Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan

Our finest Mongolian cashmere in a luxurious 10-gauge knit. This zip-front cardigan sweater will be your constant companion. Comfortable raglan-sleeve design with rib-knit stand collar, cuffs, and hem. Fully fashioned. Pure cashmere. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Review 1 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good present,
September 29, 2014
By: Markke
from Philadelphia, PA
"It is hard to buy presents for my sister-in-law who has everything. But this cardigan is perfect: good fit, pleasant colors, and multi-ply cashmere, not too thick and not too thin, nice for three-season wear."
Review 2 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Orvis Cashmere!,
August 28, 2014
By: Catmomof2
from Rochester, MN
"This is the third cashmere sweater I have purchased from Orvis. These sweaters are soft and luxurious. The color choices are all lovely."
Review 3 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater!,
March 10, 2014
By: sadbluedress
from Lawrence, KS
"Incredibly soft and great cut. Clean lines work well with skirt/slacks and still casual enough to wear with jeans.
I ended up buying a second sweater in blue!"
Review 4 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not as I expected,
February 13, 2014
By: Annie74
from Ann Arbor, MI
"The picture does not reveal the extent of the ribbing around the neck, sleeves and hem and thus the sweater was not at all what I had expected and was disappointed."
Review 5 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely sweater,
February 7, 2014
By: Shishka
from VA
"Lightweight but warm, and the color is a bright but pretty pink. The sleeves are a bit fuller than usual, but not to the point that they look bad. A comfortable sweater I'm sure I'll enjoy."
Review 6 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and comfy,
February 4, 2014
By: HeleneJoy
from Oklahoma City, OK
"I found the sweater to be exactly as advertised. It zips easily and is long enough to cover parts of me that are better not exposed. It is dressy in its own way; I wore it over a cashmere pullover to the Pops Concert and felt perfectly dressed. I did wait until the shipping was free. I think the shipping costs for Orvis are not reasonable.I wouldn't mind having it in several other colors."
Review 7 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be better!,
February 3, 2014
By: amberella
from Southern California
"Perfect in every way. Fit, color (I have it in DILL) weight....light and warm at the same time. Even the zipper works!! Thank you ORVIS
from Amberella"
Review 8 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, light weight,
January 29, 2014
By: Ocea
from Marblehead, MA
"Lovely lightweight, warm. I will wear this sweater year round."
Review 9 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A classic style in good color,
January 20, 2014
By: Polonia
from Boston
"I bought two of these sweaters (charcoal and dill) because of the style and dill color. Such a zip cardigan is warm, versatile, and great for cool/cold weather travel. I think they are still overpriced, even on sale, but I have no doubt I will wear them until they fall apart.
These run true to size unlike some items I've bought from Orvis. I am a medium but often order small for Orvis items. The small was too narrow in the shoulders and was returned.
I should note that the quality of the cashmere is inconsistent. The charcoal sweater is silky soft as one would expect from high quality cashmere. The dill sweater has a tighter weave, a firmer yarn, and is a tad scratchy around the neck if worn without a turtleneck and scarf. I own two other cashmere sweaters from Orvis and the yarn in this one seems substandard by comparison. I kept it because of the color and versatility of the style even though I found the cashmere questionable.
My recommendation to a friend would, therefore, be a qualified one. See what the cashmere is like in the one they send you and then decide."
Review 10 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect color,
January 16, 2014
By: Thisbe
from Kalamazoo. Michigan
"This is exactly the color I needed.
And although the cashmere is more light weight then I had expected, it is very soft and comfy.
"
Review 11 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweater review,
December 26, 2013
By: onlncust
"my wife enjoyed the feel, the color and the fit of the sweater. she was very happy with it. I have no idea how long it will hold up, hopefully that will be good too."
Review 12 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marvelous,
December 13, 2013
By: Happym
from Coon rapids,MN
"Love this sweater--so soft, beautiful color!!! I am very large boned--long arms-- the XLis perfect!!loved the fact that this is hand washable-- as will not buy anything that requires dry-cleaning!! Thanks for great product that I DO not have to return,ha! Merry Christmas!! Signed "Happy""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft & Cozy,
December 6, 2013
By: carmelsmom
from Dartmouth, MA
"So happy with this soft and cozy cashmere cardigan. It's warm without being heavy & bulky. Beautiful color and nice fit. I can wear it alone or with a top underneath & the collar can be worn up or down. Nice quality and good value for the price. (Beware other cheap cashmere sweaters because they pill.)"
Review 14 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Soft!,
October 7, 2013
By: Ldsorvis
"A very well made sweater. Attention to detail is evident. Absolutely the best sweater I have ever purchased for my daughter. A quality item."
Review 15 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet,
January 19, 2013
By: Suelani2
from Maine
"This is so warm and comfortable. I love it. It is my second one."
Review 16 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
big for size,
December 30, 2012
By: bjbr
from SLC, UT
"Liked the color and weight of sweater but even the small was too big. Material was a bit scratchy. Sent back for Xsmall"
Review 17 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cashmere,
December 26, 2012
By: Tula
from Twin Cities
"I bought the cashmere with buttons and pockets several years ago and it has been an amazing sweater. So durable, warm and cozy and has stayed lovely! this one should have pockets. And although it says it's heavier than the other one, it doesn't feel quite as full - time will tell. Love the zipper, color is good."
Review 18 for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A winner,
November 27, 2012
By: Classics
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts
"The grey cashmere zip sweater was all I expected - great quality, good fit, will go with jeans or a layer of warmth for winter golf. I am 5'5", 125, ordered medium and it was a good fit."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cashmere Zip-Front Cardigan
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 4