Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Zippered Waders

Our most technologically advanced wader is now available as a zip front wader. Silver Sonic Zippered Waders feature a full-length front zipper and are made of the same lightweight and durable 4-layer nylon fabric as our original Pack and Travel waders. Constructed with the patented Orvis SonicSeam® sonic-weld technology, all thread and stitch holes have been eliminated, with seams double reinforced. The front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out front pocket can hold cameras or fishing licenses. Zippered hand warmer pockets keep fingers out of the cold, and can double as additional storage space. Self-fabric gravel guards with a quick-drain panel keep you moving. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Easy adjusting wader belt included. Zippered Waders in overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Summer Waders,
September 2, 2014
By: WANAFSH
from Midwest Trout
"I bought these waders as a back up pair to my Sonic Guide Waders. I fish 2-5 days a week and in the Summer months the zipper front is great to unzip and cool off. The 4 zipper pockets work well for easy access of phone, fly boxes etc. when you go lite. I do wish they had a D ring on the back for your net. The big test will be this fall for Steelhead. The snap flap on the top works well for the Orvis clip zinger for my forceps."
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wader's,
September 2, 2014
By: Rick4HisGlory
from Albuquerque,N.M.
"Got to use my new waders last month(August). Very nice fit. I bought the large and close to the end fit range and still fit good. The zippered pocket's were nice warm and protective of valuables. But the zippered front was most enjoyable. Aug. was very hot and I just left the front zipper undone so a cool Aug breeze flowed in and down through my waders keeping me very comfortable. I also like the travel bag for carrying them down to the river. I could carry it over my shoulder or easily in my backpack. Thank-you Orvis. I think I will enjoy these wader's for many season's to come. Rick"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the zipper!,
September 2, 2014
By: RW41
from Oklahoma
"Was always pretty weary about buying zippered waders, but these dudes are the real deal! Have had them chest high on 3 different trips(Ok,Ak,Co) so far & not a drop, plus the ease of "releaving" myself when needing to go. Super easy on/off, no need to ever be messing w shoulder straps. Love'm. A+. Thx Orvis!"
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably the best waders I've ever had,
August 28, 2014
By: Philor
from North East England
"These zippered waders are my first pair with a zip. I've had multiple waders before, and Orvis have been the best. These are the best of the best. Much easier to get on and off than any others, comfortable, useful pockets. And they don't leak! Very very satisfied with these, and I shan't be looking anywhere else for waders in the future."
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits advertised,
August 27, 2014
By: 1Steve3
from Colorado
"Have not had them in the water yet. I have tried them on few times. I' m pleased thus far."
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Sonic's,
August 26, 2014
By: JackLaw
from Pittsburgh, PA
"They are very light, fit very well and have easy on and off, very much appreciated after a hard day of fly fishing. Enjoyable"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As Expected!!!,
August 26, 2014
By: Skidad8
from North NJ
"Ease of shopping and delivery outstanding. Overall finish and detail at a high standard as expected from an Orvis product.
Odd body shape (5" 10" with long torso and "shortish" legs/inseam) influenced decision to try an XL Short ---- Good sizing on the booties and leg length is very satisfying. Upper body section allows for AMPLE room and cold weather layering. Zipper feature a pleasure to get on and off comfortably. Chest area outer pockets a bonus for easy access.
Overall very satisfied with the product.
"
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice wader,
August 19, 2014
By: Bear72
from Pennsylvania
"This is my first pair of Orvis waders and so far they are the most comfortable I've owned. I hope they make it longer than the Simms g3 that only lasted me 15 months"
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
August 8, 2014
By: Lefthandmatt
"Awesome product. The sizing was a little weird for for me. Turns out i am in-between sizes on the chart...who knew? Product is exactly as advertised. Good luck all and have a great fishing year!"
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I've owned,
August 6, 2014
By: Jimmy7777
from Knoxville, Tn
"I've worn these several times now, and am very pleased. They are a pleasure to wear. The zipper is perfect for me and my small bladder. I love even keeping it open in the hot weather for some additional ventilation, yet the waders are extremely breathable. I haven't been hot in them yet while fishing mainly during mid-days in 90 degree East Tennessee weather. They are very lightweight. I love the fit in the boots also, with the stockings being cut specifically for the right/left foot.
