Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Water Trapper® Grid Mats

Our thirsty polypropylene mats are designed to keep your floors clean throughout the worst that any season can dish out. Side channels allow water to drain quickly, thick fibers scrape off mud and snow, while thin fibers remove moisture from the soles of boots and shoes. Great for entryways, mudrooms, or high-traffic areas inside your home or outside of it. Strong rubber backing gives traction on all floor surfaces. The mats are easy-care; just hose off to clean. Polypropylene. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.838 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (198 reviews)
5 stars
171
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
195 of 198(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Review 1 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud and dirt mat,
October 11, 2012
By: Dogdoormats
from Michigan
"I am very happy with the mats I got . I have a new dog door and got a mat for the landing immediately in front of the door, and another right above the stair from landing. They have certainly caught lots of the dirt that comes in. I have to vacuum them off every day. Lots of colors to choose from and easy to cut to fit if you need to."
Review 2 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great entry area mat,
April 10, 2014
By: BarbaraL
from North Windham Vermont
"The color, quality and size is perfect. Very happy with this purchase. As a matter of fact, I will probably purchase a couple more for other areas of our home where entry from the outside is subject to water and dirt on the bottoms of shoes and paws."
Review 3 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best mat for messy dogs,
April 7, 2014
By: Nellis
"Looks great and very functional for our German shepherd and Aussie."
Review 4 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog mat!!!,
April 4, 2014
By: JenniDobie
from California
"This mat can be used indoors or outdoors. Just as advertised, it traps dirt and any outdoor debris that your happy dog tracks inside. I used to wipe down their feet every time they came inside the house but this mat saves me time and effort! A bigger mat traps more dirt and dogs have cleaner paws."
Review 5 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grid Mats,
April 2, 2014
By: gldnlover
from Greenfield, Wisconsin
"I have several Of these mats They are easy to maintain and clean. They help keep my home clean as I have 2 pups always trying to bring the great outdoors in."
Review 6 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy,
March 28, 2014
By: JennyH
from South Easter CT
"We recently purchased this mat for in front of our sliding glass door. It matches our wood floors perfectly. It's sturdy for handling rough boots, and looks like it will be able to handle muddy boots, muddy paws, and winter weather. Though not tested out yet, I can tell it's quality is very high and worth the price."
Review 7 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good on retaining solids,
March 25, 2014
By: brucewa
"It is not so absorbent so you will still see wet paws in the house. But it is good to keep the dirty from the backyard in there. We have a Golden Retriever so it is helping a lot to keep the house clean."
Review 8 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than it was,
March 24, 2014
By: mudinMO
from Missouri
"The Water Trapper Grid Mat is doing it's job so far. We have not had it very long but it has performed well after 2 snow storms, one rain and other transitional winter to spring weather. We live on a farm and have 3 dogs, 2 medium sized and one giant sized and my floors are much less muddy with this mat. It does not catch all of the mud but it is greatly improved. We will be purchasing another one for the garage."
Review 9 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
March 24, 2014
By: OHSGrad
"I waited too long to replace the mat at our front entry, and now the new Water Trapper looks exceptional!"
Review 10 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable and good looking,
March 17, 2014
By: AHSouth927
from McLean, VA
"We love this mat. It's durable, captures dirt and stays put. With two pups that go in and out, it's made our floors stay a lot cleaner."
Review 11 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clean floors,
March 13, 2014
By: Luvthebeachgirl
from NE Florida
"Using these rugs in side of entrance doors really does help with keeping floors cleaner. Living at the beach, near a marsh, and with pets, these are a must have.
The color was not quite like I saw in the catalog, but they still work great.
"
Review 12 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
March 7, 2014
By: fionaw
from Wales, UK
"We bought this to go in our small porch on a tiled floor, to trap some of the mud and water our two springer spaniels bring in! It does a great job, doesn't move at all and the house is cleaner as a result!"
Review 13 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rug,
February 27, 2014
By: Juju1
from Minnesota
"Looks great, great craftsmanship, and fits the bill."
Review 14 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job,
February 25, 2014
By: Xavisgrandpa
from Fishers, IN
"Just what we needed for high traffic area. The water trapper not only catches the water, it controls the ice, salt and sludge that this winter has delivered. We no longer need to get out the towels to clean up!"
Review 15 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!,
February 25, 2014
By: Twodoodles
from South Bend, IN
"These mats have been a time, money, and effort saver. No more wet beach towels sitting on the wood floors, no more tripping, and way less laundry. They are stylish and absorb the water and grime off my two doodles paws. Great investment and well worth the money!"
Review 16 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what we needed!,
February 24, 2014
By: Lori15
from Cortlandt Manor, NY
"It has been one of the worst winters in New York this season and with two active dogs going in and out many times a day, we needed something strong and absorbing at both our doors.
These rugs have surpassed our expectations. Besides being durable and able to soak up all sorts of ice, snow and slush, these rugs are attractive and fit very nicely with our decor, so we don't need to hide them when company stops by.
An absolute great product! I would recommend to all!
PS - Nice color selection too!"
Review 17 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
February 17, 2014
By: KMommmy
"I have 2 labs and the mats are perfect for all the dirt and moisture they bring in. Saves my floors/ carpets."
Review 18 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome product,
February 17, 2014
By: TaraFitz
"I love this mat. I purchased it as a runner for my mud room and it is excellent. I wish I had purchased it sooner. I have received so many compliments on it. We are having a rough winter and this mat is wonderful for trapping all snow, water, mud, and salt that comes in to the house!"
Review 19 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product!!!,
February 16, 2014
By: ClareM
from Essex
"Brilliant mat - an essential for anyone with a dog. It always looks clean even after walkies when trampled by 2 muddy labs."
Review 20 for Water Trapper® Grid Mats
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these mats!,
February 13, 2014
By: ambereyes
"I have a few of these mats in a smaller size and love them. Now I have purchased a larger one so that no one can step over it on the way in the house. Good decision! My family room is staying clean. I may need to get one for each entry."