Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Water Trapper® Grid Mats

Our thirsty polypropylene mats are designed to keep your floors clean throughout the worst that any season or dog can dish out. Side channels allow water to drain quickly, thick fibers scrape off mud and snow, while thin fibers remove moisture from the soles of boots and shoes. Great for entryways, mudrooms, or high-traffic areas inside your home or outside of it. Strong rubber backing gives traction on all floor surfaces. The mats are easy-care; just hose off to clean. Polypropylene. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (443 reviews)
5 stars
391
4 stars
42
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
433 of 443(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Review 1 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud and dirt mat,
October 11, 2012
By: Dogdoormats
from Michigan
"I am very happy with the mats I got . I have a new dog door and got a mat for the landing immediately in front of the door, and another right above the stair from landing. They have certainly caught lots of the dirt that comes in. I have to vacuum them off every day. Lots of colors to choose from and easy to cut to fit if you need to."
Review 2 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Good Doormat,
August 23, 2015
By: BarbaG
from Upper Peninsula, MI
"The Water Trapper mats are very good for keeping mud and dirt off your floors and they look nice too. They vacuum well and wash easily with a hose and will dry pretty quickly as long as you have a place to hang them such as a fence or railing as they are heavy when wet. I have had 2 runners in my mudroom, and one in the kitchen for several years and just got a 3x5 and smaller shoe mat for the front door. I have been very satisfied with them."
Review 3 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Substantial Rug,
August 13, 2015
By: HK500
from Myrtle Beach, SC
"Would work well on tile or cement but probably wouldn't recommend it for hardwood floors because of the rubber backing."
Review 4 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it says it would do,
August 4, 2015
By: Suebee
"This is a tough little rug whose backing allows it to stay in place. Although minor, one side was not cut perfectly straight so not a big issue. The good news is that it really traps dirt.....the bad news is that pet hair is a little hard to get out. Yet I am delighted how it protects my wood floors!"
Review 5 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does The Job!,
August 4, 2015
By: Bevy
from Bristol, Virginia
"This is my second water trapper grid mat and I wouldn't look anywhere else for a product such as this. My first mat (larger) was purchased several years ago and it's still going strong and looks new. These mats get lots of dirty "traffic" in my home from 2 adults and a dog and it's easy to clean. Very satisfied customer."
Review 6 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rug!,
July 31, 2015
By: galeszoo
from Rockford, IL
"This really helps keep the dirt off my kitchen floor. It is quite attractive and the color is perfect."
Review 7 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't hesitate to purchase these,
July 24, 2015
By: TheBeekeeper
from Kent
"Bought one of these for the kitchen of our farmhouse to cope with two Springer Spaniels and the dirt they bring in. It was so good I bought another - can't recommend more highly. They beat all others on the market!"
Review 8 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
water trapper mats,
July 16, 2015
By: lakemomma
from Sturbridge, MA
"these mats are great. they are so easy to clean and look great."
Review 9 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the camp!,
July 14, 2015
By: Tigerlilys4
from Saranac Lake, NY
"These matts are so great for the lake house. Sand stays by the door and out of the house.
I got one for each entry way.
Highly recommended!
"
Review 10 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
watertrapper rug,
July 10, 2015
By: fmiskin
from Ct.
"now own 6 in assorted sizes and colors. Excellent performance through winter, easy to clean, shows little wear...color remains strong. Absorbent, does not slip, well made. Worth the price."
Review 11 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
looks great/does the job,
July 7, 2015
By: mocharter
from Woodbury CT
"The rugs are durable and trap grass and dirt brought inside on shoes and boots. Really helps with stopping the dirt at the door. I got larger rugs, same type for the winter, to cover more of my floor."
Review 12 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
June 29, 2015
By: jrrancher
from Oklahoma
"This grid mat is terrific! We have 5 dogs and live in the countryside, so there's lots of mud and dirt constantly being trekked into the house. The grid mat has made a huge difference and we just love it!"
Review 13 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every dollar!,
June 27, 2015
By: PamW
from Texas
"I have 2 dogs who enjoy going in and out of the house all day long. One of them digs craters along the fence to lie in (he has created 6 so far). We have had an unusual amount of rain this year so my floors were getting covered with muddy tracks, twigs, and much dust/dirt every time they came back into the house. These mats have been life changing! No more tracks, leaving me with just a few twigs, a little dust and dirt so all I am left with is dog hair. Highly recommend!"
Review 14 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only for the house.,
June 27, 2015
By: PhilsLab
from Hudson, Oh
"I have a hairy yellow Lab. I recently bought a Mini Cooper. It's hard to find tail gate mattes for Mini's and some times they don't fit not to mention expensive. I'm a happy customer of Ovis and they had just the thing.The rug fits well covering most of the back with the rear seats down and cargo space. Lots of sizes and colors. Heavy duty, won't slip and will hold the mud and HAIR.
Thanks Ovis
"
Review 15 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for wet, muddy, and/or grassy paws!,
June 27, 2015
By: Pfigg
from Elburn IL
"Love this mat! We have it inside the sliding glass door to the deck and it does the job for our three goldens. Highly recommended!"
Review 16 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muddy Paws,
June 24, 2015
By: Daffers
from Worcestershire
"What a marvellous mat. I have 2 cats and one dog, all very energetic, in and out most of the day. The water trapper mat is just what I was looking for to keep the muddy paws from the rest of the house, I wouldn't be without it and would recommend this mat to all those people who have pets like mine. Thanks again for a marvellous product."
Review 17 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great doorway rug,
June 23, 2015
By: Luis1786
from Nashville, TN
"I have had this water trapper for several weeks now and it has done an amazing job. 2 weeks of rain and my house looks great. The dog gets cleaned off and the mess stays on the rug. Another great Orvis product!!"
Review 18 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect.,
June 23, 2015
By: DaveT1984
from Scotland
"We bought this mat to replace the rug we had in the kitchen after a nasty claw injury (edge of claw caught on looped fabric). This new mat looks great, the rubber backing means it doesn't move around at all, it's easily cleaned and, best of all, it's safe for dogs with no fibres to catch on jagged claws. Very happy."
Review 19 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat purchase,
June 23, 2015
By: wickey
from Lake Clear, NY
"As an all-round "welcome mat" just inside our front door--it's a perfect companion with our #2 Red Oak Hardwood floors!!!!!!
Wow! What winners these are! THis is a 15 year old home and have had these mats from day Uno!
Love yer stuff!"
Review 20 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality product,
June 12, 2015
By: Kate82
"Really happy with this product, good quality and looks smart"