Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Frontier Vest

Add just the right amount of warmth without adding bulk. Our lightly quilted vest is tailored from a smooth twill fabric and is detailed with contrasting trim. Fully lined for a comfortable fit, the five-button front secures with antiqued nickel buttons. Quilted vest for men in hunter green. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40); about 26" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frontier Vest
Review 1 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite every day vest,
January 16, 2014
By: Tyson
from North Lawrence , ohio
"It's very difficult to find a vest that you can layer with a jacket and not be too hot or bulky. This vest is a one if a kind - wish I could find more of the same. I have a CCW license and it's hard to find a vest that is long enough to conceal. I'd recommend it to anyone with a CCW."
Review 2 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Orvis Quality,
January 15, 2014
By: Mikul
from Cape May, NJ
"Product is as described. It is well made and attractive. Great with jeans or chinos. Great addition to my wardrobe."
Review 3 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sharp Looking; runs small.,
December 8, 2013
By: kjun
from Ohio
"It's a handsome vest and well-made. Slightly shiny and darker than online pic--tho a casual vibe. I am a true medium (38" chest/34" waist/ 5'7"). I couldn't button it closed...by about 3" inches. Vest is sized for the skinny/slender profiles. Returned for refund because sizing up would have the vest hang too long my frame. Don't like returning stuff but sizing seems to run a broader spectrum these days. Orvis apparel in medium has historically fit me just fine."
Review 4 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Nice vest, Slim!",
September 14, 2013
By: ranchvest
from Santa Fe, NM
"The Frontier Vest is a beautifully made, functional, tight-fitting vest. Unless you are quite slim, order the next larger size. A couple of other reviewers mention this and it is true. Beyond that, the item is a real prize and the metal buttons add a distinctive touch. Pockets are deep, it's not too heavy and it is generally on the dressey side. You'll love it!"
Review 5 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shinier than Pictured,
September 13, 2013
By: Utahman
from Utah
"It's hard to score an item I returned. I'll give this a 5 because it has typical Orvis quality. As another reviewer stated, it is shinier than it appears in the picture. For my purposes, that was a deal killer, but it is a nice vest. I wanted a casual vest that I could throw over a flannel shirt--The "quilted dress vest" currently being offered turned out to be just what I was looking for in case you're interested. I also want to mention that it runs true to size (compared to eight other vests I own). I ordered a size up based on another review and that was a mistake."
Review 6 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 10, 2013
By: Phud
from Lancashire
"Excellent waistcoat, excellent fit,excellent colour. Product marred because the lining of 0ne of the lower pockets was ripped from top to bottom"
Review 7 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Frontier Vest"...wait and see,
September 9, 2013
By: BuckNekkid
from Central Coast of CA
"This vest was on backorder for two months before I received it. Overall it was worth the wait.
Why not 5 stars? The button holes on my vest were slightly too small for the metal buttons. A quick, short cut with my pocket knife and they work fine. It doestn't look as tho any damage was caused...but we shall see...
Other wise, I really do like the styling, the weight of the materiel, color, the pockets..."
Review 8 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not worth $129.00,
March 13, 2013
By: Basenji
"Vest fit swell, but material is shinier then the picture shows. It just seems cheap. Fabric is thin and flimsy and not really worth the price charged."
Review 9 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
November 14, 2012
By: eldorado1951
from Minnesota
"ordered on short notice got it in time for trip to France, Looked good all 10 days that I wore it, but I have never been disappointed with Orvis"
Review 10 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waistcoat,
November 8, 2012
By: bdl25
from Tunbridge Wells
"The medium was too small but the large fits perfectly. Great on it's own or under a coat. Very warm in the cold weather. Useful pockets, 3 outside and one inside."
Review 11 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too busy to resew buttons,
October 23, 2012
By: Bocephus
from Milan, TN.
"The title says it all.
The first time i put the vest on one of the buttons came off. In checking I found the others were very loose.
Nice vest for the price but I don't keep a seamtress on staff.
"
Review 12 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vest,
October 8, 2012
By: Beatle
from internet purchase
"Love the quilted casual vest. Great fit and as practicle as a vest can be. Tried to buy the vest a few times but was always unable to find out if it had interior pockets. It did. the 3 front pockets are roomy and able to carry good sized objects and the interior pocket is just right for my 12 card Orvis wallet. All vests should be based on this items features!!!"
Review 13 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice,
October 8, 2012
By: dinhr
"I like this vest. I'm not to keen on the satin lining though, I don't think the satin holds up well, some kind of cotton blend would be better. If it had that, I'd give it 5 stars"
Review 14 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trust the colors,
September 24, 2012
By: Jakes
from Hollywood, CA
"You can't always trust the colors you see on your computer screen, but this turned out exactly as I wished. The subdued blue and brown trim are very much in my taste range. The quality is great and this is a garment that can be worn with pride. But, I have a problem with it. Though it's my usual size, medium, it's tight in the chest. Don't know whether to exchange it or have a tailor let it out. Pondering."
Review 15 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beware of the sizing.,
September 12, 2012
By: Gus2818
from Stockport, England.
"I've been waiting for a waistcoat like this; it can be worn instead of a cardigan inside or backup, on cold days outside.
Quality is spot on BUT be aware that you need to order a size larger than normal, if youv'e bought from Orvis before.
I have 2 other waistcoats, material and leather, and XL fits perfectly. This one had to be exchanged for an XXL, it's very tight fitting.
"
Review 16 for Frontier Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usual high standard,
September 8, 2012
By: chester55
from Yorkshire
"Ideal for purpose and quality just as expected from Orvis"