Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket

All of the advanced features of our packable jacket, at a great Clearwater® value, with a 2½-layer, waterproof, breathable material for more comfort and durability. Yet lightweight enough for warm-weather fishing. Orvis Dolphin Skin Cuff® seals out water and won't catch on your fly line. Two large bellows pockets for fly boxes. One D-ring on the front, one on the back for a net. Drawstring at hem. Packs down to fit into a vest pocket or backpack. In olive. Nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes XS(30-32), S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.356 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
40 of 45(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All Good,
April 18, 2014
By: Zugbug2
from Suffern.NY
"Met all my expectations. Stash it in the back pouch of my vest. Pull it out when it rains. Pockets work for fly boxes,rod holder is handy,waterproof sleeves work well. Even looks cool. Highly recommended."
Review 2 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous jacket at a great price,
April 4, 2014
By: Bulawayo
from Denver,CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased the Clearwater Jacket and took it fishing the next week. Kept me warm trout fishing in Colorado all day when it was 40 degrees and all I wore underneath was a long sleeve T and a polar fleece vest. The cuffs are great in keeping out water when your hands are underwater reviving and releasing fish. I would recommend this jacket to everyone looking for a versatile fishing jacket."
Review 3 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The One Jacket You Need,
April 1, 2014
By: Giz57
from Australia
"This is an essential part of Fly Fishing. A great comfortable jacket. Lots of pockets and my partner loves hers as well. Orvis never let's you down on quality and innovation. Thank you Orvis. Two very happy customers"
Review 4 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and service,
March 28, 2014
By: SomersetWhiteHunter
from Somerset England
"I would highly recommend this jacket, it is light and easy to pack down small so you should never get caught out without a waterproof. 5 STAR."
Review 5 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Packable Wading Jacket,
March 2, 2014
By: LavenderJack
from Chelsea, Mich
"Very nice jacket. Like the large vest pocket. Fits great! Good to have, hope that I don't have to use it very often."
Review 6 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Wading Jacket,
February 28, 2014
By: JP143288
from Columbia, SC
"As with everything that I have previously purchased from Orvis, this jacket fits great and I'm sure will last an extended period of time."
Review 7 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second Time Purchase,
January 13, 2014
By: riverchase
from Mt. Sterling, Kentucky 40353
"I would be happy to recommend this product to any of your customers! It's my second. First one I bought many years ago when you first started carrying it. I snagged it on some fencing a while back and felt like it's time for a new one... I really like it. Just buy it, then you'll find out what I'm saying is in fact true. In fact, I've never bought anything from ORVIS that wasn't top QUALITY!. Thank, Mick Stanley"
Review 8 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
January 8, 2014
By: Crocket
from Cold Spring, NY
"My first time out wearing jacket I lost my footing and went down on my right side all the way to my shoulder, to my surprise my long sleeve shirt was bone dry...thanks to the Dolphin Skin Cuff! 2 front pockets are plenty large enough for extra fly box's. I have had the jacket for 6 months now and had been out in some heavy rain and stay bone dry. Very happy with purchase."
Review 9 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Product,
November 11, 2013
By: bigbar10
from Oak Park,IL
"Well thought out. Plenty of pockets and comfort. The jacket is light weight and packs in my fishing bag easily. I've used it in the drizzle of fall and it increased my comfort zone."
Review 10 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ok Jacket,
October 10, 2013
By: Lymer
from Ontario, Canada
"The jacket is very well made and it does a good job of keeping you dry. The velcro fastening and special material around wrist cuff is fantastic. Really like this feature. For this I believe it has lived up to most of its claims.
However any statement about breathability are questionable. I find the jacket pretty hot and sweaty inside after the morning mist lifts and your left with only a beaming hot sun."
Review 11 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Jacket,
September 18, 2013
By: Hueb
from Northern Illinois
"While I have not had a chance to really test this jacket in foul weather the construction and fit are great. Looking forward to using it on my next fishing trip"
Review 12 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made & good value,
August 16, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have the Sonic Seam pack & travel jacket already but got this one for my son. The fit is true and water repellency excellent. The cuffs are a solid seal and the hood plenty large enough for a brimmed hat. On a recent boat ride, my son was up front and the spray did not permeate the jacket at all and he remained warm, dry and then went on to catch more fish than me."
Review 13 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value,
October 22, 2012
By: tarpon0000
from Florida
"Just a great jacket for the price. Its totally packable. It would be nice if it had a pocket that it could pack into - maybe it does and I just missed it."
Review 14 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dont leave home without this,
October 21, 2012
By: RIKEB
from Hull Yorkshire. England
"I have been after a lightweight but effective fishing jacket for some while given I always seem to caught out by them typical down pours in the Autumn, I went to my local store in Yorkshire to try the jacket and it instantly felt right, my wife said it was far to good for fly fishing but hey ho... Tried the jacket whilst walking the dog and you can tell this is made from quality materials designed to keep the wind and rain out, the dolphin skin cuff system is brilliant and will stop water seeping up your arms when releasing fish. cant wait to try this out with rod in hand.
Yet again well done Orrvis.
"
Review 15 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will The Salmon Like It?,
October 16, 2012
By: Anonymous
"I like it, but, will the salmon like it? This jacket is an unobtrusive barrier against the elements, namely, the cold, wind, and rain. It is light and easy to unfold in the northern rivers of Quebec whose weather changes as often as my flies do. Thank you"
Review 16 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
October 8, 2012
By: belloti
from Medina,OH
"Great value for this wding jacket. Easy to pack and easy to store. Extremey light so more of a warm o cool type gear."
Review 17 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great rain jacket and well made,
September 19, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"I'll start off by saying I wish the jacket was longer. That being said, I know the length doesn't matter while in waders, but I sometimes like to fish from shore only. The D ring and pockets are a nice addition, I love being able to store gear inside the jacket to avoid them getting wet as opposed to my vest or my sling back that gets soaked in the rain. I give it 4 stars because the buttons are all plastic, and it seems a bit short. Overall it is a quality jacket and I look forward to putting it to good use!"
Review 18 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Packable rainjacket,
September 16, 2012
By: sjorich
from Pacific NW
"Lightweight that can be easily packed around in my vest. works good as winbreaker and raincoat. front pockets are good and high for us deep wading steelheaders.
Only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that it could be shorter length for us deep wading steelheaders"
Review 19 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jsut not for me,
August 20, 2012
By: Muddler33
from St. Louis, Missouri
"The product had a good fit and is well made. I had returned it because it was too light weight for my needs. I was looking for somthing that would also work as a winter fishing jacket. Spend a lot of time in the winter months fishing catch & release."
Review 20 for Clearwater® Packable Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rain jacket,
June 19, 2012
By: locomo
from Northern Michigan
"Fished on the Boardman yesterday in what started as a mist and ended in a full scale rain event. Slipped on the new wader jacket prior to entering the river and glad I did. The only thing wet was an inch on the brim of my cap. The extended hood even kept my glasses dry. Sold on Orvis so far."