Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Water Trapper® Grid Mats

Our thirsty polypropylene mats are designed to keep your floors clean throughout the worst that any season or dog can dish out. Side channels allow water to drain quickly, thick fibers scrape off mud and snow, while thin fibers remove moisture from the soles of boots and shoes. Great for entryways, mudrooms, or high-traffic areas inside your home or outside of it. Strong rubber backing gives traction on all floor surfaces. The mats are easy-care; just hose off to clean. Polypropylene. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.837 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (398 reviews)
5 stars
351
4 stars
37
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
388 of 398(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Review 1 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud and dirt mat,
October 11, 2012
By: Dogdoormats
from Michigan
"I am very happy with the mats I got . I have a new dog door and got a mat for the landing immediately in front of the door, and another right above the stair from landing. They have certainly caught lots of the dirt that comes in. I have to vacuum them off every day. Lots of colors to choose from and easy to cut to fit if you need to."
Review 2 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Indespensible mat,
April 17, 2015
By: SC46
from Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
"We've several of these at the entrances to our home.
They save many cleanups from wet paws and tracked in dirt.
"
Review 3 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mat,
April 16, 2015
By: JTStica
from Vestal, NY
"this is great looking mat and catches everything from both mine and my dogs feet! Only problem was it took so long to get that I forgot I had purchased it. Worth the wait though."
Review 4 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
April 15, 2015
By: ALAR
from NJ
"I purchased the mat to catch water under dog bowls and also muddy footprints coming in the back door. Overall very happy with the purchase and think it does a great job of catching all the dripping water as the dogs drink. I originally purchased the smaller dog mat size and it was too small for the double, elevated water bowl that we have. I ended up having to purchase the larger size dog mat.
When you get the door mat also keep in mind that you want a large enough size so that all four dog feet are on the mat at the same time. We had a smaller mat and it wasn't catching all the mud. So we got a larger size there too. Once we did that it helped catch more mud. Still get a few muddy tracks beyond the mat so it hasn't eliminated them but has cut them down significantly which I'll take."
Review 5 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mud Trapper,
April 15, 2015
By: EBarr7
from Surrey UK
"Bought this as other mats either didn't fully absorb mud/rain or after limited use looked awful. This looks smart despite having muddy woodland trailed through it. I was concerned that there would be a long ship time, but it was shipped within a week from USA to UK - so very impressed."
Review 6 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
April 14, 2015
By: lakemomma
from Sturbridge, MA
"this is as described. i have 2 dogs and this rug is beautiful. easy to sweep & vacuum. very happy with my purchase."
Review 7 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
everything I expected,
April 9, 2015
By: linlou800
from Bristol, CT
"I purchased my water trapper rug for my mud room. I fully thought that when I received my rug I would have to lay it flat and put some weight on it to uncurl it from shipping. I did not have to do that at all.....it layed beautifully right from the start. The color is great and I love the sculpture design. The backing to the rug has a non slip treatment. I would think about purchasing another one for my kitchen. Love it!"
Review 8 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grid Mats,
April 9, 2015
By: AnnieLilly
from Central Florida
"We purchased our 4th,5th, and 6th mats recently. We have several sizes but all are considered to be 'large'. With two big dogs and sliick tiled reception areas just outside our front, rear, and garage entry doors, these mats are perfect way to prevent slips, keep the areas clean and dry and still look good. When used inside, they are easy to clean and they do 'trap' small amounts of water, melting ice, etc. The colors are true to descriptions"
Review 9 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mat, looks good and traps dirt.,
April 8, 2015
By: Katie87
from Aberdeenshire
"Really happy with this product, it looks great. Nice simple looking mat. Traps dirt and water really well. I will probsy buy one for the front door too now! Great for dog walkers!"
Review 10 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
April 7, 2015
By: LTDoglover
from Jackson, MS
"I gave 2 of these to my daughter to protect her wooden floors in Vermont....the dogs were destroying
them. Now, I have a dog who is destroying MY wooden floors! It not only looks nice, it really works. Great purchase!
"
Review 11 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High performance in tough conditions,
April 5, 2015
By: LifeAtTheBeach
from Rhode Island
"This Waterhog doormat is a reliable and high-performance item. We put it to the supreme test in this New England winter of 2015, with 2 big & outdoorsy labs, plus the comings and goings of a construction crew doing some house renovations. Neither snow nor slush nor mud nor crud were a match for this mat's capacity to clean off paws and shoes. We got this size so that it would extend past the inward-swinging door, providing a place to stand while the door closed so shoes could be rubbed clean. A smaller one, in matching color and design, which we already had, sat alongside as a place to leave shoes that were removed. A great system for keeping the entry floors clean and avoiding unnecessary wear during a very tough and demanding season."
Review 12 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!!,
April 4, 2015
By: Aasdavey
from Dallas, texas
"Have two labs who are always tracking in dirt, this mat has helped greatly! Very happy with purchase"
Review 13 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works as Advertised,
April 1, 2015
By: JonesDogs
from Austin, TX
"Rug arrived during rain storm. I quickly placed it by our outside door and it helped trap water and dirt being tracked in by our Golden and Lab. Very pleased."
Review 14 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes a great dog mat,
April 1, 2015
By: BarbaraF
from Union, NJ
"I got this to catch all the water that my Golden drips onto our tile floor. I noticed that the grout was changing color by her bowl stand, so this was the answer to my prayers."
Review 15 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money well spent,
April 1, 2015
By: maria10023
from Long Island, NY
"With two kids and a snowy winter this mat has been great. No more water tracks in the house!"
Review 16 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Trapper Grid Mat,
March 31, 2015
By: Louiser33
from Fredericksburg, Virginia
"Like it. Have it in my Mud room, where it gets tracked up pretty well wit mud, water, grass and snow. No problems cleaning it up. Great rug."
Review 17 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just perfect!,
March 31, 2015
By: David2015
"I had a specific need in mind. I talked to one of your telephone sales people and got excellent advice!
Really pleased I listened ... and bought this high quality product!"
Review 18 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floor Prize,
March 31, 2015
By: SHDexter
from Denver, CO
"This mat was exactly what I needed. It is extremely functional, and has a fine, expensive appearance.
Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 19 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rug,
March 31, 2015
By: Janice4
from Tx
"Purchased the brown rug so my boxer doesn't track in so much dirt. It really helps! Also stays in place. I like the color against my wood floors."
Review 20 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delighted with colors and performance,
March 31, 2015
By: drifly
from NE Ohio
"My wife was pleased with the variety of colors available AND that it looked like the pictures when it arrived.
Sloppy,snowy,wet boots and shoes can successfully drip dry on these mats and stay contained in one area.
Very handy and attractive
"