Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2½ oz. 9', 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly rod for 5-wt. line. There may not be many truths in fly fishing, but here is one: you can't catch a fish if you can't get a fly in front of it. Thanks to the most accurate and versatile 5-weight we've ever created, that problem will disappear forever. Whether you're slinging lead toward an undercut bank or dropping tricos in a glass-calm tailout from 50 feet away, the 905-4 Helios 2 will perform with precision, sensitivity, and brute force when necessary. Lighter in hand and stronger than the original Helios, you'll be able to fish longer, fish harder, and feel the difference a superior rod makes. Proudly made in Manchester, Vermont, USA. Why would we take the world's best fly rod and change it? The answer is simple. We're driven by constant improvement. Put this rod in your hands and feel the rush. You'll completely understand.
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Rod, even better customer service,
September 29, 2014
By: Bluekygrass
from Cumberland River, KY
"Got a chance to put my H2 9' 5wt tip-flex (w Orvis Hydros 3D line) through the paces yesterday. Fantastic rod. Threw some drys, dry-droppers, and a weighted nymph setup with ease and accuracy. Handled 3 20"+ rainbows with ease. Great feel, fantastic and light to cast, and confident handling bringing the fish to net. Great customer service to match."
Review 2 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second H2,
September 17, 2014
By: Helosales
from Whidbey Island, WA
"Purchased an 9' TF 5wt for my wife to replace an older mid flex for nymph and streamer use. Turns out it is great for big drys and hooper/dropper so it is a great all-round rod if you want to travel light. She raved about it so much I had to get one too! Have not fished my new H2 yet, but used hers on a trip to MT and ID and loved it. Regarding durability, do not know yet, too soon."
Review 3 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the best,
August 5, 2014
By: Dc9mech
"I've been using Orvis fly rods for 15 years now, I can't speak about other fly rod makers because I haven't used anything but Orvis . Why change when you got the best right off the bat. I've used the T3 ,TLS, Clearwater and several others models. The Helios 2 is super light and is super easy to load without shocking it . The Helios 2 is heads above the other models, simply the best rods I have ! You may ask why I haven't tried other rod makers? I will tell you customer service is the answer they have the best customer service I have ever dealt with. What happens if you brake an expensive rod and the other makers give you guff well your out of rod and angry. Never happened with Orvis kind and fast service is what I like and demand to be a repeat customer."
Review 4 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex,
July 16, 2014
By: Mcp8181
from tucson, az.
"I spend a lot of time researching before picking the 905-4 Helios 2 and I was not disappointed. It is the first high end rod that I have own and one of the best looking rods too. Forgot about the looks the first time out with it because of the way it feels and the accurate is unreal. Just stated getting into casting streamers and this rod handle them just as good as smallest dry or nymphs. I fish from a float tube a lot and being lower to the water and shoulder replacement that only give 50% uses of the shoulder, it makes it a little hard to cast for me. With this rod it’s not a problem at all. I will be taking a motorcycle trip from Az. to the upper part of Michigan and planning on fly fishing all the way there very soon and this rod will be going with me. Also the Orvis App. help me get a license in any state I am in. Thanks Orvis"
Review 5 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the "touch",
June 13, 2014
By: QKSLVR
from Newfoundland, Canada
"I've just retired after 39 years as a dental surgeon.. My new Helios2 gives me tactile feedback like I've grown to expect from my favourite instruments. It's so much fun to drop that dry fly in front of Mr. Trout, effortlessly.
Thank you Orvis."
Review 6 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super rod,
May 29, 2014
By: todfer
"Great action and can even take a bit heaver line, if needed."
Review 7 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Upgrade,
April 28, 2014
By: DCG9
from Tolland, CT
"I recently upgraded to a Helios 2 after using a mid-level Orvis Rocky Mountain 5wt mid-flex rod for about 15 years. Although I love my old rod, the difference between this rod and my previous are night and day. The Helios 2 was very fun to cast behind the Orivs store, but there are a few things in particular that stood out once I got it on the water:
Precision - I was able to place the fly EXACTLY where I wanted. In fact, I didn't realize how imprecise my old rod was until I fished with the new Helios 2.
Tighter loops - I suspect this is partially due to the difference between a mid- and tip-flex rod, but my loops are much tighter, allowing my to get into and under tighter lies.
Mending - My mending skills seemed to improve ten-fold. Not only was I able to mend more accurately, but I was able to throw the entire line above the fly, then perform a second mend closer to me to account for slower current, all without disturbing the fly.
Backbone - The new Helios 2 is significantly stiffer than my old rod, which has allowed me to more easily bring fish to net, especially with a long leader.
