Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

English Shepherd's Crewneck

Give him a sweater to reach for on those blustery winter days. A rustic yet refined take on the classic crewneck, this handsome sweater is as comfortable as it is easy to wear, thanks to a flexible rib stitch and traditional raglan shoulder construction. It also sports suede cowhide-leather shoulder patches for added durability and abrasion resistance. Ribbed cuffs and hem. Men's crewneck pullover sweater in oatmeal. Pure wool. Washable. UK. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Review 1 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my favorites,
April 5, 2014
By: JDOK
from Oklahoma
"Fit is very good, medium for 5'8", 155. Warm, good quality and looks great with jeans or office casual. Color is exactly as pictured."
Review 2 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shepherd's Sweater,
February 24, 2014
By: Wally1756
from Dallas, TX
"Love it! More importantly, my wife thinks it is really cool too!"
Review 3 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great,
February 13, 2014
By: Kbob
from Baltimore md
"I really like. It's wArm without being bulky and it has a nice smooth feel, not itchy like a lot of wool products. Just what I needed to layer under a nylon shell to stay warm and dry"
Review 4 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
January 27, 2014
By: BobdD
from San Diego
"This sweater is not only very stylish but very warm as well. The sweater runs on the small side and I ordered a large size and it fits me well."
Review 5 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality,
January 15, 2014
By: garheart
from very cold Minnesota
"after a number of uses the sweater held its new look, seriously warm!!."
Review 6 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fine sweater.,
January 9, 2014
By: truefit
from New Jersey
"Great looking and full fit.
And NOT made in China!"
Review 7 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real English Wool!,
January 6, 2014
By: englishshepherd
from Ohio
"There is no wool like wool from the U.K. And there are no sweaters finer than sweaters made in the U.K. If you truly appreciate the best in woolen goods then you will not be disappointed by the English Shepherd's Crewneck. There is not a single thing about this sweater that I do not love. The heavy knit, the color, the weight, the fit, all of it are just as I wanted and expected. Frankly, if I could wear this sweater everyday, I would. With so many woolen sweaters in the market place that are manufactured elsewhere, I jumped at the chance to buy an English wool sweater, made by a known, high standard company. Just simply a really great sweater."
Review 8 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
January 4, 2014
By: NewEnglandNative
"Wool was itchy. Good fit, if you like a 'fitted' sweater. My main complaint was the color and amount of suede on the shoulders -- light color, looked feminine. Returned."
Review 9 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality sweater,
December 21, 2013
By: RDTYUS
from Montgomery, Alabama
"This sweater fit as I had hoped it would. I wear a medium but at times with sweaters I have issues with sleeve length. This is a very nicely made item and looks great."
Review 10 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attention-Getting Sweater,
December 6, 2013
By: JazzyJeff
from Omaha, NE
"I am an athletic built man with broad shoulders. I initially balked at this sweater because of the price, but then I told myself, "You only live once." I knew this sweater would last a good long time as long as I don't pick up my cat while wearing it. Yes, real men love cats. The first time I put it on and looked in the mirror, I thought, "Well, now, that's a fine looking man in a classy sweater." Fits me beautifully. I wear XL and the size was spot-on. Rugged and handsome - and even more-so wearing this sweater. Treat yourself, gentlemen."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase,
January 28, 2013
By: James1952
"Very nice material... but make sure you check the size since the shoulder pads can change the way it fits depending on shoulder size"
Review 12 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
January 17, 2013
By: Matou
from San Francisco, CA
"very pleasant to wear: the shape is flattering (not at all bulky like a lot of sweatshirts), the color is elegant and the quality of the wool very british.
Anyway this sweater is very successful since we waited so long before receiving it.
"
Review 13 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite sweater,
January 6, 2013
By: spartacus72
from Richmond, VA
"This sweater is very comfortable and warm. It wears well with blue jeans for a casual look. The fit is comfortable, but slightly snug. The cut allows plenty of shoulder movement, even for big shouldered men. I am very pleased with this product."
Review 14 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater I have,
January 5, 2013
By: 322rtrg
from La Canada, CA
"First all wool sweater I have owned.
The style, with the shoulder and el-
bow patches is great. I have receiv-
ed several compliments when I wear
it.
"
Review 15 for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice sweater,
November 17, 2012
By: gregm
"Sweater runs very large. Returned for size small and it still was too big. Had to return again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for English Shepherd's Crewneck
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1