Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Water Trapper® Grid Mats

Our thirsty polypropylene mats are designed to keep your floors clean throughout the worst that any season can dish out. Side channels allow water to drain quickly, thick fibers scrape off mud and snow, while thin fibers remove moisture from the soles of boots and shoes. Great for entryways, mudrooms, or high-traffic areas inside your home or outside of it. Strong rubber backing gives traction on all floor surfaces. The mats are easy-care; just hose off to clean. Polypropylene. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.86 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (279 reviews)
5 stars
246
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
275 of 279(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Review 1 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud and dirt mat,
October 11, 2012
By: Dogdoormats
from Michigan
"I am very happy with the mats I got . I have a new dog door and got a mat for the landing immediately in front of the door, and another right above the stair from landing. They have certainly caught lots of the dirt that comes in. I have to vacuum them off every day. Lots of colors to choose from and easy to cut to fit if you need to."
Review 2 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous mats,
October 22, 2014
By: phoebeandtoby
from McCall, ID
"We live in the mountains amongst the trees, and experience all four seasons. These mats hold up to sun, rain, and snow. They are at every doorway to catch all the debris which seem to find its way inside. They vacuum up beautifully."
Review 3 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
October 22, 2014
By: Shilo1655
from CT
"Have wanted one for some time. It's been great. Recent rain and mud proved its worth. Dog, husband and son .... Need I say more. Color and size is perfect. Vacuums easy and keeps my entry cleaner. Love it!"
Review 4 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great product,
October 21, 2014
By: randyp00ch
"I love this thing, and I'm going to buy another. It captures the dirt before my dog and dirty shoes get into the house, and it washes up beautifully."
Review 5 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what we needed,
October 21, 2014
By: Sherman1
"We own three Old English Sheepdogs. Need I say more. Those big feet bring a lot of dirt into the house and this rug traps it. No more scrubbing the floor every day."
Review 6 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy, absorbent mat,
October 18, 2014
By: ColoradoDeb
from Northern Colorado
"This mat is exactly what I wanted; our front door is adjacent to the living room, so I wanted a mat that was functional, yet didn't look like it belonged in a mud-room. This mat will protect our hardwood floors, and keep any tracked-in snow from damaging the floor."
Review 7 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Dish Placemat Rocks!,
October 16, 2014
By: Buddy1952
from Ithaca, NY
"For months, we were less than charmed by the water accumulating under the water dishes. After the dog dish placemat arrived, problem solved! I would recommend this to anyone with a similar problem."
Review 8 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dripping dogs,
October 16, 2014
By: AJrecommends
from Saratoga, Ca
"We have several labs that like to swim in our pool rain or shine. We also have a doggy door, can you see where this is going……since we have put the water trapper at the dog door entrance we have had a lot less mopping up to do. Now if we could only train them to shake outside."
Review 9 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rugs!,
October 15, 2014
By: JWOffice
from New York, NY
"We'd been looking for over a year for area rugs to protect the entryways into our office. We have wall to carpet and tile floors. We ordered four of these in different sizes and are so pleased with them all. They look great, stay in place and protect the floors. So glad we finally found them."
Review 10 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed,
October 8, 2014
By: MePoochie
from Jackson, MI
"Rugs are perfect. I take care of my ill brother and he has a big black Lab that drags in dirt all through the house.....in the family room, on the kitchen floor, and even in his bed. Since I bought the three rugs, the dirt has virtually been eliminated. A quick vacuum clears the dirt from the rugs. With winter months approaching, I'm sure I will appreciate them even more. This purchase was a wise decision on my part and worth every penny."
Review 11 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Door Mat!,
October 7, 2014
By: JulieBalWal
from Pittsboro, NC
"We have dogs and this large door mat has really helped to keep the floors clean from their expeditions outdoors! Having a larger size was so much better. It also looks really good on our wood flooring. Plus the quality is good and it seems to clean up nicely."
Review 12 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great entry mat,
October 6, 2014
By: lw1157
"I purchased the water trapper mat to catch all the dirt, mud, and water from the dogs come in from the backyard. In the two weeks that I've used it, the mat has NOT SLIPPED once! It seems to attract the dirt and dog hair as well, keeping the rest of my hardwood floors cleaner. We haven't had a big rain or snow storm yet, so I can't comment on the "water trapper" feature of the mat just yet."
Review 13 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OMG--love it,
October 5, 2014
By: ChrisAnneM
from Bonney Lake, Washington
"Our 2 dogs love to run and get in the pond. This is a clean up area we made for them to deal with it before tracking all over th house. Works wonders"
Review 14 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing mat,
October 2, 2014
By: bigblackdogmom
from Memphis, TN
"This is my second mat. Both have been truly amazing. My standard poodle literally brings everything in the house, but this wonderful mat traps it all. He also slips and slides on the linoleum floor except where the mats are. They're terrific!"
Review 15 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Mat Ever,
October 2, 2014
By: KAM22
"Totally worth spending a little more for a great mat! Easy to clean, and mat traps water, dirt etc better than any mat I've used before."
Review 16 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best mat ever!,
September 24, 2014
By: Doerun
from Southern Pines, NC
"This water trapper mat is the perfect solution for my dogs wet feet. It is the first thing they step on when they come in the door. Yay! Less sand and mud coming into the house!"
Review 17 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the water trapper,
September 22, 2014
By: cndh
from nyc, ny
"love it love it love...have had these in my home forever to assist with wet dogs as they come into the house and have now purchased 2 for my offices pantry as my colleagues well are as messy as the pooches."
Review 18 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mudroom Special,
September 19, 2014
By: MrSteiner
from Moscow, ID
"Nice color. Looks great in the entry way and big enough that the dog can get all the way inside and be dried off without stepping of the mat"
Review 19 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Problem Solver,
September 11, 2014
By: dpoz
from San Diego, CA
"The Water Trapper Mat solved the problem that we had with our two large dogs tracking dirt and mud into the house. One of my many best buys from Orvis."
Review 20 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yea for Watertrapper Rug!!,
September 3, 2014
By: my2greys
from Florida
"I live in Florida and we are in the Monsoon season. My two greyhounds really don't like the rain and the Watertrapper Rug catches the drips and mug beautifully. I have had other rugs but this baby really works and stays where I put it!! I read the review from the greyhound owner so I knew I was getting the best rug around. Thanks, Orvis, you always carry the quality items I need."