Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Felt Hat

Roll it, crush it, stuff it in a pocket or bag. This crushable hat is made of special wool that is felt treated for water resistance. Rolled and stitched 2½" brim, grosgrain band, cotton sweatband. 100% wool felt. Spot clean. Made in USA.Sizes: S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (213 reviews)
5 stars
173
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
201 of 213(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Felt Hat
Review 1 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
November 14, 2014
By: Winger104
from Portsmouth
"Recommended by a friend , this hat is perfect easy to wear robust waterproof and easily packed"
Review 2 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Hat,
October 22, 2014
By: badboyjohnny
from Philly, PA
"This is a well made USA hat. Comfortable and certainly affordable. The sizing is spot on to what you expect it to be. No up or down guessing."
Review 3 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Red hat,
October 22, 2014
By: Clauz
from Westfield, MA
"I have the red packable felt hat. several years old now and I still love it.
Cant wait until you get another order of these in red......
BTW, I know many other Santas who are waiting for the red hats also."
Review 4 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
October 14, 2014
By: OldCollegeBoy
from Oneonta AL
"Everyone has commented on how great my hat looks and how well it looks on me! Fit was perfect."
Review 5 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lid ...,
August 20, 2014
By: rusticremenant
"Feels like I've had it forever. Simple style, great looks and an outstandingly protective hat. I'd unequivocally recommend this to anyone."
Review 6 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat for travel,
July 28, 2014
By: Dewee
"This is my second Orvis packable felt hat. The first has been folded and placed in luggage at least twenty times over several years. It always pops back into shape at once when unpacked and is ready to wear with no adjustment. I bought the new one so I'd have a different color."
Review 7 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very comfortable hat,
July 17, 2014
By: scooter64
from ohio
"this is my favorite hat very comfortable and durable does a great job keeping the sun and elements off of my follicly disadvantaged scalp"
Review 8 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A New Fishing Hat,
July 8, 2014
By: Ricinus
from Canada
"Excellent style and material. Been looking for a new felt for a while and this fit the bill. Sizing might be a tad snug but it just might be me..."
Review 9 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found what I was searching for!,
June 20, 2014
By: AKCrow
"Been trying on hats of this type in almost every sporting outlet there is. While many were nice, this one just fits the bill perfectly. Cant wait to wear it on my next hunting trip. Thanks Orvis, will be visiting your website again soon."
Review 10 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold Weather Hat,
June 5, 2014
By: ChukarHunter
"Reviews are so subjective. Quality is excellent. Sized true to Orvis hat size chart. When wet the hat will do some stretching in size. Dry will come back a bit tight, however re- streching hat by pulling with both hands around inside of hat head band will bring the hat right back to perfect size. Best cold weather hunting hat I have used. I have hand washed my hat with a light, wet scrub, and brush. Let dry and your go to go. Excellent hunting, camping outdoor hat. Hat brim is just right for sun block / vision. Very durable. Hat takes a lot of abuse and still looks and functions great. For the money you can not go wrong with this buy if your after a outdoor hat that has a purpose."
Review 11 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
May 19, 2014
By: cocovkAndes2
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
"Packable Flet Hat is an excellent product. It's really packable. It arrived in tima and good conditions."
Review 12 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best Felt Hat,
May 13, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"Looks good, fits well. High Quality. Water Proof. A good alternative for the fly fishermen.
I would buy it again.
"
Review 13 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
May 5, 2014
By: Robert43
from Weems, VA
"Perfect fit, looks great, packs easily. Exactly what I need for travel to Ireland."
Review 14 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent roll-up capability,
April 30, 2014
By: Saintblue94
from LI, New York
"This hat is the perfect color and the felt is just firm enough when unrolled to spring back into it's original shape.
I have bought many "crushable/packable" hats in my 60+ years, but this is the first time I bought a second one( my son appropriated my first) Great product, swift delivery.
Thanks Orvis!
"
Review 15 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
April 16, 2014
By: phaphotos
"After 12 years of rough wear I replaced this hat - greatest hat ever."
Review 16 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purshase...,
April 14, 2014
By: Geoffb91935
from Jamul, Ca.
"This is to me, the perfect hat..It has it all..Looks,comfort & affordability..I liked it so much, that I bought 3 of them..Stone,Olive & brown..They go with anything..Dress or casual..They're great gifts too..."
Review 17 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing less that terrific,
April 10, 2014
By: Josephjay
from Staten Island
"Wonderful product. Looks and feels great. Orvis customer service us unsurpassed!"
Review 18 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a packable,
March 31, 2014
By: elove3
from Maylene Al .
"To whom it may concern ; Ive been watching this hat for approximately 4 months . However this is the best purchase I ve made with any hat that I own ! High high quality , beautiful in appearance , unreal inquiries abut the hat from co-workers and friends and most of all IT WORKS. Thanks Orvis and looking forward to more product for my family and I ."
Review 19 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Why the name stamp?,
March 19, 2014
By: marchwood
from Suffolk, UK
"I've had one of these hats in the past, though manage to lose it during a house move, and as I liked it I was thinking of getting another one. However, Orvis has seen fit to stamp"Orvis" into the side of the hat on the outside. Call me old-fashioned, but I really don't think a felt trilby or fedora looks right with a name brand stamped into the outside of it - a baseball cap maybe!
Stop doing it, Orvis!
"
Review 20 for Packable Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best head gear,
March 17, 2014
By: Lytham7
from Lytham
"Brilliant hat and A+++ service from customer services and the shop.
Go on be brave and try one!"