Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Water Trapper® Grid Mats

Our thirsty polypropylene mats are designed to keep your floors clean throughout the worst that any season or dog can dish out. Side channels allow water to drain quickly, thick fibers scrape off mud and snow, while thin fibers remove moisture from the soles of boots and shoes. Great for entryways, mudrooms, or high-traffic areas inside your home or outside of it. Strong rubber backing gives traction on all floor surfaces. The mats are easy-care; just hose off to clean. Polypropylene. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.832 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (375 reviews)
5 stars
330
4 stars
35
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
365 of 375(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Review 1 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud and dirt mat,
October 11, 2012
By: Dogdoormats
from Michigan
"I am very happy with the mats I got . I have a new dog door and got a mat for the landing immediately in front of the door, and another right above the stair from landing. They have certainly caught lots of the dirt that comes in. I have to vacuum them off every day. Lots of colors to choose from and easy to cut to fit if you need to."
Review 2 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great company overall,
March 27, 2015
By: tomhex2
from Camp Verde, TX
"The product is perfect. It's exactly as described in the online blurb. Very happy (I bought 4). What really impressed me was the customer service. There was an issue with my address (out in nowhere in Texas) and I promptly received the most friendly e-mail asking me how to solve the problem. I was so impressed! Very friendly and helpful."
Review 3 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud-room floor now clean!,
March 26, 2015
By: JulieAnn13
from West Chester, PA
"This rug seems to be the answer to alleviating muddy tile floors in my mud-room.
I like the idea that I will hose it off when it looks dirty.
I had concerns about it retaining lint from my cloths dryer which is also in that room but so far this pattern doesn't seem to grab the lint too deeply.
"
Review 4 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Mat,
March 26, 2015
By: RLBaker
from Shreveport, LA
"We purchased two mats and a mat with our dog Milo's name on it. The mats are durable and easy to keep clean. And they look nice on the floor!
Great purchase!"
Review 5 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything That Was Promised and More!,
March 26, 2015
By: 1950babyboomer
from Jonesboro, AR
"I recently purchased the 2'x3' Water Trapper Grid Mat. I have three dogs who are in and out of our front courtyard. Each time they came in the entrance porch, they brought in grass, mud if we had rain, even small sticks. I also carried in my share of yard grass and mud. Deciding to buy the Orvis Trapper Grid Mat and placing it just inside the door has helped stopping all this from going further into the condo where we live. I do wish I had purchased the next largest size, 3'x5' because I think it would allow my Golden's a little more room to "wipe their feet" before coming in the condo."
Review 6 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best mats for the inside & outside.,
March 24, 2015
By: Jcep
from Tulsa OK
"These really do catch the mud, leaves, etc as our munchkins come into the house."
Review 7 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water trapper for muddy paws,
March 23, 2015
By: Fishyonado
"My 11 year old yellow lab loves the water trapper mat at her entrance. It keeps the muddy paws from tracking in pretty well!"
Review 8 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Mat that works,
March 23, 2015
By: manhattan
from North Carolina
"We now moved to North Carolina from Manhattan so alot of stuff from the lawn,etc comes into the house. This mat is really good. We had something else but this is far superior and stays in place. We have it on the floor by garage entrance. Just vaccum or shake outside. Goes nicely with our floor. You won't regret this purchase."
Review 9 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with Purchase,
March 20, 2015
By: nikpap
from Kingsport,Tn
"ordered the mat in black for the kitchen ,size 22.75 x 35.25 .Have not washed yet, but will wash very easily.
Vacuums well , most of all comfortable to stand on.
"
Review 10 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I hadn't waited...,
March 18, 2015
By: MIMitten
from Grand Haven, Michigan Coast Guard City USA
"Been looking at these online since last Fall. Decided to go cheap to get through the Winter. Big mistake. Living in Michigan you have snow, salt, dirt, rain, etc. The throw rugs were in the wash once a week. Ordered these and they arrived today. Why, you may ask, are you already writing a review. My neighbor stopped by to see them. She's had hers for 10 years. Swears by them. Especially since she has three dogs. They are solidly built, beautiful color (I got the gold) and fit like a glove in the space I had measured them for. Spring rains?! Bring them on!"
Review 11 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
March 17, 2015
By: CairnTerriers
"Large, tough mat. Solid rubber backing keeps mat from slipping on our tiled kitchen floor."
Review 12 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saved my floors and back,
March 12, 2015
By: Bevstep
from Brooksville, FL
"I purchased several of these rugs to have at doorways so that my springer spaniel would better wipe his feet. We've had a lot of rain this year and seems like all I do is mop hardwood floors and tile to clean up behind him. I tried wiping his feet with a towel, but that just wasn't enough. I've only had these down for a short time now, but I can already see a difference. My back is really appreciating this."
Review 13 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clean Kitchen Floor at last,
March 11, 2015
By: AndyBeardies
from Kitchen
"Since putting the mat down we do not have to continually mop our kitchen floor when our Beards come in from the garden. Not only is the mat as good as advertised for its water and dirt retention, it also enhances our kitchen."
Review 14 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trapper Grid Mat,
March 10, 2015
By: McSue
from Tyrone, GA
"This Matt has been a life saver. Two pups.. Rainy season... And a white tile kitchen floor?? I love how it traps dirt and water!! Recommend to anyone with puppy paws!"
Review 15 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product!,
March 5, 2015
By: DelRet
from Wilmington, DE
"We bought two of these for our kitchen, which has hardwood floors. They work as advertised, but there were two other points of importance to us.
1. The undersides are rubber with small extensions to keep them from slipping. These work, but just as importantly they do not mar the wood floors.
2. They are easy to cut and do not fray. We have AC outlets coming up through the floor and had to cut one mat around these. It was very easy to do and the cut edges don't fray. We cut the other so that the mat extended under the door, to catch everything coming in. Again, it worked great.
"
Review 16 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Buy,
March 5, 2015
By: JBerto
from Roan Mountain, TN
"The is perfect for trapping water and dirt. We have it in our mudroom and it not only looks nice but it works well. I would recommend this to anyone!"
Review 17 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
problem,
March 3, 2015
By: kingston1221
from scarsdale n.y.
"snow melt gets stuck increvices and is hard to vacume outeven with a miele"
Review 18 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
February 28, 2015
By: Hils68
from Worcestershire
"With building work going on and people and animals walking through, it was a nightmare to keep mud free until I bought this mat. It really does trap the dirt. :-) Easy to clean, simply hoover, brush stubborn mud before hand. Well worth the money."
Review 19 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Investment,
February 27, 2015
By: BigDeal1
"Product keeps water and mud off of our hardware floors as advertised, our Lab is very messy."
Review 20 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great protection for my floor,
February 26, 2015
By: Rookie55
from Southeastern North Carolina
"Catches all the wet feet (kids and pets) coming into the house. Rubber backing is great protection for my wood floor. Color was as expected."