Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Felt Hat

Roll it, crush it, stuff it in a pocket or bag. This crushable hat is made of special wool that is felt treated for water resistance. Rolled and stitched 2½" brim, grosgrain band, cotton sweatband. 100% wool felt. Spot clean. Made in USA.Sizes: S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.724 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (239 reviews)
5 stars
197
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
227 of 239(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Felt Hat
Review 1 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arrival prompt and pleasant.,
April 16, 2015
By: seanair
from North west Highlands
"The hat arrived this morning - one day after I had been informed of it's despatch. Great.
The hat sits well is light and very comfortable. It keeps the Northern ultraviolet off my ears which is a bonus, and shades my eyes. It should also shoot the rain clear of my neck.
I look forward to making an old friend out of this hat.
"
Review 2 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
April 6, 2015
By: Bluecollar
from VT
"Fit perfectly. Very nicely made. I've gotten many positive comments on looks, and styling. Only thing I would change is delete the Orvis logo on the side. Overall, I am very pleased."
Review 3 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect product,
March 27, 2015
By: tubbybear1
from surrey
"Perfect fit. Order delivered on time.
Only problem, they took 2 payments and after phoning reversed this immediately.
Would buy again as staff helpfull and goods perfect ,as I expected.
"
Review 4 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great value!,
February 28, 2015
By: Sargeant
from Toledo, OH
"I have been looking for a good felt fedora style hat at a reasonable price. This is it. I have received several unexpected compliments regarding how this hat looks when I wear it."
Review 5 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat is perfect.,
February 19, 2015
By: Rick5000
"I've worn this hat for so many years that the sun has faded it from brown to tan. Although my wife bought me a new one exactly like it, the old one still has many years of life left in it. The Packable Felt Hat retains its shape, is water resistant and sits light on your head. I highly recommend it."
Review 6 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Felt Hat,
February 11, 2015
By: wirehaar
"If you are looking for a warm Felt Hat with the "german Hunter" appearance, this is it."
Review 7 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable Felt Hat,
February 10, 2015
By: wdaniels27910
"EXCELLENT hat. It lives up to the Orvis standard of quality. Initially, I ordered this type hat from another vendor and was not pleased.
This hat is truly packable as it snaps back to shape easily. The felt material offers protection from the elements.
The 2.5 width brim style makes it appropriate for most any occasion as it does not look like it came off the set of "Raiders of the Lost Ark".
I"
Review 8 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
February 6, 2015
By: wr2nxt
from colorado
"I haven't packed the hat but I love the fit the warmth and the look."
Review 9 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fourth One - No Regrets,
February 2, 2015
By: PeterMSV
from Hunterdon County, NJ
"This is the fourth time I've purchased this hat from Orvis (same size, same color) in over ten years. I wear it daily from late October through early April, except on the coldest days of the winter. I still own them all. Why four? The newest looks the freshest and cleanest so that's for dressing up; the oldest (10+ years old) is a bit rough but still in shape so that's for days when the dirtiest work is done; the others are for "normal" days. It's become my signature hat, so I gladly get a new one every couple years. It lives up to its reputation 100%."
Review 10 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable felt hat,
January 20, 2015
By: MSPetty
"Have not had a chance to where it out yet, but think it will be perfect for these cool days of winter . I am looking forward to wearing it soon. Really love you products and I know this felt hat will be not exception."
Review 11 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value hats,
January 14, 2015
By: LTinTexas
from West Texas
"This is the second of these hats I've had from Orvis. They are excellent quality for the price. They are quite durable and provide effective cover during winter weather. I plan to buy more as this one wears out."
Review 12 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hat Tip,
January 11, 2015
By: OldManLookingGood
from NYC
"Good looking low maintenance hat.
"Looking Good Billy Ray! Feeling Good Louis!""
Review 13 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
January 10, 2015
By: SJMinnix624
from Roanoke, VA
"I've been looking at these hats for years. I finally decided to bread down and get one. Good choice!! The large is a tad too big, but the Med is too tight (story of my life!), but I read here that some folks used a little cardboard or paper to make the fit perfect. I'll give that a try, but this seems to be a great purchase. Can't wait to get on the stream with it!"
Review 14 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat,
January 5, 2015
By: dbatt
from Arkansas
"I have been looking for awhile. .
I own several more expensive hats and none are as comfortable as this one. It is light , soft , warm and very packable.
Looks great and I think it will age well"
Review 15 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
January 5, 2015
By: Able0ne
from Denver, CO
"Hat is awesome. Haven't had a chance to take it out and see how it does against the elements but I don't think quality will be an issue. Brim isn't too wide and it fits perfectly. Can't wait to do some pheasant hunting and fly fishing in it"
Review 16 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long Lasting Headgear,
January 4, 2015
By: wearyeye
from Arkansas
"I've had this hat for many years and it is still serviceable and looks nice. As usual Orvis delivers high quality and lasting wear."
Review 17 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Hat,
January 3, 2015
By: oldtractors1
from North Central US
"Have looked at a lot of brimmed hats for colder weather. I also own several other brimmed hats for other seasons. This hat is very comfortable, stylish and good quality. I believe it to be a very good value. The only thing I wish was different is that it comes in size ranges (lg, med, sm) instead of a specific size. The range I needed resulted in it being a tad to large. But I inserted a cardboard strip under the inside band and that seems to work. I still rate it 5 stars."
Review 18 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm stylish hat,
January 1, 2015
By: Rinwitter
"Perfect for my Dad going through cancer. It keeps his head warm, stylish yet he can sit in it even by accident. Perfect."
Review 19 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 31, 2014
By: PhyllisO
from Boulder, CO
"My husband has worn this fedora style for years, and Orvis is by far his favorite brand. This hat is distinctive, durable, and has a great style."
Review 20 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DAPPER!,
December 27, 2014
By: BAKW
from Apopka, FL
"My husband travels to Chicago, frequently, from FL. This hat will help keep his head warm, and can roll up in his suitcase. Very please with this item."