Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

US Navy Seaman's Sweater

Inspired by the sweaters once issued to US Navy seamen, this pullover navy sweater for men offers classic looks that pair handsomely with khakis or–in the civilian world–jeans. Softer and warmer than the original issue, this sweater's jersey–knit lambswool ensures itch–free comfort; the doubled–over–style collar offers extra protection from foul weather. Rib–knit cuffs and neck. Sweater for men in navy. Pure lambswool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.735 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
46 of 49(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Review 1 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
READY FOR SEA . . .,
August 12, 2015
By: Quarterdeck
from Kalamazoo, MI
"This sweater is modeled after those given to U.S. Navy enlisted personnel in the past, but with one big difference: this one is much softer and is much more comfortable. Sizing is spot on. It is great looking with jeans or chinos and is warm enough for cool autumn days or as a layer when the snow flies.."
Review 2 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
US Navy Seaman's Sweater,
February 9, 2015
By: jaron
from San Francisco, Ca
"The turtle next sweeter is very soft and looks great either with a sports coat or an outdoor jacket. It would be great if they offered additional colors besides the blue"
Review 3 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater, very versatile,
January 28, 2015
By: marcustulliuscicero
from Ridgefield CT
"I was happy to see that this lambswool sweater is the high quality wool, well made garment described in the catalog. Most important, it fits well. I'm a slim, medium fit and this sweater is perfect, with none of the extra fabric to so common in other cuts.
A very soft lambswool, this sweater looks great in almost any casual circumstance, either alone or with with jacket style outerwear as well as overcoats.
I'm very happy with it and plan to wear it for many years.
Good work Orvis!"
Review 4 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Choice for Winter Wear,
January 6, 2015
By: DexMonroe
from New York, NY
"This sweater has all of the masculine style of the original but posses the modern aesthetic of the professional man."
Review 5 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A brand new favorite!,
December 31, 2014
By: kennethb17
from Dayton OH
"Perfect fit, color, style. This sweater became a favorite instantly. Many compliments, can dress up or down looking handsome either way. Thank you Orvis, well done."
Review 6 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Navy Proud,
December 28, 2014
By: Sonny6
"I am not tolerant of poor quality particularly in sweaters. I rolled the dice on this sweater and it is true to size and of the highest quality! Once again my hat is off to Orvis!"
Review 7 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great winter sweater,
December 27, 2014
By: Richfromwhiting
from Whiting , Vt
"Very comfortable weight to wear with a winter coat. Great value."
Review 8 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My US Navy Seaman's Sweater ...Style and substance,
December 27, 2014
By: Paul71962
"My US Navy Seaman's Sweater is contemporary and classic.It is a style that works.I can wear it with dress pants,khakis or my jeans. I like the construction,fit,color and fabric of my sweater.This sweater is warm and comfortable.The wool fabric is soft and pleasing to the skin.No itch factor here. The style ,color and construction of this sweater allows me to pair it with just about anything.This saves me a lot of time.My US Navy Seaman's Sweater ...Style and substance....I love it......"
Review 9 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 19, 2014
By: WojoHockeyBoy
from Northwest Indiana
"Perfect size. Feels great on Everything was as advertised"
Review 10 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Authentic Sweater,
December 18, 2014
By: BabaORiley
from Jefferson City, MO
"I purchased the US Navy Seaman's Sweater and could not be happier. While I don't wear sweaters very often the fit of this piece is superb. I am 5'11 and 190lbs and a large is a perfect fit. The mock collar is comfy without the turtleneck restriction and the bottom hem is wide and adds authenticity to the sweater. My wife loves it, bonus, and is an article I will have for a long time. Looks great with jeans or khaki's."
Review 11 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seaman's sweater,
December 17, 2014
By: KathyBooth111
from Manchester
"Lovely sweater and super fit
Different to the usual styles.
"
Review 12 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Classic,
December 15, 2014
By: Ollie828
"I can't say enough good things about this sweater - I would wear it every day if I could and I know it will be a favorite for a long time to come"
Review 13 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 15, 2014
By: Henry2
from Memphis, TN.
"I always read the reviews about an item before I order. Two reviews stated that this sweater ran a size large. I wear a large so I ordered a medium. It was a perfect fit. The quality is outstanding and I have received several good comments.
Actually it is the best mock turtle I have worn!
"
Review 14 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised,
December 2, 2014
By: STLJIM
from St Louis ,MO
"This is the best turtleneck I own and I own a lot of them.Warm ,fitted and best if all soft and does not itch.Not even at the neck.Great purchase."
Review 15 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
'What it says on the tin',
November 17, 2014
By: LargeMan
from Manchester
"I have the RAF jumper and its a classic. This jumper is exactly the same. Quality worth paying for. It's exactly as advertised."
Review 16 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love wool anything,
November 12, 2014
By: brdun1
from Louisville KY
"Great as another layer going to outdoor events. Like football."
Review 17 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a very smart jumper,
November 3, 2014
By: Baz4B
from London, England
"this is a a handsome jumper that is well weighted and well built. It has a subtle naval cut that distinguishes it from any other jumper I've seen.
Orvis has done a really good job of work here.
I am not sure why this jumper requires dry cleaning while other wool jumpers are washable but this is not a complaint.
"
Review 18 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haze grey and underway....,
October 20, 2014
By: paroba66
from Dallas, TX
"Excellent sweater, looks and feels great. May run a little large, just depends on the fit you like. I am about 6'3" and 215lbs and the XL fits well with room. Probably could have gone with the L if I wanted tighter fit. I look foward to getting a lot of use out ot this sweater this winter."
Review 19 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sea worthy sweater,
October 13, 2014
By: rjdindenver
from colorado
"bought this sweater specifically for a two week trawler trip off the coast of British Columbia. As we were piloting ourselves in a 44' vessel, I needed something to layer below my foul weather gear, without worry of losing heat to water or wind.. the sweater worked very well, and was worn everyday.. it looked great when we could occasionally go ashore for a meal or drink.. comfortable, warm without bulk, and held its shape well."
Review 20 for US Navy Seaman's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
September 22, 2014
By: rjdindenver
from colorado
"this is the one I have been looking for all these years.. warm, soft, ignores light rain, and fits perfectly.
the warm mock turtle (high collar) kept in the warmth while out on a recent boating trip to the Pacific NW and shed light rain like a champ..
it is fine looking and added enough gravitas to wear out to dinner over a pair of nasty old jeans.. love it..
"