Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater

Inspired by the sweaters once issued to Royal Air Force aircrew members, this men's rollneck pullover sweater offers classic looks that pair handsomely with khakis or—in the civilian world—jeans. Softer and warmer than the original issue, this sweater's jersey-knit lambswool ensures itch-free comfort. Rib-knit cuffs and neck. Men's roll-neck sweater in natural. Pure lambswool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
65 of 69(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Review 1 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
November 17, 2014
By: TippyTip
from Rancho Mirage, CA
"Best sweater I have ever owned. Can't believe it's lambswool , feels like 100% cashmere. I'll be wearing this sweater a lot and sure I'll come to regard it as an old friend.
Fabulous
"
Review 2 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outdoor only,
November 4, 2014
By: njsailor
from Bay Head, New Jersey
"excellent sweater for under loose windbreaking jacket, way too warm for indoor wear. Excellent choice for my winter sailing along the NJ coast, can get wet and still keep me warm. the high neck is a blessing when extra ear warmth is required."
Review 3 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Satisfied,
October 13, 2014
By: urban1
from Philadelphia, PA
"Have looked for a bulky, what I think of as old fashioned, turtle neck sweater for several years now. So well pleased with the sweater I ordered a second and then ordered two of the cotton turtle necks as well. Found the wool sweaters sized a bit large and had to return a large for a medium, which fits well."
Review 4 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
August 18, 2014
By: eldrako
from South Texas
"I purchased this sweater last year. I believe the quality is excellent. It is actually a pretty heavy yarn and is very warm...almost too warm for my South Texas climate. I think it runs a tad bit to the large side, I am usually stuck between a medium and a large, the medium size fits me very well. I only wish the true turtleneck was a mock turtleneck."
Review 5 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GRrrrrreat !,
April 8, 2014
By: shortbreadus
from Michigan
"Great fit.Excellent workmanship.A real joy to wear."
Review 6 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique Sweater,
March 21, 2014
By: JJOHNSON43
from Raleigh, NC
"Love everything about this sweater. Quality stitching, unique style, warm and comfortable. Worth the price. I'm 5'9", 180 lbs, medium fits great."
Review 7 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Jumper with a Great Heritage,
March 17, 2014
By: Aircrew
"I finally picked one of these up and I have to say its a really nice jumper. The colour is not pure white and the neck is bulky but that is actually in keeping with its RAF heritage. Twinned with a leather jacket or peacoat looks really cool for that military styled look (throw in some aviator shades for goot measure). A great item to keep you warm in the winter months.
Look forward to wearing in in my Spit!
"
Review 8 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chicago winter sweater,
February 18, 2014
By: 60TR
from chicago
"Great product for Chicago winters. Even though it is not cashmere it is very soft and non itchy. Sizing was a bit of a compromise however; the XL seemed huge and the Large was significantly smaller and a little snug. Typically Orvis products have less distinction between sizes so that accurate fitting is possible"
Review 9 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & Fuzzy,
February 17, 2014
By: Pooka12345
"Warm, comfortable, neat looking, fit is perfect, usual Orvis high quality."
Review 10 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice sweater,
February 13, 2014
By: lorscot
"Nice sweater, well made and cut for a wider frame. The only criticism is the turtle neck portion is extremely long and needs to be cuffed double to look normal. Warm and comfortable."
Review 11 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice sweater,
February 12, 2014
By: Provenceman
from Colorado
"Sweater is very warm and comfortable. No need to wear anything except an undershirt under the sweater.
Goes great with a pair of jeans"
Review 12 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
February 11, 2014
By: ABXYZ
from Pinehurst, NC
"The sweater looks good, fits well and most importantly, is very warm!"
Review 13 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
February 10, 2014
By: archaicboy
"Nice wool, well woven and put together. Excellent fit. Precisely what I wanted. Have worn it as an outer layer in 20F and been comfortable."
Review 14 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The "Just Right" Turtleneck,
February 10, 2014
By: GrizzlyBill
from Michigan
"This sweater is not only great looking, but extremely comfortable. Wool turtlenecks tend to be itchy to those of us with tender skin but this soft wool is comfortable yet holds its shape. A wonderful find."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted...,
February 9, 2014
By: DeeRay
from Satellite Beach, FL
"The quality is excellent as I expected from Orvis. As a 42 long, I selected the medium(38-40) instead of the large(42-44). It is a perfect fit to wear under a leather jacket. Noted from past purchases and reviews, Orvis sizes are a bit generous which I find is a plus. The ordering on line and by phone was easy, and pleasant with a very courteous customer service representative."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm fantasy,
February 8, 2014
By: Samskara
from Long Island NY
"Nice sweater -- suitable foir cold days and book jacket photographs. May be too heavy for indoor wear.
Sizing may be a matter of taste -- I found my regular size to be a bit large, but that may be a question of what you're wearing underneath (and whether you're trying to hide a waistline.)"
Review 17 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
winter wardrobe made easy,
February 7, 2014
By: northcoaster
from Ohio
"This sweater goes perfectly with everything from jeans and boots to dress slacks and wingtips. Extraordinarily soft which is important to me in a turtleneck. Yet, seems it will wear very well. Quite possibly the nicest sweater I've ever owned."
Review 18 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
February 6, 2014
By: HistoryGuy
from Metairie, LA
"I purchased this sweater to replace one that was lost by the cleaner several years ago and it has supassed my expectations. The sweater is softer and warmer than the original and fits better too. I am 6" tall, wear a 40 sportcoat, and shirts with a 34-35 sleeve. This sweater fits with room to spare while not being too loose. Highly recommended."
Review 19 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Royal Aircrew Sweater,
February 6, 2014
By: Art36
from Issaquah, WA
"The sweater is well made, very soft and is extremely good looking. I received it just in time for another round of cold weather."
Review 20 for Royal Air Force Aircrew Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and fit,
February 4, 2014
By: Rvflyer
"Just what I was looking for. Fit and finish great."