Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt

Godet insets at the hem give this pure wool Donegal Tweed skirt a graceful flared shape. Designed for comfort with elasticated back and a full lining. Side zip entry with hook-and-bar closure. Long wool tweed skirt in brown. Skirt: 100% wool. Lining: 100% polyester. Dry clean.US sizes: 8, 12; about 33" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
26 of 31(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Review 1 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delighted,
November 14, 2013
By: NoNoNickName
from WGC, UK
"I bought the brown version of this skirt a couple of years ago & have been very pleased with it. The black & grey one is a little shorter &, I think, smarter for that. I'm 5' 7" & it is a perfect length for me. Beautifully cut & the godet shape is slimming.
If the skirt was available in another colour, e.g. light brown, I 'd probably buy yet another.
From Orvis' point of view not such a good sale as I think the skirts will last for ever!
"
Review 2 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My fault,
February 27, 2013
By: maybeoldfashioned
from Oxford
"Last year I purchased two 'godet tweedy skirts', they were brilliant, but expensive!. Should have guessed the Sale Item ones would not be the same quality. We live and learn even after years and years of enjoyable shopping with Orvis. Lengths/pockets much appreciated, also some elasticated waists on summer skirts with pockets. The reversible skirts were a good idea for packing weight but in practice the underskirt often showed in length and sometimes pattern."
Review 3 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FEELS GREAT ON,
February 12, 2013
By: KEANNE
from BUCKINGHAMSHIRE
"THIS CLASSIC TWEED SKIRT IS MORE THAN COMPARABLE TO THE TWEED I NORMALLY BUY IN SCOTLAND. THE GODET FLAIR FLATTERS THE FIGURE. WORN WITH BOOTS LOOKS SUPERB. FULLY LINED FEELS WONDERFUL ON. WARM AND LIGHT. QUALITY OF TWEED WILL LAST FOR YEARS AND MIX AND MATCH PERFECTLY WITH OTHER PIECES. BUTTON WAS LOOSE WHEN THIS ITEM ARRIVED. SECURED THIS MYSELF - HAD NO INTENTION OF RETURNING. A CONSIDERED BUY BUT WORTH IT."
Review 4 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would suit the taller woman,
January 29, 2013
By: OldOrvisCustomer
"A beautifully made skirt with an admirable drape. I knew the length when I ordered it and was hoping to have it tailored professionally to suit me, but it would have spoilt the line to do that, given the Godet panelling.
It would look very fetching on a woman of 70 inches or more in height.
"
Review 5 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Thing,
January 29, 2013
By: Valkoinen
from St. Petersburg, Russia
"I bought two skirts (black and brown) for my mom. My mom is very pleased with the skirts. Durable and warm 'old-time' good wool fabric. Comfortable classic fit. Orvis Customer Service was very helpful. Customer service means being timely. This is true for Orvis. Delivery accuracy and timeliness was great. Tnanks Orvis! I am happy enough to pass positive feedback about your business along to others."
Review 6 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing,
January 29, 2013
By: Shirl150339
from Shropshire
"I questioned the sales lady about sizing. I am a size 16 in English sizing so we decided on an 18 American sizing. The skirt when it arrived was enormous, it was many inches too big. I was disappointed but decided not too reorder."
Review 7 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit and value,
January 18, 2013
By: GigiR
"This skirt is a great fit and very well made. I'm very happy with it. It's versatile enough to wear to work and family events."
Review 8 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 10, 2013
By: Aubree
"Love the way the skirt moves as you walk. It is easy to wear, and fits true to size. I combined it with the jacket for a nice professional look."
Review 9 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
IRISH TWEED SKIRT,
January 10, 2013
By: frosty63
from Manhasset NY
"GORGEOUSLY MADE AND FABRIC BEAUTIFUL , but unfortunately I must return it as the style does not flatter my shape. i am broadly built in the hips. Would have like a little gathering on the sides of the waist to conceal a less than perfect shape."
Review 10 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
January 10, 2013
By: Fairy
from Lincolnshire, UK
"I already had the jacket and trousers, now I have the best of both, two outstanding, well cut and made outfits. I am sure they will last me for years and always look good."
Review 11 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flattering Cut,
January 2, 2013
By: Scoobs
"Another item my husband has been saying he was going to purchase for me the past two year. I wasn't initially very excited just looking at the picture; however, I wore this skirt in Boston for New Year's Eve in cold, cold weather. It was so work and not itchy at all.
The size fit me perfectly and as other reviewers have said - I'm tall so the length is super."
Review 12 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice skirt,
December 30, 2012
By: Soror604
from Calgary, AB
"I really love this skirt - the fabric is heavy and good quality and the godet inserts are very stylish. The lining sticks out a but from under the hem though - will have to have a tailor take it up about 1/2 inch."
Review 13 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So very pleased with skirt,
December 19, 2012
By: classylady68
from Stillwater,Minnesota
"This skirt was so well made, well described, and I am so glad I ordered it. It is very flattering and will look great with my new boots!"
Review 14 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beauty of a skirt,
November 20, 2012
By: DobbsFerryLady
from Dobbs Ferry, NY
"I bought this skirt to go with the Donegal Tweed jacket and stand up collar blouse. What a stunning outfit. I don't know if it's me, but the skirt in size 10 runs just a little large."
Review 15 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Big Disappointment,
June 27, 2012
By: CatalogQueen1
from Clarksville, TN
"I watched this skirt for months waiting for a sale. I was so displeased with the feel of the fabric. Even though it is fully lined. it would be very hard for me to wear as it was rough on my skin. Hated to send it back but had no choice."
Review 16 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Floor-length Tweed,
June 27, 2012
By: Cassandane
"The picture did not do the length of this skirt justice - it was below my ankles! I'm 5' 4", just on the cusp of petite length, but usually order regular length for modesty. In this case, the skirt should be considered a maxi, unless you're 5' 10". Too bad. I loved the material, color and style. It would have been a favorite had it been about a foot shorter."
Review 17 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not tailored to my liking,
May 21, 2012
By: ggggggg
"The skirt was warm. well made and well cut.....BUT with a heavy tweed skirt the tailoring should be classic and elegant. The seams were constructed with the edge on the outside of the garment, not classic or elegant. I am 5'4", got a size 10 and if i hadn't returned iI would have had to hem it."
Review 18 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely Skirt,
January 19, 2012
By: 5shopper
"A great pity it does not match the jacket and must be sent back"
Review 19 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Quite As Expected,
December 3, 2011
By: SkiNM
"Skirt is heavy, coarse and bulky. On a short frame it looked overwhelming along with the large pattern. Not as refined as I had expected. Also, it ran about one size bigger. Order down one. Extremely long compared to your other non-petite skirts. I returned it and kept 2 other styles."
Review 20 for Donegal Tweed Godet Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Godet Skirt,
November 30, 2011
By: librarycat
from south carolina
"First time buy, fits perfect, love the way it hangs, nicely made."