Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater

The robust yet simple Shaker stitch adds substantial warmth without excess weight, making this pure cotton turtleneck sweater an ideal layer under a vest or sport coat. It also looks great when worn with jeans or khakis. Rib-trim finish at neck, cuffs, and hem. Pure cotton. Washable. Made in USA. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Review 1 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NOT an underlayer,
February 16, 2014
By: PondHouse
from Ranger, GA
"This turtleneck sweater was a bit of a surprise. I had assumed it would be a thin sweater to wear layered under shirts. Instead, this is a very thick, bulky cotton knit, though not heavy because it is cotton. It is very much a stand alone piece. While it does not serve the intended purpose, it did fill in a sweater "need" in my husband's closet. It looks great over jeans! Just know this is a REAL sweater!"
Review 2 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
February 4, 2014
By: ncradio
"The quality and the fit are great. Wears and travels well...very easy to care for..."
Review 3 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recent purchase,
January 23, 2014
By: Vincem36
from Catalogue
"Was given gift certificate by my son and had to select item. I choose the sweater based on its looks from catelogue. Upon receipt I was quite pleased. It not only looked great it fit perfectly and felt great as well. Couldn't be more pleased"
Review 4 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too Big.,
January 18, 2014
By: Texanman
"The turtleneck is a nice color I got the green one and the shaker stitch is bulky but very breathable. It is not so bulky that you can not wear it indoors comfortably which is nice but unfortunately the sweater is extremely large like about a size or two. I ordered the medium which is the size I normally get, followed the guidelines posted on the website and I can not even keep the sleeves up when I roll them up and it just sags a lot. I washed it in hot water and stuck it in the dryer to see if I could get and shrinkage but nothing! Unfortunately they for some odd reason they do not have a small size so too all people on the fence I would recommend against purchasing it if you are a medium or of course a small. I will be contacting Orvis shortly about my refund since I cannot exchange it for the non-exsistant small which is an extreme frustration. If you can find a retailer also I would strongly urge you to try it one. The one closest to me did not carry it which only further added to my agitation when I realized the medium was much too large."
Review 5 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Turtleneck,
January 6, 2014
By: BobWviaCapeCod
from Cape Cod MA
"Excellent quality garment - terrific fit and very smart looking too. Whether for casual or dress-up with a sportcoat this turtleneck sweater really fits the bill. FYI - this is the second turtleneck I've purchased from ORVIS in the past 2 weeks so please keep offering them because I can see myself ordering more of them in future."
Review 6 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good Looking But. . .,
December 30, 2013
By: thmnyc
from NY, NY
"While I really like the look of this turtleneck, it began to lose its shape during the first wearing and became very baggy. The neck became quite wide and floppy, the sleeves elongated and I had to roll them up. Finally the body of the sweater sagged so much it was practically down to my knees. I wouldn't recommend this item."
Review 7 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality but color is not quite as promised,
December 27, 2013
By: LGP66
"My husband has a navy blue Orvis turtle neck that has lasted years. He asked for a yellow one and I was excited to find this one on the website. However, the yellow color is more of a soft gold or a honey color than yellow.
Returning it for green.
"
Review 8 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool!,
December 26, 2013
By: Barnhill
from Chatham, Ma
"Feels good on and different than ordinary turtlenecks"
Review 9 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Substantial Wardrobe Staple,
December 23, 2013
By: MrChris
from Gallupville, NY
"Nicely made, chunky sweater. Not so heavy that it is too much indoors, not so light that it needs a significant layer underneath during the really cold days.
Turtlenecks are simply not in the stores this year and I don't get that...but Orvis came through. Again.
I have high hopes for this over time and over many washings. I buy what lasts and what survives all trendiness. I often buy Orvis."
Review 10 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very disappointing,
December 22, 2013
By: evantaylor
"Upon receipt of the Turtleneck Sweater my expectations were high. ORVIS looks like a high-end type of clothing company.
I always, comfortably wear a size Medium for all sweaters, shirts, T's, etc... sometimes I also get into a "Small", depending on the manufacturer. I like the material and the design of the "Shaker-Stitch"; however, after one washing, the sweater has stretched out to a very large size. It almost looks like a "tent" on me now...waaaay too big. I realize I should have gotten a Small, but the small size was not offered in the catalog. I have no choice but to give this item away to one of my "larger" guy-friends. I am very disappointed.
"
Review 11 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
December 18, 2013
By: Westtexgal
from Midland, Tx
"The pictures do not do this sweater justice. It is much more luxurious. I bought it in burgundy and the color is so rich. Everything I have ever bought from Orvis has been superior quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old fashion quality,
December 16, 2013
By: Matemwe
"This shaker turtleneck is both handsome and comfortable. It is well designed and well made. Hard to find these qualities of good looks, craftsmanship and design together in one shirt."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Men's Shaker Sweater,
December 9, 2013
By: perfectionist
from Ashland, WI
"Outstanding quality, color true to that shown in catalogue, very nice addition to husband's wardrobe. Perfect for winter in Midwest. If I wore same size as he, I would be borrowing it from time to time. Priced comparable to other high quality clothing stores. Very pleased with product."
Review 14 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
November 7, 2013
By: sgoregon
from Portland, OR
"Good looking turtleneck sweaters are not all that easy to find nowadays. And since I am allergic to wool (at least when worn directly against my skin), the selection is narrowed even further. I was delighted to receive my Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater in Black today, and find that it is well made, handsome and fits perfectly. I am 5'10", appx. 140 lbs. and the Medium fits like it was made for me. I now have my eye on the other colors Orvis is offering in this comfortable, cotton turtleneck."
Review 15 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just what I need,
October 28, 2013
By: pennaze
from sun valley, idaho
"I live in a very upmarket ski resort. Orvis products are not only warm but are pleasing to the eye."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent. Go America!,
December 7, 2012
By: Rhetoric
from Washington DC
"This turtleneck sweater is exceptional! Matches quite well with cords and donegal wool pants. I hope Orvis continues to support quality American products. This is a steal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great outdoor sweater,
November 19, 2012
By: derfcharles
from Port Hope, ON
"This sweater is a beautiful shade of green (just as pictured), fits perfectly, and will keep me cozy and warm outside on cool spring and autumn days (as well as when inside visiting homes of people in the winter who are "careful" with their consumption of heating fuel!)."
Review 18 for Shaker-Stitch Cotton Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An A#1 Purchase,
October 15, 2012
By: justsuzyq
from Louisville, KY
""You've outdone yourself this time Mom" is exactly what my son is going to say when he opens this present. And I think I have outdone myself too. These sweaters are fantastic - the right material and the right colors. His favorite sweater style of all time, is the turtleneck sweater. I could NOT be more pleased with this purchase and my son won't be either. Thank you, Orvis, from the bottom of my heart."