Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Herringbone Traveller Coat

Tailored with the traveller in mind, our pure lambswool coat incorporates genuine leather elbow patches and welted leather trim on the chest pocket and sleeve cuffs, handsome details that also add durability and long life. A collar tab and locker loop also make it easy to hang it up and out of the way. Two-button front, single back vent. Travel jacket for men is fully lined. In brown. Body 100% wool; lining 100% polyester. Dry clean. Regular sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Review 1 for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice casual coat.,
July 15, 2013
By: Freebornman
from somewhere in Pennsylvania
"Hesitant about sizing,but just followed Orvis's guide- received the coat and it fits perfectly.I love the style- it's dressy enough to keep you lookin good and casual enough to make you feel good. The leather trim on the pockets and sleeves give it a classic look. Can't wait for fall- it will be perfect!"
Review 2 for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater-Jacket!!,
June 10, 2013
By: Sciphier
from Saratoga Springs, N.Y.
"This is not by the weavers from the Outer Hebrides. Nor is it the jacket to wear when giving a presentation, or making a sales call at work. It's a very nice, soft and lightweight wool tweed jacket for use with jeans, cords, or khakis and when going out to the movies or to a game with friends. Take it along for travel. Wear it when you would otherwise wear a sweater but want to kick it up a notch to some of the features of a jacket. The leather elbows, trim and throat latch are nice details but are totally unnecessary to make this an attractive, functional garment. It is what it is: a great Orvis jacket you'll be proud to own.."
Review 3 for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traveler's coat,
May 29, 2013
By: Gandalf
from Oakland, CA
"This is not the best coat I have purchased from Orvis, but it appears to be what it was advertised to be. I thought the fit was a trifle snug for an Orvis coat, but it will serve nicely in fall travels and winter travels to less extreme climates. The coat is comfortable and appears to be reasonably well made."
Review 4 for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Follow Up Review,
May 29, 2013
By: ChuckH
from Jackson Hole and San Francisco
"Orvis continues to offer high quality men's wear at the best possible prices.
The "Traveler Coat" has some nice touches. The leather trim on the button catch, breast pocket, sleeves, and elbows is classy. I like the lightweight wool material and pattern. The lining has leather trim
on the inside pockets. Great looking casual sport coat.
Orvis's customer service is outstanding and their return policy is bullet proof. Order this jacket, you won't lose.
"
Review 5 for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice casual sport coat,
May 26, 2013
By: ChuckH
from Jackson Hole and San Francisco
"I like it! It's comfortable and good looking. It is unstructured with the exception of some shoulder padding. The material is light but has a nice hand. I plan to use it when I need to grab a coat as I go out the door. Good choice for casual wear.
My one regret is that I missed the additional 20% discount added as soon as I already had the coat delivered to me.
"
Review 6 for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what the Doctor Ordered,
April 29, 2013
By: Oireda
from Surrey UK
"Perfect, I wanted a tweed jacket NEW but with the appearance that my grandad had worn it gardening for 25 years! If you are looking for a smart tailored jacket look elsewhere."
Review 7 for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
conflicted,
March 25, 2013
By: Hobbz
from Wilmington , NC
"Orvis products are pretty good , but this one has me a little disappointed or maybe there is something I don't understand . 1. thought the tweed really wasn't tweed .Don't think it would hold up ,thin .Leather was really thin , but soft & pliable ! The photo makes it look rugged but it didn't feel that way ."
Review 8 for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poorly made,
November 22, 2012
By: slider11
from Northwest
"Numerous flaws. Poor fit, shapeless and not up to Orvis standards."
Review 9 for Herringbone Traveller Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional & Stylish,
November 12, 2012
By: Expatriate
from Hermiston, Oregon
"I'm quite pleased with this coat. When I ordered the traveler coat I figured there was about a 50-50 chance that I would like it. I wore it this weekend in Portland, Oregon...fairly cool weather in the 40s and 50s and I was comfortable as can be. It works well with a light sweater & shirt underneath and is very comfortable."