Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Zippered Waders

Our most technologically advanced wader is now available as a zip front wader. Silver Sonic Zippered Waders feature a full-length front zipper and are made of the same lightweight and durable 4-layer nylon fabric as our original Pack and Travel waders. Constructed with the patented Orvis SonicSeam® sonic-weld technology, all thread and stitch holes have been eliminated, with seams double reinforced. The front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out front pocket can hold cameras or fishing licenses. Zippered hand warmer pockets keep fingers out of the cold, and can double as additional storage space. Self-fabric gravel guards with a quick-drain panel keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties with rubberized lining on neoprene seams. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. The integrated antimicrobial Sanitized® hygiene function helps to permanently protect the material of your Silver Sonic Waders from bacteria, odor and mildew. This ensures you receive optimal wearing comfort and that the waders look new longer, keeping their functionality and material performance even after intensive use. Easy adjusting wader belt included. Zippered Waders in overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
 out of 
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
67 of 72(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent waders,
November 15, 2015
By: caravella483
"The front zipper is awesome!! The most comfortable and functional waders I have ever owned."
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit Great,
November 6, 2015
By: UWPointers
from Sheridan, WY
"Full disclaimer: I just received these last week and have had no opportunity to date to use them in action. With that said, they fit perfectly for my relatively fat, stout frame. I usually have difficulty finding waders that don't have entirely too much material in the legs, resulting in a baggy/parachute situation. Offering XXL Short sizes takes care of these, and they fit like a glove. Thanks, Orvis - I can't wait to hit my local mountain streams here in the Big Horns."
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awsome service,
October 11, 2015
By: Jrfan
from Stafford ,Va
"Sent my waders in for repair two weeks ago.Orvis sent me the zippered waders in return.Couldn't ask for any better service.And the waders are awsome with all the high quality features.As always orvis has made me a happy fly fisherman."
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged solid waders,
September 28, 2015
By: Petrine
from Copenhagen
"The Silver Sonic waders are the best you can buy for Money. The comfortable, breathable, solid and very pleasant to wear. You move in to them and can wear them a hole day. It cant be better"
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great waders... Like the name that backs them,
September 24, 2015
By: GJH3rd
from Northern California
"The zippered wader were referred to me because the guide waders in Med Long were out of stock. At first i was hesitant on the zipper but once i was in the water it wasn't an issue. I hike around quit a bit when i fish so waders that move freely are a must. These fit a little tight on my calves but it wasn't a problem like i thought it might be. over all these are great waders. Ive only used them a handful of times so only time will really tell.
The only real disappointment i have with these waders are the holes in the hand warmer pockets. I put my tacky box in that pocket and you wad deep enough those holes to submerge ... your pockets will get wet.
To end this on a high note the amazing thing about these waders is the name that backs them. Orvis customer service is top notch and the people that represent them are too!. and I'm finally back on the water and enjoying the adventure.
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders, now modify the jackets,
September 22, 2015
By: RogerThat
from Smithers BC
"I got these just in time for a long spell of steelheading. The mediums fit me great with enough room to get over logs without binding in the knees. They also seem quite durable. I've got 30 days on mine so far, with a frequent hike through a hunderd yards of wild roses and they've stayed bone dry. The full length zipper works great. All waders will have these soon. It
s so much easier to make a quick comfort brek, and the zipper makes getting in and out of the waders easier too. My only complaint now is that I don't have a wading jacket with two zippers. Being able to unzip the jacket from the bottom and get at the wader zipper from below would make for a much drier experience in pouring rain, which Ive had a lot of lately.
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
short on mobility,
August 31, 2015
By: Idahosteel
"These appear to be a reasonably well made product, with a minimum of unnecessary gadgets and "features." The belt loops for a wading belt are a great idea, but three loops are not enough... It needs five or six to be truly functional.
I can't speak their durability as I've only worn them ten times so far, but they didn't leak right out of the box.
I spend about 120 days a year in my waders, and do quite a lot of hiking and climbing. From a comfort and mobility standpoint, these waders were not well thought out.
When climbing or scrambling, the knees and seat bind quite badly, reducing mobility and comfort. Active anglers may wish to look elsewhere.
The chest is cut quite tall, which means when the suspenders are adjusted for comfort in the armpits, the crotch hangs at mid-thigh level, making it impossible to walk. You have to rely on your wading belt to keep things cinched up. Anglers with somewhat shorter torso's relative to inseam length may wish to look elsewhere.
As a dedicated winter steelhead fisherman, I'm disappointed that there is minimal room for layering up in cold weather.
In all, not Orvis' best effort."
