Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater Packable Jacket

All of the advanced features of our packable fishing jacket, at a great Clearwater value. The 2½ layer, waterproof, breathable material offers more comfort and durability in a fishing coat. Yet, it's lightweight enough for warm-weather fishing. Orvis Dry Cuff® seals out water and won't catch on your fly fishing line. Two large bellows pockets for fly boxes. One D-ring on the front, one on back for a fishing net. Coat packs down to fit into a fly fishing waiscoat pocket or backpack. Waterproof fishing coat in olive. Washable. Fishing jacket sizes: XS(30-32), S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.377 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
48 of 53(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Review 1 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice weight and weatherproof,
December 7, 2014
By: gforcegerry
from Suffolk, UK
"Perfect weight and packable so easy to put in your vest or sling pack and travel with. It keeps the worst of the English weather out."
Review 2 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket. Awesome service.,
October 22, 2014
By: HDLam
from Sugar Land, TX
"The jacket is great! I was able to put it to the test last week when I was pouring in Houston. Kept me dry. Breathability was good, espcially in the warmer Texas climate. I am sure it will pass subsequent tests.
What impressed me more - though I am not surprised - is the service I received from the Store Manager, Ms. Donna Morrison, at the Orvis store in the Woodlands. I ordered my jacket on-line, but upon arrival found the jacket had loose thread stiching on the cuff, so I had to return it for an exchange. Unformately I discovered that Orvis ran out of my size on-line and in the store. Ms. Donna was able to locate the last jacket from another store out of state, and reassured me that I would have it in a few days, which I did.
I am sure the jacket will last a long time; I am more certain the impression resulted from the excellent customer service I received will last even longer.
Thanks Orvis and the staff at the Woodlands store (Donna, Kelana, Joel, and others)."
Review 3 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid,
June 26, 2014
By: LAMIV
from Nc
"This is a no frills good jacket. I wear a 38/39 sport coat and the small is right size for me."
Review 4 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More pluses than........,
June 18, 2014
By: connoisseur
from Toronto, ON
"Great look, colour, fit & very lightweight, however inner material very clingy to bare arms in warm weather. An inner pocket would be useful."
Review 5 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Wading Jack,
May 21, 2014
By: Kenneth286
"Size and proportions are excellent. Nice features that make perfect sense for a wading jacket. Great fit.
Very lightweight and easy to carry. Quality fabrication, as you'd expect from an Orvis product.
"
Review 6 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket!,
May 19, 2014
By: Jhens
from Calhoun, Ga.
"I bought this for my wife and she has used it once already in a 4 hour steady rain while fly fishing last week. I hopeful it will hold up over time."
Review 7 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Keeps rain away,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"If you need a jacket that will protect from rain and is very packable its a good product. If you expect it to be breathable it is not. I have it in my backpack as an ensurance against an unexpected rain. Wouldn´t want to wear it in summer. Therefore only 3 stars this time."
Review 8 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good jacket,
April 29, 2014
By: Sflyfisher
from ca
"I needed a shorter rain jacket to go with my waders and found this discontinued version on a great sale. I am a women's small and the XS fits me . It is a very nice olive jacket with the features one would need and in Orvis tradition very well made. Looking forward to using it on Oregon fishing trip! Perfect for the river - nice hood"
Review 9 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All Good,
April 18, 2014
By: Zugbug2
from Suffern.NY
"Met all my expectations. Stash it in the back pouch of my vest. Pull it out when it rains. Pockets work for fly boxes,rod holder is handy,waterproof sleeves work well. Even looks cool. Highly recommended."
Review 10 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous jacket at a great price,
April 4, 2014
By: Bulawayo
from Denver,CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased the Clearwater Jacket and took it fishing the next week. Kept me warm trout fishing in Colorado all day when it was 40 degrees and all I wore underneath was a long sleeve T and a polar fleece vest. The cuffs are great in keeping out water when your hands are underwater reviving and releasing fish. I would recommend this jacket to everyone looking for a versatile fishing jacket."
Review 11 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The One Jacket You Need,
April 1, 2014
By: Giz57
from Australia
"This is an essential part of Fly Fishing. A great comfortable jacket. Lots of pockets and my partner loves hers as well. Orvis never let's you down on quality and innovation. Thank you Orvis. Two very happy customers"
Review 12 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and service,
March 28, 2014
By: SomersetWhiteHunter
from Somerset England
"I would highly recommend this jacket, it is light and easy to pack down small so you should never get caught out without a waterproof. 5 STAR."
Review 13 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Packable Wading Jacket,
March 2, 2014
By: LavenderJack
from Chelsea, Mich
"Very nice jacket. Like the large vest pocket. Fits great! Good to have, hope that I don't have to use it very often."
Review 14 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Wading Jacket,
February 28, 2014
By: JP143288
from Columbia, SC
"As with everything that I have previously purchased from Orvis, this jacket fits great and I'm sure will last an extended period of time."
Review 15 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second Time Purchase,
January 13, 2014
By: riverchase
from Mt. Sterling, Kentucky 40353
"I would be happy to recommend this product to any of your customers! It's my second. First one I bought many years ago when you first started carrying it. I snagged it on some fencing a while back and felt like it's time for a new one... I really like it. Just buy it, then you'll find out what I'm saying is in fact true. In fact, I've never bought anything from ORVIS that wasn't top QUALITY!. Thank, Mick Stanley"
Review 16 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
January 8, 2014
By: Crocket
from Cold Spring, NY
"My first time out wearing jacket I lost my footing and went down on my right side all the way to my shoulder, to my surprise my long sleeve shirt was bone dry...thanks to the Dolphin Skin Cuff! 2 front pockets are plenty large enough for extra fly box's. I have had the jacket for 6 months now and had been out in some heavy rain and stay bone dry. Very happy with purchase."
Review 17 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Product,
November 11, 2013
By: bigbar10
from Oak Park,IL
"Well thought out. Plenty of pockets and comfort. The jacket is light weight and packs in my fishing bag easily. I've used it in the drizzle of fall and it increased my comfort zone."
Review 18 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ok Jacket,
October 10, 2013
By: Lymer
from Ontario, Canada
"The jacket is very well made and it does a good job of keeping you dry. The velcro fastening and special material around wrist cuff is fantastic. Really like this feature. For this I believe it has lived up to most of its claims.
However any statement about breathability are questionable. I find the jacket pretty hot and sweaty inside after the morning mist lifts and your left with only a beaming hot sun."
Review 19 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Jacket,
September 18, 2013
By: Hueb
from Northern Illinois
"While I have not had a chance to really test this jacket in foul weather the construction and fit are great. Looking forward to using it on my next fishing trip"
Review 20 for Clearwater Packable Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made & good value,
August 16, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have the Sonic Seam pack & travel jacket already but got this one for my son. The fit is true and water repellency excellent. The cuffs are a solid seal and the hood plenty large enough for a brimmed hat. On a recent boat ride, my son was up front and the spray did not permeate the jacket at all and he remained warm, dry and then went on to catch more fish than me."