Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

3¼ oz. 9', 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly rod for 8-wt. line. The wind swirls across the flat as the sun blasts you from above. A silvery streak flickers beneath the surface. This is your one shot. Make it count. Make sure you're fishing the Helios 2. Strong, light in the hand, and deadly accurate, the 908-4 Helios 2 is the most complete and versatile big-game fly rod we've ever produced. Swing steelhead flies in sub-zero weather or toss Crazy Charlies in triple-digit temperatures; the H2 doesn't care. He's hungry for big flies, big water, and even bigger fish. Give him what he wants. Proudly made in Manchester, Vermont, USA. Why would we take the world's best fly rod and change it? The answer is simple. We're driven by constant improvement. Put this rod in your hands and feel the rush. You'll completely understand.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rockin' the Helios,
May 21, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"First, I must mention that I have been a Sage fan for a long time (I own 6 rods). I would never knock Sage, but this Helios rod might. Upon opening the box I first noticed the handsome looks of this rod, it is an outstanding piece of craftsmanship. I could not wait to get this rod on the water so I immediately gave my self the day off. I went big right out of the gate with this rod - spring pike. Hucking hefty pike bunnys and baitfish patterns was a cakewalk with this Helios 8 wt. Accuracy was spot on and hook sets were fast and powerful. This rod delivers the goods and has a strong backbone for turning and horsing in the baddest of the bad in the river. That said, I believe this rod will probably make me a better FFisher.
A perfect rod for the good, the bad, and the ugly.
"
Review 2 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this Rod,
August 26, 2013
By: Boloni
"I love this fly rod. I fish the southeast wisconsin for smallies, carp, steelhead, salmon. They are no match for this rod. It is so light, yet extremely powerful and accurate in casting. The casting is so smooth and when I hold it, it feels as light as my 6 wt winston gvx rod. This rod lives up to it's hype of being extremely tough as well. I accidentally slammed my car door on it and my heart dropped south, but it didn't break at all and still works like a charm :)"
Review 3 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonder Rod,
July 25, 2013
By: GreenMachine
from New Brunswick, Canada
"Bought this combo last month and just recently got to give it a try. This is a very, very nice piece. I had the ZG before this and the helios 2 performs even better, if that's possible. Big eastern canadian salmon are easily wrestled in with this rod. A+ in my book!"
Review 4 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
helios,
June 23, 2013
By: fishking
from uk
"thid is the best rod i have used and found it very good when bone fishing
good tip and could get 10 yed more like out
felt good when had good fish on the like
going to get a 6 wt as well"
Review 5 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
March 24, 2013
By: JulieT
from Athens, GA, USA
"Just got back from a trip to the Rio Limay Medio in Patagonia, Argentina. Used this rod for the first time. What an amazing rod for streamer fishing! I pulled in a 12lb. Brown, 30 inches, with no problems. Cast where I wanted to put the fly, whether heavy streamer or lighter minnow streamer. Great fun! BTW, I am 69 and female. Love it. Big difference from Helios 1 which I still think is a great rod. Now hope they expand the line."
Review 6 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW,
January 17, 2013
By: mjh96701
from Aiea, HI
"One word: WOW! Who knew what a great caster I was. The 8WT was like magic in my hands on the wind blown flats of Hawaii. What a beautiful rod, casts like a charm, will be buying another in 9WT."
Review 7 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light, Powerful, Strong.,
December 24, 2012
By: FSBrazil
from Brazil.
"I remember one Orvis advertising years ago which writes "How do you describe the perfect fly rod?". I wrote on the magazine paper "light, strong, fast, and with power but friendly so my wrist won´t be hurt".
Well, Orvis did it in 2012. The Helios 2 is all of it.
The Perfect fly rod.
"
Review 8 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
December 18, 2012
By: Boloni
"I own this rod. I gotta say, I won't go back to any other rods ever again. I will likely be using this rod for the next 25 years. It shoots line amazingly and is superlight. This rod is very interesting in that it is actually 1/4 oz heavier than the first Helios, however, when you hold it in your hands, it feels lighter. The casting is supersmooth and spot on. I will never fish another 8wt rod again."
Review 9 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than shoulder surgery,
December 7, 2012
By: BuffaloSoldier
from Boulder/Denver, CO
"I was able to cast this rod recently at the Boulder Orvis store. Wow! Hands down the finest rod Orvis has made. The rod has an equally beautiful finish to match its performance. Rod guides that collapse to combat the abuses of guiding and a reel seat that actually fits a variety of reels will make this our go to rod next season. Cannot wait to get this down to Cabo and battle some shore roosters!"
Review 10 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rod ever,
December 4, 2012
By: icemnn
from Michigan
"My friend is a die hard sage fan and i'm a die hard orvis fan. I got this rod for an early xmas present. We went out on my parents lake fishing heavy sink tips for pike. He has the sage 1 and he wanted to try my rod. He would not give back untill i hit him and his arm was tired after a couple hours and i felt i could of fished all day. The sage was a nice rod but the H2 was easier on your arm and my friend even had to admit it was more acurate"
Review 11 for Helios 2 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My shoulder thanks you...,
November 17, 2012
By: Meng
from San Jose, CA
"I just received my Helios II 9ft 8wgt and spent the afternoon testing it for the perfect fly line. I put in long hours casting heavy 8 wgt shooting heads at West Coast Stripers to the point wear I have a doctor's order to switch to a 6 wgt when my torn rotator cuff starts to hurt. The total wgt of my rod , reel and T-14 is now 11 oz and it cast like a rocket launcher. Plus, it has backbone like no other light wgt rod I have ever cast.. Close your eyes and you are casting a 6 wgt, Hook and turn a monster fish and you know your fishing an 8 wgt! Just perfect."