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
August 18, 2015
By: Blyant
from Norway
"I have owned a lot of Orvis equipment over the years and I have learnt the hard way that it is hit an miss between fantastic to outright bad quality. These waders fall into the later quality.
I only got one and a half seasons out of these waders before they became unusable. The seams just fell apart.
The waders look sharp and fit nicely, the internal water proof pocket is a really nice feature and the front zip is very handy, when nature calls.
The first problem was a small one, but the zippers on the front pockets slider lost their pull tabs. Then I started to get nervous when the joins of those pockets started to bubble. Finally the welded seams gave way in the crotch.
The actual material the waders are made from looks like new and is very robust and of good quality, however the welded seam technology isn't up to scratch.
Unless you are a very light user I would not recommend these waders. If you are like me someone who loves to get out all summer fishing and get up to those mountain streams, these are not the waders to invest your money in."
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Waders,
August 7, 2015
By: TheDonkers
"These waders are great but are on the pricey side. The clear waterproof pocket on the inside is a little difficult to open, especially with wet hands. Would be better if one side of the pocket had a reinforced ring in the top of it so you could have something to pull on to open it."
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost Perfect,
May 21, 2015
By: Snakebite
"I was somewhat suspicious of waders that have a front fly and might not hold the chilling waters of New England at bay, but so far all tests that I've put it through it has scored well. Unfortunately I have a slight complaint about the wader's design, specifically on the sole of the neoprene bootie. Putting on and off waders is one of the annoying things a fly fisher has to do. So why in the world did you put "non-skid" rubberized strips of nipples across the sole that makes slipping the bootie into the wading boot a literal pain in the toes. The bootie nipples grab the sole of the wading boot on the way in resulting in the toe of the bootie curling under the foot, jamming the toes until such time as you can hobble to the river to let water in which allows the toe of the bootie to slip free and settle naturally. Really very annoying, but otherwise the wader is terrific and (ahem) provides "full service" to your every wading needs. :-)"
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy this!,
May 19, 2015
By: Eddo46
from cheshire,Ct.
"Have used these waders several times now and they are the best thing waders themselves are awesome in that they have hand warmer pockets,a dry pouch,and plenty of room."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy these waders,
May 10, 2015
from Newfoundland, Canada
"Bought them before Christmas. Wore them three days in a row this week. Just buy these waders. I love them, and you will too"
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, delivered on time!,
April 23, 2015
By: Gator63
from Waverley, Nova Scotia
"Great waders....front zipper is the key.
Where I fish in northern peninsula of Newfoundland as well as in Labrador, the norm is long hikes (2 hours plus) to get to our preferred spots. The zipper front waders are perfect for ventilation on these long hikes.
Also greatly appreciated when nature calls.
These waders are perfect at half the the price of Simms, with all the quality. Only unknown is will they last the test of time and the punishment of several seasons.
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simply the best waders,
March 31, 2015
By: Joer22
from NY
"I'm very happy with my purchase this wader fits me perfect very high quality the best wader in the market."
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders,
March 28, 2015
By: Vadims
from Hastings
"Bought them few weeks ago, and was tried only today, fit very well, nice fabric,soft and well made, inside waterproof pocket... Great zipper and two pockets...Recommended for everyone"
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Wader I Have,
March 26, 2015
By: MarceGaby
from Buenos Aires, Argentina
"Excellent product. Confortable. Very good design of the pockets"
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable,
March 24, 2015
By: ptgram51
from New Haven, CT
"I haven't waded with these yet but they are very comfortable dry. The zipper feature makes them go on and off easily.they seem well constructed, and lots of pockets are a plus."
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for a great price,
February 5, 2015
By: AZvol
from Scottsdale, AZ
"Comfortable fit, easy to get on and off with zipper. I recommend these waders for the experienced or novice fisherman."
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Designed Waders,
January 11, 2015
By: SeaMonkey84
from Yelm, WA
"These waders were a great holiday gift from my wife and I cannot say enough about them. I upgraded to these from a set of the G3 Simms Goretex waders and I must say it is quite the upgrade. The front zip makes in and out easy as well as answering nature's call. Like all waders they do need a good fleece liner when let's say winter steelheading, but all-in-all I am pleased. They are well constructed and highly breathable. The waders allow a great range of motion and the dry pocket on the inside is great for a phone, wallet or license. Great product!"
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good quality and details - if they fit,
January 8, 2015
By: chartreuseshrimp
from Day, CA
"These zip front waders seem to be very good quality and a good price... the Zipper is a nice feature. But finding waders that fit in all dimensions can be a challenge for me (and I am not unusually proportioned). Had to turn these back in unused. None of the available sizes fit me - I tried them all...not the wader's fault. If Orvis could offer it in a wider range of inseam/boot combinations, guys like me would appreciate it a lot."