Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

3½ oz. 9' 4-piece Tip Flex fly rod for 7-wt. line. It's the pull of a dime-bright steelhead on a swung fly. It's seeing a bonefish materialize 30 feet in front of you. It's the bulldogging carp racing away with your streamer. It's that moment when your tireless preparation meets power and precision. It's why we fish. And it's why we built this fast action 7 wt. Helios 2. Proudly made in Manchester, Vermont, USA.Why would we take the world's best fly rod and change it? The answer is simple. We're driven by constant improvement. Put this rod in your hands and feel the rush. You'll completely understand.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hats Off,
October 23, 2014
By: TexasSteve
from Texas
"You guys finally got the speed right. Awesome tight loops and easy distance, but still great in close. I cast the 7wt and the 5wt recently, bought "em both. I used the 7 on river Gaspergou (black drum) up to seven pounds. Can't wait to use this for bone fish!"
Review 2 for Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall great rod,
October 2, 2014
By: DaveJax
"Using my 7wt 9' for throwing streamers. Seems to ease my work load, as the rod does all the heavy lifting. Light nimble rod, I recommend to anglers of all skill sets."
Review 3 for Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
can cast a mile,
May 22, 2014
By: Treavor
from Yeagertown, PA
"I got the 9' 7 wt. tip flex and It is by far the best casting rod I have ever used in my life. it was putting 3 pound largemouth to shame very easy to cast and the precision is dead on. great rod !"
Review 4 for Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definitive Carp Rod!,
April 28, 2014
By: MrWright
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Carp are often overlooked but in western PA they are plentiful and large. With Carp you do not get a second chance. Not only will they spook at the slightest mistake they will alert all of the others. When you finally catch one they are powerhouses. They do not fight like other fish. Instead they go deep applying constant, intense power to the rod and line.
The Helios 2 7-weight is a surgical tool. With carp you have to drop the fly in the space the size of a dinner plate not a hula hoop like with bass or trout. The Helios 2 is the "sniper of the sea!" It is deadly accurate and can withstand the largest carp,bass and even river catfish! Oh and you will need the fighting butt...trust me.
The 7 weight is a heavier rod and can make your arm sore. It is also less sensitive to smaller fish like panfish and small mouth. It was definitely intended for larger or aggressive fish so keep that in mind."
Review 5 for Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely castable,
January 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"So far, I have tried out this rod in freshwater only. But after several hours of test casting it against my other tools for fishing in the Danish Baltic and in the North Sea (Zero G rods in 10' #7, 9' #8 & #9), I'm convinced that it will be a new favourite. Apart from the reduced weight, this is mainly due to the improved sensitivity in feeling the back cast even with some wind. I miss the wonderfully uncomplicated reel seat of the ZGs, though. And, contrary to a previous reviewer, I would recommend not to reduce the fighting butt size. In the salt, you most often wear clumsy clothing that you want to keep away from your reel in fighting a fish."
Review 6 for Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
not a 6 not an 8. Perfect 7.,
October 12, 2013
By: FSBrazil
from Brazil.
"Sometimes a 6 weight will do, but often the flies are a little larger than a 6 can handle, but an 8 weight would be too much gun for the fish size.
This is a perfect 7 rod. I tried an 8 weight line and it did not perform well, proving it is designed for specific 7 weight line.
Total accuracy, lightness and power.
One cons: Orvis should use a smaller fighting butt, so smaller 7 weight reels would make the outfit look better.
"
Review 7 for Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
September 9, 2013
By: BCACo
from St. John's NL
"Orvis has simply come out ahead of the game with the 9' #7 Helios 2. I have used this rod for the vast majority of my salmon angling this season and it is simply the best rod I have ever used. It is light, sensitive and beyond strong when it comes to fishing. What I truly like about this rod is the inherent feel to the rod. It is a tool for fishers and it lets you cast. Heck, I liked it so much that I purchased the #6 and the #8 versions as well. All rods are stunning."
Review 8 for Helios 2 7-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stellar,
April 28, 2013
By: JunkyardFly
from Michigan, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is one amazing fly rod, never before have I fished a fast action rod that had so much feel. It doesn't matter if you are fishing a floating Bass taper, sink tip or full sink streamer line, this rod handles them all well and will launch the biggest of flies with ease. The perfect blend of power and flex with lightning fast recovery, I liked it so much, I ordered a second one..."