Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Explorer Coat

With its field coat length and insulated quilted lining, this is a coat that'll keep you warm and comfortable from autumn through winter. Highlighted by a leather-trimmed collar and twill elbow patches, it features two handwarmer pockets, two lower bellows pockets with flaps and reverse pleats for added storage. Full front center zip with snap-closed storm flap. Two interior pockets, locker loop. Men's wool coat in charcoal. Wool/polyester. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 33" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
26 of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Explorer Coat
Review 1 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm coat,
December 12, 2014
By: MurphysMom1
from South Carolina
"It's warm, comfortable.
Problem: the zipper is difficult to engage."
Review 2 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oh my!,
December 9, 2014
By: bigocean
from Concord, NH
"Orvis makes some of the best jackets available on the market today. They're expensive (but you already know that) and I can't really afford most of them...and those are the ones I really want of course. So I purchased this jacket/coat in hopes of falling in love....and I nearly did, but I'm holding out for what I'd really like to own...and that may take some time. I was looking for a dressy casual everyday jacket and this jacket fits the bill. But sometimes compromise is difficult to accept and at times one needs to wait and acquire the cat's meow. I'm in that camp at the moment."
Review 3 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice coat!,
December 7, 2014
By: GoodVibes
from CT
"I had my eye on this coat for a while and finally ordered one. I'm very happy with it - very well made. I'm a size 38 and the Medium is just a little big, but OK for a Winter coat. It's probably a better fit for a size 40 person. Plenty of useful pockets which you can access even with gloves on. Give it a try..."
Review 4 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
4th time is the charm,
December 2, 2014
By: Nimroduno
from Amarillo, TX
"I think I am going to really like this coat because it actually fits. I have sent back 3 coats I had ordered online because they didn't fit. I live in Texas so the weight is good, not too heavy."
Review 5 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Happy with it.,
December 1, 2014
By: WalterDuChat
from Milwaukee, WI
"I needed a fall coat and bought the Country tweed and the Explorer and kept the Explorer. The C Tweed ran a bit small through the back and chest while the explorer fit me just right. Had it on in 18f weather today with a light shirt under and it still kept me warm while running errands. Feels nice and fits well plus being pretty warm.
Really happy with my purchase.
"
Review 6 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Exploere Coat: A Great Coat,
November 28, 2014
By: Mabis
from Suffield, CT
"I've been searching for a medium weight, wool winter coat for some time now. I though I found it earlier in the Country Tweed coat, but eventually decided against it once I tried it on. Fast forward to a few weeks ago and the arrival of my new Explorer Coat. Granted it was a bit of a leap of faith to purchase it without being able to try it on first, but in the end I could not be happier. Fits and feels better than any thing I've purchased in recent memory. The overall quality is readily apparent and in keeping with what I've come to expect from Orvis' men's clothing."
Review 7 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 10, 2014
By: Gavy
"Completely satisfied with this coat, warm, yet not too bulky, well tailored and good looking, and it appears to be durable."
Review 8 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great midweight coat,
January 30, 2014
By: juddwellington
from New York
"I was looking for a wool winter coat that I could wear over layers that did not look either to upscale or look like a work jacket. This fit that requirement perfectly. It is stylish without being too dressy, I easily wear it with jeans. Fit is just right for me, it is relatively light but still warm with an excellent assortment of pockets. If it wears as well as it looks and feels, it will be worth the comparatively high price"
Review 9 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Two Season Coat,
January 21, 2014
By: rancherron
from Durango, CO
"This is a stylish, medium weight coat. I'm 5' 11", 200 pounds and the XL is a perfect fit over a light sweater. The coat is not suitable for winter as the wool is fairly light weight. However, I bought it because of it's styling and versatility in fall and spring and it satisfies those goals perfectly."
Review 10 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat...Too Big...,
January 20, 2014
By: LoriW
from Texas
"Ordered for my son who is an Adult Medium. The coat was way too big. It fit my husband who is XL. Tried to order an Adult Small and that size is not available. My son is not small and was sorry that the coat didn't fit. The salesman said you were going to "standard sizing" next year. Maybe we'll order again later. Other than that...great coat!!"
Review 11 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Coat,
January 3, 2014
By: rpi1994
from Western Mass
"Fits well, not as warm as described in the description. Buttons need to be stronger."
Review 12 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Style,
January 1, 2014
By: BuckarooLou
"Have been looking for a good barn coat to replace one purchased over 20 years ago. The body styling is perfect. I would love to see variations of this style in future catalogs."
Review 13 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Explorer coat review,
December 26, 2013
By: CAcustomer
"Coat is great, but there a couple things that could be improved. First the arms are very short, I got a large and my wrists are all the way out. Also the body of the coat is sort of wide. Could be better if there was a large-slinder size. Overall great coat and it is very very warm."
Review 14 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase,
December 26, 2013
By: ranne
"bought as a present for a 16" x 34" shirt size son. It fit well with room for a chunky sweater. Styling is youthful enough for young adult."
Review 15 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas Gift,
December 19, 2013
By: CIndyCB
from Memphis, TN
"I purchased this jacket for my husband for Christmas this year. I absolutely love it and cannot wait for him to open it. I am positive he will love it too!"
Review 16 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
December 16, 2013
By: sailingsally
from Vancouver Island, Canada
"The wool cloth was very nice but extremely light weight. This jacket is definitely not for winter, or fall either without a heavy sweater. The leather trim on the sleeves is of a very poor quality, more like cheap suede. Clearly not worth the price. Needless to say, I returned it."
Review 17 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Way undersized,
December 13, 2013
By: Eugene11
from Atlanta, GA
"I want to still shop at Orvis but, this coat is an example of why I can't. Haven't shopped here in years until a recent trip to NY. Went in with a friend who bought a jacket and I ended up buying one too. Came back and ordered the Explorer coat and a couple of sweaters. The sizes are all over the place. The Explorer coat seems undersized by at least one size. The coat looks great at first. The collar is leather trimmed but the cuffs an elbows are a leather look twill. Looks a little cheap upon close inspection. Main problem though is size. Sleeves are very short an chest is very tight. Same size as the jacket bought two weeks ago which is perfect. Also same size as the sweaters, one of which is too big, the other is too big and at the same time too short."
Review 18 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile, Durable, & Great Looking,
December 10, 2013
By: Bubbaboy
from Pittsburgh, PA
"A sharp looking coat that gives a sharp professional look yet boasts rugged construction and features for everyday use."
Review 19 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Explorer coat,
December 6, 2013
By: Gaylord
from Richmond, Va.
"I am hugely fussy and have been looking for the perfect coat for 2 years and this was it except the sleeves were just a tad too short and the seam at the shoulder came off my shoulders just a little too much. Other than that, the perfect coat. I had to return it and am still waiting for Orvis to show me the next perfect coat!!!"
Review 20 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explorer Coat,
November 15, 2013
By: EricJoe
from Novi, MI
"This is an amazingly comfortable and classy coat. It is warm, it breaks the wind and it much richer in person than in photo graphs!
I love it!"