Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silver Sonic Zippered Waders

Our most technologically advanced wader is now available as a zip front wader. Silver Sonic Zippered Waders feature a full-length front zipper and are made of the same lightweight and durable 4-layer nylon fabric as our original Pack and Travel waders. Constructed with the patented Orvis SonicSeam® sonic-weld technology, all thread and stitch holes have been eliminated, with seams double reinforced. The front zippered pocket is highly water resistant and an ideal storage place for fly boxes, while a flip-out front pocket can hold cameras or fishing licenses. Zippered hand warmer pockets keep fingers out of the cold, and can double as additional storage space. Self-fabric gravel guards with a quick-drain panel keep you moving. Strategically placed lower leg seams run up the back of the wader, reducing abrasion. Easy adjusting wader belt included. Zippered Waders in overcast/taupe. Outer shell: 100% nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Review 1 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waders,
April 19, 2014
By: gillesmalboeuf
from Montréal, Qc Canada
"The water does not come up between boots and the wader ?"
Review 2 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent waders,
April 15, 2014
By: Silverrun
"My last pair of Orvis (the old bootfoot hiking waders) finally gave up after 11 seasons so I picked up a pair of Silver Sonic Zippered for my recent trip to the Spey in Scotland. I am very impressed.
The fit (thanks to a very prompt and accurate answer to a sizing query to Orvis UK) is very comfortable in both the leg and chest department . The chest pockets take fly boxes and the few other sundries required by a roving salmon rod without leaving great bulges, and all the zips worked perfectly. The neoprene feet leave plenty of room for my size 11s (my waders are large/long). Am loving the front zip as it makes life so much easier when taking them on/off and when making a comfort stop in the bushes!
I would say Orvis are doing us a great favour by selling such high quality waders at a lot less than some of their competitors - you know who they are ;)"
Review 3 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Needs Work,
February 9, 2014
By: OldTimer76
from Yorktown, VA, USA
"Purchased these waders to replace my Pack & Travel waders.
Sizing was good, except the booties. Right bootie had too much excess material to be comfortable.
Returned, hope Orvis solves this problem.
"
Review 4 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Silver Sonic Zip Front,
October 31, 2013
By: disABEL
from Pottsville,Pa
"I would of given 5 stars but $395.. just a little high for these waders!!
$345 would have been perfect. But it still beats Simms G4 $800 and the new G3 NO ZIP $500 price tag buy a landslide...Thank You Orvis for keeping us fisherman on a budget in mind...i'm sure Orvis will be rewarded in the long run...I will be purchasing a new pair of your waders!!! Thank You Again!
"
Review 5 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kinda Disappointed,
October 27, 2013
By: TroutBuddy
from LaCrosse WI
"For all the hype and the FOREVER waiting for this product to be introduced it was a little underwhelming…
First let me say that I have owned Orvis waders for many years --- and enjoy Orvis products.
These have many wonderful innovations like great waterproof pockets and a nice easy to use zipper front which is awesome for putting on and taking off. But I have two major issues here.
1) I wear an XL short and have in all of my Orvis waders to date - the booty in these is markedly larger than my previous waders and I consider them to be oversized. YET the fitting guide stayed the same. For a guy that wears a size 10 shoe it is WAY to big and becomes bulky near the heel.
2) They are WARM --- mainly because they go up so high… the zipper allows for some venting. They will be great for about 8 months a year fishing in Wisconsin and Iowa but the summer is going to be tough.
Orvis needs to offer a wading PANT in the same product in a full run of sizes and quit discriminating against us short fat guys --- (grin)
Before buying --- consider the convertible model. In the long run it might have been a better choice for me and year round stream fishing here in the Driftless."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Am I wearing waders?,
October 20, 2013
By: LOAH
from Trout Land - Utah
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"These waders are so comfortable that I forget I'm wearing them. I could leave them on for a three hour drive home and hardly notice.
Most importantly, they kept me as dry as can be, the fit was great, and that main zipper is incredibly convenient for a hurried guy that's been holding his bladder on a float tube for a few hours.
Big thumbs up for their first trip out. Hopefully they'll remain free from leaks and withstand the punishment that hard fishing can dish out.
Great job, Orvis!"
Review 7 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Silver Sonic Waders,
October 16, 2013
By: gonfishn
from Western Pa.
"Over all a very good wader . I purchased the large short , but now I wish I would have gotten the Med. short. I think I still would have enough room for the warm clothes under the medium for cold weather fishing.The one bad thing so far(3rd trip out) , the pull tab on the zipper came off in my hand. Lucky enough the zipper worked by pulling it down and up with my fingers. My opinion it looks like a weak link in the wader. Needs to be metal not plastic."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Sonic Zipper Wader,
September 18, 2013
By: Bob7X
from Ridgefield, CT
"Found them to be lighter than my Pro Guides and more flexible.
Booties were larger than the PG and length of wader a little taller.
Zipper is most helpful in getting in and out of the wader especially as the wader is a little taller.
So far they are great and only time will tell how long they last and whether the zipper will leak or have problems.
As always, the quality is great from Orvis products.
"
Review 9 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Major upgrade,
September 13, 2013
By: oldarmy
from Southern Connecticut
"I have been fly fishing only a few years and not knowing if I would stick with it I purchased the entry level Orvis waders. They where good but the cut was like being in a large bag. THEN the new Silver Sonics (zip front) came out. The zipper I felt would help this old guy get in and out of....YES they do. Also They are not as baggie as the old ones. Much easier to move around in (not dealing with the extra material....GOOD JOB ORVIS"
Review 10 for Silver Sonic Zippered Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, so good!,
September 8, 2013
By: HemiDave
from Texas
"I just picked these up yesterday so this is just my initial impression. I am moving from a pair of the older Orvis Pro Guide 3 waders. The Silver Sonics seem to be a lighter weight material but are supposed to offer the same level of durability...we shall see. The benefit of that is they pack down realy nice and are pretty breathable from what I can tell (still over 100 degrees where I am). The zipper is nice and is not though to zip, so if you have cold fingers this should be a plus. I do wish the zipper was a little bigger but I will add a pull myself for glove purposes. The one thing I asked the rep about was how water proof the zipper really is. I was informed that they were to tell buyers that Orvis cannot guarantee it to be 100% water proof. I get that but it still made me a little hesitant why they were told to say this. The thought from the rep was that if you are chest deep in waters for over an hour you might see a few drops but still am curious to see what happens. The front pockets are nice but wished there was a little more stretch to accommodate bigger fly boxes. The one thing the Orvis rep could not tell me was about the little pin holes in the corners of the hand warmer pockets...I imagine they are to help dry wet pockets when zipped or for drainage. They also look like they could be used to dispense tippet or add tool hangers, which I wish there were a few more hanger options from a minimalist standpoint. The removable waterproof pocket is nice and you can operate a smart phone through it but don't expect clear pictures to be taken through it. The bag is made from a cloudy plastic color and gives you a haze on your pictures. These waders are very comfortable and the new taper on the legs is nice as they don't feel as bulky. The gravel guards are better than my older waders, they seem as if they will stay in place better and the drains are a nice option as well. I do wish they had dual belt loops as I had in my older waders. The belt can only sit in one spot and for me, it sits a little too low and I purchased the longs. I wish I was able to position the belt a bit higher. As far as size goes, they are pretty true. The boots fit really nice but the top of wader is a bit tall on me (and will fit differently for all so try them on). Overall, for the price, I don't think you will find a better quality wader out there and I have been looking at all the big players. Great build (4 stars because I am being just a little picky), great comfort, at an amazing price. Now if they could just catch me more fish...then you would have the mecca of all waders."