Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater

Inspired by the sweaters once issued to Royal Air Force aircrew members, this men's rollneck pullover sweater offers classic looks that pair handsomely with khakis or—in the civilian world—jeans. Softer and warmer than the original issue, this sweater's jersey-knit lambswool ensures itch-free comfort. Rib-knit cuffs and neck. Men's roll-neck sweater in natural. Pure lambswool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.728 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
88 of 92(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Review 1 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
January 2, 2015
By: Howeudew
from NC
"I love the sweater. It is actually better than I expected. It is soft, warm, classy, and very well made.
When I look at the reviews, I tend to look at the lowest satisfaction reviews first, to see what people dislike the most. I have to say, I dislike NOTHING about this sweater. I could not be happier.
Excellent purchase!"
Review 2 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super cool sweater,
December 30, 2014
By: Sc5040
from Madison,WI
"Was the hit of the family Christmas dinner. Definitely soft and comfortable and warm enough for a wisconsin winter"
Review 3 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 30, 2014
By: USMC0317
from California
"This is an extremely nice fitting and warm sweater. I have always wanted a turtleneck sweater and decided now was the time.
The sweater fit perfectly and is soft and very comfortable to wear. The neck is perfect and I have found no negatives with this item.
As usual-Orvis supplies the best items and I would highly recommend this to anyone.
"
Review 4 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome sweater,
December 28, 2014
By: 3dogwoman
from Danvers, MA
"I gave this sweater to my husband for Christmas. It's a really handsome sweater, nice weight to the yarn, beautiful color. I had also given my husband the leather vest that you sell on a previous Christmas, the two together look extremely good together. You really have top notch clothing."
Review 5 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 27, 2014
By: SweaterGetter
from Ohio
"This is a fantastic, soft, warm sweater. Well made, fits great. No regrets!"
Review 6 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ruggedly handsome,
December 26, 2014
By: winedog
from Brighton, Michigan
"About as virile as it gets. Handsome looking, but yet the wool is soft and non-itchy. High roll neck protects against the cold. Generously sized, and well worth the price."
Review 7 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 23, 2014
By: bbailey49
from Tennessee
"Warm, soft, and stylish. This sweater is well made and comfortable."
Review 8 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now I need a Spitfire,
December 22, 2014
By: MaGooF15
from Cape Cod, MA
"This sweater is exactly what I was looking for to compliment my leather flight jacket. Looks the same as Robert Shaw's in "The Battle of Britain." The medium fit perfectly (I usually size medium) and its incredibly comfortable and not itchy at all (the lambs wool must do the trick here as most wool garments I find too itchy. Though its warm I found it to be fine for indoor wear too - not too heavy. Love it."
Review 9 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style and Substance,
December 18, 2014
By: OrvisDB
"I have been a customer of Orvis for a long time and this sweater illustrates why. It is the perfect blend of warmth and style. When ordering online sizing can often be a challenge but, in this case, this sweater is a perfect Medium. Though it is new, I like the tight weave which lends itself to keeping its shape over the years. This is a very high quality garment which sets Orvis apart from many other retailers."
Review 10 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another orvis purchase,
December 16, 2014
By: INSWITHME
"I have purchased many items at Orvis both in Manchester and now in Westbury. What I didn't like is having to pay for shipping when I went to order my latest purchase on line! So, I went to the store and ordered it there and got free shipping.
Not convienent during the holidays!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAF Sweater,
December 9, 2014
By: ajlafleche
from West Springfield MA
"I hesitated in getting this sweater though it looked great in the catalog and online. Several reviewers commented that the neck being too big and had to be rolled over twice. Yes, it's a tall turtleneck; that's what a turtleneck should be. It fits comfortably snug at the collar as it should. The size medium fit me perfectly (40 inch chest, 32 waist) I would not call it bulky by any means. Trying it on, I felt no scratchiness from the wool. Definitely a keeper."
Review 12 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
excellent product,
December 9, 2014
By: Veep
from Ann Arbor , Michigan
"Excellent workmanship and great buy, however there is still a bit of "itch" for those sensitive to wool."
Review 13 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Sweaters,
December 7, 2014
By: areasonablemind
from Knoxville, Tennessee
"I could not be more delighted with the Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater I purchased online. For comfort, fit, value and warmth, it is one of the best sweater purchases I've made, short of going to Scotland and buying a hand crafted sweater one stage removed from the sheep. Definitely a must buy recommendation."
Review 14 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 4, 2014
By: Salr
"I purchased the sweater because I am a fan of vintage looking military clothing. I am a big guy and I bought a size which I wasn't sure would fit, but I can tell you that this sweater ends up running true to size and you do not need to buy a size up. It is very warm and quite comfortable, I highly recommend it."
Review 15 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
December 4, 2014
By: Moe33
from Midland,Ontario Canada
"Have worn sweater all ready.Like
the qnuality & fits well. Quality of it
is excellent.Very satisfied with it.
Received comments about,when
wearing it
"
Review 16 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Royal Air Force Sweater review,
December 1, 2014
By: JoeC68
"The product is excellent, and just what I wanted. Good fit, nice material, and very warm. It will look great with my Navy double-breasted blazer, thanks again.......Joe C."
Review 17 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally, a Perfect Fit !!!,
November 29, 2014
By: Skipper67
from Mentor, Ohio
"With "normal" clothes, I wear a size Large. However, I have learned the hard way that Orvis oversizes jackets, sweaters, etc. This time, I ordered a size Medium of this sweater and it fit me perfectly - even around the neck area.. The quality of this sweater is excellent."
Review 18 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
November 26, 2014
By: willnick2332
"This turtleneck sweater is one of the best sweaters I've ever bought. Luxurious looking, incredibly soft and comfortable, and it'll keep you toasty warm."
Review 19 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality!,
November 24, 2014
By: Kidner
from Pittsburgh. PA
"The Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
was exactly what I expected from Orvis. Beautiful material, perfectly constructed and sizing reliable. I couldn't be more pleased. I
"
Review 20 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
November 17, 2014
By: TippyTip
from Rancho Mirage, CA
"Best sweater I have ever owned. Can't believe it's lambswool , feels like 100% cashmere. I'll be wearing this sweater a lot and sure I'll come to regard it as an old friend.
Fabulous
"