Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Zippered Waders

Our most technologically advanced wader is now available as a zip front wader. Silver Sonic Zippered Waders feature a full-length front zipper and are made of the same lightweight and durable 4-layer nylon fabric as our original Pack and Travel waders. Constructed with the patented Orvis SonicSeam® sonic-weld technology, all thread and stitch holes have been eliminated, with seams double reinforced. The front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out front pocket can hold cameras or fishing licenses. Zippered hand warmer pockets keep fingers out of the cold, and can double as additional storage space. Self-fabric gravel guards with a quick-drain panel keep you moving. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Easy adjusting wader belt included. Zippered Waders in overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 of 50(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zipper waders,
December 15, 2014
By: maistro45
from Jacksonville, AR
"The waders looks like the very wader I need but they are for Christmas so I have not used them."
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
December 12, 2014
By: Drifter98502
from Washington
"My old waders finally gave out so I took to the net for several days of reading reviews and product tests of these particular waders. I was very hesitant to order online due to sizing, I spoke with an orvis rep and gave them my measurements and they assured me they would fit, and they sure did! Orvis definitely makes their waders true to size. only been out a few times with them so far but they are amazing...definitely would suggest them."
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I've owned,
December 6, 2014
By: BriDBro
from Georgia
"They are the most comfortable, practical, and well thought out waders I have ever owned. The quality is top notch. Zip them open when it's warm from hiking or when needed. They are easy to put on also. I will buy them again when they wear out."
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SS zippered waders,
November 29, 2014
By: flingafly
from Nazareth, PA
"I only used these waders 1 time since I received them. I had some reservations about the zipper and pockets because they do stiffen the front of the waders but after they were on, I was able to fish with no problems.
My only problem was sizing. I used the size chart but I had to return the first pair because they were to large.
"
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Waders!,
November 29, 2014
By: Macado
from Blue ridge mountains, NC
"These fit very well (my old waders didn't), they do not leak and they are still comfortable at the end of the day. Customer service in trying different sizes until I found the right size for a short, fat man was excellent. I recommend them."
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
November 16, 2014
By: Mickgormley69
"The length of the wader is perfect for my hight, but when I try to put my wading boots on, there is not sufficient room in the knee area to bend my knee area ?"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
November 5, 2014
By: bmacsi
from Manheim, PA
"This is the first pair of waders that I've ever owned. I've always had rubber hip boots but a friend of mine finally talked me into buying a pair. After talking with an outfitter I felt confident that I was making a good decision. The first time I used them was an eye opener. They were super comfortable and I no longer had to worry about how deep the stream was."
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound investment,
October 30, 2014
By: BetsyH
from Los Angeles CA
"Good investment in a quality piece of gear. I look forward to many days in the water in these waters. I especially like the functionality of all the waterproof pockets."
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable waders,
October 22, 2014
By: Fishmaster57
"The Zippered Wader, the front of the waders design with the extra pockets for hands or fly boxes minimizes you needed an extra pack while on the river. The front zipper is self explanatory and works great for not having to peel down or un- hook your waders, great comfort as well."
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
October 22, 2014
By: Jamie27
from Lexington, VA
"These waders are as advertised! They are very comfortable for all day fishing and the front zipper is a handy feature. I would recommend these to any serious angler!"
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
October 21, 2014
By: FishingTim
from Renton, WA
"I got the XXL Short as I am short and stout. Always had a problem with excess material bunching up at the bottom. Not with these. The zipper is a great feature after a few beverages. Best waders I have owned."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great waders,
October 16, 2014
By: pipelinebilly
from canada
"these waders are great, fit well and are light weight for easy movement well wading, pockets are nice to have in a pair of waders to store your important presonal items"
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product .very comfortable.,
October 13, 2014
By: Brooklyn97
from Brooklyn,NY.
"Hard to close zipper bag for cell phone ,silicon not clear.Picture from phone coming yellow."
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
October 13, 2014
By: FelipePatagonia
from Patagonia, Chile
"Simply, excellent fitting, size is your regular size, light weight and very soft, best wader I ever use, better than Simms or others."
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Sonic!,
October 13, 2014
By: Drawman
from Modesto, CA
"These waders are the best I've owned, by far. Chosing the zipper version was a great decision, what an ease to get in and out! Also if you start to get a little hot, just unzip and you have instand cooling. Being 6'4 and 230, I chose the XL/Xlong and let me tell you the length was perfect. There is a little room in the legs for layering when necessary, and plenty of room at the top for an additional fleece on the colder days. Another feature of Orvis waders is you can order the booties in larger sizes, which really helps me as I have a size 14 foot. Other brands charge you extra of any modifications, but Orvis gives you the choice from the start. Workmanship is excellent, and attention to detail shows. I will recommend these waders to anyone I run into on the river."
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great waders,
September 29, 2014
By: duffster
from Michigan
"These zippered waders are a great new product. very handy. fit is very good. Quality is first rate."
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis...of course.,
September 20, 2014
By: Dave0
from W. Mi
"Having previously owned several Orvis waders, the Zipper Silver Sonic is the best so-far. The comfort of fit, and the peace of mind knowing that any leakage issues will not be the fault of the waders, make these a pleasure to wear."
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Summer Waders,
September 2, 2014
By: WANAFSH
from Midwest Trout
"I bought these waders as a back up pair to my Sonic Guide Waders. I fish 2-5 days a week and in the Summer months the zipper front is great to unzip and cool off. The 4 zipper pockets work well for easy access of phone, fly boxes etc. when you go lite. I do wish they had a D ring on the back for your net. The big test will be this fall for Steelhead. The snap flap on the top works well for the Orvis clip zinger for my forceps."
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wader's,
September 2, 2014
By: Rick4HisGlory
from Albuquerque,N.M.
"Got to use my new waders last month(August). Very nice fit. I bought the large and close to the end fit range and still fit good. The zippered pocket's were nice warm and protective of valuables. But the zippered front was most enjoyable. Aug. was very hot and I just left the front zipper undone so a cool Aug breeze flowed in and down through my waders keeping me very comfortable. I also like the travel bag for carrying them down to the river. I could carry it over my shoulder or easily in my backpack. Thank-you Orvis. I think I will enjoy these wader's for many season's to come. Rick"
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the zipper!,
September 2, 2014
By: RW41
from Oklahoma
"Was always pretty weary about buying zippered waders, but these dudes are the real deal! Have had them chest high on 3 different trips(Ok,Ak,Co) so far & not a drop, plus the ease of "releaving" myself when needing to go. Super easy on/off, no need to ever be messing w shoulder straps. Love'm. A+. Thx Orvis!"