Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Explorer Coat

With its field coat length and insulated quilted lining, this is a coat that'll keep you warm and comfortable from autumn through winter. Highlighted by a leather-trimmed collar and twill elbow patches, it features two handwarmer pockets, two lower bellows pockets with flaps and reverse pleats for added storage. Full front center zip with snap-closed storm flap. Two interior pockets, locker loop. Men's wool coat in charcoal. Wool/polyester. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 33" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
20 of 23(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Explorer Coat
Review 1 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 10, 2014
By: Gavy
"Completely satisfied with this coat, warm, yet not too bulky, well tailored and good looking, and it appears to be durable."
Review 2 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great midweight coat,
January 30, 2014
By: juddwellington
from New York
"I was looking for a wool winter coat that I could wear over layers that did not look either to upscale or look like a work jacket. This fit that requirement perfectly. It is stylish without being too dressy, I easily wear it with jeans. Fit is just right for me, it is relatively light but still warm with an excellent assortment of pockets. If it wears as well as it looks and feels, it will be worth the comparatively high price"
Review 3 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Two Season Coat,
January 21, 2014
By: rancherron
from Durango, CO
"This is a stylish, medium weight coat. I'm 5' 11", 200 pounds and the XL is a perfect fit over a light sweater. The coat is not suitable for winter as the wool is fairly light weight. However, I bought it because of it's styling and versatility in fall and spring and it satisfies those goals perfectly."
Review 4 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat...Too Big...,
January 20, 2014
By: LoriW
from Texas
"Ordered for my son who is an Adult Medium. The coat was way too big. It fit my husband who is XL. Tried to order an Adult Small and that size is not available. My son is not small and was sorry that the coat didn't fit. The salesman said you were going to "standard sizing" next year. Maybe we'll order again later. Other than that...great coat!!"
Review 5 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Coat,
January 3, 2014
By: rpi1994
from Western Mass
"Fits well, not as warm as described in the description. Buttons need to be stronger."
Review 6 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Style,
January 1, 2014
By: BuckarooLou
"Have been looking for a good barn coat to replace one purchased over 20 years ago. The body styling is perfect. I would love to see variations of this style in future catalogs."
Review 7 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Explorer coat review,
December 26, 2013
By: CAcustomer
"Coat is great, but there a couple things that could be improved. First the arms are very short, I got a large and my wrists are all the way out. Also the body of the coat is sort of wide. Could be better if there was a large-slinder size. Overall great coat and it is very very warm."
Review 8 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase,
December 26, 2013
By: ranne
"bought as a present for a 16" x 34" shirt size son. It fit well with room for a chunky sweater. Styling is youthful enough for young adult."
Review 9 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas Gift,
December 19, 2013
By: CIndyCB
from Memphis, TN
"I purchased this jacket for my husband for Christmas this year. I absolutely love it and cannot wait for him to open it. I am positive he will love it too!"
Review 10 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
December 16, 2013
By: sailingsally
from Vancouver Island, Canada
"The wool cloth was very nice but extremely light weight. This jacket is definitely not for winter, or fall either without a heavy sweater. The leather trim on the sleeves is of a very poor quality, more like cheap suede. Clearly not worth the price. Needless to say, I returned it."
Review 11 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Way undersized,
December 13, 2013
By: Eugene11
from Atlanta, GA
"I want to still shop at Orvis but, this coat is an example of why I can't. Haven't shopped here in years until a recent trip to NY. Went in with a friend who bought a jacket and I ended up buying one too. Came back and ordered the Explorer coat and a couple of sweaters. The sizes are all over the place. The Explorer coat seems undersized by at least one size. The coat looks great at first. The collar is leather trimmed but the cuffs an elbows are a leather look twill. Looks a little cheap upon close inspection. Main problem though is size. Sleeves are very short an chest is very tight. Same size as the jacket bought two weeks ago which is perfect. Also same size as the sweaters, one of which is too big, the other is too big and at the same time too short."
Review 12 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile, Durable, & Great Looking,
December 10, 2013
By: Bubbaboy
from Pittsburgh, PA
"A sharp looking coat that gives a sharp professional look yet boasts rugged construction and features for everyday use."
Review 13 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Explorer coat,
December 6, 2013
By: Gaylord
from Richmond, Va.
"I am hugely fussy and have been looking for the perfect coat for 2 years and this was it except the sleeves were just a tad too short and the seam at the shoulder came off my shoulders just a little too much. Other than that, the perfect coat. I had to return it and am still waiting for Orvis to show me the next perfect coat!!!"
Review 14 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explorer Coat,
November 15, 2013
By: EricJoe
from Novi, MI
"This is an amazingly comfortable and classy coat. It is warm, it breaks the wind and it much richer in person than in photo graphs!
I love it!"
Review 15 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but not great !!,
November 14, 2013
By: jjscotman
from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
"I'm a big fan of Orvis and its products but I found myself being somewhat underwhelmed by this coat and looking for a little bit extra.
It is certainly good looking and feels warm.
However I think more attention could have been paid to winter practicalities like fleece-lined pockets, storm cuffs and a throat latch.
I also found the sleeves to be a tad on the short side - not enough to warrant returning it for a larger size - so purchasers with long arms may want to bear this in mind.
The title of the review sums the coat up - good but not great !!
"
Review 16 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Explorer Coat,
October 24, 2013
By: Jimenablx
from NJ
"Sleeves on this coat are very short. I returned for a full refund. Replaced with a Barbour jacket which fits well."
Review 17 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
September 9, 2013
By: Dustyy
"Coat is exactly as described in the catalog. As with most Orvis men's items it is generously sized so I ordered it in "L" rather than my usual "XL" and it fits perfectly. Suggestion: it would be even better if the hand warmer pockets were fleece-lined."
Review 18 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Than Expected,
December 3, 2012
By: Skeety
from Kerrville, TX
"This product is beautifully finished, has great details and is flattering to boot! It looks great on my husband and he's thrilled to own it. Thank you from both of us!"
Review 19 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice stylish look,
November 20, 2012
By: PaulV
from MA
"I wanted a stylish wool jacket and ORVIS has some beautiful ones, most out of my budget, but this coat seemed resonably priced ($275). I am a 38, ordered a Medium and even with a wool sweater it is a tad big. A cinch at the waist would be nice and I prefer olive, but grey was the only color and I have no regrets. For style and value, it is exactly what I expected."
Review 20 for Explorer Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
October 30, 2012
By: Topgun12
from Port Dover Ontario Canada
"This jacket is a generous fit, excellent quality and very warm. It was oriiginally on back order but we received it promptly in Canada. Shipping charges were above average to our experience with other retailers, but could not find this jacket elsewhere. We have excellent experience with all ordered Orvis products in the past."