I highly recommend casting this rod when you get a chance. You won't be disappointed."
Review 8 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smartest purchase ever,
April 23, 2014
By: CodyPerson
from Memphis, TN
"Well, i purchased my 9ft 5wt Helios 2 to fish for trout all over the Ozarks, paired it up with a Mirage Reel and im golden, couldn't be happier with it, the rod shoots line beautifully and with amazing accuracy, never have i had so much confidence in a rod until now. Casting is a dream. Its everything that you would expect from a wonderful company like orvis. Great warranty aswell"
Review 9 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one great rod,
April 9, 2014
By: gonfishn
from Western Pa.
"I bought this rod because I have never owned a rod that was a flex tip. All the rods I own are either a full flex a mid flex. So I thought it was time to try a tip flex. I received this rod with two feet of snow on the ground but I couldn't wait so out in the back yard I went. I was really impressed but I wanted to see what it would on the stream. Well I finally got to try it and was even more impressed. I have never cast a pair of nymphs with a couple of split shot on with the accuracy the this rod gave me. The feel of the strike was instant and hook set was just as fast. I can't wait to see what it will do with a size 16 dry or even smaller. So far one great rod period."
Review 10 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Difference,
December 31, 2013
By: idahoflygirl
"Just purchased and used my new Helios 2 fly rod (9' 5wt.)
Amazing power and sensitivity. In the East I fish mostly small streams and rod has performed with extreme deftness.
Will take West in the fall to fish the Henry's Fork and Madison. No doubt that it will exceed my wishes on the bigger waters."
Review 11 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best mousin rod out there,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I bought this rod to fish for big brouwns at night with a mouse. It is perfect for the task. It is light enough to cast all night, and strong enough to strip in a 25" brown with no problem."
Review 12 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable,
December 25, 2013
By: Jhagee
from Colorado
"My new favorite rod...so light and cast effortlessly...I love it."
Review 13 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amazing, but a reason for 4 star,
October 8, 2013
By: polarfly
"I write this review as someone who has somewhat sold my soul to "another" rod company which I do enjoy. The first time i gave this rod a whip/wiggle, I knew it was special and immediately starting gloating my profound and positive opinion in review of it. My friend (owner of the new rod) and close fishing buddy had just picked out the Orvis H2 9' 5wt. tip flex. I had an opportunity to fish it a mere hour into our float after my initial handling of the rod. Words are difficult to find, to describe the casting, presentation/accuracy, line control and fish fighting abilities of this rod. (I was very fortunate to be presenting and sometimes skipping sofa pillows to attuned browns during a pretty amazing salmon fly hatch). Later I bought one of my own and was as blissful as the first time. This rod has all the attributes in its own right of the ultimate do-it-all fly rod. Accurate, smooth. It's unbelievable in every way (except looks which mean nothing to me), in all but one component. It is not as durable as you may be lead to believe. Orvis is currently rebuilding a tip section for my rod and so far the customer service has been on point. It's been one month and I'll be checking in with them tomorrow to check progress. I don't know the status of the rod yet. In conclusion, this is an absolutely all around amazingly high performance rod, but not in 10 years of my preferred brand of choice or any other has a tip broke in my hand during dis-assembly. My advise is, buy that H2, just treat it as gingerly as a baby and do not twist on, and twist off in the opposite direction the ferrules like other rod companies may suggest. Torsional strength is not something this rod excels at, and to be honest, that's not what the rod is designed to do. (especially for how light it is by design). Slide the ferule on straight, pull it off straight, mind the pressure and I think life will remain great. Buy one, you most likely will not regret it."
Review 14 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its hard to believe,
July 10, 2013
By: Pulse
from Alberta Canada
"Its hard to believe that something can cast as great as it looks. As soon as the Helios 2 came to my doorstep I put on the reel and strung my line through the guides. I headed out the same night to give it a test, a place in Alberta with fabled large trout feeding on small flies. When I arrived at my destination I was all ready to go so I start off getting a feel for the rod. First off I pull out about 25feet of line and start casting from their. You start to notice how accurate this rod right off from the first cast then everything else starts to come into play like how the rod will be able to cast softly and extremely smooth at the same time, then I start pulling out more line and more line seeing how far one can cast with this rod before it tappers off. Id be lying to you if I said I couldn't cast my whole WT floating line out. It may not have been as smooth at 55 feet but it has the muscle to do so if the task requires. After putting the Helios2 through my own little test for accuracy, distance and subtle presentations I make my way up the river looking for snouts. "This is it" I said to myself looking at my first fish I came across. I pull out the line needed and gently present the brown drake in his feeding lane and with no doubt he grabbed it first cast! When I set that hook you can tell it stands out from the other fly rods, Its something you cant explain through words but you can tell it was designed to do so. I used the full taper to my advantage and brought in one of my biggest browns iv seen from their in years. I stayed and fished till dark and landed many fish on the rod that night but the real treat was doing so with a H2.
