Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

FURminator deShedding Tool

A patented grooming tool, the FURminator® deShedding™ Tool quickly, painlessly, and efficiently removes the loose undercoat hair, reducing shedding up to 90%. Uniquely designed with a stainless steel edge that gently pulls away the undercoat without cutting or damaging the topcoat. One-hand operation allows fur to be ejected easily. This FURminator deShedding Tool includes a short-hair version for pets with fur less than 2" long and a long-hair version for pets with fur longer than 2". Vacuum attachment available for S, M, L sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FURminator deShedding Tool
Review 1 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really works,
March 11, 2014
By: JLSB
"I have two German Shepherds and this really works. It is easy to remove the hair from the device and it does get under the top layer of hair leaving their coats free of clumps and shiny."
Review 2 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
February 6, 2014
By: wannabmountaineer
from San Luis Obispo, CA
"This amazing tool has saved me hours of vacuuming up dog hair AND made my little guy look wonderful. I had no idea it was possible to remove so much hair with such ease."
Review 3 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product,
January 27, 2014
By: Jwfish
"We have a sheltie and this is the first brush that has significantly reduced his shedding."
Review 4 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
April 20, 2013
By: Puryear
"This FURminator actually performs better than I expected. I would advise and Lab owner to get one."
Review 5 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Grooming Tool,
March 13, 2013
By: Mom2thePack
from Spartanburg, SC
"Our cat, Colette, absolutely loves her Furminator. We bought the long-haired, small, and it works perfectly on her silky fur. She loves being groomed, and will actually come looking for me to use it on her.
The addition of the little slide that pushes the fur out of the tool's teeth is a nice feature of this model. This tool makes grooming both efficient and fun.
We also have a larger, older model Furminator for Tara, our Black Lab Mix, and although she's not as enthusiastic about the whole grooming process as Mademoiselle Colette is, it gets the job done. ;-)
Highly recommended for anyone with shedding pets!"
Review 6 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best de-shedding tool ever,
January 14, 2013
By: Ninz
from Jericho , NY
"I am so happy with the FURminator deShedder! I don't like using a rake because the fur gets all over the place. With this tool, the fur gets grabbed and you release it into a bag or a nice pile."
Review 7 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth Every Penny,
December 31, 2012
By: GoldieU
from Concord, MA
"The Furminator is the best thing I've found for shedding out the undercoat, while not hurting the dog's skin. It slides along the body easily. The ejector button makes cleaning the tool quick. The fur clumps making it easy to discard the hair."
Review 8 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
furminator de shedding tool,
December 28, 2012
By: budmerr
from Franklin,TN
"It item worked as advertised. My dog likes the vacuum anyway and less mess than the original furminator. The only problem with the device is connection to the vacuum handle not so bad as to detract from the device or its use."
Review 9 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dog fur hoover,
December 7, 2012
By: bentham
from Essex
"I bought a short haired furminator for my beagle with the vacuum attachment. I was being driven demented by the dog lovable though he is - shedding hair everywhere. I was concerned that the vacuum attachment would not fit the furminator properly. It was not obvious when it was still inside the packaging. A quick call to Orvis customer support and they were willing to make investigations and sent me a free post returns bag just in case. However the following day the specially designed hoover attachment arrived and I immediately secured one end to the furminator and the other to the hoover. Eureka - this product actually works. A few mins a day hoovering my beagle has saved me hours hoovering the house."
Review 10 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not in my house,
December 5, 2012
By: DignityDog
from Alexandria, VA
"I am a black spaniel mix and my human says I shed --She always brushed me but now that she is using this furminator thing , she is much happier. Apparently I am not leaving tufts of fur around the house. I particularly like the way this brush feels when my lower back is being brushed."
Review 11 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
December 4, 2012
By: SirHenry
"I bought this tool for a shorthair cat that sheds a lot. I have tried several other types of combs on the market, but nothing removes as much fur and as quickly as this. I would absolutely recommend this."
Review 12 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Furminator With Vacuum,
September 19, 2012
By: buckyguerra
from 91791
"I own several Furminators and am glad I added the vacuum attachable Furminator because it is the best I have ever used. Works great! The only flaw is the too small velcro strip used to hold the Furminator to the vacuum; it falls off easily when brushing my long haired dog. I had to secure the Furminator to the vacuum with plastic electrical tape."
Review 13 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the end all brush,
August 20, 2012
By: Puchetta
"Have 3 dogs 2 long hair 1 short. This is a good brush for the undercoat but not worth the price at all. The simple wire brush works much better. I would say the Furminator is a decent brush for the undercoat but is more of a compliment to a decent wire brush. All my dogs did not like it very well either. I was very gentle and they squirmed pretty good. Over priced and just an OK brush."