Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Felt Hat

Roll it, crush it, stuff it in a pocket or bag. This crushable hat is made of special wool that is felt treated for water resistance. Rolled and stitched 2½" brim, grosgrain band, cotton sweatband. 100% wool felt. Spot clean. Made in USA.Sizes: S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.713 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (230 reviews)
5 stars
188
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
218 of 230(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Felt Hat
Review 1 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable felt hat,
January 20, 2015
By: MSPetty
"Have not had a chance to where it out yet, but think it will be perfect for these cool days of winter . I am looking forward to wearing it soon. Really love you products and I know this felt hat will be not exception."
Review 2 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value hats,
January 14, 2015
By: LTinTexas
from West Texas
"This is the second of these hats I've had from Orvis. They are excellent quality for the price. They are quite durable and provide effective cover during winter weather. I plan to buy more as this one wears out."
Review 3 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hat Tip,
January 11, 2015
By: OldManLookingGood
from NYC
"Good looking low maintenance hat.
"Looking Good Billy Ray! Feeling Good Louis!""
Review 4 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
January 10, 2015
By: SJMinnix624
from Roanoke, VA
"I've been looking at these hats for years. I finally decided to bread down and get one. Good choice!! The large is a tad too big, but the Med is too tight (story of my life!), but I read here that some folks used a little cardboard or paper to make the fit perfect. I'll give that a try, but this seems to be a great purchase. Can't wait to get on the stream with it!"
Review 5 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat,
January 5, 2015
By: dbatt
from Arkansas
"I have been looking for awhile. .
I own several more expensive hats and none are as comfortable as this one. It is light , soft , warm and very packable.
Looks great and I think it will age well"
Review 6 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
January 5, 2015
By: Able0ne
from Denver, CO
"Hat is awesome. Haven't had a chance to take it out and see how it does against the elements but I don't think quality will be an issue. Brim isn't too wide and it fits perfectly. Can't wait to do some pheasant hunting and fly fishing in it"
Review 7 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long Lasting Headgear,
January 4, 2015
By: wearyeye
from Arkansas
"I've had this hat for many years and it is still serviceable and looks nice. As usual Orvis delivers high quality and lasting wear."
Review 8 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Hat,
January 3, 2015
By: oldtractors1
from North Central US
"Have looked at a lot of brimmed hats for colder weather. I also own several other brimmed hats for other seasons. This hat is very comfortable, stylish and good quality. I believe it to be a very good value. The only thing I wish was different is that it comes in size ranges (lg, med, sm) instead of a specific size. The range I needed resulted in it being a tad to large. But I inserted a cardboard strip under the inside band and that seems to work. I still rate it 5 stars."
Review 9 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm stylish hat,
January 1, 2015
By: Rinwitter
"Perfect for my Dad going through cancer. It keeps his head warm, stylish yet he can sit in it even by accident. Perfect."
Review 10 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 31, 2014
By: PhyllisO
from Boulder, CO
"My husband has worn this fedora style for years, and Orvis is by far his favorite brand. This hat is distinctive, durable, and has a great style."
Review 11 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DAPPER!,
December 27, 2014
By: BAKW
from Apopka, FL
"My husband travels to Chicago, frequently, from FL. This hat will help keep his head warm, and can roll up in his suitcase. Very please with this item."
Review 12 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great purchase,
December 18, 2014
By: 1165
from gunnison utah
"looks good and fits great, feels lite and warm will be good hat to fish.First felt hat,look at other hats and this was the look and price for me."
Review 13 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Felt hat,
December 18, 2014
By: Hoppalong
from South East
"A very good fitting hat .Wears very well . The first hat is on its last legs ,so I have bought another one !"
Review 14 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compactable,
December 15, 2014
By: SAToth
"This hat is a great find. It fits perfectly and folds up nicely. The quality of the hat is excellent and the style timeless."
Review 15 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Hat!,
December 13, 2014
By: JazzGuitarist
from San Francisco CA
"That's what all my friends say whenever the see me wearing my loden fedora. Love it will order other colors!"
Review 16 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
November 14, 2014
By: Winger104
from Portsmouth
"Recommended by a friend , this hat is perfect easy to wear robust waterproof and easily packed"
Review 17 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Hat,
October 22, 2014
By: badboyjohnny
from Philly, PA
"This is a well made USA hat. Comfortable and certainly affordable. The sizing is spot on to what you expect it to be. No up or down guessing."
Review 18 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Red hat,
October 22, 2014
By: Clauz
from Westfield, MA
"I have the red packable felt hat. several years old now and I still love it.
Cant wait until you get another order of these in red......
BTW, I know many other Santas who are waiting for the red hats also."
Review 19 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
October 14, 2014
By: OldCollegeBoy
from Oneonta AL
"Everyone has commented on how great my hat looks and how well it looks on me! Fit was perfect."
Review 20 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lid ...,
August 20, 2014
By: rusticremenant
"Feels like I've had it forever. Simple style, great looks and an outstandingly protective hat. I'd unequivocally recommend this to anyone."