Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Water Trapper® Grid Mats

Our thirsty polypropylene mats are designed to keep your floors clean throughout the worst that any season or dog can dish out. Side channels allow water to drain quickly, thick fibers scrape off mud and snow, while thin fibers remove moisture from the soles of boots and shoes. Great for entryways, mudrooms, or high-traffic areas inside your home or outside of it. Strong rubber backing gives traction on all floor surfaces. The mats are easy-care; just hose off to clean. Polypropylene. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.831 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (337 reviews)
5 stars
296
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
328 of 337(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Review 1 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud and dirt mat,
October 11, 2012
By: Dogdoormats
from Michigan
"I am very happy with the mats I got . I have a new dog door and got a mat for the landing immediately in front of the door, and another right above the stair from landing. They have certainly caught lots of the dirt that comes in. I have to vacuum them off every day. Lots of colors to choose from and easy to cut to fit if you need to."
Review 2 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations - Great for Cat Litter,
January 22, 2015
By: bondchris
from Brooklyn, NY
"I bought a large mat for our front entrance and it captures quite a bit of dirt and moisture, preventing it from being tracking further into our apartment. That was expected. I bought two more smaller mats for pet feeding bowls and to place under a cat litter dome. The previous mat was textured as well, but littler would spill then scatter beyond the mat and onto the wood floor. The Trapper Grid Mat grooves pretty much hold ANY and ALL spilled litter -- even after they kick it around. A few swipes with a vacuum and the mat is like new. I couldn't be happier about a mat. Who knew?"
Review 3 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
January 20, 2015
By: sd136405
"Bought two mats for under dog bowls.The mats soak up water and protect the floor. Will buy additional mats for the front, garage, and rear entrance."
Review 4 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Measurements complete fiction,
January 14, 2015
By: fedupdisappointed
from Manchester
"I have bought one of these mats before, and was happy with it. I wanted another for a doorway which the original mat would not fit, and when I checked recently was delighted to see that the specified measurements meant it would fit. It has arrived and is useless...too big. Do I set about it with scissors? Or curl up the edges?"
Review 5 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value and quality!,
January 9, 2015
By: svidguy
from Newtown, PA
"This mat is just what we needed for the entrance way. It looks good, traps soil and snow, and is easily cleaned with a garden hose. We have one for outside the door and another larger one inside the entrance"
Review 6 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 5, 2015
By: SealBeachBoys
from Seal Beach, CA
"Two dogs can make a mess whether tracking in leaves, mud and water when it rains in So. California, or after a morning frolicking with pals at the dog beach or park. The Water Trapper Grid Mat is a godsend preventing The Boys from tracking in more debris for me to clean. I love it!"
Review 7 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thin but effective,
January 5, 2015
By: Zeus14
from Northern Illinois
"After installing hardwood floors, we have limited clearance on the door and were unable to use normal rugs. This product is 1/4" thick and fits just fine. And it is capturing the snow, ice and general muck that we enjoy over the winter. Nice quality."
Review 8 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what we needed,
January 5, 2015
By: Chardaniels624
from Suwanee, GA
"Perfect mat for catching dirt and water from paws and keeping hardwoods clean. Will purchase additional for other doorways. Great color selection."
Review 9 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 2, 2015
By: kcbrn
from Cincinnati, OH
"Mat is great for collecting leaves, dirt, debris, etc from outside and trapping it before it is brought into the house. This mat definitely soaks up water before it can be tracked in. I own two of these and love them."
Review 10 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
January 1, 2015
By: Goldenretr16
"With recent wet weather this mat has helped to eliminate dirt and mud from entering our game room. Works as advertised."
Review 11 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for front door,
December 30, 2014
By: JABW
"The mat is nice, but I did not like it by my front door. It had an industrial look to it. It's now in our garage by the side door."
Review 12 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works just like we wanted,
December 30, 2014
By: Marbe
from Missouri
"Ordered this mat for the entrance from the garage. The mat works wonderfully. It catches moisture and dirt from shoes before they enter my kitchen. I also like that it lays flat and is easy to sweep."
Review 13 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy & Really Traps Dirt,
December 30, 2014
By: Pen123
from Maryland
"The water trapper grid mat stays in place on a ceramic tile floor, is sturdy, and really traps the dirt, including fine dirt, like the sawdust we tracked in as soon as we put it down. Great product!"
Review 14 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Entrance Area Mat,
December 26, 2014
By: svidguy
from Newtown, PA
"This mat is good quality and perfect for the entrance way in our house."
Review 15 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Trapper Mats,
December 21, 2014
By: ksnoopy
from Kansas City
"Excellent product. Looks good, dries fast and really traps dirt."
Review 16 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grass and dirt trap!,
December 20, 2014
By: Charlienic
from Wilmington, NC
"We have centipede grass that goes dormant in the fall/winter seasons. It gets tracked into the house from outside. Placing mats at the back and inside garage door to the house has lessen the need to sweep and mop my hard wood floors. The mats have saved me cleaning time and protected my floors!"
Review 17 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this rug!,
December 19, 2014
By: Anonymous
from Upstate NY
"We bought this rug for our laundry/mud room. When the dog comes in from playing in the snow, that's where he goes!"
Review 18 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as Advertised,
December 17, 2014
By: SoCalOrvisShopper
"Needed to replace a mat from the garage to the laundry room. The Water Trapper looks great, is easy to keep clean and keeps us from tracking dirt/leaves into the house. Exactly what we wanted!"
Review 19 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy with this product,
December 16, 2014
By: Rascal6
from Milwaukee, WI
"This product does exactly what it advertises. It traps everything from mud, leaves, and wetness from shoes and paws. I now have one of these at every door."
Review 20 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Right Item,
December 15, 2014
By: Greg76
"We've been looking for a rug to fit a tight space at our back door...needed to look good, be rugged/easy to clean and low pile so as not to catch the bottom of the door. This rug fit the bill in all areas. We're completely satisfied with this item."