The Helios2 hands down is one of the best rods you will ever cast. The ability to cast at short distances with accuracy and a supple presentation go hand in hand with the long accurate casts iv made that day but my favorite part of the rod isn't the way it casts its the way it sets the hook you can really feel that rod do its job and it gives you the "feel" everyone wants to experience. The blue blank and the reel seat take this rod to a new level giving it a clean modern look and you cant go wrong with that.
If you want to really test this rod go out with an extra rod one day and take turns fishing with them and at the end of the day compare notes and without a doubt you will have a clear winner.
"
Review 15 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to Explain...how good this rod really is!,
July 4, 2013
By: Rugby10
from Upstate NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Let me first state that the vast majority of my fly rods are made by Orvis. That being said, I was amazed at the performance of the H2. My primary trout rod was a Hydros 4wt, which is a fantastic rod in it's own right. But with Spring/Summer trips to the West Branch of the Ausable and Rapid Riv er, I was told the 4wt might be a bit overmatched. What a great excuse to grab the H2! Fat Browns on the Ausable; Landlocked salmon and Brookies on the Rapid. The H2 handled them without any problem, while still being sensitive enough to enjoy the fight. The current on the Rapid River was a concern, especially with 20" Land locks and 12-14" Brookies, but I never felt the H2 was pushed beyond it's limits. I did learn quickly that compared to the Hydros, I needed to slow down my casting stroke. Once I did, I was astounded at the effortless distance achieved in my cast. I have it paired with the 3D line, which seems like a perfect match. Pricey, absolutely. But you do get what you pay for. A complimentary H2 hat or t-shirt would have been a nice perk, but once you cast, and land your first fish with the H2, you forget about the hit your bank account took, or what your wife is going to say when she finds out!"
Review 16 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW,
June 14, 2013
By: Timbles
from Vermont
"This rod is a dream to cast. I have a 9' 4wt Hydros tip flex which I used to think was a great rod (it still is) but this raises the bar to a new level. WOW does not quite sum it up.
My only quibbles are with the rod tube that looks cheap and has a rather unattractive logo design on it. Then there is the little bit of wood on the handle that seems somewhat out of place on such a sleek rod.
I stil can't get over how great this rod is to cast regardless of the conditions
"
Review 17 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWESOME!!!,
June 14, 2013
By: Seabass
from Northern California
"The construction and quality of the rod is top notch. Accuracy is spot on. Definitely lives up to the hype! My only criticism is not on the rod, rather the lines. For me, the 5wt line tapers are not aggressive enough for such a high performance rod. I would recommend purchasing the power taper line or going up to a 6wt... especially if you nymph fish or deal with wind on a regular basis.
Other than that, much better improvement of the OG Helios... buy the H2!!!
"
Review 18 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fly rod ever!,
May 8, 2013
By: backpack
from Missoula,MT
"I was the owner of an access fly rod and I was very happy with it, but in the back of my mind I really wanted the Orvis helios 2 rod. Just when it looked like I would never get my hands on one, the dealer where I originally bought my access rod called me at home and I got my hands on the fly rod of a life time. I am so happy with my helios 2. It does everything they advertise and then some. Loads fast,accurate and effortless to cast! I looked at other fly rods but none compare to this rod. GREAT JOB ORVIS YOUR THE BEST, BAR NONE!"
Review 19 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oH my gusH!,
April 3, 2013
By: flymarcy
from broken bow oklahoma
"Simply amazing, I used hardy zenith, sage one, I have boron IImx and boron IIIx, but this rod, its incredible...Awesome.
You can cast where you want how you want, easy...easy!
The best fly rod I ever had and tested.
"
Review 20 for Helios 2 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Stick!,
February 7, 2013
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"A couple of months ago I had the opportunity to take the new Helios 2 5wt with me to Alaska. I always like a 5 or 6 for the smaller stream bows, but am always a little worried that I might be undergunned in the event I hook that monster in some fast current. This rod not only throws line like a dream but I can tell you that it never even whimpered while under the strain of a wild Alaskan Rainbow. It didn't matter the circumstance or size of fish...the fly went where I wanted and how I wanted and so did the fish after a hook up. This is a casting, fish fighting stick that everyone needs the chance to throw. I couldn't be happier with the improvements that Orvis has made to this line up of rods. It didn't matter if I was throwing dry flies or swinging 5 inch streamers...this rod got it done!"