Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Zippered Waders

Our most technologically advanced wader is now available as a zip front wader. Silver Sonic Zippered Waders feature a full-length front zipper and are made of the same lightweight and durable 4-layer nylon fabric as our original Pack and Travel waders. Constructed with the patented Orvis SonicSeam® sonic-weld technology, all thread and stitch holes have been eliminated, with seams double reinforced. The front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out front pocket can hold cameras or fishing licenses. Zippered hand warmer pockets keep fingers out of the cold, and can double as additional storage space. Self-fabric gravel guards with a quick-drain panel keep you moving. Anatomically correct, sculpted neoprene booties with rubberized lining on neoprene seams. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Easy adjusting wader belt included. Zippered Waders in overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
60 of 63(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost Perfect,
May 21, 2015
By: Snakebite
"I was somewhat suspicious of waders that have a front fly and might not hold the chilling waters of New England at bay, but so far all tests that I've put it through it has scored well. Unfortunately I have a slight complaint about the wader's design, specifically on the sole of the neoprene bootie. Putting on and off waders is one of the annoying things a fly fisher has to do. So why in the world did you put "non-skid" rubberized strips of nipples across the sole that makes slipping the bootie into the wading boot a literal pain in the toes. The bootie nipples grab the sole of the wading boot on the way in resulting in the toe of the bootie curling under the foot, jamming the toes until such time as you can hobble to the river to let water in which allows the toe of the bootie to slip free and settle naturally. Really very annoying, but otherwise the wader is terrific and (ahem) provides "full service" to your every wading needs. :-)"
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy this!,
May 19, 2015
By: Eddo46
from cheshire,Ct.
"Have used these waders several times now and they are the best thing waders themselves are awesome in that they have hand warmer pockets,a dry pouch,and plenty of room."
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy these waders,
May 10, 2015
By: QKSLVR
from Newfoundland, Canada
"Bought them before Christmas. Wore them three days in a row this week. Just buy these waders. I love them, and you will too"
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, delivered on time!,
April 23, 2015
By: Gator63
from Waverley, Nova Scotia
"Great waders....front zipper is the key.
Where I fish in northern peninsula of Newfoundland as well as in Labrador, the norm is long hikes (2 hours plus) to get to our preferred spots. The zipper front waders are perfect for ventilation on these long hikes.
Also greatly appreciated when nature calls.
These waders are perfect at half the the price of Simms, with all the quality. Only unknown is will they last the test of time and the punishment of several seasons.
"
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simply the best waders,
March 31, 2015
By: Joer22
from NY
"I'm very happy with my purchase this wader fits me perfect very high quality the best wader in the market."
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders,
March 28, 2015
By: Vadims
from Hastings
"Bought them few weeks ago, and was tried only today, fit very well, nice fabric,soft and well made, inside waterproof pocket... Great zipper and two pockets...Recommended for everyone"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Wader I Have,
March 26, 2015
By: MarceGaby
from Buenos Aires, Argentina
"Excellent product. Confortable. Very good design of the pockets"
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable,
March 24, 2015
By: ptgram51
from New Haven, CT
"I haven't waded with these yet but they are very comfortable dry. The zipper feature makes them go on and off easily.they seem well constructed, and lots of pockets are a plus."
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders for a great price,
February 5, 2015
By: AZvol
from Scottsdale, AZ
"Comfortable fit, easy to get on and off with zipper. I recommend these waders for the experienced or novice fisherman."
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Designed Waders,
January 11, 2015
By: SeaMonkey84
from Yelm, WA
"These waders were a great holiday gift from my wife and I cannot say enough about them. I upgraded to these from a set of the G3 Simms Goretex waders and I must say it is quite the upgrade. The front zip makes in and out easy as well as answering nature's call. Like all waders they do need a good fleece liner when let's say winter steelheading, but all-in-all I am pleased. They are well constructed and highly breathable. The waders allow a great range of motion and the dry pocket on the inside is great for a phone, wallet or license. Great product!"
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good quality and details - if they fit,
January 8, 2015
By: chartreuseshrimp
from Day, CA
"These zip front waders seem to be very good quality and a good price... the Zipper is a nice feature. But finding waders that fit in all dimensions can be a challenge for me (and I am not unusually proportioned). Had to turn these back in unused. None of the available sizes fit me - I tried them all...not the wader's fault. If Orvis could offer it in a wider range of inseam/boot combinations, guys like me would appreciate it a lot."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders!!!,
January 5, 2015
By: Yettco
from Minneapolis, MN
"I was a little worried at first because in the past Orvis Products have run a little big on me. I am 6 foot two 230 pounds. I called customer service and gave them my measurements they were right on the money when they said I would be fine with an XL. I got them and they are the best waiters I have ever purchased. Very lightweight and well constructed. I cannot wait to get into the water and get some use out of them."
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best for the bucks,
December 31, 2014
By: mickfist
from Boston MA
"I almost could not tell a diffrence between these and other waders that doubled in price. I'll buy these again and again. Very comfortable light and easy to move in. Good job orvis."
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zipper waders,
December 15, 2014
By: maistro45
from Jacksonville, AR
"The waders looks like the very wader I need but they are for Christmas so I have not used them."
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
December 12, 2014
By: Drifter98502
from Washington
"My old waders finally gave out so I took to the net for several days of reading reviews and product tests of these particular waders. I was very hesitant to order online due to sizing, I spoke with an orvis rep and gave them my measurements and they assured me they would fit, and they sure did! Orvis definitely makes their waders true to size. only been out a few times with them so far but they are amazing...definitely would suggest them."
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I've owned,
December 6, 2014
By: BriDBro
from Georgia
"They are the most comfortable, practical, and well thought out waders I have ever owned. The quality is top notch. Zip them open when it's warm from hiking or when needed. They are easy to put on also. I will buy them again when they wear out."
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SS zippered waders,
November 29, 2014
By: flingafly
from Nazareth, PA
"I only used these waders 1 time since I received them. I had some reservations about the zipper and pockets because they do stiffen the front of the waders but after they were on, I was able to fish with no problems.
My only problem was sizing. I used the size chart but I had to return the first pair because they were to large.
"
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Waders!,
November 29, 2014
By: Macado
from Blue ridge mountains, NC
"These fit very well (my old waders didn't), they do not leak and they are still comfortable at the end of the day. Customer service in trying different sizes until I found the right size for a short, fat man was excellent. I recommend them."
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
November 16, 2014
By: Mickgormley69
"The length of the wader is perfect for my hight, but when I try to put my wading boots on, there is not sufficient room in the knee area to bend my knee area ?"
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
November 5, 2014
By: bmacsi
from Manheim, PA
"This is the first pair of waders that I've ever owned. I've always had rubber hip boots but a friend of mine finally talked me into buying a pair. After talking with an outfitter I felt confident that I was making a good decision. The first time I used them was an eye opener. They were super comfortable and I no longer had to worry about how deep the stream was."