Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Water Trapper® Grid Mats

Our thirsty polypropylene mats are designed to keep your floors clean throughout the worst that any season or dog can dish out. Side channels allow water to drain quickly, thick fibers scrape off mud and snow, while thin fibers remove moisture from the soles of boots and shoes. Great for entryways, mudrooms, or high-traffic areas inside your home or outside of it. Strong rubber backing gives traction on all floor surfaces. The mats are easy-care; just hose off to clean. Polypropylene. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.837 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (355 reviews)
5 stars
313
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
346 of 355(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Review 1 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud and dirt mat,
October 11, 2012
By: Dogdoormats
from Michigan
"I am very happy with the mats I got . I have a new dog door and got a mat for the landing immediately in front of the door, and another right above the stair from landing. They have certainly caught lots of the dirt that comes in. I have to vacuum them off every day. Lots of colors to choose from and easy to cut to fit if you need to."
Review 2 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential product purchase,
February 20, 2015
By: Davhounds2
from Poole, UK
"We bought a Water Trapper mat in brown for the kitchen and it is excellent. It soaks up excess water, mud and sand from two hounds and with a non-slip backing, does not slide about on the floor. It fits in with the kitchen furnishings well. It benefits from being vacuumed regularly to retain its pristine appearance."
Review 3 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's Perfect!,
February 19, 2015
By: JE2015
from Tracy, CA
"I have a 90 pound pit bull/mix that loves to run in and out all day... I ordered this rug for my entryway between the backyard. Most rugs slide all over the place, this one doesn't move an inch. It's nice looking too. Perfect for a house full of active pets and kids."
Review 4 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Trapper!,
February 18, 2015
By: VlakVark
"An outstanding product, exactly as advertised. Perfect."
Review 5 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog rug,
February 17, 2015
By: Labrescue
from Santa Barbara, CA
"This is my 2nd water trapper. It works great to protect our hard wood floor entry way from multiple dogs (wet muddy Labs of course) and human feet."
Review 6 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful entrance-way mats,
February 13, 2015
By: MissC
from Richmond, VA
"These water trapper mats are fantastic for catching all of the water and mud my two big dogs bring in from their trips outside. They are very good looking, practical and well made. I first started out with a couple mats and now I have them all over the house. I put a large one under where my dogs eat and drink and it looks and works great there. Thanks Orvis for providing great solutions for my problems!"
Review 7 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
February 12, 2015
By: HQCS
from Albuquerque, NM
"This dog mat is fantastic for the price and how it absorbs everything from my dog's feet. I absolutely recommend this product; however I got the smallest size and wish I had gotten a larger mat."
Review 8 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
February 9, 2015
By: packsmack
from Wausau, WI
"Absolutely the best for trapping water, dirt, snow, sand, etc. Cleans up beautifully. Fits under door jam so it doesn't disrupt opening/closing door."
Review 9 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase!,
February 9, 2015
By: LizCM
from Boston, MA
"bought for awkward entrance space for the winter and we love it. we will purchase another for our mudroom and to capture stray kitty litter next to the litter box."
Review 10 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helpful mats,
February 6, 2015
By: LSS535
from Medford Oregon
"These mats make winter and pets possible! They last forever and are easy to clean in the spring. Plus they dry quickly. What sets them apart is that they will not move."
Review 11 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is perfect,
February 6, 2015
By: packsmack
from Wausau, WI
"We have kids and dogs coming into a mudroom that has a white tile floor. This rug is PERFECT for collecting the snow and dirt that is constantly tracked in. The rug cleans up beautifully and always looks brand new. We've ordered 4 of these for various entryways to our home."
Review 12 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Mat,
January 29, 2015
By: RGV123
"Perfect for entryways. Cleans off the dogs paws before they run all over the house. You can tell the mat is very high quality. I would highly recommend this product."
Review 13 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Home Staple,
January 29, 2015
By: 86mafalda
from WNY
"The Orvis Water Trapper Grid Mat I purchased for myself and my daughter are functional, good looking, easy care, and reasonably priced. A must for every busy household entrance!"
Review 14 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
January 26, 2015
By: ProfessorDLo
from Ann Arbor, MI
"These mats are well made, durable and everything as advertised. We have three dogs and these mats seem to be indestructible."
Review 15 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Rug!!,
January 26, 2015
By: Rug4U
from Michigan
"I love this rug! With two large dogs going in and out in the snow and dirt, it really saves my hardwood floors. The dirt and moisture get captured as they come through the door and it cleans up wonderfully! Also the rubber matting on the back holds the rug in place. Quality construction."
Review 16 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Mat Ever!,
January 23, 2015
By: dogmom2neohio
from Ohio
"I love this mat. It keeps the floor dry around the mat and isn't soaking wet like other rugs I've used in the past.
I have two dogs, one over 100#, so I need this mat.
I will be ordering more."
Review 17 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It works,
January 23, 2015
By: TuscorShopper
from Montana
"We purchased the water trapper to use in front of the door that we and our Chessie use as the main entrance. This area was a mess from melting snow and mud. The mat has cut down on about 90% of the wet paw prints on our wood floors. IF we can get him to stay on it for a minute or so, takes the water off his paws. You should also know that the dimensions run about an 1" 3/4 shorter than they state."
Review 18 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations - Great for Cat Litter,
January 22, 2015
By: bondchris
from Brooklyn, NY
"I bought a large mat for our front entrance and it captures quite a bit of dirt and moisture, preventing it from being tracking further into our apartment. That was expected. I bought two more smaller mats for pet feeding bowls and to place under a cat litter dome. The previous mat was textured as well, but littler would spill then scatter beyond the mat and onto the wood floor. The Trapper Grid Mat grooves pretty much hold ANY and ALL spilled litter -- even after they kick it around. A few swipes with a vacuum and the mat is like new. I couldn't be happier about a mat. Who knew?"
Review 19 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
January 20, 2015
By: sd136405
"Bought two mats for under dog bowls.The mats soak up water and protect the floor. Will buy additional mats for the front, garage, and rear entrance."
Review 20 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Measurements complete fiction,
January 14, 2015
By: fedupdisappointed
from Manchester
"I have bought one of these mats before, and was happy with it. I wanted another for a doorway which the original mat would not fit, and when I checked recently was delighted to see that the specified measurements meant it would fit. It has arrived and is useless...too big. Do I set about it with scissors? Or curl up the edges?"