasing it if you are a medium or of course a small. I will be contacting Orvis shortly about my refund since I cannot exchange it for the non-exsistant small which is an extreme frustration. If you can find a retailer also I would strongly urge you to try it one. The one closest to me did not carry it which only further added to my agitation when I realized the medium was much too large."
Review 19 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Turtleneck,
January 6, 2014
By: BobWviaCapeCod
from Cape Cod MA
"Excellent quality garment - terrific fit and very smart looking too. Whether for casual or dress-up with a sportcoat this turtleneck sweater really fits the bill. FYI - this is the second turtleneck I've purchased from ORVIS in the past 2 weeks so please keep offering them because I can see myself ordering more of them in future."
Review 20 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good Looking But. . .,
December 30, 2013
By: thmnyc
from NY, NY
"While I really like the look of this turtleneck, it began to lose its shape during the first wearing and became very baggy. The neck became quite wide and floppy, the sleeves elongated and I had to roll them up. Finally the body of the sweater sagged so much it was practically down to my knees. I wouldn't recommend this item."