Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

US Navy Seaman's Sweater

Inspired by the sweaters once issued to US Navy seamen, this pullover navy sweater for men offers classic looks that pair handsomely with khakis or–in the civilian world–jeans. Softer and warmer than the original issue, this sweater's jersey–knit lambswool ensures itch–free comfort; the doubled–over–style collar offers extra protection from foul weather. Rib–knit cuffs and neck. Sweater for men in navy. Pure lambswool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
36 of 39(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Review 1 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Authentic Sweater,
December 18, 2014
By: BabaORiley
from Jefferson City, MO
"I purchased the US Navy Seaman's Sweater and could not be happier. While I don't wear sweaters very often the fit of this piece is superb. I am 5'11 and 190lbs and a large is a perfect fit. The mock collar is comfy without the turtleneck restriction and the bottom hem is wide and adds authenticity to the sweater. My wife loves it, bonus, and is an article I will have for a long time. Looks great with jeans or khaki's."
Review 2 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seaman's sweater,
December 17, 2014
By: KathyBooth111
from Manchester
"Lovely sweater and super fit
Different to the usual styles.
"
Review 3 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Classic,
December 15, 2014
By: Ollie828
"I can't say enough good things about this sweater - I would wear it every day if I could and I know it will be a favorite for a long time to come"
Review 4 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 15, 2014
By: Henry2
from Memphis, TN.
"I always read the reviews about an item before I order. Two reviews stated that this sweater ran a size large. I wear a large so I ordered a medium. It was a perfect fit. The quality is outstanding and I have received several good comments.
Actually it is the best mock turtle I have worn!
"
Review 5 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised,
December 2, 2014
By: STLJIM
from St Louis ,MO
"This is the best turtleneck I own and I own a lot of them.Warm ,fitted and best if all soft and does not itch.Not even at the neck.Great purchase."
Review 6 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
'What it says on the tin',
November 17, 2014
By: LargeMan
from Manchester
"I have the RAF jumper and its a classic. This jumper is exactly the same. Quality worth paying for. It's exactly as advertised."
Review 7 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love wool anything,
November 12, 2014
By: brdun1
from Louisville KY
"Great as another layer going to outdoor events. Like football."
Review 8 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a very smart jumper,
November 3, 2014
By: Baz4B
from London, England
"this is a a handsome jumper that is well weighted and well built. It has a subtle naval cut that distinguishes it from any other jumper I've seen.
Orvis has done a really good job of work here.
I am not sure why this jumper requires dry cleaning while other wool jumpers are washable but this is not a complaint.
"
Review 9 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haze grey and underway....,
October 20, 2014
By: paroba66
from Dallas, TX
"Excellent sweater, looks and feels great. May run a little large, just depends on the fit you like. I am about 6'3" and 215lbs and the XL fits well with room. Probably could have gone with the L if I wanted tighter fit. I look foward to getting a lot of use out ot this sweater this winter."
Review 10 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sea worthy sweater,
October 13, 2014
By: rjdindenver
from colorado
"bought this sweater specifically for a two week trawler trip off the coast of British Columbia. As we were piloting ourselves in a 44' vessel, I needed something to layer below my foul weather gear, without worry of losing heat to water or wind.. the sweater worked very well, and was worn everyday.. it looked great when we could occasionally go ashore for a meal or drink.. comfortable, warm without bulk, and held its shape well."
Review 11 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
September 22, 2014
By: rjdindenver
from colorado
"this is the one I have been looking for all these years.. warm, soft, ignores light rain, and fits perfectly.
the warm mock turtle (high collar) kept in the warmth while out on a recent boating trip to the Pacific NW and shed light rain like a champ..
it is fine looking and added enough gravitas to wear out to dinner over a pair of nasty old jeans.. love it..
"
Review 12 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater,
March 25, 2014
By: Bootman12345
from Staunton, VA
"This is an excellent product, very much like the actual Navy issue item. However it is much softer."
Review 13 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Seaman's Sweater But...,
March 1, 2014
By: AndersonIsAndrewsSon
from Orchard Park, NY
"After a single wash and another few days of wear, the front of the garment began to form small balls from the material. May require brushing after a few more weeks."
Review 14 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
True Classic,
February 24, 2014
By: Bill33131
"This is a true classic sweater, one that should be a staple in every man's wardrobe. Unlike the original seaman's sweater issued to me by the US Navy, this one is not itchy and is quite comfortable."
Review 15 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Loved it BUT,
February 23, 2014
By: Profbee
from Bayside, New York
"Color, fit, style great . Had to return do to pilling. May try again next winter hope this problem is resolved
Love ORVIS great service great products own lots of Barbour and Orvis brand items.
"
Review 16 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Closest yet.,
February 14, 2014
By: BillVT48
from Grand Isle, VT
"Many years ago I owned the original of this style sweater. It was a prized garment. Over the years I've tried to replace it. This is the closest I've ever gotten. Thank you Orvis for recognizing its' timeless style and utility."
Review 17 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have sweater,
February 11, 2014
By: Dude31
from Tampa, FL
"I was watching this beauty for a few months and had to take the plunge when it went on sale. Glad I did! Loved the fit and feel of this sweater. Great weight that keeps you warm but not too thick to put under a blazer. Goes great with a barbour classic Beaufort and that combo kept me warm in 9 degree weather. You know you want to ... BUY IT!"
Review 18 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful sweater,
February 10, 2014
By: archaicboy
"Well made, warm, nice wool, properly sized. Works well as over layer in moderate 20F weather."
Review 19 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and warm,
February 10, 2014
By: RickMeier
from Franklin Lakes, NJ
"This sweater is light and warm. Fit's perfectly for casual and for work on cold days, which are frequent this year."
Review 20 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
February 4, 2014
By: Oliver635
from Alexandria VA
"This sweater is very nicely made, springy knit, great yarn and the fit is great. Since I am 6'4" tall I was concerned about sleeve length but it was fine. Very comfortable and not itchy at all."