Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Women's Margot Swing Coat

Gorgeously designed with a flattering, face-framing portrait collar, empire waist, and swingy shape, this plush wool-blend swing coat is a fashionable update to a vintage style. Highlighted by four buttons on the double-breasted bodice, it has front shaping seams and an inverted back pleat. Soft and warm wool/poly/rayon blend is durable and wrinkle-resistant. Silky poly-satin lining for slip-on ease. Shell: wool/polyester/rayon; lining: polyester. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes 4-16; about 33" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
33 of 37(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Review 1 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very fashionable!,
December 17, 2014
By: AugustFlame
"Cute design and beautiful color. I like wearing it by not buttoning the top set of buttons in order to create a wider collar. I received multiple compliments on the very first day I wore it. I'm 5' 5" and weigh 114 lbs and size 6 is perfect. I'm so happy with my purchase!"
Review 2 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
very disappointed,
December 8, 2014
By: caroloucol29oh
from Slingerlands, NY
"I love this coat! However, I wore it out yesterday in 20 degree weather, and I froze! It is not a suitable coat for northern winters which I perhaps mistakenly thought it was. I will be returning it for that reason.,
carolyn fellows
"
Review 3 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
November 5, 2014
By: BevK
from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
"This coat is beautiful, very stylish, good quality, comfortable and rich shade of red. Excellent value. Too big -- all my other coats are size 12 but I needed a 10 in this coat. Orvis was out of stock when I tried to exchange and wouldn't send smaller size from one of their stores because I live in Canada. Very disappointing."
Review 4 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique coat,
October 17, 2014
By: Good4you
from Minneapolis MN
"I love this coat. The design is unique and very comfortable. The red color is a nice shade that will go with everything."
Review 5 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful coat,
September 30, 2014
By: JEPF
from Wichita,KS
"This coat is finely made with beautiful fabric, perfect for an evening out. The collar and swing style has a lot of flair, but isn't fussy."
Review 6 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bargain,
August 29, 2014
By: OtSam2
from Saint Peter, MN
"The shape & heigth of the coller
caught my eye. It will be nice & warm in MN weather
"
Review 7 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Collar is Awkward,
July 29, 2014
By: Rabbott
from Dayton Oh
"Had a difficult time buttoning the collar. The button is hidden under fabric"
Review 8 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with purchase,
February 24, 2014
By: AnneCathleen
from New Jersey
"I'm extremely happy with my purchase. Buying clothes on line is often risky but this coat is exactly as it appears: warm, feminine and sized appropriately."
Review 9 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Winner from Orvis!,
January 20, 2014
By: hb43
from Waco, TX
"Lovely coat; shaped just right to give a feminine appearance. When it arrived and I tried it on my husband said "That looks really nice; I like it"."
Review 10 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed,
January 19, 2014
By: NotFloridaAnymore
from Portland, OR
"I really liked the picture of the coat in the catalog, and needed a warm coat after moving to the Northwest from Florida. It is warm but, more importantly, it's well made and very flattering. A great buy!"
Review 11 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love how it looks,
January 17, 2014
By: Ruth1
"This coat is flattering and stylish, can be dressed up or worn with jeans. Glad I got it!"
Review 12 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darling coat,
January 16, 2014
By: seasonednurse
"Fits very nice, beautiful coat, many compliments wearing it."
Review 13 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat,
January 13, 2014
By: carlyn
from winchester, va
"It fits perfectly and the neckline is very flattering."
Review 14 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful red coat,
January 3, 2014
By: floradalise
"This coat is a vibrant color of red. The collar is most unusual-not the usual collar associated with a coat of this type. I like the buttons and the way it looks when buttoned and ready to wear. My husband says it looks just like me! I wore it outside for a while at night and it was warm!
It "hangs" well and is not too loose or too clingy. It looks great with my purple scarf.
"
Review 15 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Pretty & Flattering!,
January 2, 2014
By: NWMomma
from Northwest
"It looks very crisp. I love the collar and A-line. Darling! Favorite Coat!"
Review 16 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat, But Size Was Off,
December 28, 2013
By: northwestgal
from Sandpoint, ID
"I like Orvis quality, but I never know what size to order.
I loved the look of this coat in the catalog, but because of past sizing problems with Orvis was unsure whether to order a 10 or 12. So I ordered both, figuring I'd just return one.
It turned out that neither fit well. The 12 was clearly too big. The 10 was somewhat looser than I expected, so didn't look as good as in the picture. I guess if I intended to wear heavy clothing underneath it, it would have worked, but since I don't, I ended up returning both of them."
Review 17 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Glad You Took It Back!!,
December 15, 2013
By: BGLuLu
from Austin, TX
"I purchased this coat in red.... wore it for 5 days and all my clothes turned pink!! Small consolation to get a refund on the item, I have another $500+ in damaged clothes, handbag, and scarves. Very sad. I always thought Orvis was a top brand... This coat was POOR quality."
Review 18 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nicely tailored,
December 14, 2013
By: lgh116
from Richmond, VA
"The coat has a cute design. The material is nice and the shade of red is pretty. It's warm enough for our winters here in Virginia. However, the sleeves are too long for me. (I wish it came in a petite version) and the buttons don't look like they belong on a coat in this price range. I am keeping it, but I will probably have the sleeves shortened and I will definitely change the buttons. I thought the picture I saw had black buttons on the red coat, but it came with washed-out looking plastic red buttons. I will change them to black velvet for contrast."
Review 19 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
christmas gift,
December 7, 2013
By: Grandoc
"My wife fell in love with it when she first saw it."
Review 20 for Women's Margot Swing Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy wife is Happy Home,
December 7, 2013
By: JDoug
"I purchased this coat for my wife and she loved it. It has a sort of pea coat feel to it she said, but is much warmer she wears it daily/"