Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Felt Hat

Roll it, crush it, stuff it in a pocket or bag. This crushable hat is made of special wool that is felt treated for water resistance. Rolled and stitched 2½" brim, grosgrain band, cotton sweatband. 100% wool felt. Spot clean. Made in USA.Sizes: S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (245 reviews)
5 stars
203
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
233 of 245(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Felt Hat
Review 1 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
looking for that special hat,
July 16, 2015
By: mapman51
"Fits great and looks like the one I have been looking for."
Review 2 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat (But Check Sizing),
May 23, 2015
By: SNW53
from Macclesfield, UK
"I don't wear hats a lot but usually wear baseball caps even though, as a photographer, they are a real nuisance. This is much better; smart and very flexible (in all respects). My only problem was the sizing - I measured 3 times and had my wife check also. It all came out, according to the size charts as XL which I had difficulty believing. XL arrived and was massively too big so it was returned. I am hoping that the Medium fits when it arrives."
Review 3 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
May 18, 2015
By: Louie123
from Bakersfield, CA.
"Great look. Great fit. Can't wait until winter to start wearing it regularly."
Review 4 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!!,
May 11, 2015
By: Lowry68
from Belfast
"I had one of these excellent hats before but lost it -may be it was stolen- on a week end away. I had always meant to replace it; there was a special birthday - a perfect reason to buy again.
Good fit, smart looks without the formality. Super fit for purpose!
"
Review 5 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does what it sez on the box,
April 29, 2015
By: seanair
from North west Highlands
"Light and comfortable - this hat will become an old friend. 'Just the thing to keep the Northern UV rays off my ears and shade my eyes. It's also useful during fishing in windy conditions as it helps keep a wayward cast of flies away from my face.
I like the downward sloping brim. It's unassuming but practical and smart."
Review 6 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arrival prompt and pleasant.,
April 16, 2015
By: seanair
from North west Highlands
"The hat arrived this morning - one day after I had been informed of it's despatch. Great.
The hat sits well is light and very comfortable. It keeps the Northern ultraviolet off my ears which is a bonus, and shades my eyes. It should also shoot the rain clear of my neck.
I look forward to making an old friend out of this hat.
"
Review 7 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
April 6, 2015
By: Bluecollar
from VT
"Fit perfectly. Very nicely made. I've gotten many positive comments on looks, and styling. Only thing I would change is delete the Orvis logo on the side. Overall, I am very pleased."
Review 8 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect product,
March 27, 2015
By: tubbybear1
from surrey
"Perfect fit. Order delivered on time.
Only problem, they took 2 payments and after phoning reversed this immediately.
Would buy again as staff helpfull and goods perfect ,as I expected.
"
Review 9 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great value!,
February 28, 2015
By: Sargeant
from Toledo, OH
"I have been looking for a good felt fedora style hat at a reasonable price. This is it. I have received several unexpected compliments regarding how this hat looks when I wear it."
Review 10 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat is perfect.,
February 19, 2015
By: Rick5000
"I've worn this hat for so many years that the sun has faded it from brown to tan. Although my wife bought me a new one exactly like it, the old one still has many years of life left in it. The Packable Felt Hat retains its shape, is water resistant and sits light on your head. I highly recommend it."
Review 11 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Felt Hat,
February 11, 2015
By: wirehaar
"If you are looking for a warm Felt Hat with the "german Hunter" appearance, this is it."
Review 12 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable Felt Hat,
February 10, 2015
By: wdaniels27910
"EXCELLENT hat. It lives up to the Orvis standard of quality. Initially, I ordered this type hat from another vendor and was not pleased.
This hat is truly packable as it snaps back to shape easily. The felt material offers protection from the elements.
The 2.5 width brim style makes it appropriate for most any occasion as it does not look like it came off the set of "Raiders of the Lost Ark".
I"
Review 13 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
February 6, 2015
By: wr2nxt
from colorado
"I haven't packed the hat but I love the fit the warmth and the look."
Review 14 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fourth One - No Regrets,
February 2, 2015
By: PeterMSV
from Hunterdon County, NJ
"This is the fourth time I've purchased this hat from Orvis (same size, same color) in over ten years. I wear it daily from late October through early April, except on the coldest days of the winter. I still own them all. Why four? The newest looks the freshest and cleanest so that's for dressing up; the oldest (10+ years old) is a bit rough but still in shape so that's for days when the dirtiest work is done; the others are for "normal" days. It's become my signature hat, so I gladly get a new one every couple years. It lives up to its reputation 100%."
Review 15 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable felt hat,
January 20, 2015
By: MSPetty
"Have not had a chance to where it out yet, but think it will be perfect for these cool days of winter . I am looking forward to wearing it soon. Really love you products and I know this felt hat will be not exception."
Review 16 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value hats,
January 14, 2015
By: LTinTexas
from West Texas
"This is the second of these hats I've had from Orvis. They are excellent quality for the price. They are quite durable and provide effective cover during winter weather. I plan to buy more as this one wears out."
Review 17 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hat Tip,
January 11, 2015
By: OldManLookingGood
from NYC
"Good looking low maintenance hat.
"Looking Good Billy Ray! Feeling Good Louis!""
Review 18 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
January 10, 2015
By: SJMinnix624
from Roanoke, VA
"I've been looking at these hats for years. I finally decided to bread down and get one. Good choice!! The large is a tad too big, but the Med is too tight (story of my life!), but I read here that some folks used a little cardboard or paper to make the fit perfect. I'll give that a try, but this seems to be a great purchase. Can't wait to get on the stream with it!"
Review 19 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat,
January 5, 2015
By: dbatt
from Arkansas
"I have been looking for awhile. .
I own several more expensive hats and none are as comfortable as this one. It is light , soft , warm and very packable.
Looks great and I think it will age well"
Review 20 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
January 5, 2015
By: Able0ne
from Denver, CO
"Hat is awesome. Haven't had a chance to take it out and see how it does against the elements but I don't think quality will be an issue. Brim isn't too wide and it fits perfectly. Can't wait to do some pheasant hunting and fly fishing in it"