Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Explorer Coat

With its field coat length and insulated quilted lining, this is a coat that'll keep you warm and comfortable from autumn through winter. Highlighted by a leather-trimmed collar and twill elbow patches, it features two handwarmer pockets, two lower bellows pockets with flaps and reverse pleats for added storage. Full front center zip with snap-closed storm flap. Two interior pockets, locker loop. Men's wool coat in charcoal. Wool/polyester. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 33" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
36 of 40(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Explorer Coat
Review 1 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just ok,
March 31, 2015
By: P2404
from MN
"It's an ok coat, but nothing great. Bigger fit which s nice for going over sweaters, etc. the "leather" trim is not great."
Review 2 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality & Beauty,
February 16, 2015
By: FrTom
from Lookout Mountain, GA
"Very handsome, well-made. Perfect for me. Very pleased with the coat and with Orvis - great customer service."
Review 3 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks great & very well made,
February 16, 2015
By: BilJones
from Cleveland OH
"The dark leather trim along with the sturdy wool, and most of all insulation inside, make this a very versatile, almost sports coat-like jacket. I find myself wearing it our far more than my insulated Patagonia jackets."
Review 4 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Coat,
February 7, 2015
By: mjwalldo
"I can't say how awesome this coat is! The fit is fantastic and spot on. The coat is very stylish and incredibly warm for the weight. I would definitely say don't hesitate, buy it. Great Value for the price!"
Review 5 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
January 19, 2015
By: Noel1223
from Colorado
"My husband loves this jacket. He says it's quite warm when wearing over a sweater - also very comfortable. Warmth is important since we live in the mountains."
Review 6 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Barn Coat,
January 6, 2015
By: WBCL
from Sapphire, NC
"Got lots of complements from strangers the first time I wore it. Very comfortable."
Review 7 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 6, 2015
By: Tremblant
from Connecticut
"I gave this jacket to my husband for Christmas and he really likes it! It's very stylish looking and is a great fit ... We did go a size larger to get the extra sleeve length but he is a 'long' in sport coat sizing. Overall, it was a very successful gift!"
Review 8 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice business casual coat,
December 30, 2014
By: Beachgirl62
"Nicely made, I like the leather trim, style and lining. If I could change anything, I'd make the wool a better quality-- its a little rough and oddly wrinkles... Would like to see a softer wool with more body. Runs true to size."
Review 9 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
step back in time,
December 26, 2014
By: attila380
"this is a well made and thought out, jacket for an out-door type of mixed interests,very reminisent of coats made for hunting and mountaineering in the 1930-1960 period before hi-tec and gortex,changed the world.I love it."
Review 10 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Quality - Always,
December 25, 2014
By: FrTom
from Lookout Mountain, GA
"As usual, very well-made and very handsome. For me, a perfect medium-weight that I'll wear on all but the most brutal winter days here on beautiful Lookout Mountain."
Review 11 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm coat,
December 12, 2014
By: MurphysMom1
from South Carolina
"It's warm, comfortable.
Problem: the zipper is difficult to engage."
Review 12 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oh my!,
December 9, 2014
By: bigocean
from Concord, NH
"Orvis makes some of the best jackets available on the market today. They're expensive (but you already know that) and I can't really afford most of them...and those are the ones I really want of course. So I purchased this jacket/coat in hopes of falling in love....and I nearly did, but I'm holding out for what I'd really like to own...and that may take some time. I was looking for a dressy casual everyday jacket and this jacket fits the bill. But sometimes compromise is difficult to accept and at times one needs to wait and acquire the cat's meow. I'm in that camp at the moment."
Review 13 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice coat!,
December 7, 2014
By: GoodVibes
from CT
"I had my eye on this coat for a while and finally ordered one. I'm very happy with it - very well made. I'm a size 38 and the Medium is just a little big, but OK for a Winter coat. It's probably a better fit for a size 40 person. Plenty of useful pockets which you can access even with gloves on. Give it a try..."
Review 14 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
4th time is the charm,
December 2, 2014
By: Nimroduno
from Amarillo, TX
"I think I am going to really like this coat because it actually fits. I have sent back 3 coats I had ordered online because they didn't fit. I live in Texas so the weight is good, not too heavy."
Review 15 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Happy with it.,
December 1, 2014
By: WalterDuChat
from Milwaukee, WI
"I needed a fall coat and bought the Country tweed and the Explorer and kept the Explorer. The C Tweed ran a bit small through the back and chest while the explorer fit me just right. Had it on in 18f weather today with a light shirt under and it still kept me warm while running errands. Feels nice and fits well plus being pretty warm.
Really happy with my purchase.
"
Review 16 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Exploere Coat: A Great Coat,
November 28, 2014
By: Mabis
from Suffield, CT
"I've been searching for a medium weight, wool winter coat for some time now. I though I found it earlier in the Country Tweed coat, but eventually decided against it once I tried it on. Fast forward to a few weeks ago and the arrival of my new Explorer Coat. Granted it was a bit of a leap of faith to purchase it without being able to try it on first, but in the end I could not be happier. Fits and feels better than any thing I've purchased in recent memory. The overall quality is readily apparent and in keeping with what I've come to expect from Orvis' men's clothing."
Review 17 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 10, 2014
By: Gavy
"Completely satisfied with this coat, warm, yet not too bulky, well tailored and good looking, and it appears to be durable."
Review 18 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great midweight coat,
January 30, 2014
By: juddwellington
from New York
"I was looking for a wool winter coat that I could wear over layers that did not look either to upscale or look like a work jacket. This fit that requirement perfectly. It is stylish without being too dressy, I easily wear it with jeans. Fit is just right for me, it is relatively light but still warm with an excellent assortment of pockets. If it wears as well as it looks and feels, it will be worth the comparatively high price"
Review 19 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Two Season Coat,
January 21, 2014
By: rancherron
from Durango, CO
"This is a stylish, medium weight coat. I'm 5' 11", 200 pounds and the XL is a perfect fit over a light sweater. The coat is not suitable for winter as the wool is fairly light weight. However, I bought it because of it's styling and versatility in fall and spring and it satisfies those goals perfectly."
Review 20 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat...Too Big...,
January 20, 2014
By: LoriW
from Texas
"Ordered for my son who is an Adult Medium. The coat was way too big. It fit my husband who is XL. Tried to order an Adult Small and that size is not available. My son is not small and was sorry that the coat didn't fit. The salesman said you were going to "standard sizing" next year. Maybe we'll order again later. Other than that...great coat!!"