3 of my buddies have waders from other makers. Theirs cost 2-3 times more. I love telling them how much these Orvis' cost.
I love the fit also. I am 5'9" and got a large regular. The waders come comfortably up to my arm pits.
My first pair of breathable waders(bought in the mid 1990s) was the least inexpensive pair Orvis had. And, they lasted for a good 10 years while being but to the test. I then went through 3 cheap pairs of other brands, all leaking after 1-3 uses.
I am now an Orvis man. The company is a founder in fly fishing equipment and apparel, and a steward of the great outdoors. I have a Orvis reel now, and hope to eventually get one of their rods.
I can't wait to put these waders on this weekend.
"
Review 11 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finally I've got a waders leakproof!!!,
August 6, 2014
By: thesmartfish
from Venice, Italy
"after years repairing leaking waders, I found the ones! great gear and I am sure it will last for years to come. Thank you Orvis, as usual you have my patronage."
Review 12 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 28, 2014
By: jamesypk
"Comfortable, excellent quality and looking forward to years of fishing while wearing them."
Review 13 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great improvement,
July 15, 2014
By: rosuzasfr
from Stockton, ca
"looked at all zipper type waders and end up buying Silver sonic model. the fit was what I was after meanly in the boots . I have a size 12 1/2 foot and the boots fit was excellent with room for my winter sox's. Orvis comes through again as with all there products."
Review 14 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally...a really good wader!,
June 18, 2014
By: Josh54
from Colorado Rockies
"This is not my first pair of waders but they are my first Orvis waders. I am not easy to fit but I stepped into a perfect fit the first time. I fished these today for the first time and what a great experience. This has changed my entire outlook on fishing. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 15 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome,
May 28, 2014
By: JLflyfishers2
from MIichigan
"well I have not had the chance to get them out on the river YET IT WILL BE SOON. But what I can say is I have looked around a lot for waders checked them all out I'm a short man and a big man not easy to find waders that you can just order and fit but I got the XXL short and they fit perfect inseam sock boots everything nice fit and very comfortable I would just like to say THANK YOU ORVIS for thinking about the short big guys out hear."
Review 16 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The sonic difference!,
May 23, 2014
By: wishnIwasfishn
from Natchez ms
"I'm an Orvis fan, it's true. But,. I say it's about time they offered a better solution to the stitched waders of the past. The Silver Sonic waders are the very best Orvis waders I've owned over the last 12 years and I have 3 others, 2 that leak. As for the fit, well they're waders and i can't complain. Mine are LS and are a little big but I'll be glad they are this winter. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 17 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zippered Waders,
May 4, 2014
By: GAHooch
from Roswell, GA
"Bought the waders about 6 months ago and have used them about 8 times. The waders are terrific, but I should have ordered one size smaller (large rather than extra large). The booties are too big and bunch up in my wading boots. After walking and wading all day, I have gotten a blister or two on a couple of occasions. My fault though - next time I will try on with my boots before I purchase."
Review 18 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
becoming hooked,
April 30, 2014
By: Firecarpenter
from New York City
"I bought the waders after Orvis' 2-day flyfishing school, gearing up for a new passion. Excellent feel and fit. As a tradesman, I appreciate good tools, Orvis' delivers on quality."
Review 19 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waders,
April 19, 2014
By: gillesmalboeuf
from Montréal, Qc Canada
"The water does not come up between boots and the wader ?"
Review 20 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent waders,
April 15, 2014
By: Silverrun
"My last pair of Orvis (the old bootfoot hiking waders) finally gave up after 11 seasons so I picked up a pair of Silver Sonic Zippered for my recent trip to the Spey in Scotland. I am very impressed.
The fit (thanks to a very prompt and accurate answer to a sizing query to Orvis UK) is very comfortable in both the leg and chest department . The chest pockets take fly boxes and the few other sundries required by a roving salmon rod without leaving great bulges, and all the zips worked perfectly. The neoprene feet leave plenty of room for my size 11s (my waders are large/long). Am loving the front zip as it makes life so much easier when taking them on/off and when making a comfort stop in the bushes!
I would say Orvis are doing us a great favour by selling such high quality waders at a lot less than some of their competitors - you know who they are ;)"