Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Women's Margot Swing Coat

Gorgeously designed with a flattering, face-framing portrait collar, empire waist, and swingy shape, this plush wool-blend swing coat is a fashionable update to a vintage style. Highlighted by four buttons on the double-breasted bodice, it has front shaping seams and an inverted back pleat. Soft and warm wool/poly/rayon blend is durable and wrinkle-resistant. Silky poly-satin lining for slip-on ease. Shell: wool/polyester/rayon; lining: polyester. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes 4-16; about 33" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 30(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Review 1 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with purchase,
February 24, 2014
By: AnneCathleen
from New Jersey
"I'm extremely happy with my purchase. Buying clothes on line is often risky but this coat is exactly as it appears: warm, feminine and sized appropriately."
Review 2 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Winner from Orvis!,
January 20, 2014
By: hb43
from Waco, TX
"Lovely coat; shaped just right to give a feminine appearance. When it arrived and I tried it on my husband said "That looks really nice; I like it"."
Review 3 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed,
January 19, 2014
By: NotFloridaAnymore
from Portland, OR
"I really liked the picture of the coat in the catalog, and needed a warm coat after moving to the Northwest from Florida. It is warm but, more importantly, it's well made and very flattering. A great buy!"
Review 4 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love how it looks,
January 17, 2014
By: Ruth1
"This coat is flattering and stylish, can be dressed up or worn with jeans. Glad I got it!"
Review 5 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darling coat,
January 16, 2014
By: seasonednurse
"Fits very nice, beautiful coat, many compliments wearing it."
Review 6 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat,
January 13, 2014
By: carlyn
from winchester, va
"It fits perfectly and the neckline is very flattering."
Review 7 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful red coat,
January 3, 2014
By: floradalise
"This coat is a vibrant color of red. The collar is most unusual-not the usual collar associated with a coat of this type. I like the buttons and the way it looks when buttoned and ready to wear. My husband says it looks just like me! I wore it outside for a while at night and it was warm!
It "hangs" well and is not too loose or too clingy. It looks great with my purple scarf.
"
Review 8 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Pretty & Flattering!,
January 2, 2014
By: NWMomma
from Northwest
"It looks very crisp. I love the collar and A-line. Darling! Favorite Coat!"
Review 9 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat, But Size Was Off,
December 28, 2013
By: northwestgal
from Sandpoint, ID
"I like Orvis quality, but I never know what size to order.
I loved the look of this coat in the catalog, but because of past sizing problems with Orvis was unsure whether to order a 10 or 12. So I ordered both, figuring I'd just return one.
It turned out that neither fit well. The 12 was clearly too big. The 10 was somewhat looser than I expected, so didn't look as good as in the picture. I guess if I intended to wear heavy clothing underneath it, it would have worked, but since I don't, I ended up returning both of them."
Review 10 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Glad You Took It Back!!,
December 15, 2013
By: BGLuLu
from Austin, TX
"I purchased this coat in red.... wore it for 5 days and all my clothes turned pink!! Small consolation to get a refund on the item, I have another $500+ in damaged clothes, handbag, and scarves. Very sad. I always thought Orvis was a top brand... This coat was POOR quality."
Review 11 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nicely tailored,
December 14, 2013
By: lgh116
from Richmond, VA
"The coat has a cute design. The material is nice and the shade of red is pretty. It's warm enough for our winters here in Virginia. However, the sleeves are too long for me. (I wish it came in a petite version) and the buttons don't look like they belong on a coat in this price range. I am keeping it, but I will probably have the sleeves shortened and I will definitely change the buttons. I thought the picture I saw had black buttons on the red coat, but it came with washed-out looking plastic red buttons. I will change them to black velvet for contrast."
Review 12 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
christmas gift,
December 7, 2013
By: Grandoc
"My wife fell in love with it when she first saw it."
Review 13 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy wife is Happy Home,
December 7, 2013
By: JDoug
"I purchased this coat for my wife and she loved it. It has a sort of pea coat feel to it she said, but is much warmer she wears it daily/"
Review 14 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect coat with a few tweeks,
December 6, 2013
By: scottie2c
"Lightweight - perfect for layering. Not bulky or heavy so it will be my go-to coat. Can wear for evening and with jeans. I'm short so I needed to alter the sleeve length. Wanted the red but my size was not in stock. I think I like the flexibility of the black more than the red so it worked out for the best."
Review 15 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
50 Shades of Red,
December 4, 2013
By: ForeverRed
"Jacket is well-made and fits nicely. There was some confusion as the jacket pictured in the catalog, the one I wanted, was bright red with black buttons, and the one pictured on-line and the one I received was a much darker shade of red with dark red buttons."
Review 16 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful color and collar,
November 14, 2013
By: TLGITW
from UP of Michigan
"I am 5'2 140# and the size 14 fits well other than long in the sleeves. Overstitching and construction very nice and coat is warm."
Review 17 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Larry Levine coat,
November 12, 2013
By: SweaterFanster
from Albany, NY
"Very stylish and comfortable. The high collar looks really nice, and is neither too snug nor too loose. There's a snap to hold the coat closed at mid-chest height, which makes it look neat."
Review 18 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swing Coat,
November 11, 2013
By: Cmck
from Pittsburgh
"Beautiful coat, I ordered the red, and it's a beautiful color! I wanted more of a 'dress coat' and when I saw this in the catalog, it was what I had envisioned I wanted. My husband was concerned it would not be warm enough. I ordered it, and am thrilled that I did! Great price for a great coat, and it eased his mind, because it will keep me quite warm during our coldest days!"
Review 19 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A cute coat,
October 28, 2013
By: Agincourt
from Arkansas
"Haven't worn it yet, weather is still too warm, but I look forward to a cold day. Fits well and looks great; is a qualit y product."
Review 20 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice to wear dressy or casual,
October 22, 2013
By: Yvetta
from Easter Shore, VA.
"Color is my favorite. Length and fit is very comfortable. Collar fits well and room for a scarf."