Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

US Navy Seaman's Sweater

Inspired by the sweaters once issued to US Navy seamen, this pullover navy sweater for men offers classic looks that pair handsomely with khakis or–in the civilian world–jeans. Softer and warmer than the original issue, this sweater's jersey–knit lambswool ensures itch–free comfort; the doubled–over–style collar offers extra protection from foul weather. Rib–knit cuffs and neck. Sweater for men in navy. Pure lambswool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
27 of 30(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Review 1 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haze grey and underway....,
October 20, 2014
By: paroba66
from Dallas, TX
"Excellent sweater, looks and feels great. May run a little large, just depends on the fit you like. I am about 6'3" and 215lbs and the XL fits well with room. Probably could have gone with the L if I wanted tighter fit. I look foward to getting a lot of use out ot this sweater this winter."
Review 2 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sea worthy sweater,
October 13, 2014
By: rjdindenver
from colorado
"bought this sweater specifically for a two week trawler trip off the coast of British Columbia. As we were piloting ourselves in a 44' vessel, I needed something to layer below my foul weather gear, without worry of losing heat to water or wind.. the sweater worked very well, and was worn everyday.. it looked great when we could occasionally go ashore for a meal or drink.. comfortable, warm without bulk, and held its shape well."
Review 3 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
September 22, 2014
By: rjdindenver
from colorado
"this is the one I have been looking for all these years.. warm, soft, ignores light rain, and fits perfectly.
the warm mock turtle (high collar) kept in the warmth while out on a recent boating trip to the Pacific NW and shed light rain like a champ..
it is fine looking and added enough gravitas to wear out to dinner over a pair of nasty old jeans.. love it..
"
Review 4 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
March 25, 2014
By: Bootman12345
from Staunton, VA
"This is an excellent product, very much like the actual Navy issue item. However it is much softer."
Review 5 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Seaman's Sweater But...,
March 1, 2014
By: AndersonIsAndrewsSon
from Orchard Park, NY
"After a single wash and another few days of wear, the front of the garment began to form small balls from the material. May require brushing after a few more weeks."
Review 6 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
True Classic,
February 24, 2014
By: Bill33131
"This is a true classic sweater, one that should be a staple in every man's wardrobe. Unlike the original seaman's sweater issued to me by the US Navy, this one is not itchy and is quite comfortable."
Review 7 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Loved it BUT,
February 23, 2014
By: Profbee
from Bayside, New York
"Color, fit, style great . Had to return do to pilling. May try again next winter hope this problem is resolved
Love ORVIS great service great products own lots of Barbour and Orvis brand items.
"
Review 8 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Closest yet.,
February 14, 2014
By: BillVT48
from Grand Isle, VT
"Many years ago I owned the original of this style sweater. It was a prized garment. Over the years I've tried to replace it. This is the closest I've ever gotten. Thank you Orvis for recognizing its' timeless style and utility."
Review 9 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have sweater,
February 11, 2014
By: Dude31
from Tampa, FL
"I was watching this beauty for a few months and had to take the plunge when it went on sale. Glad I did! Loved the fit and feel of this sweater. Great weight that keeps you warm but not too thick to put under a blazer. Goes great with a barbour classic Beaufort and that combo kept me warm in 9 degree weather. You know you want to ... BUY IT!"
Review 10 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful sweater,
February 10, 2014
By: archaicboy
"Well made, warm, nice wool, properly sized. Works well as over layer in moderate 20F weather."
Review 11 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and warm,
February 10, 2014
By: RickMeier
from Franklin Lakes, NJ
"This sweater is light and warm. Fit's perfectly for casual and for work on cold days, which are frequent this year."
Review 12 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
February 4, 2014
By: Oliver635
from Alexandria VA
"This sweater is very nicely made, springy knit, great yarn and the fit is great. Since I am 6'4" tall I was concerned about sleeve length but it was fine. Very comfortable and not itchy at all."
Review 13 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater!,
February 4, 2014
By: DrDan3210
from Chicagoland
"I liked this sweater so much that I bought a second one. It is warm, well-made and very comfortable."
Review 14 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for fishing or after fishing..,
January 29, 2014
By: Lepster
from Avon, Colorado
"This sweater has multiple uses. Although not very heavy, it's very good quality, provides a lot of warmth for cold days on the river, but also looks great for end of the day cocktail hour and dinner. I particularly like the mock turtle neck..not too high but high enough to provide protection from the wind or cold."
Review 15 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Excellent,BUT,
January 21, 2014
By: Profbee
from Bayside, New York
"Love the fit, love the color so what's the BUT worn it 1/2 dozen times pilling have Vietnam Navy Issue still in perfect condition"
Review 16 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The "Just RIght" Sweater,
January 20, 2014
By: GrizzlyBill
from Michigan
"The U. S. Navy Seaman's Sweater is a surprise - soft and not too heavy as the name might imply. It is made of just the right weight of wool and cut perfectly so that it lays on your shoulders, chest and back like second skin, yet is roomy, with just the right amount of "give". The high crew neck is the right choice for those who don't want an itchy turtle neck but one that stands up perfectly with or without a collared shirt underneath."
Review 17 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as Described,
December 11, 2013
By: JWilliamK
from San Francisco, CA
"It is always a pleasure to receive a product that looks, fits and wears as good as its on-line tags. Excellent sweater and I will likely buy a second.
One question-- is it possible to have this product made locally? I would pay a little more to support home manufacturers."
Review 18 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Christmas Gift,
December 10, 2013
By: Cupster
from the Great White North
"I purchased this sweater for my husband for Christmas. He chose the sweater and when it arrived, I had him try it on right away. The fit is excellent and so is the quality. It is a very flattering fit on hubby and it feels very soft and not the least bit scratchy"
Review 19 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Fine Product,
November 21, 2013
By: Nsquared
from Alberta, Canada
"I wore this to work on an extremely cold and snowy day. I was warm and comfortable all day. I am very pleased with my purchase."
Review 20 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anchors Away,
November 21, 2013
By: TheMaj
from Williamsville, NY
"My wife, a long-time customer, suggested I shop Orvis to replenish my sweater collection. The Navy Seaman's sweater was the first I purchased--and I couldn't be happier. The fit is a true medium and the wool is very rich and soft. I usually slip it over a long-sleeve T-shirt, add a goose-down vest and I am warm & comfy on chilly western New York Fall days."