Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

3¾ oz. 9', 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly rod for 9-wt. line. Stripers haunt you, bonefish taunt you—and don't get you started on redfish. You're a big-game hunter with a big-time need for a fly rod with firepower. Enter the Helios 2. Lighter in hand and stronger than the original Helios, the 909-4 Helios 2 will turn the one that got away from an urban legend to a picture on your cellphone. From meat-eating salmonids to finicky saltwater species, this is the ultimate weapon for big-game targets. With a shocking amount of backbone and unbelievable tracking, no matter what you fish for, you'll come out on top. Proudly made in Manchester, Vermont, USA.Why would we take the world's best fly rod and change it? The answer is simple. We're driven by constant improvement. Put this rod in your hands and feel the rush. You'll completely understand.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 2 9 wt. tip floex,
August 27, 2014
By: BigPoppy
from New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought the rod to take fishing for Atlantic salmon fishing on the Miramichi River in New Brunswick, Canada. It did not disappoint. Easy to cast, the line pick-up was phenomenal, and it was very light in hand. I had a least 1,000 casts per day and my arm and shoulder never got tired. Paired with the Mirage V and Orvis Hydros All-Around 9wt. line. It took all the salmon had to dish out and stood up very well. I will use it to fish saltwater back home in Louisiana. It is well worth the money."
Review 2 for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Striper Fishing,
August 15, 2014
By: Oreti
from Groton, CT
"I have owned several Orvis rods previously but frankly have not been terrible impressed. But on the recommendation of a friend I recently bought the Helios-2 9ft 9wt rod for saltwater fishing, particularly for striped bass.
I am very impressed by the rod which is quite the best of the many 9wt rods I own. It works particularly well with a 10wt intermediate line. I can cast the line further and more accurately than I can with other rods. Well done, Orvis"
Review 3 for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cast a mile with this rod,
July 3, 2014
By: PaulInBoston
from Boston, MA
"I go wade fishing for stripers in Boston Harbor. When you're on foot it's important to be able to cast as far as possible to hit that hole that is just out of reach. This rod does it for me, it adds ten to twenty feet to my cast. Don't you love new technology!"
Review 4 for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Left me with a stupid grin.,
June 9, 2014
By: Caddishack
from Jersey shore
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"As if I needed another reason to be obsessed with salty fly rodding...
This rod paired with the Mirage V reel with the Hydros intermediate striper line was a huge surprise Christmas gift from my wife and kids and after a long awful winter I finally got to use it when we visited my in-laws in Fl in March. I hired a Guide out of (Orvis endorsed) CB's in Siesta Key and spent the day on Sarasota Bay catching pompano, Spanish macks, Crevalle jacks, sea trout, and ladyfish. The rod made me giddy. My previous 9 wt was the Access tip flex and it's a fantastic rod but the H2 has such incredible loading power and such amazing accuracy- it feels like it's working with your double haul instead of being worked by it. Seriously. In saltwater where distance can really count, this rod not only didn't let me down it left a stupid grin on my face, haha! And the backbone! Trying to turn a determined pompano is a blast but this rod made it so much more fun because of the confidence the backbone instilled. Get that fish- the rod can handle it!
Now after numerous outings back home on the Jersey Shore tangling with blues and even a few largemouth excursions into freshwater, I've grown kind of spoiled, but sometimes after a particularly great cast, or while fighting a particularly stubborn bluefish, the stupid grin is back on my face.
"
Review 5 for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice rod but,
May 28, 2014
By: BM123
"I really like this rod and it feels good but the tip flex has proven itself very hard to adjust to. I've been casting big musky and bass flies and have had a hard time adjusting to the action.
I've ended up with tendinitis from trying to get the timing down.
I'm sure it is a great rod in the right hands.....just not mine. Old dogs learn slow. bm"
Review 6 for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Machine,
November 12, 2013
By: BluewaterBill
from Islamorada, FL
"I just fished the Cheeca Lodge All American Backcountry Tournament in Islamorada with the H2 9wt. The winds HOWLED both days of the tournament -- often blowing well in excess of 20mph. Florida Bay had turned chalky and the fish weren't happy. In these conditions, the H2 was the difference between success and failure. I was able to punch through the wind, get to distant targets and ultimately, win the Fly Division of the tournament. Over two days, I literally put in hundreds -- if not thousands -- of casts with the Helios2 and came away with not so much as a slightly tired arm. The H2s are -- in every sense of the word -- winning rods."
Review 7 for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite fly rod,
June 11, 2013
By: Captfly
from Rhode Island
"I have used many different rods in the past and I can honestly say this one is worlds apart from the competition. My very first time picking it up I threw the entire 300 grain depth charge line without a problem. It is lighter than all 10 weights I own and has just as much backbone. This rod will be the last one you will ever purchase (unless you get an 8 and a 10 like I did). It casts smoother than the Helios, lighter and stronger per ounce than Sage Xi3. It looks fragile but it casts big flies to stripers no problem."
Review 8 for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection 9 Weight.,
March 5, 2013
By: FSBrazil
from Brazil.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I used this rod on a 3 day trip to the Everglades last february. Winter fishing is very technical, requiring absolut precise casts 5 feet or 60 feet. The rod could cast with total control and can lift the line in seconds if the fish turn to the other side or move.
This is the best 9 weight ever.
"
Review 9 for Helios 2 9-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd one,
February 1, 2013
By: mjh96701
from Aiea, HI
"this is my second Helios2 first was an 8wt this was a 9wt. Love this one as much the last one. Best rods I have ever owned."