Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater

Inspired by the sweaters once issued to Royal Air Force aircrew members, this men's rollneck pullover sweater offers classic looks that pair handsomely with khakis or—in the civilian world—jeans. Softer and warmer than the original issue, this sweater's jersey-knit lambswool ensures itch-free comfort. Rib-knit cuffs and neck. Men's roll-neck sweater in natural. Pure lambswool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
80 of 84(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Review 1 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style and Substance,
December 18, 2014
By: OrvisDB
"I have been a customer of Orvis for a long time and this sweater illustrates why. It is the perfect blend of warmth and style. When ordering online sizing can often be a challenge but, in this case, this sweater is a perfect Medium. Though it is new, I like the tight weave which lends itself to keeping its shape over the years. This is a very high quality garment which sets Orvis apart from many other retailers."
Review 2 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another orvis purchase,
December 16, 2014
By: INSWITHME
"I have purchased many items at Orvis both in Manchester and now in Westbury. What I didn't like is having to pay for shipping when I went to order my latest purchase on line! So, I went to the store and ordered it there and got free shipping.
Not convienent during the holidays!
"
Review 3 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAF Sweater,
December 9, 2014
By: ajlafleche
from West Springfield MA
"I hesitated in getting this sweater though it looked great in the catalog and online. Several reviewers commented that the neck being too big and had to be rolled over twice. Yes, it's a tall turtleneck; that's what a turtleneck should be. It fits comfortably snug at the collar as it should. The size medium fit me perfectly (40 inch chest, 32 waist) I would not call it bulky by any means. Trying it on, I felt no scratchiness from the wool. Definitely a keeper."
Review 4 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
excellent product,
December 9, 2014
By: Veep
from Ann Arbor , Michigan
"Excellent workmanship and great buy, however there is still a bit of "itch" for those sensitive to wool."
Review 5 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Sweaters,
December 7, 2014
By: areasonablemind
from Knoxville, Tennessee
"I could not be more delighted with the Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater I purchased online. For comfort, fit, value and warmth, it is one of the best sweater purchases I've made, short of going to Scotland and buying a hand crafted sweater one stage removed from the sheep. Definitely a must buy recommendation."
Review 6 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 4, 2014
By: Salr
"I purchased the sweater because I am a fan of vintage looking military clothing. I am a big guy and I bought a size which I wasn't sure would fit, but I can tell you that this sweater ends up running true to size and you do not need to buy a size up. It is very warm and quite comfortable, I highly recommend it."
Review 7 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
December 4, 2014
By: Moe33
from Midland,Ontario Canada
"Have worn sweater all ready.Like
the qnuality & fits well. Quality of it
is excellent.Very satisfied with it.
Received comments about,when
wearing it
"
Review 8 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Royal Air Force Sweater review,
December 1, 2014
By: JoeC68
"The product is excellent, and just what I wanted. Good fit, nice material, and very warm. It will look great with my Navy double-breasted blazer, thanks again.......Joe C."
Review 9 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally, a Perfect Fit !!!,
November 29, 2014
By: Skipper67
from Mentor, Ohio
"With "normal" clothes, I wear a size Large. However, I have learned the hard way that Orvis oversizes jackets, sweaters, etc. This time, I ordered a size Medium of this sweater and it fit me perfectly - even around the neck area.. The quality of this sweater is excellent."
Review 10 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
November 26, 2014
By: willnick2332
"This turtleneck sweater is one of the best sweaters I've ever bought. Luxurious looking, incredibly soft and comfortable, and it'll keep you toasty warm."
Review 11 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality!,
November 24, 2014
By: Kidner
from Pittsburgh. PA
"The Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
was exactly what I expected from Orvis. Beautiful material, perfectly constructed and sizing reliable. I couldn't be more pleased. I
"
Review 12 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
November 17, 2014
By: TippyTip
from Rancho Mirage, CA
"Best sweater I have ever owned. Can't believe it's lambswool , feels like 100% cashmere. I'll be wearing this sweater a lot and sure I'll come to regard it as an old friend.
Fabulous
"
Review 13 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outdoor only,
November 4, 2014
By: njsailor
from Bay Head, New Jersey
"excellent sweater for under loose windbreaking jacket, way too warm for indoor wear. Excellent choice for my winter sailing along the NJ coast, can get wet and still keep me warm. the high neck is a blessing when extra ear warmth is required."
Review 14 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Satisfied,
October 13, 2014
By: urban1
from Philadelphia, PA
"Have looked for a bulky, what I think of as old fashioned, turtle neck sweater for several years now. So well pleased with the sweater I ordered a second and then ordered two of the cotton turtle necks as well. Found the wool sweaters sized a bit large and had to return a large for a medium, which fits well."
Review 15 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
August 18, 2014
By: eldrako
from South Texas
"I purchased this sweater last year. I believe the quality is excellent. It is actually a pretty heavy yarn and is very warm...almost too warm for my South Texas climate. I think it runs a tad bit to the large side, I am usually stuck between a medium and a large, the medium size fits me very well. I only wish the true turtleneck was a mock turtleneck."
Review 16 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GRrrrrreat !,
April 8, 2014
By: shortbreadus
from Michigan
"Great fit.Excellent workmanship.A real joy to wear."
Review 17 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique Sweater,
March 21, 2014
By: JJOHNSON43
from Raleigh, NC
"Love everything about this sweater. Quality stitching, unique style, warm and comfortable. Worth the price. I'm 5'9", 180 lbs, medium fits great."
Review 18 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Jumper with a Great Heritage,
March 17, 2014
By: Aircrew
"I finally picked one of these up and I have to say its a really nice jumper. The colour is not pure white and the neck is bulky but that is actually in keeping with its RAF heritage. Twinned with a leather jacket or peacoat looks really cool for that military styled look (throw in some aviator shades for goot measure). A great item to keep you warm in the winter months.
Look forward to wearing in in my Spit!
"
Review 19 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chicago winter sweater,
February 18, 2014
By: 60TR
from chicago
"Great product for Chicago winters. Even though it is not cashmere it is very soft and non itchy. Sizing was a bit of a compromise however; the XL seemed huge and the Large was significantly smaller and a little snug. Typically Orvis products have less distinction between sizes so that accurate fitting is possible"
Review 20 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & Fuzzy,
February 17, 2014
By: Pooka12345
"Warm, comfortable, neat looking, fit is perfect, usual Orvis high quality."