Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater

Inspired by the sweaters once issued to Royal Air Force aircrew members, this men's rollneck pullover sweater offers classic looks that pair handsomely with khakis or—in the civilian world—jeans. Softer and warmer than the original issue, this sweater's jersey-knit lambswool ensures itch-free comfort. Rib-knit cuffs and neck. Men's roll-neck sweater in natural. Pure lambswool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.753 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
87
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
97 of 101(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Review 1 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
February 20, 2015
By: Itchenor
from Chichester
"This is an excellent produce perfect fit for me very soft material would be popular if supplied in more colours"
Review 2 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Motorbike essential!,
February 19, 2015
By: Pinkumbella
from Surrey, UK
"This sweater is so amazingly warm that it's now become an essential part of my motorbike wear."
Review 3 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
February 18, 2015
By: Itchenor
from Chichester
"This is an excellent sweater and is very soft to wear and is a perfect fit for me.I would advise Orvis to sell this item in other colours."
Review 4 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good,
February 17, 2015
By: kelleveziroglu
"Wool is very soft, doesnt itch. Ordered large and was perfectly sized."
Review 5 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore it Today,
February 17, 2015
By: Zell
from Crystal Lake,IL
"Received my sweater about a week ago and set it aside to wear to my men’s club meeting.
Sweater was quite warm as temps were in the teens. Felt very comfortable with it on and even got a few attaboy’s.
Very dressy item as well.
"
Review 6 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and warm,
February 16, 2015
By: stuartlipman
"Soft warm and not too itchy. Impressed with quality. Says 'hand wash' but I find machine wash on gentle cycle works fine with no shrinking. Sweater (I bought a medium) is longer than I need and would consequently be fine for anyone tall but of slim build."
Review 7 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
February 9, 2015
By: cousins
from Indianapolis InN
"Love this classic sweater. My cousins were in the RAF and the RCAF. Dashing sweater."
Review 8 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice sweater,
February 4, 2015
By: Richkv
from Wisconsin
"Good fit and finish, not overly heavy. Will look good either casually or with a sport coat."
Review 9 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
January 2, 2015
By: Howeudew
from NC
"I love the sweater. It is actually better than I expected. It is soft, warm, classy, and very well made.
When I look at the reviews, I tend to look at the lowest satisfaction reviews first, to see what people dislike the most. I have to say, I dislike NOTHING about this sweater. I could not be happier.
Excellent purchase!"
Review 10 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super cool sweater,
December 30, 2014
By: Sc5040
from Madison,WI
"Was the hit of the family Christmas dinner. Definitely soft and comfortable and warm enough for a wisconsin winter"
Review 11 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 30, 2014
By: USMC0317
from California
"This is an extremely nice fitting and warm sweater. I have always wanted a turtleneck sweater and decided now was the time.
The sweater fit perfectly and is soft and very comfortable to wear. The neck is perfect and I have found no negatives with this item.
As usual-Orvis supplies the best items and I would highly recommend this to anyone.
"
Review 12 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome sweater,
December 28, 2014
By: 3dogwoman
from Danvers, MA
"I gave this sweater to my husband for Christmas. It's a really handsome sweater, nice weight to the yarn, beautiful color. I had also given my husband the leather vest that you sell on a previous Christmas, the two together look extremely good together. You really have top notch clothing."
Review 13 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 27, 2014
By: SweaterGetter
from Ohio
"This is a fantastic, soft, warm sweater. Well made, fits great. No regrets!"
Review 14 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ruggedly handsome,
December 26, 2014
By: winedog
from Brighton, Michigan
"About as virile as it gets. Handsome looking, but yet the wool is soft and non-itchy. High roll neck protects against the cold. Generously sized, and well worth the price."
Review 15 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 23, 2014
By: bbailey49
from Tennessee
"Warm, soft, and stylish. This sweater is well made and comfortable."
Review 16 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now I need a Spitfire,
December 22, 2014
By: MaGooF15
from Cape Cod, MA
"This sweater is exactly what I was looking for to compliment my leather flight jacket. Looks the same as Robert Shaw's in "The Battle of Britain." The medium fit perfectly (I usually size medium) and its incredibly comfortable and not itchy at all (the lambs wool must do the trick here as most wool garments I find too itchy. Though its warm I found it to be fine for indoor wear too - not too heavy. Love it."
Review 17 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style and Substance,
December 18, 2014
By: OrvisDB
"I have been a customer of Orvis for a long time and this sweater illustrates why. It is the perfect blend of warmth and style. When ordering online sizing can often be a challenge but, in this case, this sweater is a perfect Medium. Though it is new, I like the tight weave which lends itself to keeping its shape over the years. This is a very high quality garment which sets Orvis apart from many other retailers."
Review 18 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another orvis purchase,
December 16, 2014
By: INSWITHME
"I have purchased many items at Orvis both in Manchester and now in Westbury. What I didn't like is having to pay for shipping when I went to order my latest purchase on line! So, I went to the store and ordered it there and got free shipping.
Not convienent during the holidays!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAF Sweater,
December 9, 2014
By: ajlafleche
from West Springfield MA
"I hesitated in getting this sweater though it looked great in the catalog and online. Several reviewers commented that the neck being too big and had to be rolled over twice. Yes, it's a tall turtleneck; that's what a turtleneck should be. It fits comfortably snug at the collar as it should. The size medium fit me perfectly (40 inch chest, 32 waist) I would not call it bulky by any means. Trying it on, I felt no scratchiness from the wool. Definitely a keeper."
Review 20 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
excellent product,
December 9, 2014
By: Veep
from Ann Arbor , Michigan
"Excellent workmanship and great buy, however there is still a bit of "itch" for those sensitive to wool."